Sony Ericsson W580i Walkman Phone Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Sony Ericsson W580i Walkman Phone has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 59 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

Mixed feelings

Reviewed on Sunday November 21, 2010 by , Thunder Bay
The walkman part of this phone is good. The screen is too easy to break. I cracked 2 screens without being hard on it. Durability is not one of its features. Pictures are not great either. Not good quality. If you are looking for a basic phone this is ok, but if you are spending your money, buy a k850i, its worth it.
1 Star out of 5

Sony Ericsson ..oh my!

Reviewed on Tuesday August 18, 2009 by , Nelson, bc
When I first bought this phone (8months ago) I absolutely LOVED it! Great features and applications, loved the camera and mp3 capabilities.

However, just last week one black line appeared across my phone above the time, I thought it was just starting to show the border lines from the software it operates on and as it didn't affect anything wasn't too concerned.

Progressively over the next 4days it got more and more black lines until finally my whole screen turned completely black and can't see anything!

This is the second Sony Ericsson phone I have purchased and the previous on the screen turned WHITE also after about 8months! I'm am tired of buying new phones and signing contracts only to find the phone doesn't last the duration of the contract.

I am very careful with my phones and haven't had any problems with any phones I've purchased in U.K they have lasted for years and only been replaced because I wanted to not because they stopped working.

I am truly disappointed by Sony and will never buy one of their phones again. I called rogers customer relations and they are sending me a Samsung, never had one of them before primarily dealt with Nokia which have been awesome, I hope the phone they send me lasts otherwise I am going to buy my contract out as I am tired of replacing phones.

I would NEVER recommend this phone, as awesome as I thought it was when I first got it, just not worth the hassle.
5 Stars out of 5

Sony Ericsson

Reviewed on Tuesday July 14, 2009 by , Calgary
I love my Sony. It works great for me. All my apps work fine. I have never had a problem with it and I have had for 2 years.
5 Stars out of 5

It's a great phone

Reviewed on Monday July 13, 2009 by , Montreal, Quebec canada
I had this phone almost a year now. My review on the phone is that when you first buy it from (canada) rogers or (USA) AT&T the firmware is all lock up of all features of the phone though i didn't know that you can debrand the phone... what kept me from not hating the phone is the many themes u can get for sony phones. I learn how to mod this phone I debrand it. Learn Flash menus and stand by wallpaper i also learn about elf and all it's feature of it. i also learn that elfs suck up your battery. Patching codes to the phone like hacking it was cool i basicly tweak out this phone. Though one day it was pooring raining outside like cats and dogs i wanted to film the thunder (Bad idea) the phone got wet inside the slider .. now i have some bright spots on the end of the display. of my own stupidity i have to live with it... its not that bad only shows it when its a white / bright screen... it could of been worst of the other hand i send a shit loads of text and never crack the keypad though i notice the nubers and the navigate pad are all fading away and also the sliver paint is fading away i dont care really.. iam sure all phones u have over time gets broken down.. like ur keyboard and such as. the phone is really great and my next phone will be a sony. I'am planing on getting the w910i or the k850i and mod those as well, but i have another 2 years and a half more with this w580i so iam sure they will have newer phones so when this is done the contract ill get the best sony phone out there.. but maybe i can get one soon since i did put a $200 rebate on this phone since i had no credit line, maybe i can used that credit of $200 to get another sony phone? i'am not sure.

I have the Red w580i with the debrand version firmware R8BE001 cid 52 or 53 i'am really not sure. the battery life of this phone and all sony products that take batteries is very good. I'am impressed with that alot from sony. Sony a great company and they make the best phones out there apart from iPhones i love the iphone too but when it comes to regular cell phones and not smart phones sony are really great phones.

I was gonna get a blackberry pearl, but i saw the cute little sony phone and my girlfriend love it ... though i know the girls dig the w580 more. but i got it because i like it too and it was small and i love sony phones. and i picked the red colour which i should of get the white one.. i wanted black of all choice but they didnt have it there. so i got the red one which was different for a phone colour i scratch the roger paint off it :)

KD Player rox and the only thing i dont like about this phone is that when u have a theme set up to the colour red and you go in your walkman and turns the LED light yellowish green and you go back to standby or menu and it stays like that.. i wish i can fix that though knowing me modding this phone and done everything you can imagine this phone can do... i can fix that but iam too lazy and i just used kd player and which is nicer and cooler program then the walkman 2.0.

The down fall of the w580i is flash 1.1 and not 2.0 i'am guessing they came out with that after the phone was made. but i was hoping a newer model would of have 2.0 ... or you can upgrade it to that.. the flash 1.1 is alright.

I guess iam attach to my w580i and its been the best mobile phone i ever had and i'am impressed with it alot.

it's a tough phone i drop this phone so many times and the battery case flying off got water inside it and still using it afterwards with water and elc. haha don't mix well i could of burn it out. but no this phone keeps working and working and it will forever this phone is great. I notice the plastic on the red is soft and has a nice grip to it unlike my girlfriend smokey gray one is like plastic feeling to it.

I like the red one better then the smokey gray i didn't like the colour.. the black and orange it seems to be the nicest colour though you can change your plates on the phone.

anyways that is my review of the sony ericsson w580i.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday June 26, 2009 by , Ontario
okay so i have had this phone since October 2008 and i have had it fixed once, i got it fixed because the buttons were broke but it turns out the hole internal memory and camera was broken aswell. So my phone was working okay for awhile but recently it has started showing this headset symbol in the top left corner beside the connectivity bars. Everytime this symbol shows up i cannot talk on my phone or play music. Its a big p*ss off. I have read other sites and they say the symbol means i have a headset or bluetooth attached to my phone, and i CLEARY DO NOT. i have tried to reset my phone using master reset but the symbol remains. I thought this phone was really cool before i got it. DONT BE FOOLED. It may look great but it opperates like cr*p. PLUS i dont get text messages fast[me and my friends will sit beside eachother and txt and it takes like 5 min for me to get a text and 5 mins for them to get a text from me...pathetic] this phone just looks cool so i give it one star.
SONY ERICSSON phones suck dont buy them :)
AND i cant get a new phone till october of this year because i have to wait a year or some cr*p, SO IM STUCK WITH IT!
3 Stars out of 5

What The Heck!!!

Reviewed on Monday June 8, 2009 by , Alaska
Hey, I've read most of the reviews for this phone..! Maybe those who have negative feedbacks either have strong hands ( maybe mostly men, I think)..and fingers or.. aren't that careful with their phones. Face it or not, how come others can get by and get along with it without much complain??? and you can't??? Sturdy or not, whatever is the flaw, little or big the problem, I can take care of whatever phone I have (even those of less famous brands or those we haven't heard about at all) for a longer period. I bought this phone in lovely pinkish shade and I'm satisfied with the features and specs. Though the casing does not have that feel of durability, I am now challenging myself that I can make this one last (like the others). Some people are just born with a light touch.. and some of us handle our phones like it is their last day on earth, joke!
4 Stars out of 5

love it

Reviewed on Tuesday April 28, 2009 by , halifax
I have had this phone for almost a the features..not sure why others are having problems...lets see the keys have not broken and I text...the mp3 player is great and it still works, I go to the gym everyday and though I have not yet fallen off the treadmill the phone has and it still me it is a tool to be used and I am fairly hard on for me anyway thumbs up :)
4 Stars out of 5

I liked it...

Reviewed on Sunday April 26, 2009 by , Padiham
I actually really like this phone! its really useful and has loads of different features. you can switch different modes on and off and its really cool. the music is fantastic its got really good sound and volume. Also its really light to take everywhere and looks really nice. It's got 'track id' which is useful to find out what song is on the radio. Its a really good phone but the only problem is that the battery doesn't last a really long time. Apart from that though i think its a great phone and would definitely reccomend it.
1 Star out of 5

Horrible phone. DO NOT INVEST IN IT!!!

Reviewed on Monday April 6, 2009 by , Tennessee
First of all, to everyone that has bashed other people for complaining about the phone and blaming the user for not being careful with it, learn to write properly and perhaps people will take you seriously. People have also mentioned calling in on the warranty to get a new phone (same one). You cannot take advantage of the warranty if you have dropped it, gotten it wet, other user caused problems. Every person who has gotten a new Ericsson under the warranty were not the cause of the phone issues. Also, if you had read the responses more carefully, you would have noticed that most people only start off saying that they thought it was awesome until (average) three months later it started to give them problems. Now, every one of you has said you have had the phone for less than three months. Give it time. You'll change your tune.
Second, I have been dealing with this phone for almost a year. I am on my second one and consider myself lucky that I haven't had to call in more. As everyone else has said, on the first phone, every single number crack and the # key fell off completely and the rest of the numbers were impossible to press down (the numbers began cracking the day after I got the phone). As inconvenient as it was, I dealt with it figuring maybe I just pressed too hard (even though I had never had problems with keys breaking before). Then when I would try to charge it, it would say that I needed a Sony Ericsson battery to charge it, even though it was the same battery I had been using since getting the phone and was the one THAT CAME IN THE BOX FROM THE AT&T STORE!!! I had to do a continuous dance to get the phone to recognize the battery. Removed battery cover and battery for ten seconds replace and repeat three times before I even bothered trying to turn it on again since it didn't work unless it was three or more times. The next issue with the first phone was that it would pick up an "invisible" headset, I called it. It would show the symbol that my headset was connected, but then a SECOND one would show up that wasn't mine and I couldn't turn it off. The only way to hear anyone talking was through the speaker phone. Again, I could work with it, go with the flow. Then the speaker went completely out and I could no longer use my phone to communicate except via text. Called in on the warranty and got a new one five months after first buying the phone.
I was again excited about the phone thinking that maybe I just got unlucky and got a dud. It worked well for a few months. Then the problems started again. Only one key cracked (the # key) and still works if pressed hard. Then it stopped sending picture messages. The final straw was when the battery started acting up again. It was completely fine until after a normal day, I went to charge it and even though I charged it for three hours, it did not gain any battery life and eventually died even while plugged in. I checked to make sure the outlet was working, that it was all the way plugged in, took out the battery, put it back in, and re-plugged it. It did turn on, but then it would turn itself off again and again and again. Every time a little red light would appear on the side. I would turn it back on, try to make a call, BOOM! it died again. I refuse to get another Sony Ericsson. This is the WORST phone I have ever owned (none of which needed to be replaced; it was either personal preference or it was upgrade time).
NEVER GET THIS PHONE!!! It is nothing but pain, inconvenience, and trouble.
0 stars
1 Star out of 5

Was thinking second time lucky....I was not!

Reviewed on Saturday March 14, 2009 by , London
The people on here who blame the owners are obviously the lucky ones. Not all phones are going to have problems. I am extremly careful with my phone as I cant afford to keep buying new ones. Got the phone and within two days it would no longer turn on, just lamly vibrated then nothing. On to the second one now (Was hoping it was just that one) had it for just over a month and suprise suprise it too is c**p. It seems to have a mind of its own. It will randomly turn itself off and on again, freezes and if it doesnt want to text anymore it jus wont. Now its turned off and over an hour later cant turn it back on. Fink its fianlly just given up.
Lucky its still under warranty and I bought extra insurance, but will not be getting it again, will be asking for an ulternative model.
Would not recommend this phone EVER, amazing feautres if your lucky enough to have a phone but works but soooooo not worth the hassle if it doesnt.
1 Star out of 5

Worst phone i've had yet

Reviewed on Wednesday March 11, 2009 by , toronto
This is the worst phone I've had yet, in the past 6 months I've had to bring it in for repairs 4 times, now that my warranty is up I'm getting a different phone.

- two buttons on the top right stopped working
- my phone would constantly shut off for no reason even though the battery was fully charged
- and it stopped me from sending text messages, I could receive them but not send any (rogers verified that this was a product problem and not a problem with their service they couldn't fix it so they gave me a new phone)

I have a couple of friends who have this phone and they have had similar problems. The response from Rogers is that these phones seem to be glitchy and that the buttons break all the time
3 Stars out of 5

this phone sucks!

Reviewed on Wednesday February 25, 2009 by , Floda
i've had my phone for about four months and two of my buttons have already broken in half.I also have come to realize that it freezes every once in a while and another thing is sometimes it doesnt like to send my text messages.I also had some text messages saved and then i changed my sim card to a different phone because my space was split in half and then i put my sim card back in there and all my saved messages were erased.
4 Stars out of 5

Decent common phone, screen spazzes

Reviewed on Tuesday February 24, 2009 by , Evansville, Indiana
I don't complain about this phone as much as other people. It's by far the best phone I've had, besides my LG that got stolen. Here's some tips:

Get a screen protector. My screen got scratched in several places and now it's spazzing out randomly. I admit I'm a tad rough on it, but I live an active life.

The buttons do crack. They cracked on all of them. I really don't care, but if you send it back they'll send you a sturdier one.

It has spaz moments, yes. My texts stopped working once for about an hour, so I restarted it and it was fine. Sometimes it freezes, but it has a lot of information on it and not a lot of RAM. So just keep the clutter out and it'll be okay.

It's a decent phone, just take better care of it than I did.
2 Stars out of 5

great music crap phone

Reviewed on Monday January 26, 2009 by , toronto
I loved this phone when I bought it. The sound was great, it was easy to load with music and easy to use.
Then I got my bill with long distance calls I had accidentally made because the keys are raised on the front. Press the left, then the right and then left again and you have called the number last called, even if the phone is locked. Then the screen cracked. Then the keys started to break, and finally when the screen broke again I changed phones.
I am not hard on phones. I have had many phones over the years and not one has broken, until this one.
5 Stars out of 5

mini memory card

Reviewed on Sunday January 25, 2009 by , vancouver b.c.
This is stupid. I've recently found this Ericsson in the middle of hte road. Its been run over by a car and is in bad shape. Upon inspection I discovered it still has its memory card in it. So now I have several SanDisk minis cards with variuos sticks and adapters. I've never had a problem interchanging each mini disk with variuos sticks and adapters to suit my needs. They are universally designed. So I take the mini disk from the Ericson thinkig maybe I could identify its owner and offer to return the unit to them knowing from experience what it feels like to lose all info kept on these things( also has SIM card with it)only to find out that it is not the universal design and will not fit into any of my variuos sticks or adapters. In order to try to do a good deed I must buy an adapter stick specificaaly made to fit this Ericsson use only mini card. You can't buy the adapter stick with a mini card. I have no use for a mini card that can only be used in Sony Ericsson or its adapter once I've finished the deed I set out to do. The short of the long Sony just cost the owner of this phone their chance at not having to go thruogh the nightmare of losing all the information contained in their phone because Sony doesn't want be considerate enough allow a universal design memorychip be used in their product. How stupid and ign9orant is that?
3 Stars out of 5

Great phone, but has flaws, like people

Reviewed on Saturday January 10, 2009 by , London, Ontario
I've had my sony ericsson w580i in the urban grey for over a year now.

It's a great phone. Sound quality of your mp3s are great, just don't like that you can't have the music you upload as your ring tones (depending).

One flaw, is the keys. A few cracked down the middle within a couple of months. A couple months later all the keys have a crack down the middle. Now a year later, the keys are starting to be difficult, especially is you txt alot like i do.

Don't like the the sony headphones it came with.

Good features it comes with, like the spedometer, if your in the fitness or just curious how many steps you take in a day.

No problems with the sliding. I must say ive dropped it a few times and it never broke into pieces, hell it doesn't even have a scratch on it!!!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday January 7, 2009 by , London, ON
Phone was ok until the keypad continually broke. Had to send it in 3 times for repair. On the 4th time I called Sony Ericcson to complain and see if they could do anything for me, and they basically didn't care. Told me once it was out of it's 90 day warranty they won't do anything for you. You live with what you get. Very surprising from Sony. Do not buy any product from the Sony Ericcson line. It won't last and they don't care.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday January 4, 2009 by , Australia
this phone is the best 1 i have had yet, and shut up abought it being easy to break its not a frekin ruby ball!
1 Star out of 5

Don't even bother with this phone.

Reviewed on Tuesday December 2, 2008 by , Canada
I was totally unaware that were people out there you actually LIKED this phone. I know about 20 people in my school who have this phone and NONE of them like it. I have this phone also, and i've had it for less than a month and its broken beyond repair. I'm the most careful person with my phone, and have to this day not dropped it once. BUT.
1. The LCD is completly broken causing the screen to just show up with lines all across it making it impossible to even see my screen.
2. Freezes every couple of minutes and shuts down completly.
3. I dont even text and all the keys are cracked down the middle.
4. The charger broke.
5. The amazing MP3? Won't even start up anymore.
6. Earbuds broke the day I got them.
7. 90% of my calls get dropped.

I could go on forever.
Do Not Buy This Phone.

0/5 Stars
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday November 26, 2008 by , arizona
We would never reccomend this phone to anyone. Are phones will not slide up and wont slide all the way down. Our two buttons on the top sides are GONE. The battery door wont stay closed. and our middle buttons are not there. This phone sucks. And we called at&t and said we would have to have all of our buttons that are broke before it could be replaced. OKAY! so who would keep there buttons if you can't put them back on? We are very unsatisfied with At&t and also Sony Ericsson. We literally hate this phone. our grandma got us these phones and within a 3 weeks they were broke.! So not satisfied! DONT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!
4 Stars out of 5

Great Starter Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday November 25, 2008 by , Canada
I recently got this phone, about 2 months ago. It's great, has lots of features and is overall okay.

I know a lot of people have pointed have some problems (such as the broken keys) and such. But as long as you take care of it, you should be fine. According to others it might not be the most durable phone, but I haven't had anything problems with it. I've dropped it before and have my 4 and 6 cracked but that doesn't effect it (honestly, the crack is just a line in the middle for me).

This phone has a nice design, and if you want to stand out is for you. However it's meant to be a texting phone and don't expect to put all your songs in it. :)

PS. No you cannot take off the "ROGERS" on your screen. You can however make a note and put it on your screen. And the reset buttton is in Main Menu -> Settings -> General -> Master Reset (last one)!
1 Star out of 5

This phone is made of glass. thin, fragle , glass.

Reviewed on Monday November 17, 2008 by , USA
Ok so i bought the phone. It was awsome at first. Then i realized that i had to buy a memory stick.. ok well thats expected as i needed more room. went and bought the mem stick.

- Two weeks later the thing popped out and broke.
-bought another, redownlaoded music and bought the official case.
-9 days later, the memory stick popped out and broke again.
*didnt buy a new one.
-few days later my text messages stopped sending.
#i had to take the phone to att just to find out that the battery needed to be taken out for 2 minutes and replaced. (this happens randomly and often -- almost weekly)
#now my phone does not slide. when i open it it hangs on its self, and unless i hold it upside down when closing it.

i am going to beat it with a hammer when my contract runs up. i cant wait.
5 Stars out of 5

Great phone!-- but what's with the words???

Reviewed on Friday October 17, 2008 by , Canada
I love this phone!! The only problem is that there's ROGERS right smack in the middle of my screen on the wallpaper place. It makes all my wallpapers look really strange... Is there anyway to turn it off???!
3 Stars out of 5

nothing wrong but you

Reviewed on Thursday October 16, 2008 by , woodland hills
take better care of your phones and maybe yours will not break. ive had mine for five months and nothing is wrong with it.
4 Stars out of 5

Problems, Solutions

Reviewed on Thursday August 14, 2008 by , Ottawa
I got this phone a little while ago, and I love it. There are a few little bugs that I came accross.

First the slot for the memory card is ontop however if you hit it the wrong way the card will come out of the phone despite the fact that the cover is still on it. So basicly it looks like your memory card or the phone broke.

To use the radio feature you MUST have the walkman wire attached, even if you arn't going to use the headphones.

The UI seems to get a little lagged if you're hitting the keys very fast.

Other than that, its a pretty solid phone so long as you don't try to play baseball with it.
2 Stars out of 5

Major Let Down

Reviewed on Monday August 11, 2008 by , Idaho
I started loving this phone it has great features with a lof of potential but it has no durability. One the buttons still crack they didn't fix that problem. I have had it happen several times. Beyond that if it is even in a humid room it goes hay wire. I remember when you could drop a phone into a puddle and it still worked. I have had mine malfunction because of rain... I have also had several different issues including most recently it won't recognize it's own battery. I've also had it turn off only to vibrate and never turn back on. It's manufacturer's warranty is great but, I don't like having to wait for my new phone.
3 Stars out of 5

Love the phone, but...

Reviewed on Friday July 25, 2008 by , Winnipeg MB
I fell in love with the phone when my mother got me a plan with Rogers.
The only thing was that 2 months after having it, im having Memory Stick problems. The phone always states that i don't have a memory stick inserted, when it is there. My music, pictures and everything disappear and its hard to get the memory card working.
I still need to send it out, but its a handy phone overall.
5 Stars out of 5

Cool but has problems

Reviewed on Tuesday July 22, 2008 by , SC
To all the people saying that it is the user fault, YOU ARE WRONG!!! I am on my 4th phone in 2 months and the 1st 3 never made it out of the store. #1 the ear mic. didn't work correctly, #2 Just didn't work, #3 the Ringer was broke, Now # 4 will not allow Pic. messages to be sent out. So I'm getting another one sent out. I also have the Pink one. I really love the feature of the Walkman that is why I am trying this again. You think I would have learned by now. My Sister has the same phone and her 1st didn't vibrate and her 2nd one is doing the same thing with the pic. messaging. You would think they would recall this phone or fix the bugs by now. Oh yeah, some of my buttons are cracked as well. but my sisters are not.
5 Stars out of 5

my fav phone

Reviewed on Friday July 11, 2008 by , canada
omg k this is the best phone i have ever had i love it soo much and plus the prob ppl had with the bottons they fixed that but ya
3 Stars out of 5

i like it..............most of the time :)

Reviewed on Saturday July 5, 2008 by , saintfield
ok so this phone is everything! it comes in a few differant colours pink,black,white,grey and there might be one or 2 more. it has a great mp3 player and shake control. the camera is great and i have had no problems with it so far. 4 of my buttons have cracked but they still work perfectly. i got my phone some time around the end of may,at the same time that i was buying mine there was a woman returning hers and she said that she had only had it a week and it was broken. i think that if you have very long nails and text with them that is how the buttons are more likely to brake. the speaker is good. it has great memory. Although it has frozen a few times and it often loses all my memory on the memory card (and then i have to take out the batery and turn it back on to fix it) I still think it is a great phone! can annoy me looks great and the fact that mine is pink makes it even better.!
1 Star out of 5

what a phone :@

Reviewed on Monday June 30, 2008 by , south shields
Well were do i start with this phone ,
well this is my second phone in 3 month the first one all the buttons craked in half and then the screen went all black and wouldnt do anything , after a couple of hours it came back but i sent it back anyway.
the second one i have had 2 weeks today and it wont turn on i have no idea what is wrong with it it still vibrates as if it is going to turn on but it doesnt :S

can anyone help me ??
some on mentioned a reset button does anyone no were this is or how to bring my phone back to life?

cheerss x
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday June 22, 2008 by , Durham NC
Oh yes!!..i love this phone but i am having the same problem as the person who says i found a reset button!!!..question is??..where is that button??
5 Stars out of 5

This phone is great (if ur keys have broken u must be usein a rock to prees the buttons)!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed on Tuesday June 17, 2008 by , joe town mississppi
This phone is amazing. (with the right plan) if u r going to buy this phone u have to get a plan with out it u WILL have to pay 450$ for it. But in the end this phone is a great starters phone and i recomend it for all phone buyers who r not sure of what this shoul get. But if u don't like a small key pad ur screwed. :) :) :) :) lol breakin the key PaD !!!!!!!
1 Star out of 5

It Sucks

Reviewed on Sunday June 8, 2008 by , Nova Scotia
My phone is being held together by a BandAid because the cover fell off and the buttons fell off too. On my key pad the 4 is cracked in half and my 9 fell off completely. I also lost a button off the side. I sent this phone away for repairs about a month ago and I got it back and it began falling apart again. I know many people with this phone and all of their phones are breaking too. This is a terrible phone and no one should get it. It's cool looking and has good features but it does not stay together well. Get another phone unless you want to send that one away once a month for three weeks.
5 Stars out of 5

Best phone

Reviewed on Sunday June 8, 2008 by , Secret place
Hey, i had my sony ericsson for 4 months and my buttons are not cracked, its in good condition and no scrapes either, yall dont know how 2 take care of the cellphone
1 Star out of 5

This phone sucks

Reviewed on Wednesday June 4, 2008 by , St. Albert
Almost from the moment I got this phone it has given me trouble. It is VERY fragile, a lot of so called features dont work or don't work properly, the ringer can not be set for more than 5 seconds and once you got it you are stuck with it! I highly discorage you from purchasing this phone. Also, based on my servic so Telus!
3 Stars out of 5

i found a reset button

Reviewed on Saturday May 24, 2008 by , alberta
hello well two days ago my sony ericson w580i just up and guit.
i was looking on here to find out what had happend to it and found that lots of people have had the same problem that i had so i took it all apart and still nothing then i tryed leaveing the battery out over night still nothing but then i found this varry small button and stuck a pen in it and now it works again
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday May 20, 2008 by , Nevada

Admittedly the Sony Ericsson W580 Walkman Phone is very irritating, but it sounds as if many of the problems are caused by mistreatment to the phone. How many of you have read the whole instruction book? How many treat it with constant care? The phones that I have had either require an extreme durability or a my conscientiousness of it.

Even though people seem to be complaining about the W580, it should be remembered that it is a relatively new phone and you should expect problems because the bugs have not been worked out. The phone that I have now would be the second broken of the same brand and classification. If you want a more reliable phone, choose one that has already been worked out. You can't judge a whole company on a singular experience.
1 Star out of 5

What has happend to sony erricson

Reviewed on Sunday May 4, 2008 by , rochdale
I have this phone abosolutly loved it but its about 3 months old now and the bluetooth has suddenly stopped working, and every night the battery needs to be charged even when its left half full i will wake up in morning and check it and it will just flash red. This phone also a few weeks ago went off by its self switched it on lights when green but no display from the screen so switched it off and it was showing a perminent red light on the left of the phone i then tried powering it again and same green lights no screen so disconnected the battery plugged it back in and red light again:( tried charging did nothing, so left the battery out over night plugged it in and plugged the charger in and it finally started charging (note the battery never went low or died it was at least half full)
Also my mum has this phone which i bought for her and she has had it 2 months and 3 buttons have cracked. my friend also has a differnt sony erricson the newer version of this and he had to send it back cause he couldnt hear anyone and when he went to go to the text menu it said opperation failed etc loads of faults with that he now has a new one and so far so good for him.

But what has happend to sony erricson i used to love these phones used to be best out reliable and everything you want:( now i am thinking of selling this phone and buying a nokia :( or something simular but never again would i buy sony erricson they have had loads of problems.
5 Stars out of 5

SE W580i - Regrettable

Reviewed on Saturday May 3, 2008 by , England
I bought this phone using the birthday money i recieved in january. Alot of my friends owned this phone, and i was pretty much looking forward to having a phone that could hold all of my music, with that new 'shake function'. I was also after a decent camera, and just a generally sleek looking phone.

Well to be honest, i have only had one major problem, and this was 4-5 months after i had bought it. My phone had started to freeze very very badly, usually it froze for 5-8 seconds when i slid the phone up before i could access any of the features. I had learnt to accept this, however, when the phone began to freeze permanently, just as i was in the middle of texting a 'very important friend', it was really rather infuriating.

I tried charging it, turning it on and off, changing sims, taking the battery in and out; everything was useless. The phone would not turn on, i couldnt access anything, and i was without communication. So i decided to take it to my local orange shop.

Being told that they could not fix the phone infuriated me further. However, literally 20 seconds after i had left the shop, my phone decided to come back to life. I still to this day have no idea why it suddenly worked, but i was able to access the menu and delete the 900 odd messages that i had inbox, and the 900 others in sent messages. I believe this to be the cause of the problem, for now the phone does not freeze at all, ( even for those previous 5-8 seconds ).

I am aware alot of you have been having trouble with cracked keypads, and so have a few of my colleagues. I believe this is something to do with charging the phone; when you are charging you must leave the phone slid up, so that the heat produced from the electricity can escape into the air and not heat up the keypad to make it more brittle. (I may be wrong, but this is what a carphone warehouse representative told me). So, give that a try, see if your phone's keys dont break too often.

I do regret bying this phone, but im extremely happy with the 2GB memory stick i have for it, and the walkman is great.

Good luck.
I dont reccomend this phone.
2-3 stars.
1 Star out of 5

Do not but this phone

Reviewed on Sunday April 13, 2008 by , Merritt, BC
I have had trouble with this phone since I bought it and the dealer will not help and neither will Sony. First the lights on it went nuts, always on and different colours. then when it came back the buttons cracked and had to send it away again. Since then it has done some wierd "inverse screen" thing and then no screen, sent it back again and then the dealer tells me that the warranty is almost over and they still won't do anything for me!
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Wednesday April 9, 2008 by , Bathurst New Brunswick
I personally love the phone. I just recently got it about a month ago and haven't had a problem yet. The photo quality on the camera is sharp, the mp3 players works well. it's easy to copy songs and games from computer to the cell and it's interface is slick. I haven't any issues with the keypad, though it is the enhanced version that they upgraded since February. So far I don't have any complaints whatsoever, I find it easy to use and easy to configure. I'd recommend this phone to anyone who wants a great looking phone that works.
1 Star out of 5

What a phone .. !!!

Reviewed on Wednesday February 27, 2008 by , Newton Aycliffe
everybody says this is the best phone ever !!! ...
BUT ITS NOT !!! ...
I have had the phone since cristmas and it is compleatly broke.
now were do i start ...
* My buttons have cracked in half.
* My light on the sides have gone two different colours.
* My left button has compleatly stop working.
* It freezes all the time.
* And to top it all off the screen gone blank apart from some parts on the screen.
4 Stars out of 5

W580i Review

Reviewed on Thursday February 21, 2008 by , Portsmouth
Hi there people,this is a very god phone with an impressively,loud speaker.It's a very good looking phone i love it i got it for christmas but by new years eve i noticed cracks in the 5,2,4, and 6 on the keypad which upset me because it wasen't even a week old. this is a very populer phone for my age group 13 to 14 i could name about 20 people in my road with my phone and about 18 with the cracked keypad problem it's very pouler i wouldn't recomend for an adult its good for my age group because of the lights and the shake control.Anyway,carrying on.I decided to carry on with the phone until feburary where i thought more keys where cracking they where still usable but it made the phone look very poor so i took it to the car phone warehouse and they coud not replace it so they said we will send it to SE for repair.The man at the carphone warehouse said it's a very common problem with this phone and the S500 I was quite upset because i use my phone alot and asked how long would it take he said 5 to 14 days asuming thats working i sent it away and its beeen gone for 9 working days and 11 normal days so it should be due back by the beggining of next week or in the next day or so.its only been 11 days but it seems like my phone has been gone for ages hope it comes back soon anyway all in all i just hought i post this to tell people if you have the keypad cracking problem send it back to SE and they should replace it with the new kepa that dosent break which is what my phone should have when it comes back. So all in all good phone just a poor build cheap material for an expensive phone if you by the phone now your kepad wont crack if you live in the UK because they have the new keypad that dosen't crack so good luck and it's a good phone
3 Stars out of 5

its a decent phone.

Reviewed on Saturday February 16, 2008 by , Prince George
k so i got this for christmas and was totally pumped to have an upgrade form my oldschool motorola. and was no longer embarrassed about my cell phone.. theres lots of ups and downs about the phone...
good things:
`quality of the pictures are amazing for a camera phone
`its a pretty phone anyways
`walkman music player is great

bad things:
` my phone for some reason has a screen problem where it pretty much has spazzes and gos into the negative colors or goes black.. or goes flashing white and black.. it also might change the screen upside down or sideways.. maybe even mirrored whatever the case it gets annoying fixing it every three seconds which is usually possible by sliding the phone and or pressing and holding on the camera button
` the keys break.. oh how the keys break.. when my first one broke i thought i might have been to rowdy with my phone and babied it from then on and low and behold 4 more break witin the next week

so yea.. if those things dont bother you its a great phone.. but i love it.. when it doesnt spazz on me and the broken keys dont even look bad.. they split directly down the middle so it looks kinda manufactured that way.
2 Stars out of 5

Disappointed, So Disappointed

Reviewed on Friday February 8, 2008 by , Ontario
I was so excited with the prospect of upgrading from my "old" Motorola... sigh.

The W580i has a lot of great features but the problems make me want to throw it through a wall. First, the power adapter has tiny little brass pins that make contact with your phone when engaged. Unbelieveably, on my SECOND time using the charger, one of those pins pushed into the power adapter and didn't spring back out so it is now completely useless. I have to charge the phone through the USB cable and that is very, very inconvenient. Second, the phone does not hold a charge which further adds to my frustration with problem one. I don't listen to the music programs on a daily basis and I don't use the phone for websurfing. I may spend a total of 10 minutes on the phone each day but the battery has to be charged every second or third day. Third, I have very poor reception and continual dropped calls. (This was never a problem with my prior phone.) Possibly, the continual process of the phone searching for a signal is causing the drain on the battery. I can move from side to side and my signal will go from full strength to nothing. I don't think this is a problem with [service provider] because I didn't have this problem before. And fourth, the reception on this phone leaves a lot to be desired; very cracking and warbled.

I love the looks and the sound that the small phone can put out but that's not why I bought it, sadly.

I wouldn't recommend this phone.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday February 4, 2008 by , Sony Ericsson W580i Pink Walkman Phone
jaimerais savoir combien voute le cellulaire par mois ???? jai deja mopn cell mais il es briser il a son activation et tou puije le fair changer pour un atre cell merci bonjour
1 Star out of 5

Never Again Sony Ericsson!!!

Reviewed on Monday January 28, 2008 by , Toronto
I got home from the store i put the headphones on and boom one of the earbud things fall off. Next day i am going to the walkman feature boom one of the buttons crack. the lights on the side waste battery and are useless otherwise. the phone after the third day would not accept my sim card. it is to fragile. I EXCHANGED IT AFTER THE FOURTH DAY WITH AN LG SHINE IT IS MILLION TIMES BETTER. IF YOU CAN still exchange it do it PLEASE it wont last a even a ONE year contract forget a 3 year CONTRACE
If you have not bought the Sony Ericsson W580I yet dont you will REGRET it.
!!!!Sony Ericsson NEVER EVER AGAIN.!!!!
4 Stars out of 5

Excellent MP3 Player, Flawed Design

Reviewed on Saturday January 26, 2008 by , Toronto
I have recently upgraded from the Sony Ericsson W810i, and I must admit, they both are generally the same phone.

The main difference is the programming of the MP3 Walkman feature (different layout), as well as the "Fitness" features the W580i offers.

Though I do enjoy the new phone, text messaging is a pain in the ... because the buttons are so close together, small shaped, as well as the phones programming seems to "lag" a bit when writing a text. If you text fast, it will generally put the wrong letter in the place of what you want. (Example; you try and spell "you" and it spells "xou" even though you hit the button enough for the "y" to appear".)

When texting, I generally end up having to edit about 5 words per message, on average.

With the exception of the flawed keypad design, I thoroughly enjoy this phone.

I might end up trading it in for the LG Shine, however, I wonder if the MP3 player would even come as close to as good as the Sony Ericsson ones.
3 Stars out of 5

Great Phone - Buy at Own Risk

Reviewed on Friday January 25, 2008 by , Kansas
I used that title because yes, it is a great phone overall. The positives outweigh the negatives. It has a great sliding feature, it's music player is superb, and the camera takes awesome pictures. I think the battery life is great. I use this phone to make a ton of calls, text message and listen to my mp3s. I only have to charge it every two days.

Now sure, if you use the music player a TON, then yes, the battery is not going to last as long. Also, if you are doing a ton of text messaging, that will also affect your battery life. So for the "thirty-something" that wrote the review, the phone is just fine. It is for me too, and I am 25 years old.

YES! The buttons are going to crack! The more you use them, the quicker it happens!! This is a design flaw that needs to be corrected on later models, and also on the current phone. They should definitely rethink the keypad on phones yet to be manufactured, and when any of us send in the phone to have this repaired, they should replace it with a more durable one.

Hopefully, they are working on this. Otherwise, they fix it under warranty, but then the keys start cracking again once you get it back. I am not sure why, but Sony seemed to think it would be a good idea to make the keypad how they did, with those hard shells on top of the soft keypad underneath. IMO, it should have have been soft the whole way through, just as many other phones (past and present) have on them.

Again, great phone, but the keys are a problem. Buy at your own risk because of this. Hopefully, Sony has (or is) come up with a GOOD solution to this.
1 Star out of 5

i love this phone

Reviewed on Wednesday January 16, 2008 by , home
ok yeah the buttions do break but it is totaly covered by the warinty. if this is the only problem i run into i would have to say i love this phone
1 Star out of 5

I HATE this phone.

Reviewed on Friday January 11, 2008 by , Canada
Ok, gee where do i start? i had had my phone for 2 weeks when the first button cracked in half...went to my phone company and they blew me it stands right now, these are the issues that i have with this model:
* 5 buttons cracked in half
* the buttons that change colour, one doesnt change the proper colour
* my back button sticks
* and my phone scrapes when it slides open and closed

(i have only had it about 2 month)

Im SEVERELY unsatisfied with this phone, i wouldnt recommend it to anyone and i certainly have lost all respect that i had for sony.

im now being told i have to send my phone back to sony and that they will fix it...they wont send me a different model or anything, which is retarded, its just going to happen again! when i called sony the first time, the representative i got was VERY rude. The second one i got blew me off and tried to hang up on me, so i talked to his supervisor about my situation. The supervisor claimed he had the same phone and had not had an issues with his phone, and had not heard anything about the buttons cracking, as being an apparently they lie...

Also, my friend has the same phone, after only a week of having it, she had a button crack...she has had it jus under 2 months and has 9 of 12 buttons, cracked...this is ridiculous, and i will no longer be dealing with sony when i am done with all of this.

its very disappointing and its made me very angry with the whole situation and how it is being dealt with, im a VERY unsatisfied customer.

I think that EVERYONE having any issue with this phone needs to write a letter to sony, make them aware that this phone s garbage...thats what i am doing, they need to be aware, because obviously they dont know, or they are choosing not to acknowledge it.
i dont even really give it a half star...
3 Stars out of 5

not good phone

Reviewed on Wednesday January 9, 2008 by , battle ground
ive had this phone for about 1 and a half months and i have cracked 2 buttons in half and it is now starting to say i have no sim card in it but i do and we have went through 2 sim cards so its not the sim card that is bad. the battery life of it is also very short. i have to charge it every morning or it will die the next day because i text a lot and i am 13 years old and i even think it has way too many lights that waste the battery life.
5 Stars out of 5

This phone does everything I need it to.

Reviewed on Sunday January 6, 2008 by , northern michigan
I got this phone with a contract renewal and I havent been dissapointed at all. This phone does all the things i need and much more. I dont know what the key problem is, but im a carpenter and my phone is in my pocket all the time, trust me, its durable enough. I think if your breaking key, you probably overuse or abuse your phone, I dont have a light touch and i have some wear on the keys but havent broke one yet. My biggest concern was the exposed screen, but it hasnt scratched yet. Battery life is the only downside to this phone. I can easily discharge in 1 day if I play games or movies. You can also buy new "skins" to change the look of your phone and they include a new keypad. You can even get a new lcd screen fairly cheap. This phone might appeal to the younger crowd, but this thirtysomething is into it, and I find most people that see it are highly impressed at its style and features. Get this phone and you wont regret it.
3 Stars out of 5

blinky lights

Reviewed on Friday December 28, 2007 by , uk
im confused about this hone because everyone says that you can change your lights on light effects but i cannot find it anywhere on my phone
1 Star out of 5

waste of money

Reviewed on Thursday November 15, 2007 by , Toronto
got this model as hardware upgrade in September. Replaced 3 handsets in 2 months. 9 hours of talktime and 370 hours of standby time - in their dreams! the battery would discharge on average in 2-3 days. a battery life on my previous 2.5 years old heavily used phone was better than that. what a scam. plus all those disco lights with no option of turning them off - what did SE guys smoked when they creted it?! and it does feel fragile, he top sliding part feels loose and shaky on the brackets. i'm giving it a full 1 star.
4 Stars out of 5

Very happy

Reviewed on Thursday November 15, 2007 by , Richmond
My husband and I both bought this phone over a month ago, and we both love it. I've never had a slider before and never anything from Ericsson, so I wasn't sure how easy it would be to use to how good the quality would be. We've been pleased with the number of extra features this phone offers, and haven't had any operational uses with it. We would both get this phone again and recommend it to others. It would be great to have more configurable quick keys in some of the menus, but other that it's easy to use.
3 Stars out of 5

broken buttons

Reviewed on Friday October 19, 2007 by , Edmonton
I got one of these phones in August and by mid-September, one of the buttons had broke in half. I returned it and exchanged it for a brand new one. The guy told me there were flaws in the week that the first one was made. Now I'm on my second one. I've had it for about a month, and there is another broken button. I don't do anything crazy to my phone, but 2 buttons have cracked in 2. I love the phone, but it's a bit fragile.
2 Stars out of 5

Sony Eriksson w580i

Reviewed on Monday September 10, 2007 by , Vancouver
I had this phone for about 10 hours (which was overnight) before it rejected my sim card. It just didn't want to recognize my card-there fore is being returned. The phone looks great and sounds great if you are a 13 year old skater kid. Basically- the audio and setup and lcd displays are for the hip hop crowd. If you are a 30-something professional do not get this phnoe. Way too flashy -with to many useless blinky lights. Also it seems kind of delicate. Wouldn't last too long if you dropped it.