LG 535 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG 535 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 16 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5

getting the phone

Reviewed on Wednesday August 13, 2008 by , montreal
i once had this cellphone, for real its my fav one. you can upload any picture or mp3 to make them fit as wallpapers or ringtones.
where can i get this cellphone? my broke like 3months ago.. lol it seems out of orders because it's too old. And i can't find any on ebay.
5 Stars out of 5

how does it work?

Reviewed on Monday July 23, 2007 by , Brossard,Quebec,Canada
I bought the mini SD card,and I've added mp3 files from my computer onto it,and yet I still have error messages on my cell phone,stating the files don't exist,yet I've read those files from my card,to my computer.How does it work?
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday March 30, 2007 by , kingsville Ontario Canda
I bought my phone about 6 months ago and the screen has already gone on it. First it would discolour than it would just turn white and now my whole screen is black.
5 Stars out of 5

LG 535

Reviewed on Thursday August 10, 2006 by , Canada
Great phone had it for over a month. I read the reviews you guys wrote and some info was wrong. This phone can indeed zoom but it has to be at a resolution lower than 1.3 to zoom. So if you have it set at ex 640 x 480 you can do a 20x zoom. Also in order to save pictures and video to the mini SD card you click option on the video and click copy. It will then be transfered to the card. Now you can transfer to computer.
3 Stars out of 5

Facepate woes

Reviewed on Tuesday August 8, 2006 by , Vancouver
I purchased two of these last January for $3o each. About a week after we got them, one would take pictures and video in green and purple. the repairs took only 2 weeks, nice. About one month after purchase, I cracked the faceplate on the other. Word to the wise, holster the phone with the face towards you, otherwise face (!) the the specter of a crack. Plus both of them are missing paint around the send, back and end buttons.
I bought the LG over the others because it offered more features (minus bluetooth) than anything short of a Razr. If you look at the LG Chocolate, the form factor is the same as the 535, with 95% over same features. But in a more attractive wrapper, I might add. I kinda think users of the 535 were the R & D crew for the Chocolate.
I do love the big screen, the external speakers ( ..backround music on chairlifts!), you can squeeze half a movie onto the miniSD card with software floating around the net, the internal memory can handle 30 or so 15 sec. videos, you can surf the web and chat, voice record, log appointments....Come to think of it, I does most of what my Palm T3 does.
I don't like the battery life, no BT, no zoom for the camera (I had a entry level Nokia with zoom and a low light setting), the above noted cheap plastics and the size. Its big. If I had to do it all over, I save up for a Treo 650 or 700p
1 Star out of 5

Only buy if you're rich!!!

Reviewed on Tuesday August 1, 2006 by , Peterborough
I bought this phone just after it came out last april and at first it was awesome. Many cool features including 1.3 megapixel digital camera, external memory, sliding feature... When I bought this phone I paid the whole $400 for it. 2 months later it went in, software problems, I had to use a crappy loaner phone for like a month. 3 months after that it had to go back in again for more software problems. Now it's out of warrantee and I've got this phantom white screen that started appearing. Now it's staying like that or it's just scrambled. I sent another slider in with the same problem for a repair estimate and it was going to be $75 plus taxes. If you value your money at all, don't waste it on this product, not even on a 3 year contract because you'd be lucky to get a year out of it.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday July 7, 2006 by , Calgary
I have owned a 535 for about 6 months. While stylish, the phone has a few major flaws.
1) The screen can be easily damaged... mine has a huge crack in it, and to get it repaired I need to send it to LG for 4+ weeks
2) The mp3 player sucks bad. No functionality to plan randmon songs... just to play them in order. Shuffle should be a basic requirement.
3) The camera has no zoom... it is supposed to, but it does not function.
4 Stars out of 5

Nice phone, a few problems

Reviewed on Thursday July 6, 2006 by , Edmonton, Alberta
I bought this phone because my previous one became junk. Overall, I'm glad I got it, but there are a few things that really got on my nerves.

First, 3 days after buying the phone, I had it in it's case on my belt, when I brushed up against the back of a chair and it cracked the screen (the clear plastic over the screen to be more specific). There wasn't all that much pressure on the screen when it happened so it really made me angry.

Also, in the user manual section for the mini SD card, it says that only pictures and videos taken on the phone can be read from the SD card on the phone, but there seems to be no way to change the settings so the pictures and videos that one captures are saved to the SD card. Thus, the SD cards purpose is solely for mp3 storage, which is fine, but it sure leads you to believe that purchasing a SD card will give you more storage for your pictures and videos.

Overall this is a great phone, with a brilliant color screen and great picture and video quality. The mp3 playback is loud and clear which is a great bonus. I have had no major problems with signal strength. I rate this phone with a 4/5 stars only because the screen (or clear plasic cover for it) isn't very strong and I would recommend that you take special care not to put any pressure on it.
5 Stars out of 5

The most versatile phone!

Reviewed on Monday January 23, 2006 by , Toronto
I am amazed at the features this phone has!
Talk about best bang for your buck - this phone is one of the better, if not, the best phone out there on the market. It would be worth your while to read all of the reviews posted. I read a lot of reviews and took them with a grain of salt. This phone is not a digital camera, camcorder, mp3 or PDA first. As a phone first, it is great! I have never lost a call and I use it on a daily basis. As for the other features I mentioned, they work great and honestly, for the money, you can't go wrong. This phone/device will keep you quite satisfied. Looks very impressive! I believe this is the best looking phone on the market. Construction of this phone is typical of any LG product - Solid! Very good construction, materials are not cheap, slider is smooth. I agree with one other review I read about it being a little slippery. Would be great with rubberized sides. Otherwise - I am extremely happy!
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday October 8, 2005 by , ottawa
this is day 3 owning the 535. I just bought the memory card and was disappointed to learn that TELUS does not allow there clt's to store pix and videos on it. After inserting the memory card and loading it w/ songs, the phone still indicates that the card is empty. the little icon on the top of the phone does appear therefore the card was inserted properly. reception is mediocre compared to the V710 however the picture/video quality is miles ahead. My V710 was out for repairs for a total of 12 weeks. NOT RECCOMENDED.

Input on my MP3 issue is appreciated.
5 Stars out of 5

Very Satisfied

Reviewed on Friday August 5, 2005 by , Markham, Ontario
Well, I've had my LG-535 for a about a week now, and after a rocky start, it's all good. Let me explain the rocky start first.......

When I first got the headset, I did as the instructions told in the manual: "It is important to fully charge the battery before initial use of the phone." I did so, but soon after that, the battery was lasting barely TWO days (and in my area, I get pretty good reception which shouldn't drain the batteries as quickly). This happeneded after several discharges, so I brought the phone back to the store where they gave my a new headset and told me to fully discharge the battery BEFORE charging it for the first time. Soon after this advice, my battery lasts a good four to five days.......

....fast forward to today....I can say I'm pretty happy with my purchase. What I like:
- This is a one BIG SCREEN. It's brightness and clarity pretty much blew me away, very impressive.
- Camera quality is the best i've seen from any other camera phone, but don't kiss your regular digital camera goodbye just yet.
- When you load up the SD Card with MP3s (more on the card later) and play them through the phone's speakers, the speakers deliver clear and loud music that is actually recognizable
- The slider makes everyone with flip phones take notice :-)

What I didn't like:
- This phone is bigger than your average phone, but what do you expect from a device that crams a decent camera, MP3 player and phone in one package?
- Battery life is good, but could be better (maybe an extended battery will fix this)
- To listen to the MP3 player privately, you need to buy $39.99 head phones, WTF!?! (you can try finding an adapter that converts the 2.5 mm plug to a 3.5 mm plug, but every Radioshack in my area has them sold out)
- Don't buy the Telus mobiliity cases, the plastic covering sticks to the screen which makes it impossible to operate the slider
- Adding Bluetooth would make this phone kick ***

Overall I'm very happy with my purchase, if you're a gadget gizmo person (like myself), give this headset a try (but don't touch the Motorola v710, the amount of complaints on the internet about this phones is almost shameful). For those users confused with the MP3 player, before loading the SD card with songs YOU MUST reset the card. Do so by going to the Menu-->Mini SD Card-->Reset Card. Put the songs in the MP3 folder and your good to go!

Oh yeah, drain the battery first BEFORE charging it for the first time (ignore the manual's instructions)...

Be easy folks.....
4 Stars out of 5

Nice phone overall

Reviewed on Wednesday May 11, 2005 by , Sherbrooke
Rings loud. Vibrate more than my Blackberry 7510. MP3 player plays good with nice stereo sound even using the external speakers. The playback functions are not impressive. The screen is not shutting down when playing MP3 so it takes more power.

Camera menu are not responding very fast. 1.3 Megapixel seem good. Screen resolution is amazing and a lot more precise than the Motorola V710. Only problem is that at daylight, you can't see anything if not in camera mode.

Reception is comparable to the market. Qualcomm chipset just like most CDMA phones.

The spring loaded slider seems very weak. I recommand you to use it with precaution.

A cool feature that I've never seen on another phone, is the phone number recongnition; very interesting. Voice dialing and fast dialing works fine.

As many phones, the provider blocks a lot of features like, saving pictures and video on the Mini SD card. Lets hope that one day every features that a phone can do will be available no matter the provider.

For 50$ more you get a V710 with bluetooth. You can think about it. But a slider is a lot more convenient and stylish.
4 Stars out of 5

LG535 camera problems

Reviewed on Sunday May 1, 2005 by , Vancouver
I've had the LG535 phone for about 2 weeks now and I've tried out most of the functions on it. The phone's software revision is listed as CX535V13 on hardware revision 1.0. Overall, the phone is quite good with only a couple of minor problems (one of which I decribe in detail below). Like most other people, I find the menu arrow buttons and especially the OK button to be rather small. I found the menu systems in the phone and the flexibility of the associated functions to be superb. The screen is clear, bright, and the resolution is very good. The speaker phone function is very good and the sound is loud and clear. Also, I have had no problems with signal reception. At the time of this review, email on the phone was a bit of a challenge as Telus gets email to you via its net browser rather than through the phone's menu choice marked "Email". I also found that documentation for the phone was rather light for the level of complexity of some of the phone functions (however, for most technically savvy users, this will not pose a problem). For the level of functionality the LG535 provides, I don't mind the rather hefty 139 gram weight of the phone.

With regards to bugs, I have found a bug in the camera function that may be of interest to someone considering this phone on the basis of its camera resolution. In this bug, the phone locks up for about 1 minute when I try to take a picture of a scene that's contrasty with lots of detail using the phone's camera set at its highest resolution of 1280x960, FINE mode. This problem does not occur at the lower resolutions (but then what's the point of getting a 1.3 MPixel camera phone?).

An example of such a scene would be a close-in shot upwards into a bright clear sky through a tree's branches and leaves. Another example would be a closeup shot of a densely packed group of brightly lit flowers against a dark background. In each case, there's a lot of fine detail and the subject is a high contrast subject with lots of edges. Scenes that don't have these properties don't appear to be problematic for the LG535.
2 Stars out of 5

I waited 4 mnths. for this...not impressed

Reviewed on Wednesday April 13, 2005 by , Ottawa
I originally wanted the V710 from Motorola but because of advise I received from my salesman (software problems with the V710) I decided to hold off getting a new phone until the LG535 was released. After all it was scheduled for released within a few days...I could wait. Well I was one of the people "standing in line" at Christmas waiting for the LG535 only to be told there would be a delay in the release date...it was not going to be released until early in the new year. At this point I decided the right phone was worth waiting for so I waited,and waited and waited. Finally the LG535 was released at the beginnig of April and I got the first one that my store was shipped. The salesman assured me that this phone had been worth the wait and that I was wise to have listened to him back at Christmas(not buying the V710)
Well after buying the LG535 I rushed home to play with my new toy...check out all the features etc.. Unfortunitly I realized quite quickly that this phone had issues of it's own. Firstly the reception was not nearly as good as my very basic Sumsung 650. Making or receiving calls at home with the LG535 (I live 40 min. east of Ottawa)was hit or miss at best even though I never missed a call on the Samsung.
The second problem I had with this phone was the earpiece volume. If I was in an area where there was even moderate background noise I found it very difficult to hear poeple on the other end. This made calls in my car a real problem and I know it would only have gotten worse as the weather improved and I started rolling the windows down.
The third problem I found was a small software glitch. The phone has a feature where you can select how it will answer calls; by pressing any button, pressing the send button only or by sliding the phone open only. Well I sellected the slide open only function but the phone could still be answered when the send button was hit and since the send button is on the face of the phone you could inadvertantly answer a call...not a big deal until you accidentilly answer that first unwanted call.
Forth and fifth: the tiny spring that controls the sliding mechinism seems like it won't last very long before breaking and the exposed screen got scratched within the first 10 days of having the phone.
Don't get me wrong there are plenty of good features on this phone that do work very well; voice dial, speaker phone, camera/video, messaging features, MP3 player,a really loud ringer and a strong vibrate function etc.. However I found with the problems listed above (along with other problems I haven't listed) plus the fact that I found the phone to be too big and too heavy caused me to exchange the phone after 15 days.
Guess what phone I have now...the Motorola V710 and I truely love it. My opioion is that the V710 is a much better phone overall. The V710 gets better reception, has more features, is a flip phone not a slider so the screen is protected in my pocket, the earpiece volume is louder and even though it is almost the same size as the LG535 it seems smaller.
In closing if you want a great multi-featured phone from Telus go with the V710 not the LG535.
4 Stars out of 5

Very good all around mobile

Reviewed on Tuesday April 5, 2005 by , Canada
Yes the camera and video functions actually work. And the most important factor, it has to be the best reception I've ever experienced on a cell phone. I've just aquired this phone after retiring my Samsung A600 camera phone. The LG535 out performs it in all areas. So if youve heard the A600 is great, wait untill you try the 535.
5 Stars out of 5

lg 535 camera phone

Reviewed on Wednesday January 19, 2005 by , montreal, quebec
This phone is truly amazing in photo quality and video quality also. Before this phone i had the motorola v710 wich is also a very good phone it was really attractive but the photo quality wasn't that great!