Slate 8" Tablet Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Slate 8" Tablet has an average user review score of 1 Star out of 5 based on 46 reviews.


1 Star out of 5

Worst piece of garbage ever used

Reviewed on Friday May 5, 2017 by , autin texas
Unless your are a masochist avoid this device. A salted slug on a hot day goes faster then this fine piece of equipment. When Sprint offered it to me I did not read the review.... Buyers regret. Now I am stuck paying $200 for something I can't even play Spotify on via my home wifi.

I would be ashamed to even release this device into the market. Like all other review, avoid this product by all means!
1 Star out of 5

A piece

Reviewed on Friday April 14, 2017 by , Pittsburgh PA
I finally went on line with Sprint and they activated my 6 yr old Samsung tablet and after all of these years it is way better than the Slate. Sprint needs to call all of these back and give a decent tablet to use.
0 Stars out of 5

Karen

Reviewed on Tuesday April 11, 2017 by , Bessemer al.
Worst tablet I have ever had, extremely slow, locks up constantly
0 Stars out of 5

Don't waste your time or money

Reviewed on Tuesday April 4, 2017 by , Michigan
I have had this tablet all of 5 days and it has turned off and on by itself at least 10 times. It has frozen at least 20 times. It's almost like everytime you go to open any app it freezes. Taking back to the store tomorrow. SMH
1 Star out of 5

Don't waste your money

Reviewed on Saturday March 18, 2017 by , Arkansas
I am not with Sprint I have Verizon. My dad bought this tablet for his grandson for his birthday and after about 5 days it shuts off and doesn't come back on and wouldn't even charge. I took it back and they gave me another one. I have had this one for about a week and it just goes crazy, it's constantly rebooting itself over and over and over again. This tablet is worthless not even two weeks I've had two tablets and both of them were trash
0 Stars out of 5

Basically Worthless

Reviewed on Friday March 17, 2017 by , California
Sprint should pay me for using this piece of junk. Slow, cuts out while typing, no HDMI output. Almost worthless by today's standard
4 Stars out of 5

Nice little tablet

Reviewed on Thursday March 16, 2017 by , Aurora CO
I have read, and honestly don't understand, all the negative reviews of this tablet. Considering it's a giveaway common sense dictated that I wasn't getting a top of the line tablet. That said, I have had none of the problems people are constantly complaining about. Mine has worked perfectly since I got it, both at home and on the road, with absolutely no problem.

For me this is a perfectly fine tablet that allows me to play games, surf the net and download, edit and send business documents.

Overall a 4/5 rating.
1 Star out of 5

poor excuse for a tablet

Reviewed on Saturday February 18, 2017 by , palm springs, ca
This is a very sluggish tablet with poor connectivity despite having a fast network. Even when I place it within a foot of my router I still can't get a WIFI connection. I have to repeatedly enter my email and password to get my apps to work, and even when I do I still can't get connected. Apps open very sluggishly.
The worse part is that I'm paying $10 a month to Sprint for this piece of junk.
0 Stars out of 5

Do not buy

Reviewed on Sunday February 12, 2017 by , Idaho
Sprint promotion. Slow, none of the apps run well. More of a hassle than a convenience. Email not working for my iCloud email. Hours wasted. We also have an iPad. iPad is far superior. Waste of money and time.
0 Stars out of 5

JUNK FROM SPRINT!!!!

Reviewed on Saturday February 11, 2017 by , Flagstaff Arizona
OMG!!! I got the 8in slate tablet... it's so slow it cut's off in the middle of writing..the touch screen is not responding.. the battery icon does not let You know it's getting low just cut's off!!!..im stuck with this crap for 2 years..but never again!!! maybe I'll just find another carrier.. I can't believe that the clerk's at the Sprint store actually recommend this to me...so to another unsuspecting buyer beware..DO NOT BUY!!!!!IT TO TOOK SO LONG TO TYPE THIS..SO BAD!!!!less than one Star..
0 Stars out of 5

Pass on it

Reviewed on Friday February 10, 2017 by , Los Angeles
The "free" Slate 8 is by far, the most unreliable making it the worst electronic gadget I've ever owned. Regret not going for the other option I had at the time, the smaller screen LG, whatever that model was. Shame on it!
5 Stars out of 5

Sprint Slate 8

Reviewed on Saturday January 21, 2017 by , Denver
I bought this tablet at a pawn shop. I don't understand why there are so many bad reviews on this product. I don't have any issues and the tablet runs great. It was worth the price! This is a really good tablet. I love it!
0 Stars out of 5

Free?

Reviewed on Tuesday January 3, 2017 by , Washington
I was sent the Slate 8 as a free gift by Sprint. This tablet has been nothing but trouble!!! In trying to set it up I encountered 1 problem after another. It wouldn't except my wi-fi, it would continuely ask the same questions in a loop about setting up my email account . It would just drop apps, tell me the SIM card was either bad or it didn't have one. I have had to do factory resets four times and it's currently not working. Glad I did have to buy it.
1 Star out of 5

S L O W

Reviewed on Tuesday January 3, 2017 by , Arizona
Very nice lighting for reading. For E Books it is great. For anything to look up on Google or Yahoo I have never seen anything so slow. It is really not good for much but EBooks.
0 Stars out of 5

Junky trash tablet

Reviewed on Saturday December 24, 2016 by , Pineville, NC
8 inch tablet pure junk, fell for the salesman fast talk. Now I'm stuck with this trash and additional charge for 2 years. Won't do that again, next time I feel I need a tablet I'll contact another company. Atten: all concerned don't fall for the slick talk and don't agree to this tablet
1 Star out of 5

way below standard tablet

Reviewed on Wednesday December 21, 2016 by , Fresno Texas
This tablet is a very slow tablet which shuts off from time to time. I don't like the tablet. The only catch is that I am stuck with it for 2 years. Next time I will not fall into such a trap. I will not advice anybody to even get it for free.
0 Stars out of 5

This tablet is TERRIBLE!!!

Reviewed on Tuesday December 13, 2016 by , Houston
I hate, hate, hate this tablet! It never works properly and the touch sensitivity is absolutely HORRIBLE!!! I would have never bought this tablet if I would have known how horrible it was!! The battery says 100% but shuts off while watching a movie! The swipe response time is soooo super slow!!! Never again!!
1 Star out of 5

rp

Reviewed on Sunday December 4, 2016 by , nc
This is a low quality, ill performing tablet. Even at free, it cost too much.
0 Stars out of 5

Trash

Reviewed on Friday November 11, 2016 by , Kerrville
This thing is basically a piece of crap. I have to reset it constantly. And it's still refuses to work. Tried to get help from the people who created this tablet but they told me I would be without my tablet for a period of two to three months for them to fix it. Meanwhile I'm still paying for it. It isn't fair to have to pay for something that doesn't work. I am surprised that Sprint that they even had this model in stock to give to their customers. It was a straight disappointment.
0 Stars out of 5

Straight Garbage

Reviewed on Tuesday November 8, 2016 by , Maryland
Thank you sprint for relieving your inventory of worthless garbage onto unsuspecting people claiming great deals and free upgrades. I'm a tech savvy person that owns several devices at one point in time or another and this tablet by far is the worse piece of junk I've ever had delivered on my doorstep all in the name of free replacements (upgrade from Galaxy tab)!
Freezes, lags, slow, shuts down, reboots, no matter how many resets, system updates, etc etc.. open an app it freezes, battery meter stays stuck on 100%, doesn't connect to in-home wireless even though it clearly shows the connection after entering pass code.. point blank, plain and simple this tablet is garbage!
0 Stars out of 5

Brandy

Reviewed on Wednesday October 19, 2016 by , San Diego
This tablet is the biggest piece of junk I've every owned. It shuts off constantly, reboots itself, takes a lifetime to restart and doesn't have a kill switch. It randomly decides not to recognize any form of touch and has me growling like a mad woman every time I attempt to use it. I'm stuck in a contract with this POS and Sprint needs to LET ME OUT!
1 Star out of 5

Robt

Reviewed on Wednesday October 19, 2016 by , Texas
My Galaxy Tab went crazy after 2 yrs and I took it to be checked. They gave me the Slate 8 and after3 days, on Sunday morning while preaching, it cut off. After I got home and plugged it in. Red light flashes several times and then stayed on. Battery was completely drained. It showed 100% up until it cut off. Here it is on Tuesday and repeat, it showed 100% on battery again and cut off. Plugged it in and red light stopped flashing. I held the on/off button until it rebooted. Went to setting and it says battery usage not available and graph is at100% but 4% charge (fully charged in 5 hrs).. no updates available
1 Star out of 5

Autumn

Reviewed on Monday October 17, 2016 by , San Diego
Total piece of crap tablet. I downloaded kiddie games for my 4 year old daughter, and the tablet has been frozen ever.
0 Stars out of 5

You get what u pay for.

Reviewed on Thursday October 6, 2016 by , Pismo Beach, CA
Totally not a good tablet. Freezes constantly in the middle of a game. Good thing it was free cause if i would have purchased it, i would have gotten a refund.very diszppointec
1 Star out of 5

Garbage tablet

Reviewed on Tuesday September 20, 2016 by , Hanover, MD
I'm pretty tech savvy and I can say without a doubt this tablet is a piece of junk. Lags, not connecting to the internet when the meter shows it's clearly connected,lags, has to be rebooted over and over, firmware update, profile update works whenever it gets ready... This tablet is straight garbage and Sprint is simply dumping this garbage on others to get rid of inventory under the guise of "you get a free tablet upgrade" deception!
Did I mention this tablet lags!!!!!
2 Stars out of 5

Terrible tablet

Reviewed on Tuesday September 6, 2016 by , Flagstaff
Make sure you only get this for free, don't pay for this device.
* Slow, very slow processing and switching tasks, even the browser
* Can't uninstall certain apps, including facebook
* Doesn't support profiles to switch between
* Terrible screen resolution.

If you're phone is faster, you'll probably find yourself using that instead this device around the house, making it useless at my house.

I guess one pro is standby battery life seems pretty good. Since I never use it, the battery keeps its charge for a week or so!
5 Stars out of 5

Update

Reviewed on Monday July 18, 2016 by , Los Angeles
I previously gave it a zero. Took the tablet back to sprint for a new one that works perfectly.
0 Stars out of 5

Good thing I kept my tab4

Reviewed on Monday July 11, 2016 by , Los Angeles
Got it yesterday free with my phone upgrade. Used it yesterday adding apps etc. Screen kept blacking out. Left it overnight to charge and now can't get anything. Charging light starts out green then turns to red. I guess I agree with those that said they overpaid at free.
5 Stars out of 5

WORKS Now

Reviewed on Tuesday April 5, 2016 by , Colorado Springs, CO
I got it in November and had nothing but issues from day one. Half reboots on its own that would make the screen not go into landscape mode, requiring a full reboot. Random crashes. If I watched any kind of videos it would crash after a few mins. Really frustrating. Did an Android update on it today and its working fine now. Videos and such haven't caused a single crash. FINALLY!
Before today I would have said 3 stars because when it was working it was fast and great.

Now Ima give it more because.. IT WORKS!
5 Stars out of 5

GET THE UPDATE!!!

Reviewed on Monday March 28, 2016 by , Texas
I did not like mine at all when i first got it with the free incentive from sprint. How ever about a month ago i did the most recent update and wow what an improvement! It's almost as fast as my galaxy s6 and no more crashes or shut offs!!! I'm actually pretty impressed now especially since it was essentially free (with the small monthly data fee of course). It has brought my rating from a 1 to a 5. FYI I am basing my rating number on the price i paid for it (FREE) compared to what i use it for and not how i compare it to other high end or more expensive tablets. Once again of you have not updated to the new program and tried it, please do so and let me know if your results were the same as mine.
1 Star out of 5

Useless worthless not worth the time should have thought better of it

Reviewed on Wednesday March 23, 2016 by , Kerrville tx
Sprint offered me a free tablet I should have known better, tablet has froze up ever since the beginning.
1 Star out of 5

totally useless

Reviewed on Sunday March 6, 2016 by , Minneapolis
worked long enough to download a few programs. Then the screen froze up and tablet wouldn't hold a charge. Got it for free as part of sprint promotion. Overpaid, LOL
1 Star out of 5

Worthless tablet. Worthless Customer Service

Reviewed on Saturday March 5, 2016 by , Louisville
Tablet cannot run for 30 minutes without automatically shutting off. I called the tech support # and their robot kept hanging up on me. Sprint was NO BETTER. Tablet was "free" with two year data plan subscription. You get what you pay for. I GOT NOTHING!!!
0 Stars out of 5

Not Worth The Cost

Reviewed on Wednesday March 2, 2016 by , Omaha NE
I just as a bonus for upgrading my wife's phone. Sprint gave me 12 months at no cost and then I would pay for 12 months.

The tablet is seems to be slower than my original computer, an RADIO SHACK TRS-80 Portable Computer - Model 100 1983. That computer can still be purchased on e-bay $150. Mine still works.

The Slate tablet seem slower the TRS80, reboots after several minutes for no apparent reason and has finally stopped working entirely.

If Sprint offers you the "free gift", don't take it.
0 Stars out of 5

Garbage and poor service

Reviewed on Wednesday March 2, 2016 by , Woodbridge, VA
I received this as a freebie with the purchase of my phone. What a piece of garbage. As others have stated, screen blacks out. Well mine went kaput last week. I received it on 15 Oct, did not purchase insurance, but it is under warranty. It is up to me to go back to the manufacturer . I was given the runaround when I went into sprint as in my opinion they should assist in navigating this route. They gave me a number for commercial products. I did get a number, but it wasn't to the manufacturer as they had given me the wrong manufacturer to start with. Even Sprint customer service thought the stores would repair. Really does anyone know what is happening. I'm currently waiting for a number from a Sprint on who to call.
2 Stars out of 5

A valued Sprint customer of 7 years has its perks...

Reviewed on Saturday February 20, 2016 by , 95726
2 (two) stars to the Sprint HP Slate AQT80. Upon opening my "free" HP tablet I was drawn to the really shiny and highly reflective, mirror-like screen. The engineers at HP went all out creating an auto-power-cycle feature which reboots the tablet every 1 to 3 minutes. Ingenious!! Whether it's buggers in your nose or spinach 'tween your teeth, you'll always be prepared with the Sprint HP AQT80. When I removed the AQT80 from the box, I immediately noticed the solid state build of this device, giving it a substantial feeling, not yet tested, but certainly capable of securing a sheet of paper in a hurricane. Next, the matte-black skin on the back side of the tablet is rubberized making it resistant to scratches and can double as an eraser when writing with a pencil. Upon further examination, one can't help but notice the conveniently located mini-USB power plug at the top of the device. This location comes in real handy when doing head-stands while the device is charging, utilizing the exclusive and proprietary HP anti-auto-rotate screen feature. Surely all the rage in Silicon Valley and the Emerald City too. This tablet really is a cutie, living up to its catchy model name AQT, I could go on and on about the multiplicity of this device, it will definitely put a rumble in this market. I would only change one feature of this advanced device and that's the color. I mean come on guys, rather than the standard and boring black, this tablet is befitting of an earthy brown, like the piece of s@%t that it is. Worth every penny.
2 Stars out of 5

What do you expect for nothing?

Reviewed on Tuesday January 26, 2016 by , Kansas City - Sprint World Headquarters
I think you may get even less with this device. I bought a HP Envy 8 Windows tablet that this is modeled after and it was a complete disappointed that I sent back.

But, when I was buying a new phone and had to go with Sprint because of my service area, this was a free add on and Android which I prefer. Not exactly free, it costs $10 a month to share data.

I have not had any problems but it does black out often, there is no flash and the camera is lame, the touch screen is unresponsive sometimes, you need headphones to hear it and I've had some app compatibility problems with apps that work on Android 5 on other devices. I prefer my 5 year old Moto Xoom.

The HP Envy cost $350. If I use this piece of junk for 2 years it will have cost me $240. If it lasts that long I guess I will break even.

0 Stars out of 5

HP Slate 8

Reviewed on Tuesday January 26, 2016 by , Norfolk Va
Received this as part of a Sprint promotion and consider it another indication of how HP has slipped in the portable electronics market. Battery life was decent but takes to long to recharge. In addition, screen has an annoying habit of going blank. making one wonder if it is even on. In addition, any time you try to change the wallpaper to anything other than the default, the device has issues until you restart and then it reverts back to that same wall paper. After trying to find a video player to play videos, I understand why this device did not preloaded with one since it had poor video compared to a similar size tablet from Emerson which I had purchased from a discount store for $30 and has so far been a far better value.

This tablet is good if you just need an ereader, read email on the go and an occasional Word document and would like something larger to do it on than a smartphone screen. Then again, every cheapo tablet is good for that and would cost you far less for the capability.
0 Stars out of 5

Embarrassing

Reviewed on Tuesday January 19, 2016 by , MN
Sprint is selling this slab of disappoint due to the good "free" tablets being backordered.

Free? Of course it is until year two. Do yourself a favor and go iPad if you're going for a tablet. Pricier? Yes, and quality tracks accordingly.
1 Star out of 5

Free Can Cost

Reviewed on Monday January 18, 2016 by , Connecticut
I'm currently waiting for the return mail envelope to return my free tablet. It continuously froze up, it at times, wouldn't respond to touch. I lost a whole afternoon engrossed with troubleshooting and resetting the device. I am so disappointed with SPRINT.

It's not fair that I'm supposed to limit comments to the device only, because customers service on the device is the pits. Their English is can't be comprehended.
1 Star out of 5

Disappointed

Reviewed on Monday January 18, 2016 by , La
Used it once the tablet cut off, never came back on. I got it for my granddaughter for Christmas / birthday.
She started using it at my house, so I know she didn't do anything to it.
She is so hurt about it.
1 Star out of 5

Free and still not worth the hassle

Reviewed on Sunday January 17, 2016 by , Michigan
I got this tablet free through a promotion. I've had issues since the moment i turned it on. Screen auto rotate only works intermittently, and when it decides to stop the only way to fix it is to restart the device. Device shuts down on it's own (usually while trying to watch a simple video for a class) every 10 to 15 minutes. This tablet may ne appropriate for kids gaming but nothing else.
1 Star out of 5

Out of the box

Reviewed on Thursday January 14, 2016 by , Chicago suburbs
I just got this tablet for my daughter two days ago and already I've notice two discrepancies. The first is that the view does not auto-rotate as advertised. I went into two different settings and changed the setting to rotate screen or auto-rotate and no matter how I turn the screen the picture remains the same. My other problem is that I cannot get the picture or video to resize. I was trying to play a game but the video was too large and I could not see all the control which made playing the game impossible since the functional buttons were off screen and there was no way to even pan the screen to get to them. I will take it back to the Sprint store within the next few days to see whether it was operator's error or get my money back; oops, maybe that is why it was free.
2 Stars out of 5

Slow, slow, slower

Reviewed on Sunday January 10, 2016 by , Philadelpha, PA
This device is so slow I can look up information in a book faster.
0 Stars out of 5

Free, but still a ripoff

Reviewed on Thursday November 5, 2015 by , Columbus, OH
I got one of these thing about 2 weeks ago. I took back the first one they gave me because it would not run Aviate, restarted, shut down, or just froze up at random intervals. When it did start up again, it would show a message screen saying "optimimizing x of 159 applications", which actually meant "you are not using this device for the next 1/2 hour or so". Obviously a defective machine, right? No. the replacement machine behaves in precisely the same way. This device is junk and is way overpriced at zero dollars.
4 Stars out of 5

Pretty Nice for a Free Tablet

Reviewed on Thursday October 22, 2015 by , Birmingham, AL
Nicer than expected. Feels solid and seems to have higher quality than the $0 price tag would imply. Pretty standard specs for what it is, but the screen looks pretty good when streaming hulu and netflix.

My son plays some games on it and they work fine. No crashes so far.

Overall, seems more than worth the $10 data plan they offer with it. Mostly use at home on WiFi, but pretty good when out on the road, too.