Nokia 3120 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Nokia 3120 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 14 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5

6 years and counting...

Reviewed on Friday June 4, 2010 by , Caledon
I've been using my Nokia 3120 for 6 years now, and I have never had a problem. It's a great phone, and obviously it's made to last. I have no intentions of switching.
3 Stars out of 5

Hissing noise, alarm only for a day

Reviewed on Monday December 19, 2005 by , Maryland
Hi everyone,
It is my second day having this phone. I agree with most of the bad comments posted here. "ad, lower mainland" did you get a third phone that doesn't make the hissing sound??? Let me know because I am about to send mine. I went to Cingular's office to return it but they told me that I only get one exchange and I had already exchanged a black Razor for the 3120. The Razor was a flimzzy phone and voice quality is very low even at max. Enough about the razor. Cingular manager told me basically that I am imagining the hissing noise and they have never had problems with this model.
Oh, the other problem is with the alarm. You can only set the alarm for a certain time and you cannot specify date. So basically if you want daily alarm, too bad you have to remember to set it everyday. I use to think that Nokia makes the best phones but I am starign to realize that this might not be case anymore.
I am hoping to get another phone that doesn't make the hissing noise. I can live with the other small problems.
Good luck.
2 Stars out of 5

Just an average phone

Reviewed on Wednesday August 10, 2005 by , Colorado
It just a so-so phone. Biggest disadvantages are
1. No way to change backlight timings.
2. Browsing through menu has to be done one after the other.
3. Small cheap keypad.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday June 5, 2005 by , Singapore
Been having a 3120 for abt a month. Used to stick with my diehard 3310 which i muz say despite being bigger and older and less flashy works fine even after 3 years..So enter the 3120, looked pretty nice. Pumps in quite a lot of new funtionality. Games, Applications and yup Internet access! No problems so far with reception or the LCD. BUT there is one major annoyance which i tink cancels off all the good things. The keypad! Its kinda rigid and designed to be extremely user unfriendly. I need to use my nails to use it effectively and i have to look at the phone to know which key i'm pressing. The 3310 keypad was and still feels more functional and friendly to me. hoping to change the pad to something a little rubbery or something that is less flat..
1 Star out of 5

Not as good as I thought...

Reviewed on Wednesday April 6, 2005 by , Ottawa, ON
I bought this phone three days ago and promptly returned after two days. I found that the reception was awful. It continuously dropped calls, even if I wasn't moving around (i.e. sitting in one place). The screen is old school, BIG TIME!! Very primitive looking. There was a constant hiss whenever I was speaking, and other people could hear it too. The audio quality was sub-par. The only thing I liked was that the phone rang and vibrated at the same time. I do NOT recommend this phone. I replaced it with the Samsung e316 Camera phone. It seems to work much better so far.
4 Stars out of 5

nokia 3120

Reviewed on Thursday December 23, 2004 by , Malaysia
i bought this phone not long ago.. it's not such a bad phone afterall.. some of the above mention bout it's hissing sound.. but mine wuz fine.. the polyphonic tones are loud.. i could hear my calls while shoppin n stuff like dat.. this phone supports mms.. it's a TFT screen wif 4k colours.. there's 1 weird thing bout this phone.. im not sure if it's the phone or it's my eyes playin tricks on me.. sumtimes while playin games.. sum diff vision appeared in the phone.. but overall it's a nice phone.. wif a nice design.. compared 2 the nokia 3100.. which wasnt such a nice phone.. the design is not as classy as the nokia 3120.. the 3120 also haf preloaded smiley world images which are much more interesting than the ones in 3100.. u will haf 2 pay more 2 get a better nokia phone... unless u wan the motorola c380 which is cheaper n haf better function [but due 2 it's design n the complains.. i choose nokia 3120 instead]... dats all.. hope u will enjoy ur nokia 3120 n 2 those hu r lookin 4 a low end nokia colour screen phone.. this will b the 1 4 u xD.. cheers!
1 Star out of 5

Not One Of Nokias Best

Reviewed on Saturday December 4, 2004 by , Vallejo CA
Youve gotta love Nokias durability & stamina. However, they seem to have looked away from ergonomics & audio quality. My 3650 was big enough to hold in my hand, keys were mapped pretty well and the audio quality was crystal clear. Now, after upgrading to a GSM phone from a TDMA one, I am no at all happy with my 3120. Dont believe for a second that I dont know the difference between signal static and this artificial hissing I hear is :-)

The audio quality is FAR below what a "digital" phone should sound like.. There is a constant hissing like an artificial background noise. VERY ANNOYING! Not to mention its size.. How small can you actually get a phone before you cant hold it anymore? Smaller is NOT always better people.

Not only that, but the Nokia 3120's screen, while big enough, is of very low quality or interferes with other parts of the phone. Im imagining your screen (like mine) will go out sooner than you might think.

Pros: Somewhat durable, long battery life (without vibration or screensaver).

Cons: HORRIBLE audio quality, cheap screen.
4 Stars out of 5

Nice little phone

Reviewed on Thursday November 18, 2004 by , Salt Lake City, Utah
Pros: Light-weight, great reception, great speakerphone, loud ringer.

Cons: No way to increase the time the backlight/keypad stays on, no dedicated speakerphone function key from keypad - must goto a loudspeaker promt from the screen which must not contain any characters.

Good phone for the value.
5 Stars out of 5

Nokia does it again!

Reviewed on Thursday November 4, 2004 by , Dallas, TX
I've been a long time proponent of Nokia's line of cell phones in comparison to others. I've loved every single one of them and the quality in each. The 3120 is the best I've owned thus far. Always looking forward to their new phones. Only wish some of the cooler ones they offer in Asia could make it to the great USA! Nokia Rocks!
3 Stars out of 5

great reviews but !!!

Reviewed on Saturday October 23, 2004 by , lower mainland
Did alot of research (internet, dealers, end users): nokia again and again is highly recommended based upon previous experience.
So I went out and bought a 3120...

Pros: small size, light weight, and solid quality feeling. Screen is excellent in most light conditions (see cons).

Cons: Screen is hard to read in outdoors daylight. Hissing background noise is very annoying that after 2 weeks I return the unit for another 3120. Again the same hissing background noise on the replacement unit. So, now I am sending it back again. (I actually went to two other dealers and have them listen for the noise. Both of them told me to sent it back since they both use the same phone and does not have the noise problem. Its probably a bad batch of phones they are sending out).

Conclusion: I am giving the phone a 3 stars for now, if they can get me a properly working phone, I am willing to rewiew and increse this rating.
5 Stars out of 5

Great phone for basic functionality

Reviewed on Saturday October 23, 2004 by , Tulsa, OK
I've had this phone for about three weeks now, and I love it. The most important thing to me is great signal strength and long battery life, and this phone is a champ in both regards. It doesn't have a lot of fancy extras like a camera or FM radio, but that's not what I'm looking for in a phone anyway. It does have some great extras, though, like a speakerphone, go to menu, and the ability to attach photos to each contact.

The only downside I've encountered so far is that the screen saver kicks in way to quickly, and the calendar does not have a meeting option. It only has Reminder, Call or Birthday. Other than those minor gripes, it is a great phone that I've really enjoyed owning so far.
4 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Sunday October 17, 2004 by , Toronto
This phone has great reception and features. I recently bought this phone because I was unhappy with the reception on my Samsung 307 which does not compare to the 3120. It's sleek and thin. And the best thing of all is you can actually hear your ringtone when it rings.
4 Stars out of 5

Good little phone

Reviewed on Wednesday October 6, 2004 by , Laval, Quebec
I've used the 3120 for a few days now, and so far, I'm impressed. This could be a nice replacement for the 3595, which has been recently discontinued.

Pros : The screen is very nice, even for a 4096 colors. The text is crisp and very easy to read, the keypad has a nice backlit feature (much better than the one on the 3100 where you could barely read the numbers). The menus are as easy as ever, if you've used a Nokia in the past 5 years, you'll feel right at home with this one. The speakerphone feature works really well, the volume is high enough to use in a car, and the voice quality is superb (much, much better than the speaker on the Motorola Vxxx phones). The reception is exceptionnal (no wonder coming from a Nokia), and the addition of an international frequency (1800 MHz) is a nice bonus.

Cons : This phone continues the Nokia trend : same phone, different cover. Its a carbon copy of the 3100. The exact same menus, the same screen, the only thing different is the cover and keypad. At first, I found the look to be a little too feminine for my taste, but that feeling has quickly passed. Also, I wonder how the manufacturers will be able to make the size of candybar phones smaller and smaller...

All in all, I highly recommend this phone to almost every customers, especially the ones who don't like flip phones. Lets just hope that the next Nokia phones will show some evolution in the future.
5 Stars out of 5

Best phone ever

Reviewed on Friday September 3, 2004 by , Gatineau
Dear friends,

I tried the V300 and it doesnt compare nor equal from far the 3120.

Signal sensibility much better, less dropcalls (none), better options like blocking caller id when you want it, automatic time adjust, better sound, less troubles. This unit is a quality feel phone, you know when you touch something and it appear fragile and cheap, thats the feeling I got from the V300.

Best phone I ever had, really recommended...