LG Chocolate TG800 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG Chocolate TG800 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 45 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

i want my pictures

Reviewed on Monday April 4, 2011 by , canada
I went to charge my phone and it wouldn't charge. So, I unplugged the cord from the phone and the part on the phone that you plug the cord/headphones into pulled right out. I have pictures of my son when he was born on the phone and i don't know how to get them off the phone =( Can somebody please tell me how I can do this???
1 Star out of 5

Bad Chocolate

Reviewed on Thursday January 21, 2010 by , Ontario, Canada
My wife bought 2 of these phones in June of 2008. After about a year, the charge port on the side of the phone pulled out when I took the charger out. When I took it back to Bell World (still under warranty that we paid for) they told me that I likely wouldn't get a replacement or repair as the problem with the charging port "usually" occurs during the first year. Since mine broke after that, they were doubtful. I have now been told that I will not get a Chocolate phone back and the warranty is now Void. They are giving me an LG Rumor phone (without warranty) as the Rumor has the same basic features as the LG Chocolate. I've checked reviews and the Rumor doesn't sound much better. Lesson learned .......... DO NOT BUY ANY CELLULAR PRODUCTS THAT ARE MADE BY LG!!!!!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday April 4, 2009 by , Jeffersonville
I justttt barely got my phone and when ever I plug in the phone it says, use genuine battery. and I'm using the battery it came with so i dont know what to do. does anybody know what i should do? w/out buying a new battery????
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday March 29, 2009 by , Canada-Vancouver
I don't understand my LG chocolate slide
It's giving me problems.

Listen up:

So whenever I go to press the number 1 button it takes me to the multimedia and gives me 3 options MP3, CAMERA AND VIDEO CAMERA why ??? why can't it just dial 1 instead of taking me there???

whenever i dial 2 it takes me to the keypad volume and wants me 2 select from 1-5 highest volume...

whenever i dial 3 it takes me to the keypad volume as well and does the same bull****

all the other buttons work fine, the slide works fine, everything else is good

but when i wanna txt or say im dialing a number my 1,2,3 wont work!

i wanna know how to fix this problem! someone please explain!!! HELPPPP ASAP!
1 Star out of 5

baaad phone

Reviewed on Saturday December 6, 2008 by , canada
ive had this phone for about a year and ahalf and so many problems with it. always calling people randomly from contact list, constantly scrolling through any list. sends texts messages when i havnet finished writing, drops calls, sends text messages out of my inbox. baaad phone.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Monday September 22, 2008 by , canada
I've had this phone now for about a year and a half and not even having it for a long time after 3month just 3month's it started acting up the phone would frezze on me, my calls don't go threw,when im on the phone it sometimes turns off,battery life doesn't work for long and ,the charger doesn't work anymore. I had to go and get a new one and it's still the same prob so i wouldn't recomend it to any one.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday July 5, 2008 by , Orillia
I love the look of this phone. It is compact, sexy, sleek and solid. I love the features it offers and truly wish that the LG Chocolate was a flawless cell phone...however, it is not! The sensor screen is ultra sensitive, even on its lowest level. The cell sometimes sends texts while I'm in the middle of typing them. It has called people on my contact list on its own, which is frustrating when you are not calling on your own free will. Its almost as though the Chocolate has a mind of it's own. Nice phone...but full of sensor flaws! I think that if the sensor feature was fine tuned...it would be the perfect cell. I would consider buying another one, if this feature was fine tuned!
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday May 29, 2008 by , canada
I got my LG chocolate in Aug 2007, I dont believe the phone is as bad as you are all making it out to be.
I have had a problem with it once where the ear peice had stopped working but than they took it in and replaced it within two weeks and i havent had a problem since.
All phones have their problems..the razor had its probelms too but it was a good phone if you took care of it.

Obviously when there is such talk about a phone going on they want to release it as soon as they can so sometimes there are still bugs.

all and all its a cute phone and mine has gone through a lot...went through the washer andddddddddd the dryer and works FINE:)
4 Stars out of 5

Lg Phone's

Reviewed on Tuesday April 22, 2008 by , New Brunswick
Well I Have Only Had this phone for like a month,It Has a few errors,But i admit,i have not been gentle with it,But it mostly works fine,Only One problem,I cannot put music on it from my computer,it contains like 10 songs that i payed to download but of course ,Not everythings free,Now I paid somewhere around $220 Dollars for it and if i could i would not take it back,Its Styleish and i love that i can watch videos on you tube with it,and the battery will do me all day,So i dont see why all these other people are whineing about it,Maybe you shouldnt have a phone if your going to balt about it:)
5 Stars out of 5

Thank you

Reviewed on Sunday March 23, 2008 by , NB
To all: thank you you just saved me from buying a chocolate to replace my Sony ericsson w810i. I can now appreciate a good piece of technology. Only bad side...exclusive to [service provider] with no unlimited texting plan:(
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday March 19, 2008 by , Toronto,ON
I LOVE THIS PHONE! I love the look of the phone and the touch sensitive feature. Downloading mp3 was very easy. Thanks to bluetooth, I was able to send it from my computer to my phone. Volume is great! Picture quality is awesome! I love the idea of using the touch sensitive feature while browsing through the phone without having to slide up the phone. I'm having no trouble with reception and battery time is good.

downside-- have no idea how to get rid of that damn internet shortcut!

Overall a great phone!
2 Stars out of 5

chocolate phone

Reviewed on Wednesday February 13, 2008 by , indiana
i just got this phone monday to replace my broken sony ericsson. i have not had any problems yet. the style of the phone is cute. but the features for this phone suck!!!! you can only have 1 ringtone for everyone. you cant rotate pictures. the battery dies quickly. you cant change that annoying sound of a text message to somthing you would like to hear. all around you dont have many options that makes your phone "You"!! i would say dont get a chocolate unless its free. its not what i thought it would be. but im fine until i can get a better phone
4 Stars out of 5

it's o.k.

Reviewed on Thursday December 20, 2007 by , Canada
i haven't had this phone for very long, but i must say, i do like the look of it. I think it is a very modern and sleek looking phone. However, i dont like the fact that i cannot change my shortcut buttons on the screen. I dont like how the internet button is one of them and i cannot change it. I also tried to put pictures on my phone from my PC and they didnt show up in my photo album...this sucks now i have to have a lame service provider screen...anyways, the phone itself other than those problems is pretty nice.
1 Star out of 5

This Phone SucksSsSs

Reviewed on Wednesday December 19, 2007 by , BC
Wow i totally thought this phone was going to be awesome everyone i know wanted it... it had everything.
I have never dropped my phone, or got it wet or anything i've taken the best care of it. THough after a month of owning it started dialing numbers and send text messages after typing one letter...or only puttin two numbers in. IT also dials random people when i open it almost all the time. Its a rare day when i can open it and the touch screen and text messaging work and the fact that its not calling someone wasting all my minutes is very rare. I must lose almost 15$ to random phone calls and not being able to hang up and random text messages.... even when its closed it sometimes will dail. I hate this phone, its a piece of junk.... for all the people intrested in buying don't!
5 Stars out of 5

info plz

Reviewed on Wednesday December 5, 2007 by , lile
comment je sais la deffirence entre les deux LG TG800 KG800???
aide moi svp car j adore le lg chocolat je veux bien un a+ merci d avance
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday November 27, 2007 by , Vancouver, BC
I'll admit Im a sucker for a sexy phone. I couldn't wait till I got my hands on one of these chocolates. I will say to all you fake chocolate lovers on his page I took VERY VERY good care of my phone...no water spills...no dropping on cement etc...etc...THE PHONE IS CRAP!!!! It looks great but can't hold a date longer than one night. I have had everything under the sun go wrong with this piece of crap an I have several friends with the same problem...the best one was when no one could call me for 48 hours and yet my pone said it had reception. I could call out but one one could call me. All my text messages said they had been sent but really they hadn't and didn't go through until 3 days later. Also my voice mail box said I had no messages when in reality everyone of my friends had been trying to call me and left endless messages however I could not access these messages until 48 hours later. WAY TO SCREW UP our social and work life. I have had my phone fixed several times and again it went back to screwing up. I AM NO A PHONE ABUSER!! THIS PHONE IS MADE OF CRAP!!! I do not want this phone I hate it and have tried to get a new one but [service provider] ARE JERKS and wont let me upgrade my hone until a year is up otherwise i have to pay full price. THey keep saying they will keep fixing my phone...but the problem is it takes 6 weeks and every time I get it back it will me good for 2 days maybe a week if Im lucky and its back to dropping calls..no reception when I'm downtown vancouver not in timbuck 2. ANHOW I have been borrowing a phone from a friend in the time being until my one year is up so I can upgrade to a PROPER NORMAL FUNCTIONING phone... SO for all you people hat say you LOVE your chocolate great Im happy for you wish I had the say story..p.s I don't believe your really..maybe hired by LG.???


FRUSTRATED phone user
5 Stars out of 5

No problems here

Reviewed on Tuesday October 23, 2007 by , Edmonton AB
Personally this phone is great. I have no idea what people are complaining about... any phone has its problems if you abuse it. I've had mine for 1 year. Clear reception even in a sub basement. the touch screen works fine. I have about 5-6 songs on it witch if good enough for me .... if you need music in your life get and actual MP3 player. A cell phone is made for calling not jamming to music. I can store all my contacts, its easy to use and the picture and sound quality is great.

Some downsides (comes with every phone)
- can't change songs into ring tones without 3rd party programs.
- Not a lot of memory but thats easy to deal with ... get an mp3 player and digital camera.
- fingerprints everywhere.... just have to polish it every once and awhile.
- slick design... falls out of pockets easy and scratches very easy.
- It gives you the option to add pictures to contacts but no way to do it...

Thats my review. There will be good and bad to every phone but personally ... this phone is great and i will keep buying the new models.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday October 6, 2007 by , Toronto
I'm one of those anti-cellphone people, but my husband recently got me this phone and I must say I love it.

I like the touch-buttons, and I love how easy text messaging is with this phone. The pictures turn out better than the pictures on my husband's Treo.

I have great reception, including in the house (whoever doesn't, I suggest checking your service provider first. Maybe you live in an area that receives weak signal).

The battery charge lasts me 3-4 days at least.

Only downside is that you do get fingerprints all over it, but at least you dont get dust in between the buttons and it's easier to clean off.
1 Star out of 5

Cant stand this phone

Reviewed on Saturday September 22, 2007 by , montreal
I cant stand this reception problem...I cant even walk through my house without it losing reception and that is on the main floor...(HORRIBLE)..When i take a picture it freezes the whole phone , i have to take battery out because it wont even turn off. ONly thing its good for is my ALARM in the morning. People ask me if i have my phone on all the time because when they call me it doesnt ring on my end and they get my voicemail. Vibrate on phone is not strong enough cant even feel it sometimes. Everyday i just feel like throwing it against a wall. Ps for the guy that is having the problem storing his pictures to his caller id..you have to take the pic on 72 x 72 and then you will be able to stor pic to the caller..when you open your camera you press that stupid sign on the left.(looks like an envelope) and then you click size then change it to 72 x 72..after switch it back when you are done..

later...we all got dupes on this poorly made phone..
2 Stars out of 5

blank white screen what happened?

Reviewed on Monday September 17, 2007 by , vancouver
Im writing this review because I wanted to know if everyone was having the same problems as me, my cell just out of the blue went blank white screen so I cant see anything, turning it off and on worked for a few days to remedy this problem but now it doesnt so I had to forward it to my work cell. I know have lost all the extra 100 contacts that didnt fit into my sim card because cannot see anything on the cell phone since its white screen, I didnt drop my phone or anything, infact it was my baby because I think its quite a good looking phone and the mp3 player is great. I was thinking of buying another chocolate phone but have started reading reviews that this white screen problem is common so I guess Iwill have to look for another cell phone to buy. I hear its cause LG cells are not good??
3 Stars out of 5

no sound

Reviewed on Saturday September 8, 2007 by , canada
it good phone, but i dont no how to put music and pictures on it
4 Stars out of 5

Great phone

Reviewed on Friday August 31, 2007 by , Canada
i love my new chocolate phone it looks absolutely stunning and classy i love the slide feature to hide the number buttons however even though the light up touch sensitive buttons look neat they are too sensitive but this phone has great features like the camera and video camera

also putting music on is really easy and the mp3 playback has great volume except with headphones.

overall i love this phone its the perfect phone for me
4 Stars out of 5

OK phone

Reviewed on Sunday August 12, 2007 by , Vancouver
Overall, the LG Chocolate I have is a good phone. I had to get it fixed a few times due to memory card problems, it said my memory card was full and I couldn't put any music or photos on it. But it got fixed. It took some time to get used to the sensitive buttons, but overall they're pretty neat. I would recommend this phone, but not if you aren't "gadget friendly" if you know what I mean.
1 Star out of 5

already replace one...

Reviewed on Tuesday August 7, 2007 by , toronto, canada
have to get replaced again.
horrid reception, lack of connectivity and network complaints.
now i have lost the images on the screen, it only displays a white screen.
turning off and on doesn't correct this.


too bad looks and functionality DON'T go hand in hand here.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday July 30, 2007 by , ontario
the only bad thing about this phone is reception. but then again i live in the middle of no where so most phones here have bad reception. i dont know what all these complaints are about the phone, cuase thats the only downfall. and if your in a highly populated area, the reception is perfect.
1 Star out of 5

It sucks..

Reviewed on Wednesday July 25, 2007 by , surrey, british columbia
The features are all really nice to have but it's not worth the money you pay for it. The phone buttons stop working on the sides easily, the service is always bad because there's no antenna, and over all it just sucks!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday July 6, 2007 by , toronto
i dont know what you are all sayin i mean its a great phone its not all about looks its has great qualities but it also has a little tweeks that needs to be fixed its still a great phone. :P
2 Stars out of 5

LG Chocolate Phone

Reviewed on Friday July 6, 2007 by , Miami
The second after I bought the phone I was having problems. I couldn't call anybody and I would be outside and have no signal. I am always losing signal meaning I can't call, people can't call me and I can't send or receive text messages. My phone can't go 10 minutes without freezing.. the mp3 player is the best part about it but otherwise, I've been having problems since I got it.
5 Stars out of 5

Must Read

Reviewed on Wednesday July 4, 2007 by , Alberta
This phone is amazing it has everything u need, Although the Buttons are a little sensitive, Its just one of the things you get used too when you get a new phone. Amazing Phone~~~~ 2 THUMBS UP!!
2 Stars out of 5

why didnt i?

Reviewed on Tuesday June 26, 2007 by , kgn, jamaica
i wish i read these revies before i had somebody get me that phone. It is a beautiful phone looks) FULLSTOP. a basic option such as "apply as ring tone" doesn't exist! not to mention picture caller id. thats just crazy!
3 Stars out of 5

battery sucks

Reviewed on Tuesday June 26, 2007 by , bowmanville
I just got my phone and the battery is only lasting 24 hours in standby.
1 Star out of 5

LG Junk

Reviewed on Wednesday May 30, 2007 by , BC
I got this phone (the white version) just over a week ago and have had nothing but problems with it. It's got so many problems, I can't even remember them all.
Every time I hang up from a call or send a text message, the phone loses it's signal. I have to turn it off then on again to get it to work.
It randomly loses it's signal for no reason when not in use, which means people can't call me.
The battery doesn't even last a day.
It doesn't store dialled numbers or received calls, even though I have caller ID
I can't access my voicemail.
It randomly lights up and beeps at me for no reason. And it beeps at me when I try to make a call.
The sound quality/volume when I do manage to make a call is ridiculously bad.
There's more problems than that, but I can't recall them all right now. I'm going to [service provider] tomorrow to ask them what they plan on doing to fix it. I wouldn't mind keeping the phone if they repair it or give me a new one that actually works.
3 Stars out of 5

how do you put songs on this phone!!!

Reviewed on Wednesday May 30, 2007 by , calgary
umm i have no idea how you put mp3 files on this phone! its impossible.
4 Stars out of 5

the keypad light

Reviewed on Saturday May 12, 2007 by , Canada
the phone is awesome.
i have never had it call anyone by itself.
Like others say... poor memory.
It has aweseome bluetooth, and it has many features, good calculator, MANY converters, and so much more.
It has an slick look.
love it
2 Stars out of 5

Ok Phone

Reviewed on Friday April 20, 2007 by , Mississauga
Although this phone looks great, its not very convenient. Touch screen is too sensitive, not enough memory the bigest factor, gets fingerprints all over it, keeps shuttin down or freezes at times, and so slow when it comes to playin games, no good embedded ring tones either. Oh ya text messagin is so inconvenient. So i'll say this phone just looks good otherwise it's horrible.
3 Stars out of 5

Camera Glitch`

Reviewed on Wednesday April 18, 2007 by , Toronto
Camera would freeze if i was taking a pic while moving the phone, My pics would show up pink and vids would be pink. The is no lock on the phone except when u turn it on and u cannot lock messages. Everything else looks ok though.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday March 31, 2007 by , Sarnia and St.Catharines Ontario
I like the phone...
except that u cant lock out sections..
my service is terrible... CRAPPY ANTENNA
not to many songs can fit in it...
those are the dislikes....
and that u cant save messages..
1 Star out of 5

Too Sensitve!

Reviewed on Wednesday March 28, 2007 by , Ottawa
Must say I'm not a big fan of this phone. The touch screen is way too sensitive. If you even just hold the phone for too long the touch screen picks up the heat and randomly selects menus, calls people (or doesn't let you select a person to call), and prevents you from text messaging. It's frustrating!
2 Stars out of 5

Display bug / glitch

Reviewed on Sunday February 25, 2007 by , Montreal
This phone is only about good looks... functionality sucks.

Cam phone is horrible, mp3 player is worst than the worst stand alone mp3 player, touch sensitive key doesn't work well, slide looks fragile...

And worst of all, this phone bugs too much... camera color bug, sudden power off, random blank screen, inverted color display, weird colors and scrambled display.

2stars for the looks
5 Stars out of 5

Love this phone too much

Reviewed on Sunday January 28, 2007 by , canada
the heat pads are quite sensitive to start with, but it is quite easy and speedy to use after adaptation. the only con of the heatpad is when i try to take pictures of myself and have to turn the camera backward, hence, cant see or feel any buttons. but this can be fixed since a button on the side hotkeys to picture capture.

i have never had the experience of mis-dailing numbers as some of you seem to have

style is very slick and classy

slide functions as a lock as well as hidding those number buttons that makes other phones looking very mechanical and non slick.

lock system is great. when closed, press volume buttons twice to activate.

media capabilities are above decent.

pity the memory is not expandable

overall... love this phone too much.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday January 11, 2007 by , Mississauga
Thats all this phone has, the numbers dont light up, the memory is horrible, the touch screen is too sensitive so it goes off in your pocket all the time. Too mnay people I know have this phone and aren't happy with it. But it is a nice lookin phone, i'll give it that
4 Stars out of 5

Not 2 Shabby

Reviewed on Friday January 5, 2007 by , Owen Sound
I Just got the new chocolate phone for my birthday, and it IS a good cell phone... BUT, like it says.. not much memory... i can only hold 25 songs on it, which isn't really good for me because i love my music... so if you want alot of music on your phone, that means you have to watch how many pictures, videos and text messages you save... but if you already have an mp3 player, this phone is awesome.. I especially love the touch screen! AWESOME cell phone! Good Job Rogers!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday December 28, 2006 by , Ottawa,Ontario
This phone is AMAZING!!! The style, the sound quality, the look! Touch screen display is great! Bluetooth is top notch! E-Mail capable! GREAT PHONE! Buy one! Not much memory....TRUE, but I already own an iPod, so I don't need it! Pick one up! *****
2 Stars out of 5

It's just for the looks...

Reviewed on Saturday December 9, 2006 by , Toronto, Ontario
The phone itself is pretty good I guess... but the WORST part is... it has VERY LITTLE memory... which sucks... the design is good... and whatnot... but you would expect this phone to have lots of memory.. but it does not...
As a student... I NEED music in my life... and now I can BARELY put 1/5 of my songs onto my phone....T_____T
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday November 23, 2006 by , Telephone Booth
not expandable memories... just the prettiness... another RAZR like phone... just the look... so think twice..