Siemens CF62 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Siemens CF62 has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 28 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

works good

Reviewed on Tuesday December 23, 2008 by , usa
I really like this phone. Durable, simple, world-compatible GSM specs, and it is just rather cool with the lights. Well done.
3 Stars out of 5

Work Fine

Reviewed on Sunday July 20, 2008 by , Florida
I purchased my Phone off E-bay and Paid about $20.00 for it. I have owned the Phone for about a Year and Since getting and using this Phone it has not given me any serious problems... JR
2 Stars out of 5

Charging problem, battery problem

Reviewed on Friday November 30, 2007 by , india
I am from India.. I have a siemens CF62. This Phone lookes very nice. But i am very very disappointed with this phone... the battery problem is unbearable.. talk time is about 14 mins.. shuts down while on a call... I am charging for 5 hours per day . But less than 15 mins talk time . . This phone is nice but on the other hand it has a serious problem.Please find the solution
Thanking you,
3 Stars out of 5

Siemens CF62

Reviewed on Sunday September 9, 2007 by , Montreal Quebec
This was actually the first cell phone i ever got, and even though i haven't used the phone in over 2 years, i could still tell you that it was a pretty decent phone when i had it. The ringtone wasen't low enough for me to notice it being a problem, and i don't remember any battery problem what so ever. The only problem i had with it is the same problem why i don't use it anymore. The phone is very easy to break (which is basically like every single other phone) but like for example, some of the light that comes from the number pad would not light, the lights that show when you get an alert or text msg would not light properly and the screen had shatterd twice (two diffrent cf62 phones). Overall i don't see it as a very big problem with the phone but i don't recomend getting one at this point with all the new and better phones out there.
1 Star out of 5

Battery problem

Reviewed on Sunday April 8, 2007 by , St Lucia
I am from St Lucia.. I have a siemens cf62 and i am very disappointed with this phone... the battery problem is unbearable.. talk time is about 15 mins.. shuts down while on a call... goes off on its own... this phone is nice but on the other hand it has a serious problem..
1 Star out of 5

Shuts off

Reviewed on Friday June 23, 2006 by , Ohio
Well, I see it's not just happening to me. Actually, this is my first cell phone - I don't use it much. But it CONSTANTLY shuts off on it's own. I've turned it back on 10 times this morning. The most annoying is when somebody calls me and I answer the call and the phone just shuts off. This phone is basically unusable anymore because the problem is getting worse.

I also don't like the number keys. They aren't lit up enough. I can't see them.

I can't wait to get rid of this thing.
4 Stars out of 5

The sound of respect

Reviewed on Tuesday August 2, 2005 by , Montreal
I purchased the cf62 2 weeks ago, and after reading all the reviews, I just have to respond !

OK, so, think of it this way: maybe all cell phones conceptors should take example and make their ring tones no more louder than on this phone ! This one, I think, was created with the idea that maybe we should have a little more respect for people around us ! Aren't you getting tired of hearing those louds songs coming from nowhere everywhere you go ? I agree that sometimes the sounds are funny, or the songs have a good beat, but, franckly, when i'm grocery shopping, i'm not in the mood to dance ! Anyway, unless you're hard of hearing, you can still hear it clearly enough, and there is also a vibrating option, so, where's the problem ?

To resume it all: This is a really cute phone with nice options and great design. And for those who complain they can't make a phone call from their house, well, they must live in caverns, because I just came back from camping in the laurentiens, and it worked fine all the way up there and back !
5 Stars out of 5

So far, I am very pleased.

Reviewed on Thursday July 21, 2005 by , Barrie, Ontario
I'm a wise shopper; I read all the reviews (not just at this site, but others as well) before making my selection of cellphone. My options were kinda limited, because I really wanted one I could get free with a package from FIDO. So the Siemens CF62 looked alright. Here's what I found...
1) careful what you believe in these reviews. It appears to me that a lot of the people who have posted simply do not know what they're doing. No offence. I guess it means maybe this phone is best for the "literate"? I am a computer technician and had no problems with the phone.
2) If you don't like the phone turning off on you, disable that feature in the menu (Auto Off in the Clock menu).
3) The volume of the ringer is excellent. You who complain that "at the loudest level it is too quiet" - note, the "highest level" in the volume is actually a "rising peak" volume - it STARTS AT LOWEST and if you don't answer, it gradually gets louder. Set the level to 4 instead, and you'll be happy.
OK now *my* notes... The internet features are awesome. The last cellphone I had was supposed to support Internet, but I could never get it to work. However, with this phone (CF62) I was immediately able to connect to the Internet. Had a little confusion because FIDO's default site has links to ringtones that DO NOT WORK with this phone. I solved that by uploading a few MIDI files to my web server and then downloaded them effortlessly into the phone. The nav is great and easy to control. It DOES NOT take 60 seconds to turn on the phone, nor to begin dialing etc. The people who complain of that - disable the startup animation, duh. I did not expect this phone to be skinnable, but it IS! I created two 130x130 JPG files of my wife and baby. The first is the "full size" and the second is kinda shrunk and centered so it will work as a background. I also, as I mentioned, created my own ringtone by saving a MIDI file from FL Studio - no problem! The "Christmas Lights", as I've heard them nicknamed are kinda cool. When you open the phone, lights all around flash and glow. You can actually PROGRAM them to do your bidding. I made mine look just like a StarTrek tricorder, pulsing up the phone. In my area we have both FIDO and ROGERS GSM, so reception is non-stop beautiful - sounds like talking on a land line, honestly. My wife can't get over it, having been with Telus in the past. People who complain about reception should have looked into their local GSM coverage prior to buying a GSM phone. Look, the reviews by people who just plain don't know what they're talking about really made it a challenge for me to pick a good phone. I went with this one after very careful consideration, and not only am I *not* dissapointed, I'm actually *impressed*! Hope this review helps you out. - thank you for this service, it is invaluable!
1 Star out of 5

Stupid,stupid phone!!!

Reviewed on Friday July 8, 2005 by , Croatia
I got it for free. Now I am ready to pay someone to take it far, far away from me cause I will smash it!!!
2 Stars out of 5

Turns off at will

Reviewed on Tuesday May 17, 2005 by , Saint Louis
The Semens CF62 phone has a loose battery in the back that may not be resolved by a new battery or a new phone. I must go through the problem solving path that the cell company requires. I do not expect this issue to be resolved. If it was not for this issue, I was very happy with the performance of the phone.
1 Star out of 5

turns off

Reviewed on Sunday May 15, 2005 by , nyc, usa
i found these reviews while googling to see of others are experiencing the same problem as me. unfortunately, yes.

i've had the phone 7 days. it started shutting off while trying to charge it. it took about 5 times of turning it back on before it stayed on.

next day it starts shutting off everytime i shut the clam. i'll turn it back on- make sure its on- then when i periodically check the clock or go to make a call i find the phone off... who knows for how long. ... and of course i then find a voicemail or two waiting.

while it is a bit quiet and hard to hear conversations in noisy environments the phone had decent call quality otherwise.

too bad the shutting off is known problem. my phone's going back.
4 Stars out of 5

What's wrong with it ?

Reviewed on Friday April 29, 2005 by , Thailand
I was surprised at the poor reviews. I have experienced none of the problems mentioned. I also have a Nokia 6230 that my wife loves. I much prefer my Siemens design. It has good ringer volume. Reception is very good and if I have any complaint it would be the battery life. I am in the habit of recharging every couple of days anyways so that presents no problem either. I like it!
1 Star out of 5

Cf 62 Worst cell I ever dealt with

Reviewed on Monday April 18, 2005 by , laval
This phone is horrible, stay away from it. It shuts off on it's own , it calls people on it 's own and best off all the speaker ruined so |I couldn' hear people talking. I have changed this phone 4 times already in 6 months...very frustrating and time consuming. There is nothing fido will do for you they just don't care. They pass the blame on to each other. If it's been bfore 15 days since you bought it you can return it. But as for fido they have really disappointed me in the past a long time ago(5 years) and i thought with this new incoming calls deal i would give them another chance. Mistake. Fido had no reception worst company ever along with this phone.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday March 8, 2005 by , Victoria
This has to be the most annoying phone out there.

It really bites the dust, and now I'm stuck with it.

I can live with crappy ring tones, and slow buttons, but when it starts turning itself off randomly, I start freaking out. God only knows the amount of phone calls I've missed because my phone shuts off. Fido won't do anything, all they'll do is replace. So I've been going in every week and getting my phone replaced over and over again in hopes one day I'll get a phone that works. I'm on phone 5 after 6 months of the contract. I don't think Fido really cares about its reputation seeing as Rogers bought it out.

To all those Fido Siemens CF62 users, just keep returning your phone and say it's defective; they will have to give you a new one under the warranty. Maybe one day they will get sick of giving us the same phone over and over again.
1 Star out of 5

the worst phone i ever used

Reviewed on Wednesday March 2, 2005 by , montreal
low volume
bad reception
dropped calls
terrible battery life
had to change phone twice due to problem with battery connection
car charger plug keeps popping off
ringer cant be herd
i wish fido would take it back
why would they sell a crappy phone and ruin there reputation??????????????
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday December 17, 2004 by , Montreal
Where do I begin... all this within 24 hrs. It shut off on its own 3 times and it's hard to hear. It kept on cutting off my friend during our conversation. I've replaced it with the Motorola V400- what a difference! Please think twice before ordering this!
2 Stars out of 5

frequently dies and difficult to use

Reviewed on Sunday November 28, 2004 by , Calgary, AB
I bought this phone to replace my candy bar Seimens M55 which worked pretty well in spite of a crummy display and awful speaker phone feature. The Seimens CF62 may look good and be easy to carry because it has no protruding antenna but it is difficult to use with the flush indistinguishable keys and it constantly quits when the clamshell is opened or closed. Turn on the PIN security startup feature the phone most often dies after you enter the number. Volume is really low, ringer tones are low stupid musical jingles there is no standard ring. The screen is so dim you can't read anything in daylight without putting your hand around it. And it is so incredibly slow you have to hit the buttons multiple times before the phone will scroll or enter data. It has fewer features than the Seimens M55. Also the clamshell is a big nuisance it is difficult to open with one hand and the sound quality at the other end is just as good or better with the Seimens M55 candy bar phone. Almost forgot, the included camera is extremely clumsy and slow plus there is no way to get pictures out of the camera. The Seimens CF62 cellular phone is a style only choice.
2 Stars out of 5

Struck by the Freeze

Reviewed on Friday November 26, 2004 by , New Mexico
I had to have this phone replaced 3 times before I could get another one. This phone has a tendency to freeze a lot. Unlike the previous Nokia phones I have owned, the Simens CF62 drops a lot of calls. And I will vouch for the other reviews that state that the volume isn't loud enough. Despite it's somewhat affordable price, do not purchase this phone.
1 Star out of 5

this phone sucks.....

Reviewed on Friday November 19, 2004 by , vancouver, BC
This phone sucks!!!... BUT would be great if it didnt keep breaking down and you liked s%@#7y night club ring tones that are so quiet you might as well have the volume turned off.
I have tried 4 of them and they ALL have there own problems... not little problems BIG PROBLEMS like the ringer shuts off on you or the phone turns off by its self or the system just freezes up or.... do your self a favor and dont buy it.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday October 31, 2004 by , Toronto
My only complaint is the lack of a standard ringtone.

Other than that a great phone. I'm not hearing the lack of volume issue, though i don't talk on the phone while driving.

Any suggestions on where to download a ringtone that is supported by this phone and that isn't some lame top 40 rendition? Anything remotely professional would be great...
1 Star out of 5

Siemens CF62 -- JunkPhone

Reviewed on Friday October 29, 2004 by , montréal
This phone looks great and is not expensive, those are the only things I appreciate from the phone. I bought it 2 months ago and all I have is problems.

- The phone shutdowns by itself ( randomly and often when closing clamshell )
- The phone does not receive all the calls
- Phone freezes ( need to remove battery to restart it )
- Phone shows other callerID than the real caller
- lack of ringtones ( real ones... not bad songs )
- low ringer volume
- low conversation volume
- very bad battery life ( even without the christmas lights on )
- The interface is inconsistent and really badly programmed
- cannot change soft menu key on the phone, which shows INTERNET even in manual says you can

All those problems are experienced with 4 phones... so its not mine that is a lemon, its the whole series.. check out on google... T-mobile users in the US have many similar problems with the CF62T ( same phone )

2 Stars out of 5

Not impressed

Reviewed on Monday October 11, 2004 by , Vancouver
I have recently purchased the CF62 from FIDO, and I am not very impressed. The firt problem I had was the phone does not have a built in standard ring tone. It comes with five or six "songs" loaded, but no regular ring. If you plan to work in a professional office capacity, a reggae ditty just doesn't cut it. Siemens and Fido both told me to go online and download a standard ring. Very difficult to do because every other phone already has a standard ring so most sites don't offer one.

I have also been unimpressed with the volume during conversations, way too low. The battery time does not appear to be anything close to my previous phones. I have also had reception problems in areas that were pefectly clear on my previous phone, as my carrier is the same, I suspect it may be an antennae issue.

All in all I have been disapointed with the phone, as well as the responses I have received from Fido and Siemens.
5 Stars out of 5

great rf/reception

Reviewed on Sunday October 3, 2004 by , toronto
great rf/reception as with any other siemens phone! this phone looks good! i love the dynamic lights and the ringtone ringer it didnt come with any but i have recorded some songs on it and it plays beautifully.
i am puzzled at one thing after reading the reviews here, some people wrote that the speaker volume is not loud and i know i experienced that on the m55, but one of the things on this thing i liked is the speaker volume.
all in all a great package for a good price.
3 Stars out of 5

It's just a phone.

Reviewed on Sunday October 3, 2004 by , Toronto
While I wasn't really looking for a camera phone, I got this one for $ 0.00 down, and I suppose it was a good buy. Fido may not have the best coverage of all the carriers but the service is passable. The phone is pretty heavy duty, able to withstand drops of about 1.5 meters. My phone likes to auto-shut down when I flip the clamshell close. The buttons are easy to hit, and the phone has some interesting features. The calling of information is somewhat slow. The menu functions do take some time, and when you turn the cell on, it has a very slow cycle. 26-35 seconds to 1st use. The ringer volume is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too low. Even at the highest setting I cannot hear it ring when it is on my waist. I have had no issues with reception nor in call quality. Volume is the most annoying.
3 Stars out of 5

Good basic phone

Reviewed on Monday September 20, 2004 by , Toronto
I just wanted to reiterate what some people have said. The phone itself is nice with basic common features that most colour phones have. However, I can hardly hear it when talking to a friend even with the volume full up. My Motorola V60 was a lot louder.
Also, I will have to give it back because I can't use it in my basement apartment...unlike my V60 - which, while not great in the basement - I'm still able to use.
4 Stars out of 5

Not bad...

Reviewed on Saturday September 11, 2004 by , Vancouver
This is a reasonable priced mobile phone..
Everything's great except a few things..
1. the screen's too small
2. loading's too slow
3. the call duration is unabled
4. there are a very few pre-programmed ringtones

However, other than these things, it's got great things!!!
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday September 11, 2004 by , Toronto
i got the cf siemen 62, this is a good phone but only problem is when you are talking on the phone the volume is very low, even you turn on maximum, especially when you are driving with the window closed, you cant even hear what your partner said.
5 Stars out of 5

Simens CF62

Reviewed on Sunday August 29, 2004 by , Quohog, Rode Island
Could someone please tell me if this is accually a good phone please because I want to know! Thankx!