Motorola ROKR E1 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola ROKR E1 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

problem (?) with sleepy mode

Reviewed on Friday March 16, 2007 by , yow, canada
hi, someone mentioned a problem with the screen being completely black in sleep mode. in my case, when i try to 'wake' the phone from sleep mode, i can see it 'trying' to light up in the background but doesn't light up completely. it has happened several times. i purchased the phone last year (summer/fall 2006), i have used it for a few weeks. i don't use it any longer but i am thinkin of getting a plan with fido. i've been looking at service providers, at phones and i can't seem to find a simple, basic, easy to use, device. i tried a razor for a few days, but i didn't like it. i found the screen to colorful and too bright, and too many features, more of a teeny or kiddy phone. i just want a phone with large enough keys, easy to use, good variety of ringtones, no camera, no extra gadgets. just a phone, more into candy bar style, than flip ones, i guess. any suggestions?
please don't mention kyocera or audiovox, or the bulky lg 500, i think it is, lol.
to sum up, the rokr is pretty good, except slow to download music from my pc, i was told by friends that it's done on purpose since it's not an mp3 player in intself, but a phone, to cut on the competition. the rokr is not too thin nor too thick, it's just the perfect size too.
5 Stars out of 5

I dare you to find better!

Reviewed on Wednesday November 29, 2006 by , Alfred, ON
I bought this phone last year thinking it looked "cool" and was practical since my MP3 Player died on me.
It seems I didn't know what I was getting myself into.

This phone spent 2 hours in snow at -26 C, 5 months later, it was under water for at least 10 minutes. Amazingly enough, it still works like a charm. Well, the volume down button doesn't work anymore but the up one works so I can still work my way around that. (Although I do not suggest you try this at home)

The quality of the camera (both prior to and after drowning) is the best I've experienced so far although since the phone is now over a year old, I am sure that you could find a better camera in as good of a phone. The option to purchase bigger Trans-Flash memory is perfect and doesn't require more battery power.

Overall, this may just be the first and only phone I will not exchange as soon as the year is over. I love it!
4 Stars out of 5

cronic boombonic

Reviewed on Thursday November 9, 2006 by , cayuga
overall the phone has everything and more youd need in a cell phone. some things i find wrong are that every once and a while i will go into I-tunes and it will just go through all my songs not play them, then i have to go back plug it into my computer wait about 10 mintutes for it to connect then things should be fine. why this happens? i have no clue.
4 Stars out of 5

Follow-up to First Impressions

Reviewed on Monday January 16, 2006 by , Toronto
Here is a quick follow-up to my first review of this phone mid-November. About me: I am regular to heavy user and the cellphone is my primary (only) phone – no landlines.

The phone is still a 4-star phone and overall I am very happy with it.

Reception and voice quality have proven to be superior to most phones I’ve tried and even hold reception in places my previous Rogers phones haven’t… a real surprise for a phone that is best categorized a multi-media phone. Voice quality in particular is wonderful, even with 1 bar of reception in rural areas.

Also wonderful about this phone are its speakerphone and included headsets. Absolutely wonderful sound both the caller and receiver. This holds true for using the speakerphone in the car or using the headset in a windy field.

Battery life is great, and of the phones I’ve tested is better than most, but still isn’t as good as the Sony Ericsson T616, which could go uncharged for over a week with regular usage. This phone I need to recharge every 2 – 4 days. An oddity is the speed at which it charges: The house charger takes about 5 – 8 hours to charge the phone from empty, but my car charger (not included with the phone) charges the phone from an empty battery in about 2 hours. A note: This Motorola phone matches up with some of the other Motorola phones when it comes to chargers… so if you’ve had a Motorola phone in the past check to see if the charger is compatible with this phone.

iTunes I used a lot during shopping for the holiday season but have not really used it since. Again, the sound is wonderful and I enjoyed phone’s implementation of iTunes on this phone, and the related accessories that come with the phone are impressive, especially since some of them cost as much as the phone itself if sold separately. A small note: I called the card in the previous review a mini-SD card… it isn’t… it’s a TransFlash card that comes with a regular SD adapter card to fit in SD slots. Battery life of the phone while using iTunes both in combination and exclusively was very very poor, giving me a combined average usage of only 2 – 3 hours before requiring to be charged.

Problems and Concerns:

Since my initial purchase I have had 2 units. 1) On occasion would enter a ‘sleep mode’ of sorts every once in awhile that I mentioned in the previous review while navigating through the phone. My second unit does not do this which suggests it was an isolated case. 2) The phone was actually returned because of a constant problem where if I would enter my voicemail password, Rogers wouldn’t be able to authenticate. For example, if my password was 1234, and I entered “1 2 3 4”, Rogers would say, “one-four is not the correct password. Please re-enter.” The phone display would however show “1 2 3 4.” For some reason the phone would not send out what I had typed across the cellular network. This at the time was not a widespread problem (the Rogers representative had no literature on it) but the phone was replaced within 2 days via mail. 3) The screen goes into sleep mode when locked or left alone for a few minutes. While lengthening battery life, I wish that there was an option to have the screen a bit darkened but not near-black, while always on so that I could always see what is on the screen. 4) Somewhat of an annoyance to me is how ‘recent calls’ are managed: Because of the number of calls I send and receive, I am the type of user who wants a quick way to review all calls and make dialing selection. Sony Ericsson, at least with the T616, has this best setup, where you press the ‘call’ or ‘send’ key, then have a choice between all calls ‘dialed’, ‘received’, or ‘missed’ all on one screen. You can then simply select the number that you wish to call from this screen. The type of call is easily identified by a simple icon telling you of what kind of call it was. This Motorola model (and others I’ve tested) still doesn’t have this. In order to dial a recent ‘received’ call, you have to hit the ‘recent calls’ key (if configured… if not, you have to first go through a menu), then select ‘received calls’, and then select the number you wish to dial. This is unnecessary # of steps to have to take to make a phone call. 5) Similarly, to redial your last call, you need to hit the ‘call’ or ‘send’ button once, wait for the screen to populate, then press ‘send’ again. With most non-Motorola phones, hitting ‘send’ twice quickly and in succession will redial your last call.

From the last review, I’ve discovered how to program the side key (which was #2 in my list of concerns in my last review), so it is possible. I’ve also discovered a quick way to change the ring mode which was a happy surprise and is much nicer than the way it is controlled on the V600, which was #4 in my list of concerns: Hit one of the volume keys and then hit 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7, where 0 = vibrate and 7 = high volume.

So once again, I’m very happy with this phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Awsome phone

Reviewed on Thursday December 22, 2005 by , charlettetown
I think that the RokR phone is probobly one of the best phones out on the market to date. It has everything a person would want on a phone. cell phone, an ipod mini all in one. Who wouldnt wanna own this phone. I give it a 10/10. Its well worth the money. I find that the camera works actually pretty good considering that its comming from a cell phone.
3 Stars out of 5

Impressive, though Needs Improvement

Reviewed on Sunday December 11, 2005 by , Edmonton AB
When I first took this home phone I was pleased with its decent capacity to hold music, for a cell phone. Also I was pleased with its flawless speed while running games and other aspects. I was further more impressed with the Camera. Though Motorola/Apple seem to have pushed together an out standing phone, it has many downsides. When Playing Music the Operating system becomes annoyingly sluggish with appalling response. Also when not in a well lit area the camera becomes dark and unusable. Also Video play can become sluggish and choppy at times. For as many good features you may find for this phone you will also find a bad one. I would rate this phone 6/10, I regret buying this phone instead of the razor. I am very disappointed with the amount of cons of this phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Friday December 9, 2005 by , Toronto
this phone is awsome. Music, Video, Games...what else do you want? oh right...a very GOOD phone ! even the reception on this phone is very solid. can't say enough good thing about it. ( I wish the camera is a bit better, but oh well it is still decent and it beats my T637 haha)
5 Stars out of 5

As I Said...

Reviewed on Thursday December 8, 2005 by , Toronto, Canada
As mentioned a few weeks ago, I would return with my experience with the battery life. The result - this phone is rated 5/5! Battery life is outstanding; for what you do with the phone whether it be music, camera or talking, the battery will last minimum 2 days! I've used other phones out in the market and none of them can compare to the life of the ROKR.

I've already got an iPod, but the 512mb keeps me satisfied enough to not get sick of the songs I play.

The camera isn't the greatest quality, but remember - IT'S A PHONE.

Hats off to Motorola and Apple for developing a gem!
4 Stars out of 5

The first phone with iTunes

Reviewed on Monday November 28, 2005 by , Montreal, Quebec
I've been using a ROKR for a full week now. I was really looking forward for this phone. At last a phone and a REAL MP3 player! Read on for my impressions :

Pros : The sound quality is the best I've ever seen, and it applies for the hybrid headset (included) and the built-in speakers. The interface is user-friendly, if you've ever used an iPod, you'll feel right at home. The reception is excellent, so its not only a teenager's toy, but a really good phone. The OS is still the same as the other Motorola phones (V3, V360...), but with a few additions like a "plane mode" for someone who wants to just listen to music on a flight. The feel of the phone itself is very solid and the screen is sharp and clear. The phone comes also with a lot of accessories (USB cable, CD software, hybrid headset).

Cons : The USB cable is only 1.1. That means the transfert speed is SLOW. IT takes almost an hour to transfert 100 songs (the maximum capacity of the phone). Also, the UI is sluggish while music is playing, sometimes it takes a full 2 seconds for the phone to aknowledge a command. The camera is awfull, the colours are weird and don't try to take a picture under a low-light environment, you won't see a thing.

I would say that the pros far outweight the cons for the ROKR. We don't sell it as well as the RAZR, but its worth checking out. You'll get far more functions for your bucks!
5 Stars out of 5

Really Good Buy

Reviewed on Saturday November 19, 2005 by , Toronto, Canada
This phone really has it all - 512 MB card, bluetooth, mp3, earbuds, data cable, picture camera and video camera. It takes some getting used to if you're used to flip phones, but it's worth it. The lights on the side are also a great touch! If you're looking for a phone with the most capabilities, this is it. I'm still testing out the battery aspect - I'll leave another review in the coming weeks. As of now - 5/5!
4 Stars out of 5

First Impressions

Reviewed on Tuesday November 15, 2005 by , Toronto
Not bad: Some small hangups but at this price and for what you get for your money: 4 Stars.

The Rokr (pronounced "Rocker", but no one I know does) is a fairly attractive moto candy bar phone which stands out because of its rare white casing. The buttons are a nice size and are great for people who have larger fingers. The phone itself feels a bit (just a bit) larger but since you gain a larger than average screen (for North American phones) and the larger buttons, it is worth the larger size.

Once again the screen is much larger at 2.25 x 2.5 inches and its shape helps keep the phone to feel compact and sleek despite its size. The screen colours are fairly nice but aren't consistent at different angles, providing a look similar to that of a laptop screen.

The reception of this unit so far has been remarkably good. Afraid that at the cost of the other features core functionality (reception, voice quality, battery life) would suffer, so far that isn't apparent. I've yet to see less than all 5 bars while in the Toronto region, including in underground parking lots and in large shopping complexes.

Voice quality also appears good so far: Not too loud but not so soft that I have difficulty hearing. This was a problem with some earlier moto phones that I see have since been fixed. The speakerphone was also excellent in hearing (haven't tested if others can hear me on it yet).

Battery life I can't comment on with full experience yet, however out of the box I didn't charge the battery and with all my tinkering the battery bar went down only one bar. As I doubt the battery was full right out of the box, this is fairly impressive.

In terms of multimedia I like the extra lights in the speakers and am fairly happy with the ring tones included, which include some standard and some new ones (mp3 ones too). You have a choice of 3 'skins' for the operating system and some nice preloaded wallpaper as well which lets you customize things further.

Of course the big draw for many on this phone is the iTunes and I am happy with their implementation of it. Out of the box I simply plugged in the USB cable from the phone to the computer, 'dropped' my songs into the phone and 'voila': I'm ready to play my music. Included is a mini-SD card (which is super tiny) along with an adapter so that you can use it as a regular SD card or in a regular SD card interface. The card contains 512MB, and the phone supports playing up to 100 songs, regardless of how much memory you have. This is fine for me, however, those of you who like to put your entire library on a single device will have to stick to iPods and related devices.

Using iTunes on the phone itself is easy and remarkably intuitive. I was also pleasantly surprised that when not 'in' the iTunes application, i could still operate the main controls (like play, pause, etc.) from the multi-function key.

The two speakers are okay however you won't hear them well in a noisy room. I've noticed some interesting things about them though: Because of the angle of the speakers, in hand the sound is nicer but harder to hear, while on a table face-up the sound is much tinnier and a lot louder. One thing I love about the speakers is that the speakers heavily vibrate, allowing you to 'feel' the music as it's playing.

The phone is equipped with a universal voice headset connection which is very appreciated and comes with an adapter that allows you to use it as a with a regular stereo headset for music listening. I used my own headset with the adapter in play, and was very impressed: The sound was gorgeous.

For all intents and purposes the operating system is the same as most other moto o/s's and while that limits some things, this phone's o/s has come a long way since the one I first saw in the V600. The system is much more intuitive and unlike the V600's o/s, doesn't make me regret leaving my Sony-Ericsson and Panasonic phones behind, both of which were highly intuitive. This o/s is also well faster of previous versions: Clicking on the address book the list is immediately generated without delay.

I have at this point only 4 things that disturb me: 1) The phone's screen often powers off (kind of like sleep mode on a computer) after I leave certain applications. As I further use the unit I'll update when this happens. And 2) I have yet to discover how to program the side key that is defaulted to connect to the Internet. I would have thought this to be easy to do but so far can't figure it out. Oh well, I guess I'll have to use the manual. Also, 3) The screen goes dark (again sleep mode) when I lock the keypad. I don't like that: Darkened is fine, but I can't see a thing. I want to at least see the time. Lastly, 4) Most phones I've used allow me to switch to vibrate mode by holding down the '#' key. This one doesn't and since I can't do #2, I'm having a hard time finding a super-quick way to set the phone to vibrate mode. The shortcut function is not bad, but still not the most desirable.

All in all this phone is pretty good: Good sound, good reception, nice screen. Time will tell how it will perform in these and other areas longer term but for now this phone is an extremely good buy. Normally a 3 star phone, the fact the unit costs so little for what you get (the unit, the unit's software, and the tons of included accessories) brings this up to a 4 star phone.