Novatel Wireless MiFi 6630 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Novatel Wireless MiFi 6630 has an average user review score of 1 Star out of 5 based on 24 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Très déçu de ce produit

Reviewed on Monday October 3, 2016 by , Charlevoix
Je ne comprend pas qu en 2016 que des grandes entreprises comme Bell nous offres des produits si décevant comme la mifi2 et la Mifi 6630 .Elle éteint régulièrement pas de réseau pas de signal et ont dirait que elle prend plus que nos données Internet par suis très déçu de ce produit et la garantie qui est courtes
1 Star out of 5

Very Deceiving

Reviewed on Tuesday September 13, 2016 by , St-Eustache, Québec
Perte constante de connexion au réseau aussitôt qu'il y a quelques secondes d'inactivité. Inacceptable
Loss of connection to the network as soon as a few seconds of inactivity... unacceptable
0 Stars out of 5

À ne pas acheter

Reviewed on Saturday July 2, 2016 by , Montréal
Totalement frustrant... À première vue l'appareil semble intéressant; mais il perd continuellement le contact avec internet et ce même si on est situé près d'une antenne de Bell et que le signal est très fort.
0 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday June 28, 2016 by , Northwest Territories Canada
DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT buy this useless paperweight. I am surprised it has stayed connected long enough for me to wright this review. Not happy at all and can get no help from the manufacturer or Bell!!!!!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday June 11, 2016 by , Canada
Disconnects every 2 minutes, like others have said. Garbage. Don't buy. Waste of time.
0 Stars out of 5

Totally Frustrating

Reviewed on Wednesday May 11, 2016 by , Prescott ontario
My contract was up on my old turbo stick and Bell recommended the MiFi6630. I am so disappointed in the product.Every five minutes I get booted out and it takes ages to get back on line.Today I had to remove and replace the battery several times to reset it to just turn on. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! Maybe a good idea for us dissatisfied customers to write an irate letter to the manufacturer.
0 Stars out of 5

Totally frustrating

Reviewed on Wednesday March 23, 2016 by , Sainte lucie des laurentides
After using mifi 2 for 3 years with outstanding service, purchased the 6630 because mifi 2 ceased to function. What a mistake. Unit keeps loosing signal every 5 minutes and takes another 5 minures to reboot.
Piece of junk, don't buy, you will regret.
0 Stars out of 5

Compensation for a Faulty Product

Reviewed on Tuesday March 22, 2016 by , Guelph
Like others, I "upgraded" to this Mifi just as my previous account was near end, and it constantly loses connectivity. Spent ages on phone with Bell and Microsoft. They sent a replacement which is just as bad. How do WE get compensation or refund for a faulty product when we've signed on to a 2 yr. contract? Perhaps a complaint to Consumer Affairs Canada would help.
0 Stars out of 5

Don't buy!

Reviewed on Monday March 21, 2016 by , Newmarket
What a piece of junk. Our usage is described similar to most of the other reviews. It stops and starts; loses connectivity constantly. Needs to be rebooted repeatedly. Like most of the other reviewers I had a previous model that worked great. Please do not buy.
0 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday March 9, 2016 by , Ontario
"Upgraded" to this device because the previous MiFi model was no longer available. We constantly lose connection and have to restart with this model. You are connected, and then suddenly on your next click, you aren't. If you value your time or want to work efficiently, this is not the unit for you.
0 Stars out of 5

MIFI 6630 = Junk!

Reviewed on Monday February 22, 2016 by , Edmonton
AFter 2 years of complete satisfaction with the last model, this is a piece of junk. Cuts out continually. I just contacted my carrier and they said they are working on an solution. This is my primary internet and is completely useless.
0 Stars out of 5

Frequently stops responding

Reviewed on Thursday February 18, 2016 by , Ontario
I "upgraded" to this device when my contract renewed and it is plagued with issues.
It frequently stops responding across several devices, the only solution is to remove the battery and re-start. This gets tedious when it happens every 5-10 minutes. It consistently has 4 bars of service.
0 Stars out of 5

Big mistake stay away

Reviewed on Monday February 15, 2016 by , B.C.
Still 3 of 5 bars of reception showing and no connection available.
When it was mifi 2 this device was analog device.
Do you remember when cell phones first came out?
They were all analog and the reception was incredible.
Then they went digital and then the quality went for shit with no improvements in reception sense then.
THEY ALL CLAIM THE BEST OF THE BEST, but we know better don't we. A gimmick to sell garbage.
To this day the only equipment out there that gets great reception is EMERGENCY RESPONDERS.
The reviews are coming out and some of us made the mistake of trying this device and we are hating it 100%.
If this device went back to analog I would recomend it 100% but as it is, all I can say is you will regret it if you buy it. A faulty device and you are locked into a contract. DON'T DO IT--LEARN BY OUR MISTAKE THIS IS WHY WE ARE HERE.
0 Stars out of 5

Horrible device

Reviewed on Wednesday January 27, 2016 by , Halifax, NS
I purchased Novatel 6630 June 2015, from the start it was a problem. It constantly drops service during use, many times every day, even tho I have 4-5 bars service. After numerous complaints to Bell Aliant they exchanged it for a new one, same problems only worse. You need to turn it off and restart to get service again, many times the only way to shut it off you have to pull the battery out. My previous Mifi worked flawlessly.
1 Star out of 5

Big mistake - 4G stay away. UPDATE

Reviewed on Thursday January 21, 2016 by , salmon arm bc
To mister 5/5
It may be working in your region but at this time I am in the city of Langley BC for a visit (in the city) trying to make calls via magicjack and people are telling me I am cutting in and out with 3/5 bars of reception. There are a lot of times my pc will not connect period showing the same thing 3 out of 5 bars of reception it should connect. when I had the mifi 2 none of these problems where in existance.
I don't care where you are in canada, my point is here even in stores I have had sales reps tell me people have been complaining about it. If I had the choice I would stay with the mifi2. if there where another device out there that did the same thing this account would be shut down 100%
5 Stars out of 5

Fantastic Device, What's The Problem?

Reviewed on Saturday January 16, 2016 by , Georgetown, Ontario
This device is rock solid. Having suffered through having to use its 2013 predecessor, can state with confidence that this is a workhorse of a MiFi router with a stable connection, consistent throughput and performance that ensures you can do your work or surfing effectively. It's handy micro-usb/charging function is also a bonus feature...5 stars.
0 Stars out of 5

Big mistake - 4G stay away. UPDATE

Reviewed on Friday January 15, 2016 by , salmon arm bc
I paid my last bill and I was asked via a pop up window if I would like to share a review about the product.
I clicked on OK and sent my review and I just found out via e-mail my review on the product was rejected and will not be posted. Yesterday I was in town I had to shut my device off and on to reboot it and get a connection.
0 Stars out of 5

Big mistake - 4G stay away.

Reviewed on Tuesday January 12, 2016 by , salmon arm bc
I had the mifi 2 and a laptop with a magicjack. This set up is all I have to contact the out side world by phone/e-mail and so on. I bought the device with insurance for replacement if needed. Where I live is a cell dead zone but placing the mifi 2 in a certain place in the room(sweet spot) would give me 2-4 bars of reception(the magicjack worked). The device crashed and I went to replace it. All I could get is mifi 6630. This device can show me up to 3 bars of reception but the pc shows zero wifi a valuable. This is a life line for me at this time, if I need emergency res-ponders and the device does not want to work.
Long store short-mifi 2 was superior to the 6630 by far and if there where a similar device via a different supplier THIS BELL ACCOUNT WOULD BE SHUT DOWN.
1 Star out of 5

MIFI 6630 - Not Happy!!

Reviewed on Saturday December 19, 2015 by , Toronto
This is my second MIFI 6630. I upgraded in October 2015 from my previous MIFI. Although the MIFI, when connected, was faster, the router kept dropping connected devices or the WEB. I thought I had a lemon and asked Bell Canada to replace, which they did. I have, now, had this device for just over 2 hours and have been dropped 6 times.

I think these devices are a pile of "Dung". No Idea where made or where software is developed, but I hope against hope, plus assume, "Not Made in Canada!!!.

Very unhappy with this product.
1 Star out of 5

Perte de connexion

Reviewed on Wednesday October 14, 2015 by , montreal
0 Stars out of 5

So many problems in 2 days

Reviewed on Friday August 14, 2015 by , Canada
I bought a mifi 6630 2 days ago. In that time, I have had disconnects at last once per hour. The mifi hub either 'forgets' it had a data connection or all devices attached to its network are booted off. I talked to a rep at Novatel and while seeming genuine, I was told simply to turn the device off and on again whenever this happens.
I am not a happy customer. My previous novatel device worked flawlessly (although it was cheaply made and broke quickly) in the same environment.
1 Star out of 5

What a. Dissapointment

Reviewed on Monday July 13, 2015 by , Alberta
I bought this a month ago on a flex plan for work. My coworker has the old mifi hotspot which works amazing. This thing drops signal constantly, like sometimes with 5 seconds of connecting. I am unable to do anything with it. I have had times where it works for an hour straight but 95% of the time it only works for 25 seconds and I need to reconnect.
1 Star out of 5

Very unhappy owner

Reviewed on Friday June 12, 2015 by , Bradford Ontario Canada
The Novatel 6630 which I purchased June5/2015, it has never worked properly.It connects to the internet provider but drops the wifi signal constantly.Would love to hear if anyone has similar problems.
2 Stars out of 5

Very unhappy owner

Reviewed on Friday June 12, 2015 by , Bradford Ontario Canada
The Novatel 6630 which I purchased June5/2015, it has never worked properly.It connects to the internet provider but drops the wifi signal constantly.Would love to hear if anyone has similar problems.