Sonim XP7 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Sonim XP7 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 12 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Sonim xp7

Reviewed on Wednesday July 27, 2016 by , Canada
Pas de carte sd
Appareil photo pourri.
Seulement 1g de ram.
Réception médiocre en comparaison de mon vieux blackberry
Qualité de son tres passable.
Qualité d'image pourri.

Au final ca donne un téléphone de mauvaise qualité tres solide avec une bonne batterie.
3 Stars out of 5

Correcte seulement à cause des bouton

Reviewed on Saturday July 16, 2016 by , Normandin Québec
Tout est OK , batterie avec très bonne réserve, étanchéité,robustesse, ecrant tactile..., faudrait des bouton encastrer comme mon vieux i-phone!..... dans ma poche il fait des appelle seul, il texte, il change l'écrant seul.........
5 Stars out of 5

sonim xp7

Reviewed on Sunday May 22, 2016 by , Deschaillons
j'aime bien le Sonim xp7 par contre il ce ferma tout seul et se rallume apres la batterie est excellente ,sonnerie puissante ,et tres robuste
2 Stars out of 5

Bouton du volume

Reviewed on Monday January 11, 2016 by , St-Félicien
Faut toujours faire attention pour le volume souvent même très souvent le son est fermé.Et aussi il compose seul quand il est dans dans son étui.Quand je reçoit un appel le son laisse à désirer . Je ne sait pas si il y a quelque chose à faire ,bien vouloir me le faire savoir par courriel.Merci.
5 Stars out of 5

Bomb Proof

Reviewed on Tuesday January 5, 2016 by , British Columbia
Great Phone, loud speaker is LOUD as they come. It does what it says it can do! Brite screen, Good Pictures, great battery is heavy, but its hard to loose! I mountain bike, Hike, Snowboard, Surf and work in EMS there is No other phone out there that stand up like the XP& so I Give it 5/5.
5 Stars out of 5

Built For Life

Reviewed on Wednesday December 30, 2015 by , Toronto, Canada
I purchased the Sonim XP7 because my life was rugged and I was just destroying phones. The XP7 is not for someone that likes the latests and greatest software and gadgets and coming from the Samsung S5 rugged I have missed some of those extra features. Before I bought the phone one reviewer said it best "you feel like you are in 2010 all over again!"

In saying all of that, the phone delivers exactly what it says it will. It can take a beating and after it will still look and respond just like it did out of the box.

Pros: you can take this phone ANYWHERE! - Long life battery *longest so far is 7 days use without a charge* - you can even shower with this phone if you want! - drop it out a car window NO PROBLEM! It really is built for life!

Cons: Heavy, Its larger battery is not light! - You need to buy the 20.00 *+20.00 shipping* adapter to use the standard USB charger such as a samsung would use. Slow, if you are looking for a high speed processor this is not the phone for you

Conclusion: I would 100% buy this phone again! The Sonim XP7 delivers on what they promise and the customer service is GREAT! I can deal with flipping between apps slower BECAUSE I know that when i use it in a rain storm or -30 weather it's going to work just like it did before!

End note: This phone is perfect for anyone that lives life outside the box. If its snowboarding big mountains or working construction this phone will follow you into battle and survive!

For the person that Rated it 1* because they can't figure out how to use Android. There are many, many online manuals for Kitkat 4.2 and even more youtube videos on how to use the OS.

I give this phone a 5/5 Because It does EXACTLY what it says it's going to do and that is the only way you can rate something.
2 Stars out of 5

poor sound quality as phone

Reviewed on Wednesday November 18, 2015 by , Edmonton
We have found the phones have poor sound quality if you are not on speaker. Many of the phones sound like the user is talking through a rag or in a tin cup. Not sure if this can be adjusted because some phones seem worse than others.
5 Stars out of 5

never buy a different phone

Reviewed on Monday September 14, 2015 by , whitecourt Alberta
I work in the oilfield in northern Alberta, my phones last me about 6 months if i am lucky, If the -40 weather, mud, rain, or drops into vats of chemical or onto well head don't kill the phone my 5 children at home will.

I have used the otter box and life proof cases, I am not sure hows life its proof against but it wasn't mine.

I have had the sonim xp7700 for 3 months now and I have absolutely no problems. they claimed the battery life will be about 2 days of use. I use twitter facebook email and I am on the phone about 5 hours of talk time per day, and i get 3 days of use from 100% to about 10%.

the speaker is more than loud enough that it startles people that are near it so i do not miss phone calls, which is important as i am the manager , safety coordinator and dispatcher, missing a phone call means someone doesn't pay their bills.
the cell service is just like any other phone it all depends on your service provider.

In short if you have to depend on a phone i would lean on the one that can withstand a metric ton of force the sonim xp770.

1 Star out of 5

Sonim xp7... $700 and no manual

Reviewed on Thursday May 28, 2015 by , Toronto
Decided to make the jump to Sonim as the Apples have only been lasting 11 months at the most and shutting off during normal (to me) outdoor temperatures. Ive never owned an android device, but would have expected some kind of manual for almost $700. It takes generally OK photos, wants to blend all my google information into one easily hacked (tin foil hat) package. I cant find out how to lock the screen, add multiple email accounts nor can I answer it when it rings. none of the 8 external buttons appear to answer the phone. Purchased as a commercial phone this is the only one sold from my commercial centre, so my rep was unable to walk me through the features. Kinda neat...not really working as of yet.
5 Stars out of 5

Sonim XP7 on Telus

Reviewed on Sunday February 15, 2015 by , British Columbia, Canada
There is very little info or reviews on this phone yet. It is a rugged work phone for those who want a phone and not a fluffy camera/music player/tv/game pad etc. That is what drew me to it. After 4 days of light use and orientation the battery has lost 1 bar since first charge. Normally other phones would long be dead. It has a typical android interface 4.4.2 which gives lots of functionality. Forward and rear cameras and about 11.9 GB of user space (of the 16GB). The speaker phone is incredibly loud which is great. The USB/charging interface is a magnetic attachment which leaves no place for water intrusion. That said, only Sonim has replacement cables. All the other specs are on Sonim's website. Only cons are the battery has a one year warranty and is built in. The 3 year does not appear to cover it, and the lack of an sd card expansion slot. There are few accessories available but you really don't need any except for a belt clip which Sonim has. Overall the phone is a good choice if you are looking for a rugged phone and not a toy. So far very pleased, and the phone looks very cool. My last phone was an Omnia i910 so I tend to keep things for a while. I feel this one will last.
3 Stars out of 5

Question For Ben, Timmins

Reviewed on Monday November 17, 2014 by , Kapuskasing
The contract on my current phone will be up in May 2015, and I'm seriously looking at the Sonim XP7. Reviews of this phone are very hard to find, so I have a few questions for you:

1) How's the call quality?
2) How's the picture/video quality? Any special features such as HDR?

Hopefully there'll be more reviews of this phone soon - until then, I need as much info on it as I can get to make an informed choice. Thanks!
4 Stars out of 5

Sonim XP 7700

Reviewed on Wednesday November 12, 2014 by , Timmins
Really user friendly phone. Having some trouble figuring out how to transfer contact info from Iphone to new Sonim but im sure i'll get it. Very little info out there to help.