HTC S621 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The HTC S621 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 15 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday August 9, 2010 by , Houston, TX
i've this phone forgave it to me as a about 3 years they gave it 2 me as a gift on my 8th b day and its still works fine. i haven't had a cracked screen and the internet works fine. i want to get a BlackBerry so i'm actually selling mine and its in great condition....
3 Stars out of 5

it's o.k.

Reviewed on Thursday September 10, 2009 by , Ottawa
A few post before said S621 did not come with the manual, wrong it comes with one in the box and can be downloaded! Also yes the S621 does have a problem with cracked screens, I had to replace mind! It has lasted for two years, but cracked screen & battery problems just after 1 year warranty!
Also bad customer support from HTC, still works o.k. and am use to the software,
5 Stars out of 5

Great Product

Reviewed on Sunday June 29, 2008 by , Charleston, SC
After 4 Blackberries over a several year perid I had to switch because my company uses a Windows Mobile application.

... have now been using my HTC (Yes I also agree the name is lacking)for 6 months and love it... The manual is satisfactory; recently I upgraded the Mobile5.x to 6.0 with a download from the HTC Website and found it to be a snap.

The Screen is GREAT... and the keyboard is larger and better than other models I tested. Battery life is better than my Blackberry, but I just purchase an aftermarket battery that extends to over 20 hrs of active use.

The WiFi works and synchronizing with Outlook is perfect.

As a sales type who travel a lot... I would recommend it to almost anyone.
5 Stars out of 5

Excellent phone

Reviewed on Friday May 16, 2008 by , Toronto,Ontario
Before purchasing my htc s621 i must say i did a lot of reserach because I wanted to know what i was getting myself into. I've got to thank all of you who made comments regarding this device good or bad because it truly did help me out. If you didnt notice i ended up going with this device and I am SO happy. I am new to smartphones etc, so it will take me a while to get used to it but so far so good. I just have a couple of questions:
I really would like to download some themes for my device as it only gives you two choices does anyone know where this can be done?
in additon I am having a lot of trouble with my wifi, it worked the first time with my wireless network i have set up at home but i went in and changed some settings now it says there is a connection error. can anyone tell me the defauly settings so i can rest it ? thanks
4 Stars out of 5

Very happy with this phone

Reviewed on Monday April 14, 2008 by , Montreal
I'm a bit confused by a few of these posted comments-- the phone comes with an extensive manual! Perhaps you bought an unlocked (i.e. probably demo or second hand) version?

I've seen quite a few cracked screens on all brands of device with the larger screen. I've had no problems with mine-- of course, I bought myself a good case.

The wifi feature on this phone is brilliant-- I, too, am almost always in an area with free wifi. After downloading skype, I can even call out for free. This feature alone pays for the phone-- I can't even imagine how anyone could go without it.

I have never had this phone freeze, and I have a ton of complicated apps on it. Several of them (like palringo and skype) I run simultaneously. That being said, I think the "close your apps" comments are dead on.

I also find the keyboard on the HTC s621 to be much easier to type with than, say, the Blackberry Curve.

I only have two gripes:
-> As has been noted, the joggr bar is in a terrible spot-- pretty much where you hold the phone, so you're always hitting it inadvertently. I changed mine to volume, which is less of an interference, but I do consider just turning it off entirely.
-> HTC s621 is a TERRIBLE name-- and not even on the phone! I can't count the times someone has asked me "what is that?" and I've just shrugged. Why can't they just give it a real name-- sheesh.
3 Stars out of 5

Volume Control

Reviewed on Wednesday March 12, 2008 by , Cincinnati
Where is the volume control for the phone?
5 Stars out of 5

Excellent Phone and PDA!

Reviewed on Tuesday October 23, 2007 by , Canada
What are you people talking about? The S621 does not experience the cracked screen problem as the S620. The user manual is available but does not come in the box as hard copy. It can easily downloaded. My only issue, which is probably all user related is setup for bluetooth sync to my laptop. [service provider] does not offer any support. Otherwise the HTC S621 is an excellent phone for the money.
1 Star out of 5

Poor Quality

Reviewed on Sunday September 30, 2007 by , Canada
I had this phone for approx. 3 months when the screen cracked on me. I had two main problems with this phone; the first obviously is that the screen cracked... now I can anticipate this happening from dropping the phone or hitting it off something, however I did neither. The thing that burns me is that the LCD cracked from the inside out. There is not a single indentation or scratch on the outside of the LCD to prove my “abusiveness” with this phone. This in my opinion is not normal and has to do with the product quality considering I babied this device as my life was on it. The second problem is the back plate continuously falls off this device! I have had 2 different S621's and they both did this.
In summary DO NOT BUY THIS DEVICE, spend the money on something that is more reliable, you will thank me later. The quality of it is poor!
Oh in addition, customer service calls this normal wear and tear.

5 Stars out of 5

No Complains

Reviewed on Tuesday September 4, 2007 by , Toronto
love the phone, nothing to say in the negative side of the device, i simply can't wait for the HTC Cavalier (S630) to come out

just an update, the phone will be having Windows Mobile 6 Update within the second week of September, from rogers themselves, so as an advisement, look forward to updating your device as it may help a lot of your opinion about the device in general
4 Stars out of 5

Great product

Reviewed on Friday August 17, 2007 by , Ontario
well after reading the reviews (poor) below I can see why retailers become frustrated. The manual as has been stated is available all over the web and on the enclosed CD with the phone.Try following instructions!
The phone itself is great I love the speakerphone option and quite often have it strapped on my visor while driving.
90% of the buildings I work in have Wi-Fi so the majority of the time I am surfing freely with the built-in wireless saving huge amounts on my wireless subscription :)
The document viewers are handy for reviewing drawings/ spreadsheets etc. ,although there are plenty of third party programs to actually edit if you want.
The camera works well for short videos and pictures of work I'm reviewing and coupled with my 1 gig micro SD I can store loads on the device.
I'm fairly large (260lbs) and I'm able to work the keyboard easily and find the layout good - considering the compact size of the device.
All in all I think HTC has a great little unit and I am much happier with it then many of my "crackberry" buddies.
I think the key issue with a review on this is the ability to follow instructions (to find the manual) and to have a working knowledge of the Windows Mobile systems.
5 Stars out of 5

Amazing device

Reviewed on Monday August 13, 2007 by , montreal
I have a lot of experience with cell phones and PDA's and this little gem impressed me. It's size is incredible, but it still so easy to hold and use. It's very fast and allows for many customizations.

Do not pay any mentioned reviews written by inexperienced users and technology illiterates who don't take the time to properly setup their device. There is a manual included, it is on the supplied CD-ROM, in french and english PDF format. It is very well made and contains 178 pages. You can also get it on the HTC website. Also I am repeating things in earlier reviews but this must be understood: This is not a phone..its a computer people! If you leave all your apps running it will get jammed. I never experienced any slowdown or lockups. This Smartphone is one of the best out there and it is the only one right now with wireless G.
4 Stars out of 5

Very Good Smart Phone

Reviewed on Thursday July 12, 2007 by , Vancouver, BC Canada
I've had the HTC S621 (aka the "Excalibur" in Europe) from [service provider] for two months. I have had no problems with the operating system and have found some very cool ways to save money (hope [service provider] isn't listening...). I travel extensively to the US, Europe and to remote places like Greenland and it has worked perfectly. As for people complaining about no manual - LOOK ON [service provider] WEBSITE UNDER CUSTOMER SERVICE / WIRELESS TECH SUPPORT - all the manuals and more are there !!

Also, I have had no lockups so far but I also try to run only one application at a time. Just like any computer, it bogs down and can lock up when you are running multiple things. A couple of other things that the [service provider] reps don't seem to know - it does have voice dialing, you can download hundreds of different types of applications (games, mp3 player apps, etc), and you can access multiple email accounts at once.

Things I like:
- Light weight / large screen / Windows Mobile Based
- Instantaneous Direct Push Email (like the Blackberry - but better) on multiple email accounts that you can turn always on for one (or more accounts) and off for others. For instance, I get my work mail instantaneously and get my home email on demand by using a send/receive function.
- Can view (but not edit) word, excel, pdf, powerpoint documents. Download an online application for a few bucks and you can edit if you wish. Use a bluetooth keyboard if you really want to get carried away and are tired of the laptop...
- Can tie into free wireless, turn off the cell and run Skype Mobile - and make unlimted calls to any phone within North America for $30/year!!, or call Europe, China or Australia for 2.4 cents/minute
- I'm a big guy 225 lbs and while the keys are small, they have a really good feel/click to them and I can type with my fat thumb and make virtually no mistakes.
- The big mouse key works great.
- I can have instantaneous syncing with my Outlook Calendar, contacts, email, tasks etc from my phone to my work computer and in both directions. Ie. Add an appointment on your phone and it shows up on your Outlook Calendar at work 2 seconds later. No hard syncing like with Palm software required.
- Can unlock it and use it overseas on local (ie. European) cell phone plans to save money if calling within Europe as an example instead of paying high overseas rates.

Some things I don't really like:
- The lettering on the keys is small and can be tough for those that have trouble reading up close.
- Do yourself a favour from day one, disable the jogger bar on the side of the phone through the settings as it is a real flaw. It is used for scrolling and volume control but is a waste of time. Instead make multiple profiles that set sound volumes through the settings menu. Then select the profile you want to use at any given time. Not great but it works and I have had no problems.

So, take it from there. It isn't perfect but it can do things that virtually no other phone can - for 1/2 the price of the latest blackberry.

The phone takes a few days to figure out how to set things up the way you want, but in the end you will be happy.
4 Stars out of 5

I like it better then my Palm Treo 680

Reviewed on Friday June 8, 2007 by , Toronto, Ont
Well I got mine today and I haven'r found any problems with it, the only thing is when you connect the the browser i'm not sure how to disconnect but other then that its a pretty good phone...
5 Stars out of 5

Very Satisfaied. Not about the other two above reviews... Maybe they reviewed something else??

Reviewed on Friday May 25, 2007 by , Ottawa
Well, I have owned almost every phone that is GSM/GPRS/EDGE and is compatible on the Rogers/Fido Network. I have tried many smart phones, and this one very Impressive. Ignore poor reviews on this site for this phone, and chalk it up to un-informed and unexperienced end users. Its like they always say, you can never please everyone and there will always be someone who will complain. Plus, 1 out of 10 happy people are likely to post a review, as 1 out of every 2 unhappy people will post a review. IE, you will always see bad reviews for everything.

Instruction Manual... This can be found on the CD that is included in the box. The cut down on the consumption of paper, HTC has chosen this to help cut down on needless paper use. This is a full instruction manual! THere is also a quick start guide included in the box, which should get you going until you find the time to pop the cd into your machine. Plus on the other hand, play with the device, you cant "destroy it" by playing around with it. People these days are terrified to try anything without a manual or expression permission form someone... PLAY WITH IT, IT WONT BLOW UP! The manual should be used as a guide if you get stuck, not a starting point... Thats what the quick start guide is for.

Battery Life... I found the battery life very good for a smart phone. Mine last about 4-5 days between charges, and this of course depends on the talk time I use. Normally this is quite a bit, as its my only phone line (no landline). ***TIP*** You may not know this, and is only common sense, but when your not using WI-FI or BLUETOOTH turn them off. They are huge energy consumers, and will drain your battery much faster. THis is the case on all phones. If your using a BT headset and require bluetooth to always be on, dont be surprise when you find yourself charging your device more often, convenience is usually a trade off of some sorts.

Screen Freeze... Like all other Windows Mobile 5.0 / 6.0 phone, this phone can multi-task (have more than one program at once). Most newbies to wm5/6 phone are notorious for leaving all their apps opens, and wonder why there device slows up, or freezes. THe phone has only about 20MB of working space, and the more apps you have open in the "background" the less memory and the slower it will operate. All smartphone (WM5/6) has something called TASK MANAGER, become familiar with it, it allows you to make sure that things are closed and not running in the background slowing down your device. Most newbie WM5/6 users notice they when they run this app for first time 8+ programs will be running in the background they thought they may have closed. Its not a cell phone!!! Pressing the hangup button will not close your app/program. It will still run in the background.

OVERALL, I love this phone. Ignore reviews by people who do not know how to use this device. There inexperience actions are usually why the device doesn't operate the way they would like. Take it from an expert, this device is one of the most solid devices that is considered "SmartPhone". It surpasses anything else on the ROgers/Fido line up, with the only exception of a blackberry, which is for the email junkie generation ;)
3 Stars out of 5

No Support

Reviewed on Friday May 11, 2007 by , Montreal
I purchased the S621 a few months ago. Overall the phone works well, but the lack of a proper manual leaves a lot to be desired. The battery charge is much less than the 5 hours of talk time company claims. I find I have to charge the phone at the end of every day, which was not the case for may Motorola Razor. Also, the screen often freezes, making it impossible to navigate the menu, or use the phone. The only solution is to remove the battery and put it back again. I would really appreciate if someone has access to the complete manual, if there is one.