Sony Ericsson T715a Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Sony Ericsson T715a has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 17 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

It's ok

Reviewed on Tuesday August 30, 2011 by , Montreal
It's very fine until the input broke after 1.5 year of use. I can't connect it to my computer and it's difficult to get it to charge. The cable must be placed in a very specific position so it charges.
3 Stars out of 5

#g not working after unbranding

Reviewed on Wednesday May 25, 2011 by , london ontario canada
I unbranded my fido phone and now I dont see the 3g and H icon at the top of screen " All i see is a network bars sign with an E that was not there before unbranding. Has anyone else had this problem also I have tried going into the settings and setting it to gsm and 3g and nothing. I tried going back to fido firmware but the problem is still there. For someone that has a fido sim and t715a , when you search networks how many options do you get. Fro mthe research i have done there should be more then one. I only get fido option. somepll say there should be a fido 3g option.
5 Stars out of 5

It is excellent except the ring tunes

Reviewed on Sunday January 2, 2011 by , Victoria
This phone has very excellent performance. But the fact is that it is impossible to change the ring tunes with my own mp3 files. I just don't know why the wireless provider has locked this function. I have tried many times ending up with complete the failure. Jesus!
1 Star out of 5

First worst phone ever

Reviewed on Saturday November 20, 2010 by , Vancouver
The phone just dies on you in the middle of a conversation or sometimes it's just sits dead. You try to power it back but no luck. You need to take out the battery, fix it back and then power it on. Sent it twice to Sony factory. They say they fixed it and still the same problem. Never buy a Sony Ericsson phone again. Fido does not help either. Lousy service. As a consumer you get screwed from both ends.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday July 20, 2010 by , toronto
great phone!,
i loved it from the start!! Amazing camera/videa quality, and it's flash is great....better than my older digital camera for sure!
good sound and the facebook app is pretty cool too.

-small, can fit in pocket
-good keybad, not hard to type
-conversation texts....all texts saved according to conversation
-highspeed 3g network (internet browsing fairly quick)

-can't save texts on sim
-can't use pirated downloaded mp3 tones as ringtones
-headset sucks (plus the ear plugs are too big for my hears)

i did find a software you can download of the sony ericsson website, where you convert the mp3 files into DRM files, which basically make your mp3 file "legally" downloaded.

then put it on your SD card, and voila use it as a ringtone

LOVED THE PHONE!!!! I'm SOOOOOOOOOOOOO sad that i lost it :'(
4 Stars out of 5

Great Little Phone!

Reviewed on Monday April 5, 2010 by , Toronto, Ontario
I love my T715a, I think it's one of the best Sony Ericsson phone I have ever owned.

You do not need to debrand the phone to change the ringtunes. Simply use DRM packager and you can customize your ringtunes.

To make the battery last longer (10 hours vs. 4 hours), use myphoneexplorer and set the phone to GSM, rather 3G and the battery will last MUCH MUCH longer.

The keypad is fine, as I have REALLY small hands. The only problem I find is that phone is kind of small and it can easily slip of of my hands.
3 Stars out of 5

not user friendly

Reviewed on Tuesday March 30, 2010 by , toronto
The ring tones on this phone are terrible and is difficult to use at is best but looks like a good phone but would not recommend it.
5 Stars out of 5

It works great after unbranding

Reviewed on Thursday March 25, 2010 by , Canada
I got the T715a w/ a 2-year contract w/ FIDO, got the phone, unbranded it and installed Generic Firmware for it. Now it has all the locked away options avaliable, no more fido ads and custom ringtone, w/ all the customizations I can make by editing the .xml layout files using A2 Uploader. This phone is great and has a long battery life if you unbrand it with generic firmware instead of the fido one and switch it to GSM only (since Fido decides to be fag and locked away the option to switch from 3G to GSM) so the battery lasts much longer.
1 Star out of 5

dont buy sony ericsson t715a

Reviewed on Monday March 22, 2010 by , winnipeg, canada
I have purchased the phone in february and it worked fine for a few days. After 10 days the phone starting hanging now and then and forgetting its memory card. I had to reset several times and setting the date and time of it. Also when i exchanged a new piece, it is having the headphones volume very low. Even the 1st piece is also like that. Camera is good and video is good but when we needs music the music from headphones is like hearing from a distance woods in jungle. Its headphones volume is too low when I go to travel in bus listening to the music. I dont know what to do. I should have taken the rogers one nokia express music touch phone instead of that. I dont know why fido dont bring nokia express mussic pieces for sale. I think they should do this.
1 Star out of 5

Big mistake getting the Sony Ericsson T715A

Reviewed on Wednesday March 10, 2010 by , Mississauga
Well, for those of you considering purchasing a new phone...steer clear of this model. Admittedly, the phone has many fancy features, but fails miserably on the every day required features such as battery power, adjusting volumes on the phone such as ring volumes and the earpiece. It can be hard to hear the other party. It's nearly impossible to get the back cover off without damaging it. Icon selections in the themes are very tacky looking. I got the phone through FIDO, and since they were purchased by Rogers, are the worst provider I've ever dealt with. Tried to call for tech support with both Fido and Sony, and just ended up more frustrated. Ultimately I got this phone due to the dismal selection of phones from FIDO. In future, I will buy an unlocked phone, and pray that there will be more competition in the market so that we can all escape this cellular nightmare we live in every day.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday March 6, 2010 by , toronto
first of all, Sony Ericsson isn't even part of SONY. Secondly within two weeks the battery started leaking and the phone was completely dead. Sent it to Sony Ericsson through FIDO and they sent it back saying it was liquid damage and that they wanted me to pay for the repair. This is completely criminal. Please don't buy this phone, spend the extra money and buy a good phone. Sony Ericsson doesn't care, the tech there said he'll escalate it but didn't even seem to care.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday March 4, 2010 by , Montréal
Runs well, not to expensive, stunning graphics, smooth navigation. User-friendly, makes a GREAT camera phone, love the themes that change according to the date (i.e. valentine's, new year..). Speakerphone is great, volume is adjusted easily. The slider glides smoothly, and the screen doesn't scratch too easily. Great size, fits well in backpocket or purse. No dropped calls, always reliable. Looks are nice, too. :) Oh and the battery life is excellent!

(By the way, of course you need the handsfree plugged in for the radio to work: a radio needs an antenna! DUH!)
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Friday January 22, 2010 by , Toronto
Got this phone in November. I like it. It has good reception, the radio is working well, the camera is good, the sync with the pc comes in handy. Really, I can't say anything bad about it. I did drop it twice and it's still working good.
The mini SD card does come in handy if you do want to load music on.
Overall I find this phone to be very good.
1 Star out of 5

Never Buy T715a

Reviewed on Wednesday January 20, 2010 by , Burnaby
I got the phone from Fido in mid November 09, it works really good for first 2 weeks, then the inside receiver/ear piece did not function, cannot hear the other side. Sent out repair, took almost a month to come back, problem was not fixed. Send it to Sony again the very next day after a long talk w/ Sony repersentative. take another month to come back yesterda. Great, finally problem solved. BUT, yes, BUT, found another problem!!! once you plug in Sony handsfree ear phone, your call will end automatically and you can never dial out w/ your earpiece attached to you phone, nor anyone can call in. Now, today, I have to send out the phone again. The worst thing is, both FIDO & SONY refuse to give you full refund or exchange to a new one. This is not my first Sony phones, i switched from Nokia to Sony phones, but this T715a really drives me nuts.
4 Stars out of 5

Love it!

Reviewed on Friday January 8, 2010 by , Regina
I love my Sony Ericsson T715a. It runs beautifully and has many cool features. The camera is pretty good and the keypad is really great. The slider works really well and feels comfortable in my hands. I paid just under $150 prepaid for the phone and it was well worth it. The only real problems I ran into were some Bluetooth connecting issues.
1 Star out of 5

Sony Ericsson T715a - new phone review

Reviewed on Saturday December 12, 2009 by , Toronto
I bought a new Sony Ericsson T715a (FIDO)- looked mall and convenient, and has a nice set of features including facebook runnin on-screen, radio, Micro SD card expansion, and ability to download various applications however, came to dislike it very quickly - heres some reasons why:

1. Difficult to type with the small keys
2. Cables are proprietary and impractical to store and carry, and bound to break very soon (three separate awkward angled cables which all fit in to same hole for a) wall charging, b) data interface with PC, and c) for handsfree, all three have these plastic thingies and pins sticking out from the end - very awkwad to use, carry and designed to be easy to break, so you have to buy them again and again.
3. Radio only works if you have hands free set plugged in.
4. The battery seems to run out muh shorter than the suggested times.
5. Fido service isn`t the best - they have all these blocks or hidden charges with come up when you want to use email or skype or whatever, extortionate, this country needs some seriour competition in the cell phone provider industry to break these outrageous charges.
6. Its been one week, and FIDO still haven;t responded to my billing queries, - seems like they`re anxious to pull in the cash, but its a maz trying to find out an explanation for whether and how I`m being billed for certain items.

My recommendation: good present if you want someone to pay again and again.
3 Stars out of 5

Sony Ericsson T715

Reviewed on Saturday November 21, 2009 by , Canada
This phone wont let you change the Main Layout Theme with YOUR OWN THEME
And the theme it gives you is yellow =[