ZTE MF668 HSPA+ Rocket Stick Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The ZTE MF668 HSPA+ Rocket Stick has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Terrrible Service/Contract

Reviewed on Friday October 19, 2012 by , Fredericton
I have had this service for a year. It is unreliable often having to reboot the system to access the connect. When surfacing often I loose connection or it just stops working. Often, I've had to phone to get it reset-almost everytime I change location. It is by no means high-speed. I've had high speed before and this is not it. Your are charged usage charges that are extreme. Now over $160/mo when they advertise it as only being $30 something. When the stick is left in the computer -even with the computer off the stick continues to show usage. They refuse to cancel or renege on the contract without extreme cancellation fees. The agents are rude to discuss issues with you.
I am currently, in discussions with the President's Office and they as well, are not helpful with my dilemma. *****Do not purchase this service-any other service provider would be better than Rogers********
5 Stars out of 5

Fast speed 3g+

Reviewed on Tuesday December 27, 2011 by , Thailand
Easy setup good speed quad band 3g support.
5 Stars out of 5

Full speed moden 3g+

Reviewed on Tuesday December 27, 2011 by , Thailand
Good hspa+ modem test speed over more 18 mbps. Easy set up can support 850/900/1900/2100 MHz. 3G
1 Star out of 5

ZTE MF668 HSPA+ Rocketô Stick SUCKS!!

Reviewed on Friday March 4, 2011 by , South-Africa
No comment just don't buy this stick.. I have a Huawei e1820 stick also and it's 5times faster.. Same pc same everything!
2 Stars out of 5

Marketing team for Speed claim ** or read Star bullet points

Reviewed on Tuesday April 6, 2010 by , Brampton, Ontario
Technology not Mature yet & take Marketing term they always lie and add 90% in results what they capture in high cost laboratories on high end machines with zero defect and no environmental effects. Due to nature of my job I start using mobile internet since early 2008. So far Iíve experience Telus CDMA/EDGE PCMCI Card, AT&T Sierra Wireless AirCard 881 with rogers SIM, Rogers Stick ZTE MF636 and USB Stick MF668. I think the old EDGE/CDMA was better if you compare with Rogers cause that had no disconnections then Rogers the speed was about 1 to 2.95 MB as Iím getting the same with Rogers even they claim 21.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Stick - Crazy Fast

Reviewed on Saturday March 20, 2010 by , Toronto
Other reviewers are obviously living in the boonies. 2 hours north of Toronto I am getting 18mb down and 2mb down. Not sure what methodology the used to test, but most site won't allow over 1meg downloads, so impossible to benchmark the stick on these sites. On speedtest.net I get speeds above from mulitiple servers (Hamilton, Kitchener and Ohio). This stick is almost too fast, at 18mbps you could burn through your monthly 1gb in minutes!!
1 Star out of 5

Rocket Stick Does Not Deliver

Reviewed on Saturday March 6, 2010 by , Ottawa
When Rogers and Bell annoucned there Rocket/Turbo Sticks boasting 21mbps download speeds I was really excited as this was exactly the kind of Broadband solution I needed.

Unfortunately, both fall pathetically short of the claims especially Bells Turbo Stick.

I tried 3 differnt locations around the city of Ottawa on two different high end laptops, one with XP SP3 and the other with Windows 7 Premium. The best I could get with the Bell Turbo stick was approximately 1 meg down and a paltry .2 meg up.

Rogers Rocket was better with a top download speed of 3meg and over 1 meg up, however, still well short of the claims.

These high speed sticks are a gross disappointment. I took both back for a refund.
3 Stars out of 5

Nice Try

Reviewed on Saturday December 12, 2009 by , Fort Saskatchewan
It's only been 3 weeks, but I have to say that I "gave it a try", and was about 70% convinced that the Rocket Stick was the way to go.

Unfortunately, this did not work out as I thought - no matter where I went in and around Edmonton, I could never get more than 1.1 (and a wee bit) Mbps download speed. I had opted to "upgrade" to the HSPA+ modem for $10 more just so that I could have this extra speed, however it seems to be vapour-ware as far as I'm concerned. I know that there are several towers nearby where I live and I've routinely had 4/5 and even 5/5 when testing in Sherwood Park, however the speeds just seemed to never get above that 1Mbps threshold.

The software installed very fast in my Acer Notebook, so I have no complaints - the software worked and acted exactly as the manuals said it would. Typically, it would take only about 10 seconds for the laptop to recognize the modem when I plugged it into the USB slot, 5 seconds more for the Control panel to pop up on the screen, and only about 5-10 seconds of hand-shaking before I had a nice firm connection.

Generally, even at 1Mbps, the average pages loaded quite quick with graphics filling in swiftly as well. In the 3 weeks I have been using it, I have not yet had it "drop off" for any reason, nor were there any interruptions for any reason that I could notice.

Overall, the Rocket Stick worked "pretty well" for general, average "surfer" type of users such as myself, however for those wanting to do online games and P2P gaming, this stick, IMHO, will not cut it. At least yet.

If you are interested in getting the Rocket Stick, sign up for the cheaper GSM stick with the little Basket-Handle style antenna on it, and save yourself some money. In the meantime, I will only give the MF668 Modem 3 stars, as it was not quite the performer I was led to believe.
5 Stars out of 5

Could not install

Reviewed on Tuesday December 8, 2009 by , Edmonton, Alberta
Purchased this unit and spent two days trying to install. The composite usb device drivers would not install and in the process disabled device manager with multiple effects on my notebook operation (eg., wireless adapter not installed, etc.). I am running XP Media Center Edition with Service Pack 3. After many restores and various attempts to find drivers and/or hardware conflicts, I gave up and returned the unit to the Rogers Wireless store.

I requested and received a replacement Sony Ericcson Mobile Broadband GPS USB Modem (MD400g). This unit installed flawlessly and was up and running in 10-15 minutes. Five bars reception from my home in South Edmonton and access speed to the Internet very fast. Have not tried downloading files but it seems speed will be quite good from my location.
1 Star out of 5

HSPA+ does not deliver

Reviewed on Friday November 13, 2009 by , Calgary
I got the new Rocket stick from Rogers (Model MF668)and have been testing it all over Calgary for the past two weeks.
Anywhere I try I get download speeds around 1Mbps only, with 4 or 5 bars signal strength

Technical support keeps telling costumers that it "should" work and that it "should" yield better speeds and that they will look at the problem.

At this point I conclude the HSPA+ network and the new Rogers stick is just a theoretical gimmic with no real use.

0 stars
1 Star out of 5

Don't expect anything near 21mbps with HSPA+ from Rogers

Reviewed on Wednesday November 4, 2009 by , Toronto
Okay, I have had the Rogers HSPA+ (ZTE MF668) for about two weeks now. I have had the opportunity to test it in three cities across Canada with HSPA+ service, Toronto, Calgary, and now Edmonton. In each of theses cities I have not been able to get speeds over 3mbps, and this is with full signal strength! The only thing I am happy about is that I did not sign a contract. Don't purchase this product thinking you will get the speeds or even close to speeds Rogers says it is capable of reaching. At least not at this time. Hopefully, and i hope soon, they will fix this problem. I give this product zero stars but this site requires a rating.