Huawei E182E Mobile Internet Key Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Huawei E182E Mobile Internet Key has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 19 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

Huawei E182E

Reviewed on Thursday June 20, 2013 by , Wales, UK
I've just picked up an unlocked vodaphone branded E182E to replace an old and failing E220. The E220 was flashed to 7.2Mbps, but never went over 2Mbps, the E182E just clocked 5. I've not had it very long, but it seems to connect just fine and stay one once I'd managed to set it up properly, which wasn't plug and play. It runs barely warm so I can only assume those with hot modems have faulty ones. With the old E220, there was a big difference in speed between ISPs using the same transmitter, often painfully slow. For those who have bad modems, you don't need a new contract to replace the modem, just swap the sim into another one. If your service is still pants, then it's your isp, not the modem. It's advisable to uninstall the old one before installing a new one. Those with issues may want to try uninstalling/reinstalling. 4 stars due to being a PITA to install. It's great after that.
1 Star out of 5

Slow & Unreliable

Reviewed on Thursday December 13, 2012 by , NW BC
I have had the E182e for 2-1/2 yrs now and it is a very poor piece of equipment! Like most of the rest of the reviewers here, my stick keeps dropping the connection, multiple times EVERY day and most every time I need to be online for more than a few minutes (5-15)! I live less than 200 metres from a Telus sub-station equipped with fibre optics and Telus can't even provide a high speed dial-up connection, because more than 1o years after they upgraded the lines along the highway corridor, they still haven't upgraded the residential service wires! I have been told by a Telus employee that the Fibre Optics are for internal and corporate connections along the HWY 16 BC route- NOT for us normal consumers!!!

I used to have a Hughes Satellite set-up, but since Galaxy took over the Canadian service the connection speeds (I have 3 friends still using them) have plummeted to less than 1MBS- Yes- less than ONE MB per second for both uploads and downloads.

If I could, I would throw the Huawei into the septic field where it belongs...
0 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday January 1, 2012 by , CANADA
1 Star out of 5

No good

Reviewed on Monday July 11, 2011 by , Alberta
One star is way to high worked for awhile
Replaced no good no help junk
1 Star out of 5

Don't even bother buying one!

Reviewed on Saturday June 18, 2011 by , Surrey
I should have read the consumer reviews before I bought this aircard- but I believed the sales pitch- WRONG move. This device should be removed from the market and everyone receive a full reimbursement, PLUS a large sum to compensate for frustration. My device does all that is already included in the other reviews: It drops the connection randomly- no matter what site I am connected to; then it will NOT reconnect- though the signal strength is in the high 90% range; the screen freezes- so no matter what I try- my laptop does not respond- so I try rebooting, or disconnecting the device and attempt to reconnect- it's a huge frustration. The dealer says it's a problem with my laptop operating system- I guess he has not read all of your comments. My teckie did a full diagnostic and says there is nothing wrong with the laptop. I am done with this device- life is too short! A one star rating is too high, but there is no lower choice.
1 Star out of 5

stick sucks and costs for not being online

Reviewed on Thursday April 21, 2011 by , Hannon Ontario
I have had nothing but problems with this stick, I have had it replaced and it still doesnt work properly. It says im online but my pages say offline, I get booted at least 50 times a day and that's no exageration. This morning alone I've been kicked offline every 2 minutes. They charge a fortune for this shit, and I'm probably paying because it says I'm online but in actuality it's not online....this is the worst stick ever...yes the speed is good but the boots are so much better..i have complained about this to no avail and now I'm thinking I'm just not going to pay for this shit..contract or not....I am paying for boots not for internet.
5 Stars out of 5

WTG Telus

Reviewed on Saturday April 2, 2011 by , Port Hardy
We go out to the bush and it works fantastic... nice to surf the net watching the waves from the ocean roll in... good product!!
1 Star out of 5

E182 Internet Key = Frustrating Internet Service

Reviewed on Monday March 21, 2011 by , Alberta
Telus Mobility E182 Internet Key provides terrible service in Rural Alberta. You will need to reboot every 4-7 minutes if you purchase this item. I strongly recommend you search for another internet provider if you live in Rural Alberta as you will be truly dissapointed with your service if you go with Telus and their E182 Internet key.
1 Star out of 5

Do not buy this.

Reviewed on Saturday March 19, 2011 by , Canada
This is a product that simply doesnt work. It keeps kicking me offline every 30 seconds.
1 Star out of 5

Piece of junk

Reviewed on Thursday December 30, 2010 by , alberta
Don't do it. I've had nothing but problems with this internet stick. It constantly freezes my computer and hardly ever works. Slower than a turtle. I use it right in the heart of cellular 3G+ (and exactly where it should be getting the best coverage) and it does nothing. I spend more time waiting around for pages to load then actually surfing the web. And not only that, half the time it times out before i can see anything. This is seriously the worst thing that I have ever purchased, seriously don't waste your money. I have limited funds but I'm seriously considering buying out whats left of my contract (1 1/2 years) just so I don't have to deal with this anymore. Good luck if you do decide to purchase.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday December 22, 2010 by , NB
I got this turbo stick to replace the U998, it work good, a little bit slower then the U998 but it stay connect, no more problems.
5 Stars out of 5

Very good for my money

Reviewed on Wednesday November 24, 2010 by , Milton
I have had the device for 30 days now and it's perfect.
1 Star out of 5

don't do it

Reviewed on Monday September 13, 2010 by , Bracebridge, ON
U727 model worked great for 13 months; then began connecting to Digital Core which is slow slow slow; replaced it with HUAWEI E182E; it has never worked (no outgoing email thru Outlook) and appears to be deteriorating quickly (getting booted out for no apparent reason; slowing down etc.)
1 Star out of 5

After 3 replacements

Reviewed on Friday August 13, 2010 by , courtenay bc
8 months and 3 replacements. I have had enough. I can not even cancel my contract without it costing $400+... Telus mobility will not give a different Brand.
My old EVDO stick has faster access then the Huawei e182E from Telus Mobility..
In 8 months it has only worked a total of maybe 5 weeks (between three different units)

1 Star out of 5

Reliability zero

Reviewed on Wednesday June 30, 2010 by , Lac St-Jean, Qc
it disconnects all the time,it gets hot, very hot and slows right down, it won't connect again once it kicks you off. I get 2-3 bars of signal service for hours.I lost some bids on eBay since i buy this key because it won't connect for few hours. Reliability zero but a positive point it's a superb hand warmer for the cold night of winter

je suis souvent déconnecté, elle devient très chaude et dès lors le signal baisse dramatiquement quand il ne coupe pas pour des heures. Je perds beaucoup d'objet sur eBay parce que souvent je peux pas me connecter à l'heure convenue. Fiabilité nulle mais il faut admettre que j'ai gagné un chauffe main parfait pour les nuits froides d'hiver quoique 73$/mois pour cet usage c'est trop. Chez Telus le service de dépannage est super correct, le pb vient de la clef pas de Telus
1 Star out of 5

No Good

Reviewed on Friday June 25, 2010 by , Edson
This Huawei is absolutely no good, it disconnects all the time, it won't play you tube, it gets extremely hot, it won't connect again sometimes once it kicks you off. We get 2-3 bars of service, but a tech told me it's not compatible with windows 7 64 bit, which is what we have. We exchanged it for sierra 306 which seems to be amazing! We've used the sierra before, highly recommend it, highly unrecommend this Huawei.
1 Star out of 5

It used to work great.

Reviewed on Wednesday May 26, 2010 by , Prince George
Now it works for about 1/2 an hour then it gets extremely hot and slows right down. I think I will have to try and get it replaced. Must be faulty.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday May 9, 2010 by , Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
I have had the device for 3 days now and it works like a charm. The setup software comes installed on the MicroSD card. The software also has a Windows 64 bit version so that it can be installed on Windows 7 64 bit. The download speed is a about 4.2 mbs (megabits per second) which is the ISP average in my area. All in all it rocks.
1 Star out of 5

It Worked Great -- For a Day

Reviewed on Wednesday April 28, 2010 by , Cayugaville, Canada
At Telus' invitation I replaced my Sierra Wireless AirCard 595U with the Huawei E128E. It worked fine for a day, then got very hot (but below the melting point of its plastic) and quit. They put me back on the AirCard, which continues to work OK. I'll try the E128E again, but it's a long drive to the Telus outlet. Hope the fault's in the assembly and not the design. If the replacement works better than the Aircard, I'd give it a 5.