Sanyo SCP 2300 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Sanyo SCP 2300 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 17 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

Cheap, but strong!

Reviewed on Sunday July 17, 2011 by , Canada
This phone is pretty dated, but it is extremely durable! It has been dropped on concrete and in sand numerous times, yet has only a few minor scratches! Feature-wise, it is great for calling and texting (although if you send many many texts per day like I do, then I recommend a different phone with a full keyboard) and it also does web-browsing quite simply, but it is very slow so don't count on using Internet very often, merely just a perk.
Doesn't allow hook-up to a computer as far as I see, but not really necessary. You can pay for ring-tones online if you wish, and picture messages can be viewed online if received, but it has a very small screen so these are both difficult.

Overall, this is an old phone, but it is inexpensive and great at what it does. This is perfect for someone looking for a cheap, but durable phone that makes great calls.
5 Stars out of 5

Impossible to replace

Reviewed on Friday May 28, 2010 by , Ontario
This has been the best phone I could ever own. I don't want to give it up, but the battery isn't holding the charge very well any more and my antenna broke off on me. Otherwise the phone has been superb, and it's been amazing to have the free texting,& free web browser. I certainly wouldn't say this phone is for the younger crowd. It's great for any age, and at the age of 56 I still love it, and being able to text my 'kids' and grandkids at any time I want to. Is there anywhere I can get another phone of equal value that will stand up for as many years???? I like the flip phone part as well. My one daughter would still have her's if she hadn't dropped it in a puddle. My other never had the same phone...she's had 4 different ones in the time I've had my phone. GREAT PHONE.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday March 20, 2009 by , Hamilton On
I've had this little beast for 4 years.
Dropped it uncountable times. Even dropped it in water but managed to get it out instantly.
I only use the phone and text but that's why I bought it.
Easy, simple to use and tough as nails.
Unfortunately the battery is now dying and will only last about 10 minutes while talking.
Guess it's time for a new phone.
I will miss this tough little bas*#rd!
5 Stars out of 5

a beast phone, just a tank

Reviewed on Wednesday February 11, 2009 by , ..
i have had my phone for about 3 or 4 years and i have dropped it like a million times, threw it at walls (to see just how much it can take) dropped it in snow banks, played fetch with it with my dog..this phone is a BRICK, and its lasted me a while, easy to function, pretty cheap, just a little out of date... hahaa, but ya.. thumbs up to the dirty brick for toughin it out and provin to be useful
5 Stars out of 5

Hard to Replace

Reviewed on Thursday September 11, 2008 by , Ontario
I received my phone as an X-mas gift in Dec.2004 and will NOT give it up as much as the newer ones are pretty. Free text incoming/outgoing, free web and ONE low payment of whatever dollar amount I top up with! I got one problem in the (almost) 4yrs having do I clear the cache/cookies? That's become very frustrating as I been to the Solo site and nothing! Any sugggestions? please!!! I do NOT want to get another....
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Monday July 28, 2008 by , MONTRÉAL
J'ai quatorze ( oui 14 !) Sanyo SCP-2300 et SCP-2400.
La qualité sonore est pitoyable. Les piles même lorsque peu sollicitées n'ont pas assez d'autonomie : il faut un chargeur au bureau et un autre à la maison en permanence sinon rapidement il est à sec.
3 Stars out of 5

Great cell for a basic

Reviewed on Wednesday July 4, 2007 by , Calgary
Great phone, durable, easy access to the net. Texting capabilities fast and netfront browser above average for checking news, stocks and google mail. Good speaker phone, good sound quality.

Limited memory, java absent, small screen, difficulty in syncing with outlook must download PIM and buy a pc sync cord from ebay. NO CAMERA.
4 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday June 26, 2007 by , Ottawa
Onto the phone itself. Its not massively feature rich and lacks many of the refinements of media phones, but for strictly talking, texting and browsing it is great. I lived in Sudbury for a year with this phone and never had reception troubles, even when I was way out in the bush. Calls are always clear and the 10-4 is very useful in certain situations. While moving from Sudbury to Ottawa I was able to stay in constant contact with the U-Haul truck during the 8 hour drive.

Other users have had trouble with durability, but based on my usage this phone has been very solid. It has been dropped no less than 25 times on concrete, tile and other similar surfaces with not a single chip or scratch to show for it. The phone was also once thrown hard straight down 3 stories onto concrete. That resulted in a tiny chip in the case near the hinge, barely noticeable.

All in all it is great phone without any of the unnecessary extras.
2 Stars out of 5

not so good

Reviewed on Monday January 8, 2007 by , Halifax, NS
Please review carefully before purchasing this phone, due to the fact phone has been unable to take the punishment that i had expected it to. I use the text messaging function at least 25x a day, and it stalls quite a bit when using that. I must say though, reception on this phone is great.. but also the fact that I no longer have an antenna on the phone either is kin of a bummer:(
5 Stars out of 5

affordable, easy and entertaining

Reviewed on Saturday August 5, 2006 by , BC Canada
Clearly, Solo Mobile is marketed to the younger people but even over 40's can appreciate the free web, text messenging and call display. It is easy to use, does not break down and the price is good on the budget.
4 Stars out of 5

free downloads

Reviewed on Tuesday May 23, 2006 by , Alberta
If you want free downloads go to
And if you talk to someone on a computer, it costs you .15 cents everytime you send a message. But other than that it is one of the best deals out there on the market I found.
5 Stars out of 5

this is great

Reviewed on Wednesday May 17, 2006 by , alberta
our whole family has this phone and we can keep in touch no matter where we are. I have recommended it to all our friends and now they have them too.
3 Stars out of 5

Where are all the ringtones?

Reviewed on Friday May 12, 2006 by , Canada
The phone is great, but downloads especially ringtones are impossible to find.
1 Star out of 5

Prone to break

Reviewed on Thursday January 12, 2006 by , Markham
I bought my first sanyo 2300 in novemeber, 30 days later, there was screen disfuctions, the screen was inverted and un-usable. I exchanged the phone for another, and less than a week later, the screen was disfuctional again with the same problem. 3 weeks after that, the dial and fuction keys did not register anymore, and i replaced that for yet another sanyo 2300, im now on phone 4 and im in discussion with bell about this and changing phones, i got lucky and i experiance the faulty merchandise quickly, if you are prepared to buy this phone, be prepared for it to fail.
4 Stars out of 5

this phone is awsome

Reviewed on Monday January 2, 2006 by , burlington ontario
every 1 out there who got this phone probably got the best deal in the world because u get free everything basically except calling so i strongly recommend this phone to teens world wide.

5 Stars out of 5

great phone

Reviewed on Friday October 14, 2005 by , Stoney creek, ontario
Recently puchased the 2300 and have never had a better phone. Recently went to Sudbury and the reception was great the whole way. Used the 10-4 feature while in Sudbury and it was clear and crisp. Highly recommended
5 Stars out of 5

I must say...

Reviewed on Sunday August 7, 2005 by , Barrie On
that my previous phone was, to say the least, a piece of junk. i went to bell and asked how much a new battery was and they told me it was going to be $90. and then i was introduced to the sony scp-2300. for the price, it was all i needed. then i found out that not only was this phone value priced, it met my expectations and then a little bit more. the battery life was average to good, reception is excellent (thanks to bells network) and the features are almost easy to access but still worth the wait. buy this phone and i wont have to force you to!