Sony Ericsson T237 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Sony Ericsson T237 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 13 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Short term use ONLY

Reviewed on Sunday September 18, 2005 by , Ontario
What can I say?
I've been using this model for a year now. (Got it replaced twice and it's acting up again)

And VERY consistently,
about every 3 months, the mic part dies out.

So basically, you can hear incoming calls, but they CAN'T hear you.

First time it happened, bad luck.
Second time it happened, OMG it's FXXXing annoying.
Third time.... What can I say? I've been expecting it.

But during the three months, it works pretty well.
So if you want a temporary phone and you don't mind getting another one in 3 months, go for it.
(I've become an anti-sony ericsson, as you can see)

You get what you paid for.
1 Star out of 5

This is like running winXP on a intel 386 CPU

Reviewed on Friday May 27, 2005 by , AZ
OK, I've been using cell phones 7yrs now. This phone by FAR is the SLOWEST damn thing I've ever used. No cell phone I've ever bought has lagged like this does. To make it more clear, I've never had phone that lagged at all till I recieved this one. You push a button, and it does..... NOTHING. You wait 3 seconds, then if it decides to it does what you asked. Dial in a number, have fun dialing and not having the phone respond at ALL for over 5 seconds, then the numbers display, then it dials. Perhaps people have a soft spot for phones with dissabilities, that's the only explanation I can see why someone would think this developmentally disabled cell phone is "cute." Sony Ericsson either put either a way to slow processor in this thing or the software engineers that developed for this thing are still in gradeschool.

Either way, STAY away from it, unless you like a phone that lags when you press a key and has a blurry screen. To clarify, my family also has the same phone (they live in New England though) and have the same issues. Just a poorly designed phone, worst I've had the pleasure of using.
1 Star out of 5

Do NOT buy this phone

Reviewed on Sunday May 8, 2005 by , Ontario
I've been using cell phones for over 10 years, and this one is the worst yet!

1. BAD reception. Alot of buildings, houses, basements will not be able to get good reception which leads to =>

2. Sound breakage. Hard to understand the other person if it keeps getting cut off, eh?

3. Horrible mic quality. Can you believe it? I've exchanged my phone through my warranty twice already and it hasn't been a year yet since I've got this phone. Why? Because the microphone keeps failing after about 3 months use.

If you want to get a phone that's worth it, don't go for Sony Ericson, I'd go for Motorola, LG or Samsung. It's worth the money.
5 Stars out of 5

Synch with Outlook is great!

Reviewed on Saturday March 12, 2005 by , Ottawa, ON
I wanted a phone that didn't have a camera and would synch with my Outlook contacts so I wouldn't have to spend hours typing all my numbers into the phone. This phone does just that, with a USB cable and software from the manufacturers web site.

Reception and battery time are good, menus are intuitively organised. Buttons are a little small, but I have small hands so don't find this a problem.

This phone meets my requirements at a reasonable price.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday January 20, 2005 by , new orlenes
this phone is cute looking once you get used to it. i hate the fact that it doesnt have a built in camera but it's only a phone not some high tech computer thing. every one emmulates what i do so maybe sooner or later alot more people will purchase this phone.

it has some cheap plastic covering and tiny buttons, you cant really complain about. so in other words its definatly usable but i would recommend some other phone if you're looking for high tech phones... this phone is not for you. but if your personality is "cute" or "popular" this phone is the best choice. it has alot of personality you can relate to [unstable, always cuts out, but bearable and adorable at most times... unpredictabe] U'll learn to love it
4 Stars out of 5

this is a good phone

Reviewed on Tuesday January 18, 2005 by , student
I have had this phone for quite a while now and i have never once had bad reception it has always been perfectly clear. It is small and easy to use and has lots of options on it. I dont know what everyone is talking about with the battery and reception because both of those things are perfect for me. All in All i enjoy it
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday December 30, 2004 by , Toronto
I bought this phone 4 months ago from fido. Im thinking about returning this phone and getting a better one.
The only thing i could list about this phone is the cons: and maybe one good thing about it.

Cons: Super blury and ugly screen
Bad reseption
voice recorder sucks
feels cheap
the head-set must only be the soney ericsson brand
too many menues
the # key are way to small
the navigator is too small
(you might press the center button instead)
respnse is way to slow
it takes forever to connect to a call
(about 10 seconds)or(+)
battery life is horrible.
my calls break

Prons: has a good bundle of game and ring-tones.

Stay away from it its a nightmare even the first day i got it...... My rating is only one star
4 Stars out of 5

what's so bad?

Reviewed on Wednesday December 29, 2004 by , Charlotte, NC
I have had this phone for about 7 months now. I don't find anything wrong with it. The reception is not bad for me at all, so I have no idea what everyone else is talkign about. Perhaps because I live in such a big city, but even when I'm in the middle of the mountains at school, its perfect. My mom and sister never have the reception I have. My only complaints are with my carrier, not the phone itself. Not that others opinions matter, but everyone loves the little tiny cute phone. It fits well in a pocket, and everything is easy to access on it. Only problem I've had is with the battery life, but then again, I am quite a talker.
5 Stars out of 5

very good phone

Reviewed on Monday December 27, 2004 by , Long Island, NY
I have it for about 2 weeks. excellent sound, reception and speakerphone with many features you wouldn't expect on inexpensive phone--i.e. voice dialing, recorder with fun feature to turn any sound into your ring. excellent battery life for 2 weeks at least. I have not had the problems other have had - like freezing, issues with recption,etc.
3 Stars out of 5

Bien équipé...

Reviewed on Sunday December 12, 2004 by , Longueuil, Québec
- très léger et endurent.
- Réception Cell 6/10 + ou - tout dépend ou on est !!!
- Batterie très performente.
- Processeur 4/10 en mode mess. texte gèle souvent, le reste 7/10,
- Agenda très facile d'utilisation tout comme le reste.
- Chargeur rapide 2h plein.
- point négatif l'entène mal placé, probablement pour ça que la reception et l'envoie ce n'est pas fort.
- Pourait être moin cher avec prépayé !!!
5 Stars out of 5

Absolutly Wonderful Phone!

Reviewed on Saturday December 11, 2004 by , cali,US
I've had this phone for a couple months. And wow! I am actually speechless. yes the reception is quite bad but every phone has it's flaw. I simply adore the phone. it has great everything very small and compact, cute as a button. classy and for a very popular person like I it suits my personally UNIQUE and VERY CUTE. I LOVE it
2 Stars out of 5

Lame reception

Reviewed on Thursday June 24, 2004 by , Etobicoke, Ontario
This phone takes some getting use to, but once that's done it can be quite handy. Especially the lock keypad function. But overall the phone cuts out everywhere, and when you think you've got a call finally, you realize they can't hear you. This phone is for the dogs. Welcome to Fido.
2 Stars out of 5

Bad sound quality

Reviewed on Tuesday June 15, 2004 by , Toronto
I started with the cheapie Vtech phone from FIDO, but the antenna snapped off, so I bought the T237. I was looking for a compact phone and assumed that the brandname would translate into a better phone. I was wrong.

The reception and sound quality are poor, especially compared to the Vtech. Only 1 out of 3 phone calls doesn't break up into static and I only use the phone in downtown Toronto. It is also extremely cumbersome to edit phone numbers. It took 2 hours to update the phone directory when I switched phones. In spite of this time investment, the reception is so bad that I'm sending the phone back.