Sony Ericsson Z200 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Sony Ericsson Z200 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

2 Stars out of 5

don't be deceived by its good looks

Reviewed on Tuesday November 30, 2004 by , frankfurt
for sure it looks cool. in fact, i had my eyes on this phone for months and i really fell in love with its looks. But when I finally got it two weeks, i returned it back to the store just after 3 days because it was so inferior. Poor reception, poor battery life (stand by was even less than a day!). Didn't bother asking Fido for repair, warranty because the phone sucks. Very slow transition, loads very slowly that it just became a total annoyance. I really feel sorry for this phone because it does really look good.
5 Stars out of 5

Not so bad

Reviewed on Tuesday November 16, 2004 by , Toronto
Hey after giving it enough thought, I bought it last week. I didn't have any signal drops. It seems to be a pretty good phone with reasonable price. Its pretty basic. After merging with Rogers, Fido has got better coverage now. The only bad side of it is the low ringer and speaker volume. But not as bad when it starts to bother you. For $75, I am more than happy.
4 Stars out of 5

Better than 1100

Reviewed on Tuesday October 19, 2004 by , australia
I got this phone to replace my nokia 1100, and let me tell you, i only had my 1100 for 6 months and i was already sick of it by 2 months. When i got my SE Z200, i was so pleased with it, and still am. Thank you to everyone who wrote reviews to help me with my decision to get one, and yes, i agree with all the negative comments, but you all make out that the negative features are a big issue. Slow texting, slow menu, 3 day battery, no camera, mms and blutooth. Them problems have never worried me too much. So to everyone considering getting one, go for it, and don't let the negative comments phase you, because they are not a big deal.
2 Stars out of 5

This phone sucks!

Reviewed on Thursday September 2, 2004 by , Montreal QC
This phone has really bad reception and cuts off calls. It doesn't work in my house, or at the shopping center and all the ring tones are pretty weird. Don't buy it. My old nokia was much better.
1 Star out of 5

Nice Features Terrible Reception

Reviewed on Sunday July 4, 2004 by , Brampton
This phone looks nice, but the reception is atrocious. I have been a customer of Fido, Telus, Bell, and Rogers. Telus has the best reception but Fido has the best rate plans. I switched to Fido because of the price and had excellent reception with the Siemens A56 ($25.00 at the time). The Z200 gets terrible reception everywhere and when you do get reception it is not clear and inevitably drops the call. My friend has the Siemens M55 and the reception is just as good as the A56 and it has more features.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday June 23, 2004 by , Toronto
Next time, buy a GSM phone with the 850 band in it, DUH!

People who don't know about cell phones should not have them. Next time, try to understand ALL the specs on a phone, including the RECEPTION TOWERS that it gets. This phone sucks because it doesn't have the 850 band. Simple! 850 is the stronger North American frequency!
3 Stars out of 5

Not soo great

Reviewed on Monday June 7, 2004 by , Ontario
Those of you considering this phone, for one, this phone has really bad reception, and not only that, to recover from elevators, concrete buildings, underground, and subways take forever. I even purchased one of those signal boosters to rectify the problem. Secondly, the battery life on this phone is way- overrated. Try more like 3 days standby...without talking on the phone. This is in particular to my phone, maybe its a defect or something, but to be honest, the reception really is bad to the point where it gets annoying.
1 Star out of 5

Never Again

Reviewed on Thursday May 13, 2004 by , Vancouver, BC
Nice looking phone but poor reception, totally unreliable and the phone just died on me. I sent it back for a SE T237.
5 Stars out of 5

Nice, and Reliable

Reviewed on Sunday May 2, 2004 by , B.C.
i found this phone very cool, i enjoy the look and what it does exactly, i have no problem about reception and i live right beside the border.
5 Stars out of 5

cool and reliable

Reviewed on Tuesday April 13, 2004 by , woodbridge, ON
cool cell phone, tons of features and really easy to use. Reception is usually very high around the town of Woodbridge, recommend this one.
3 Stars out of 5

good phone, bad reception

Reviewed on Sunday April 11, 2004 by , ancatser ontario
it was a neat little phone, but i have to say, if you live in ontario, and especially ancaster, you wont get reception, which is disappionting, bacause, it was a great phone