Kyocera Slider SE47 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Kyocera Slider SE47 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 14 reviews.

1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday March 18, 2005 by , CA
I have had this phone for less than a year.
Battery was recalled. Now the phone will not hold a charge AGAIN. I am also on my second phone. First crashed all the time for no reason.
4 Stars out of 5

Great for beyond-the-basics!

Reviewed on Monday January 3, 2005 by , Georgia
I just upgraded my phone to a V5 slider and I'm really pleased. I get great reception, awesome color and a lot of good features. This is the perfect phone to get if you're looking for more than just the basics. I love downloading ring tones from the Virgin Mobile site. Best of all, I'm no longer wasting minutes with a restrictive contract.
***Administrators note: this reviewer is in the US.

1 Star out of 5

This phone is HORRIBLE!!!

Reviewed on Monday January 3, 2005 by , New York City
After getting my battery recalled, I've had non-stop trouble with my phone. In total the battery has been replaced 3 times and still does not work. The design aspect of this phone is very appealing, but I would have to say it's the worse cell phone I've ever had.
4 Stars out of 5

Great phone.

Reviewed on Tuesday December 28, 2004 by , CA
Slider style is definitely the phone for me. As soon as I saw this phone on I feel in love. It's has just about everything I could have hoped for. It's stylish, uniquely designed, has great reception, almost all the features I wanted (including color screen, downloadable ring tones, and text messaging), but best of all it's pre-paid.

If I had to give it a score from 1-10 I'd give it a 9. Why not a 10 you ask, well because of a few features that would have been nice, but I can live without. They include a camera, voice ring tones, and web access.

Overall this phone is awesome, the best one I've bought so far and one of the best I've seen available. If you're looking for a unique `pre-paid' phone, this is the one to get!
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone!

Reviewed on Thursday November 4, 2004 by , Long Island, NY
1. Amazing Reception
2. Great Battery Life
3. Amazing Speaker Phone.
4. Small Phone
5. Very Few Drop Calls.
6. Durable
7. Looks very cool

1. Keypad is kind of small.
2. Screen exposed... so susceptible to scratches

I love it!
4 Stars out of 5

SE47 and beyond

Reviewed on Wednesday July 21, 2004 by , Ottawa, Ontario
I upgraded my wife's motorola 120c in July '04 which had its antenna snapped off and inadvertanly run over by the car so it was time for an upgrade. I have the Kyocera 5135 and I was impressed with the reception and battery life. The SE47 is the same. It is small and very compact so it does make answering and making calls tricky for a guy. It is probably not bad for a girl with smaller hands. The graphics and games are a nice feature. The only issue I've encountered is the voice recognition and voice dialing of the phone. I've only tried one number and it does work but not without repeated attempts at the phone. It make Star Trek look better with the communicator. Overall, the phone is very colorful and sleek.
5 Stars out of 5

Oh my cute little phone...

Reviewed on Monday July 19, 2004 by , Brantford, Ontario
It's a very hip phone...cute, probably a bit on the feminine side. Something a little different from the traditional flip or open-face handsets. People just gobbled them up when it was released in Canada, and I can't say I blame them. Easy to use, stylish, and interesting. It has its own style. I've have no problems so far with mine. Good reception and battery life. Probably more difficulties with the bell network than necessary, but definitely not the phone. I would definitely recommend this phone to anyone looking for something a little bit different than what everyone else has. You may pay more for it, but it's very worth it.
4 Stars out of 5

Pretty interesting

Reviewed on Saturday June 26, 2004 by , Louisiana
The features that you can order through the 'get it now' option are really nice- it's great to be able to put all of my phone numbers into a website so when I upgrade this phone I can just dwnld them again instead of inputting into the phone. The speaker phone is a nice touch- clear sound and just one button to press (yay- less brain cancer!). The only problem I've encountered is that it heats up a little faster than other phones I've had. I guess you can just lay it down and put it on speaker but its probably not good for the phone. I also wonder if the sliding mechanism is actually going to last a year- it seems like it might get gritty from dust(like a pocket knife) and need frequent cleaning. I think the hinge is far less likely to crack than a flip phone from strain though(like my last one). I like it so far.
4 Stars out of 5

Good looks excellent reception & battery life

Reviewed on Sunday March 21, 2004 by , New York City

Over past few years I used several phones by Sanyo, Motorola and LG, The reception of Kyocera se47 surpass all other phone I have previously owned. A cell phone is intended to make clear phone calls, and I must tell you that it does it very very well. I gets a very weak signal in my apartment, at times itís so bad that I had to stick my head out of my window to make calls, even then with my older phones (Motorola v120 and v60i) I have had dropped calls.

Since I got Kyocera SE47 I have no drop calls and everyone thinks I am calling form a land line. I am REALLY impressed. It is so good that, I donít even have to go near the window to make my calls. Finally I can sit on my couch and not worry about drop calls or bad reception. I used to believe that bad reception & drop calls only depends on the strength of the signal, however in my case this phone made a huge difference.

I highly recommend this phone to anyone except if you have huge hands. I still think you must try handling it at your nearest selling and see for yourself how well it fits in your hand. Other then that this phone is loaded and has all the bells and whistles one expect from a modern cell-phone.

Here are some of the features I like in this phone beside itís very good reception, its smalls size, quality, speaker phone, voice recognition, bright color display, approx four hours of battery life, light weight.
4 Stars out of 5

!!It's a great phone!!

Reviewed on Wednesday February 4, 2004 by , Port Hope, Ontario
This is the second cell phone that I have ever had. I got it just after December, and to tell you the truth the only reason I bought it was because of the looks. All around my school all I see are older cell phones and flips, so I knew I was going to be one of the first or the only ones to have one. Everybody loves my new phone they think it's the coolest thing. The phone really does have a long life battery, I forgot to plug it in one night and in the morning it still had all 3 bars lite up. This phone is also very durable, I've droped it a couple times in the snow and it still worked like it was brand new. I really get good audio reception on it too, it isn't all broken up are staticy. The only down fall about this phone is that you are not able to download games. The sales person said yep, you can download games, ringtones, screensavers etc. He lied about the games and I think that's false advertising, but there isn't anytihng I can do now.

I would highly recommend this phone if you're the type of person that likes it when other people say wow or cool about your things.

I really do like my new phone and in the future i would'ed mind getting one of those camera phones are the phone like mine that is motorised.

4 out 5 because it's not able to download games
4 Stars out of 5

Nice Phone

Reviewed on Monday February 2, 2004 by , Toronto
I bought this phone in early December. I really like how compact it is. I haven't had a problem with reception so far. Another nice thing about this phone is that the ringtones dont have those sharp ear-aching tones, they are on the softer side.
The only downside I have found is that if you use one of the screensavers other than the digital clock your battery power runs low quickly. But with the digital clock screensaver I can easily last a week before having to charge.
5 Stars out of 5

Really Good Phone

Reviewed on Thursday January 22, 2004 by , Edmonton
I've had this phone for about a month and a half now, I haven't had any problems whatsoever with it. I've had great connection throughout my city, even within buildings underground. In the area I live in I don't get a strong signal, about one bar to none but I haven't had a problem with that either, I just slide up my antenna if I can't catch a signal. I haven't dropped any calls yet either. The "sliding" motion is a head turner. you'll get some ooo's and ah's, i know i have.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday January 22, 2004 by , Toronto
I Just upgraded from a 3 year old Samsung T100 that served me well. The Kyocera's colour screen is welcome, however it runs down the battery quickly and I had to set it to power save mode. It takes more than 15 seconds from power on to when you can actually use it, what with egg timer, Slider graphic and Bell Mobility logo (did I ask for that?) each taking their turn while I wait. Selection of polyphonic ringtones are good, and there are alot of them available for download. Two failed attempts to get one from the Bell Mobility website (you have to call and activate the 1X browser I found out) and I eventually had to use its browser to get it. My biggest gripe? The alarm. With my old Samsung I could turn off the ringer and it would still activate the alarm, with the Slider you can't. You can choose from vibrate/ vibrate then ring, no sounds or lights only, but then whatever you choose becomes your alarm....
1 Star out of 5

I Returned 2 sliders in 1 week

Reviewed on Sunday November 23, 2003 by , Montreal
I am not an expert in Phone testing, but I can tell when someting is not up to par.I had this phone for 31/2 days and just walking on the streets in Montreal I will lose signal.I rarely got full strenght as compared to my previous Samsung A460. The incoming audio on this phone is terrible.How can this phone and the Samsung 400 passed Bell Quality testing.My boyfriend have the n400 and is always losing signal.The form facor is good, outgoing audio is good, but the incoming is terrible.By the way I this is my second slider and I have the same problem