BlackBerry PlayBook Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The BlackBerry PlayBook has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 14 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5

Still the best

Reviewed on Sunday April 27, 2014 by , Canada
I paid 125$ dollars the 32gb with the leather cover (5$) and the rapid charger (5$). You can still grab the playbook for under 100$.

This tablet allows true multitasking with apps since 2011. 3 years ahead of the competition. Its compatible with recompiled android apps and the fact that nobody broke its security to install another OS yet should be very clear to you on how robust this tablet is.

I use it everyday for everything. For 125$, its one of my best purchase ever. Period.
5 Stars out of 5

Powerful, Portable and Versatile

Reviewed on Monday April 14, 2014 by , Toronto, Canada
I bought my Playbook over a year ago, and I am very happy with it. I didn't really know what to expect from it, but I had confidence in it based on its specification and other users' reviews of it. I bought the 32GB Playbook based on comments from those who bought the 16GB tablet, but I was so happy with it that I also bought a 64GB tablet, for a little extra money, to get the larger storage capacity.

I haven't yet learned all of its capabilities or used all of its features, but I have used it for web surfing, for reading news and email, listening to radio programs and for watching movies and videos. It has been wonderful for those. I did get hooked on Fruit Slash and spent too much time with that! I downloaded the Blackberry Desktop software and love having the ability to pass files back and forth between my Windows 7 computer and the Playbook. My computer just sees the Playbook as an external storage device - through my computer and the included USB cable I can manipulate files that are on the Playbook, move files between machines, change filenames, play MP3 and MP4 files, and edit documents. I am amazed. It's important to remember that the Playbook is more than an e-reader and more than a tablet to play games on. It is a full computer with all of the power of a computer.

The Playbook is a nice size to carry around the city or take on trips, and I often carry it around my apartment so that I can listen to music or watch a documentary or video. It is a solid, well-made and well-functioning tablet and I strongly recommend it.

I bought Blackberry's leather cover with the optional keyboard, isn't necessary but is convenient. It's nice to have a fully functional keyboard complete with arrow keys to move around text and make edits. I also bought the Rapid Travel Charger, which does speed up charging. I recommend that, too.
0 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday August 11, 2013 by , Glasgow
I bought 1 on Friday,
And will heading back to the shops
To get my money back on Monday morning

5 Stars out of 5

Would buy again

Reviewed on Wednesday April 24, 2013 by , Canada
I love this tablet. It is fast, the camera and pictures are good (better than my friends iPad) and I can multi-task on it and it doesn't slow down like the other tablets do. I email, FB and use it for taking videos and watching t.v. on it all the time and with the plethora of new apps out for it, it keeps up with the competition. What I really love is that the BB keyboard has a mouse pad whereas none of the other tablets that I know can use a mouse. It turns my tablet into a mini-laptop. I guess it may be because it is meant to be used for business as well as pleasure where many other tablets are mainly just for fun apps use. I bought one for my brother and like myself he takes it everywhere and almost has stopped using his desktop too. The on/off button needs some work but either than that no complaints at all. I did hear that they are going to be bringing out a new Playbook with the 10 system put into it but I don't know for sure.
0 Stars out of 5

blackberry play book

Reviewed on Wednesday January 23, 2013 by , United Kingdom
If you are thinking of getting a BB playbook well don't you can not Bluetooth to it you can not down load items of the internet and when you go on the BB apps you have to pay for the vast amount of them and they are not cheap so keep away from it, the only thing that is good about it is the hard ware that is good but the soft ware not so good.KEEP A WAY
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday January 4, 2013 by , BC Canada
I have used a Blackberry 16GB Playbook for a few months now. The usb port fell out one day and I have had problems with the on/off switch, although this has been inconsistent, but nevertheless very frustrating. I sent the playbook to RIM. They want $99 to fix the usb port! I can buy a new playbook for less than that and one with twice as much storage for $149. The service was terrible with basically no communication. They had the playbook for nearly a month. It has finally been returned without any repair and no explanation at all regarding the on/off switch. This playbook is still on warranty, but please be aware that the warranty is of very little use. I would personally NEVER purchase another Blackberry device of any sort. They know that the usb ports are very problematic, and also the on/off switches. I am so not impressed. They also made sure that my Blackberry was fully discharged when they returned it to me. I will use it with a rapid charger until it is non functional and then will purchasse another make of tablet.
4 Stars out of 5

Nice Tablet!

Reviewed on Saturday December 29, 2012 by , Ireland
I just got this tablet as a Christmas gift.It's a nice size,looks good.It's quiet heavy though.Easy set-up.If you have a blackberry smartphone you can connect and use BBM which is brilliant,I use it lots.Internet browsing is very fast and good quality,videos play quickly without any hassle.Blackberry app world is nice.It's lacking many apps that the Android/iTunes market already has.Also,Angry Birds is 4.50 where as on Android it's free.You have to pay for all the good apps,the free ones aren't very good.But hopefully this will improve and they will update their site!There are tutorial videos at the start to help you along,although I was a while trying to figure out how to exit applications,with no exit button.You have to scroll down the screen.Anyway,the tablet came with a polishing cloth and a little case,along with the usual wires which was nice.Camera/Video is brilliant I must say,it's 3 megapixels.Even better than my phone!Bluetooth is a handy feature.Overall I really like this tablet,it looks really nice,good apps,easy to use once you get the basics.I would give it 7/10 :) x
1 Star out of 5

blackberry playbook

Reviewed on Thursday October 4, 2012 by , ontario
the blackberry playbook is completly useless!!! when i first got it the charging cord would not go in, and a part of the charging slot broke off, same thing happened to my sister and aunt!!! they were going to charge me 75 friggin dollars to get it fixed!!!
2 Stars out of 5

Not my favorite

Reviewed on Tuesday May 29, 2012 by , Texas
If you are getting a tablet for aps like Skype and Netflix, don't waste your money. The ap store is so limited it makes it not worth buying. If you want aps, android or apple is the way to go.

There is nothing cosmetically wrong with it (that includes the screen lock button). The internet works like a dream most 90% of the time and the lay out is great.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday May 10, 2012 by , Toronto
I am very impressed with my playbook. I have used both iOS and android tablets. The playbook does everything the competition does and more at 1/2 the cost. While its true it doesn't have as many apps as other platforms everything can be done through the browser without buying a app. Web pages are displayed the same as on my PC. Can't say the same with iOS which only displays mobile or html5 compatible web pages. RIM needs to market this device better and tell consumers what this amazing tablet can do over the competition.
5 Stars out of 5

Worth Every Penny

Reviewed on Thursday April 19, 2012 by , Surrey, BC
This tablet gives you the bang for you buck. Can do everything other tablet does and better.
5 Stars out of 5

Great tablet

Reviewed on Tuesday December 27, 2011 by , Regina
I have had a BB phone for awhile and always thought the Playbook would be a good fit for me. It turns out to be a great fit. The Playbook with it's 7 inch format is just the right size. It is so smooth and the multitasking can't be beat by any other tablet. The soon to be released OS update which is hinted to allow the use of the Android Apps makes it a great choice. Love my Playbook.
3 Stars out of 5

Not Ready to Compete with the iPad

Reviewed on Tuesday November 15, 2011 by , Calgary
I own a Blackberry smartphone and after some deliberating decided that to give the playbook a try. I've played with a friends ipad and really like what you could do with it. Thinking that the playbook would pair nicely with my blackberry i was pretty excited. Well I was wrong.

- No email
- Form factor leaves something to be desired. They really don't want you to use it in portrait, landscape only.
- No significant apps

I'm contemplating attempting to sell it on craigslist. It does things like browse the web, twitter and facebook but i was looking for more.
4 Stars out of 5

Worthy iPad alternative

Reviewed on Monday November 14, 2011 by , Edmonton, AB
I've used it for the past few months and and I've rarely touched my computer it works that well. The screen is great and the web browser is fully cabable of surfing the web well. I haven't found a need to bridge it with my Blackberry to get internet connection as there are many places with free Wifi. There are not may apps for it yet, but it has the basic apps that I need and more would be coming soon. For anyone looking for a good tablet or an iPad alternative, I would recommend the Playbook.