Samsung X426 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung X426 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 31 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday June 11, 2007 by , Regina Beach
I have had this phone for almost an year and an half and its been through alot! haha I can't even count how many times I have dropped it (on hard wood floors, cement, out of my car, etc.) or it has gotten wet and it STILL works!! But it only has a few scrathes... This is basically all I like about this phone is how duriable it is.. I really really HATE the annoying ringtones, they drive me insane! Not one normal ring ring rintone! Its soo annoying and embrassing, so i use it one vibrate but the thing with that is that I have also missed many calls from not feeling it through my jeans, or my jacket pockets and also you can't even hear the vibrate... Sometimes i just doesn't ring or ibrate!! And my parents/friends blam me for not awsnering when they phone.. Another plus other then it being duriable it also has an great battery life! I can go for a week without charging it... So on other hand this phone is good in some ways but bad in another.. I am going to buy an new cell phone soon and I might miss this duriable phone but I highly doubt it...
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday July 6, 2006 by , ontario
I work at the Rogers call centre and used this phone for 2 1/2 years until i dropped and broke it. I have personally sent this phone out to hundreds of customers and had it not been discontinued, I would recommend it to hundreds more. The phone is very basic in terms of features, but for me, the most important features are reception and battery life. This phone never disappointed me. The reception is outstanding (obviously with the exception of known weak coverage areas) and the battery life is too. I charged mine maybe every 4-5 days and left it on 24/7. The phone is reliable and was very sturdy - it withstood being dropped multiple times and still kept on going. I can't tell you enough how disappointed I was when it broke once and for all. My boyfriend uses one and so does my mom. For the number of customers we sent this phone out to, we receieve very few complaints. A++
1 Star out of 5

Worst Phone Ever

Reviewed on Wednesday March 15, 2006 by , Toronto
This has been the worst phone I have ever had. My contract is up this month and I am looking forward to having ANYTHING else than this phone. I traded in my Nokia 6360 for this phone; I thought I was doing the right thing, going from big and clunky to small and sleek, but I was wrong. I miss my 6360! Yes, this Samsung is small and compact, battery life is good, and the colour screen is clear, but that is where the pros end and the cons start.

-the ear piece volume is horrible; if you are anywhere but an absolutely silent room, you cannot hear the person you are speaking to; if you are outside or in a room with other people, forget it
-ringer volume is extremely LOW - sooo many missed phone calls as a result (even the vibrating ring is minimal, very difficult to feel even through jeans)
-reception is not the greatest - cuts out often
-address book freezes every so often, and the phone then is impossible to use for about 30 minutes when this happens

My opinion: do not get this phone!!

2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday December 11, 2005 by , Thunder Bay
UGGggggghhh ..

WHy oh why did I let the fast talking rep at My Rogers store talk me into THIS phone !! The ONLY thing I liked about it was the SCREEN .. big and bright ..

I have misplaced it several times as it is SO small and to be perfectly honest .. the darned thing is SLIPPERY .. in winter .. with wool gloves on .. well .. it's about impossible to hang onto !!

The charge port protector was gone in 2 weeks .. WHY isn't it attached to the phone somehow ?? I have had service on it TWICE for a .. get this .. RIBBON cable malfunction .. I'd THINK the phone was on .. but.. after I closed it up .. that single movement caused that ribbon cable to disconnect .. first tech at Rogers told me it was a bad battery connection .. maybe I might consider using an ELASTIC to hold it tighter .. OR .. TAPE!!!!
At least the second guy made the correct repair.

I am ON CALL .. with my Nokia I just slipped it into my pocket or briefcase and NEVER worried .. with the SAMSUNG .. I am using TUMS to get through my ON CALL days !!!

Reading the other reviews (in the negative) I can also relate to the NO ring .. MISSED call phenomenon .. one minute the little green light is flashing .. the next time I look it's RED!!!

Am thinking I may have to break my contract just to be shed of this and give my nerves some peace ..

3 Stars out of 5

waste of money

Reviewed on Sunday November 6, 2005 by , South Carolina, USA
I bought my x426 about 6 months ago because i go for looks and this is definitely a beautiful phone. well looks can be very deceiving, half the time my phone doesn't even ring and i will miss my calls, the reception is so bad, most of the time my calls won't even go through and when they do i say 60% of them drop in the middle of my conversation. my mom has told me for about 3 months that i need to buy a new phone because she's sick of my phone dropping her calls. 90% of the ringtones on this phone are embarrasing. and the thing that annoys me the most is i will roam in my own apartment, whats up with that, i thought you had to leave your service area to roam, obviousally not with this phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone!

Reviewed on Monday August 22, 2005 by , Vancouver
I got the X426 as a freebie from Rogers. They sent me a coupon for a free phone (without upgrade fee, without admin fee, without extension to contract, no strings attached FREE!). I guess it pays to complain ... But I don't have many complaints about this little phone! I can't tell you how many times I've dropped it, outside and inside, on concrete and carpet, and it's a-okay! It's fairly scratched up now but still works perfectly. I also have a Nokia 3120 and the Samsung outperfoms it on every single aspect. The signal strength from the 3120 is crappy to say the least - in my house I roam on Fido with the 3120 - but with the X426 I have full bars with Rogers. Go figure! I agree with previous posters that the lack of external call display is annoying and that the vibrate function is nearly worthless (can never feel the vibrate in my pocket, miss calls all the time). But other than those two things, I can't think of any other problem with it. In fact, since I got mine my coworker and her husbad, another coworker, and both my parents got this phone and they are very happy with it. So you can't go wrong, especially since it's a free phone now from Rogers!
4 Stars out of 5

An excellent, basic phone.

Reviewed on Monday July 18, 2005 by , Nova Scotia
- audio quality and loudness
- mostly logical menus
- attractive user interface
- very light
- directory merges SIM card entries with the same name

- easily lost rubber cover over charging connector
- forward busy/no answer menus greyed out
(must store forwarding codes in directory entries)
- alert method of melody+vibration only vibrates (no ringing)

I tested this phone for reception in my area by driving it around to find where the signal died. It worked very well, better than a comparable CDMA phone and nearly as well as a TDMA/analog phone.

As a basic phone, I am very pleased with it.
1 Star out of 5

Buy a Nokia

Reviewed on Friday June 17, 2005 by , Halifax
I have a Samsung X426 and I do not have many nice things to say about it. It is flimsy and does not take kindly to being dropped. If you have ever accidently knocked something off a table to the floor, this phone is not for you. I shattered my screen that way.

Before that happened I found the user interface to be very clumsy. If for instance you press the volume key you have to wait three seconds before you can press another button. Very annoying when you are trying to use telephone baking or enter a calling card number.

Over all this is a cheap phone and it shows. If you are looking a free phone with your contract, pony up the $30 or so and get something decent.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday June 9, 2005 by , Truro Nova Scotia
I have to say as a Rogers Wireless Rep, that this is one of the most impressive phones we have had in the store. It has proven reliable and sturdy. Had one customer run over hers with an suv and still works great. (don't recomend trying this at home folks) the reception is crisp and clear. We have had very few come in for problems other than washing machine mishaps and the size and ease of use are wonderful!! As a rep if you are looking for a phone that has lots of features and a reasonable price I would recomend this one highly. It helps that I use it too.
2 Stars out of 5

Poor Receiption with this Phone

Reviewed on Friday June 3, 2005 by , Ottawa
The features of this phone are great, but I get very poor reception with this phone all over Ottawa. Is it the phone or the cell network? I don't know.
5 Stars out of 5

Why wouldn't you?

Reviewed on Friday March 11, 2005 by , St. John's Newfoundland
I am a Rogers Wireless Representative and have been for about 5 years now. I've seen a lot of phones come and go over my time, but I have to say, this phone is the best that I've seen. I've gave my personal opinion to hundreds of people in canada about this phone, and I've never got any negative feedback. As a personal decision, I've given all my personal information to every customer that I sell this phone to so if they aren't satisfied, they can get in contact with me, and people, I've never taken one call back.

I personally own this phone and I've never dropped a call. I am in the worst coverage area for Rogers with just two towers in the whole city, and I've always had perfect reception.

The one and only thing I dislike about this phone is the fact that there is no external call display, but you can't have your cake and eat it too!

As a Rogers Wireless Rep, I can honestly say that there is no better phone, no matter what the cost, only if you're looking for specifics, but for a common phone, this is a sturdy, reliable, and a very very strong phone.

Way to go Samsung, and way to go Rogers.

1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday January 29, 2005 by , Woodstock, Ontario
This was my first "mini flip" and to say the least I'm not impressed. The funtion of the phone is satisfactory, minus the endless stupid ringtones. I think I've spent $20 so far just to have enough cool ones to cover all bases! The lack of outisde CID is not great but if you deactivate the active cover there is enough time to flip open and check without answering.
The "brutal" part about this phone is reception. Bar none the worst I've ever had. I've had phones (this is my 8th) since 1994 and it seems I'm heading backwards because I think the first one I ever had was the best reception. Even bought one of those aftermarket stick on antenas witch brought reception to HALF (!!!) most of the time and I'm not out in the boonies either, right in the heart of a digital patch.
I see my provider is offering this phone for $10 with a plan now, you get what you pay for!
5 Stars out of 5

SGH X426, Awesome....

Reviewed on Thursday January 6, 2005 by , Toronto
This is an awesome little phone for the money we paid through Rogers, my wife bought a phone for $49.00 and I got mine for $0.00, on the family plan. I looked at other brands of flip-phones and didn't like them, this one rocks. I like the feel of the buttons and it's ease of using them. Learning it's software was a breeze. The sound through the Yamaha speaker is really good when the phone is open, an external speaker would have made it even better when it's closed. The display is way cool, large and bright, plus with the option to turn off the backlight or have it work only in the later part of the night. My wife has a Nokia 3220b (non-flip), and it's functions don't even compare to the x426. I would not trade this phone.

On the negative side: It said I was supposed to have 2 cool games, in mine, I got chess. I don't like chess. Oh and is there a USB data cable and software availible for this phone?
4 Stars out of 5

ring tone

Reviewed on Tuesday December 14, 2004 by , Montreal
when I got my x426 you could download 4 free Samsung ring tones from your browser home page Ringtone. The title was (free Samsung ring tone). Or try from your personal computer you get a code for the desired ring tone and then you can go on the same web site from your phones browser and enter that code=free ring tone! good luck!
4 Stars out of 5

Good reception

Reviewed on Monday December 13, 2004 by , Mississauga
I just switched to the X426 and have had good luck with signal strength, in most parts of Ontario (and i travel a lot). I do not have much of an issue with it not having the external screen for call display. The 2 issues i have are the ring tones are stupid. It is embarassing having strange tunes in a business meeting. I talked to a few people who claim you can get a normal ring tone, but I have yet to find one. The other issue is that the standard headsets do not work with this phone. At present the only one available is one of those in the ear with the microphone on the cord, which have horrible sound quality. I have tested about 15 different ones and the others have a buzzing sound, due to the plug being different.

If anyone knows where to get a normal ring tone, or a proper headset for this phone, I would love to hear.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone!

Reviewed on Thursday December 9, 2004 by , Ontario
I've read all the reviews and I've tried different phones, but honestly, this phone is so small, light and compact - just a great little phone. I was a little skeptical of this phone not having call display on the outside, but it really doens't matter in the least. Good battery life and great reception. I would recommend this phone to everyone!! So glad I made the choice.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday December 8, 2004 by , Vancouver
What is with that cat meow ring tone? My roommate wont change it. It's driving me nuts!
2 Stars out of 5

Reception?!?! YEAH RIGHT!

Reviewed on Tuesday November 9, 2004 by , Mississauga
I read through all of these reviews about 500 times before finally deciding on this phone. I regret that decision... because appearances are definitely deceiving! The phone is cute, slick, compact, sleek, sexy - overall aesthetically pleasing. I could even look past the undescribably awful ringtones, lack of external call display, and lack of any worthwhile games if it weren't for one thing: RECEPTION. This phone cuts out ALL THE TIME and abruptly ends half of your calls for no good reason. I'll be talking and talking and talking and never hear a response from the other person... and i'm thinking, is it me? No, not at all, because once again the phone has cut out on me. And I live in an apartment building on one of the higher floors, and the phone still cuts out when I'm in my room, near the window, with both the radio and computer turned off! And i live in mississauga for god's sake, not the farmlands! So my advice to you is: do NOT get this phone. It's all style and no substance.
4 Stars out of 5

Good phone, and fry proof

Reviewed on Saturday November 6, 2004 by , regina
This is my first cell phone, I am fairly happy with it so far. There's lots of space for phone numbers, and comes with a decent organizer. Whatever. The only reason for writing this review is to say it somewhat resilliant, I had the mother for a week, then went hottubbing, forgot about the phone being in my pocket until after ten minutes of being in the hottub. I thought it was fried for sure, however, the next day I took it apart dried it out and plugged it in, and it still worked. The screen bugged out for a while but letting it dry for the night seemed to fix that. The only problem now is that the batery won't hold a good charge, which isn't a main concern considering that it was full of water.
Anyway, thanks for your time.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday October 5, 2004 by , Calgary
Because Samsung is starting to step out of the "Starter/Low End" phone stage, I'll be fair about the review. The phone has the user friendliness (easy menu navigation) of a Nokia and the style of a Motorola.

The only thing this phone is lacking is voice activated dialing and the ability for the predictive text (T9) to learn. (Learn, as in storing your own words in their dictionary).

The lack of an external display isn't much to be concerned about. As long as if you are not the type of person to screen your calls.
3 Stars out of 5

SGH x426

Reviewed on Saturday October 2, 2004 by , Toronto
I've owned this cell phone for approximately two months now, and my review is generally positive. Lost most other people, the lack of external display is annoying, but you can get over it. I find the vibration to be somewhat weak (or maybe it's my pockets), and the ringtones that come with this phone are embarrassing at best. Other than that, however, it's a decent enough phone. Reception is above average; very compact size; nicely-sized display with good colours. For $0, it IS a good deal, but do remember you still are getting a relatively "low-end" phone, so don't expect uber goodness from it. You may want to consider the Motorola V220 instead which is also offered for free, which is loaded with an external camera AND display, but according to my friends (who have this phone), have comparatively worse reception, not to mention the V220 is much more chunky than the 426.
4 Stars out of 5

Sweet phone

Reviewed on Monday August 16, 2004 by , Edmonton, AB
I recently purchased this X426 and one word-- amazing. Great on reception anywhere I go! (full in the basement and edmonton surrounding areas). Only thing is it doesn't have a regular ringtone but I heard you can get it from the samsung website for free. A great basic phone.
4 Stars out of 5

gorgeous phone

Reviewed on Thursday August 12, 2004 by , Toronto, ON
I've had this phone for almost 2 months now. I like that it's small, lightweight and easy to use. Not having the external display doesn't bother me at all even though I have caller id. The reception is awesome;I can talk in my basement and even on the top subway platform, when I'm still underground. The colour features are amazing under normal and low light. However, it's a bit difficult to see the screen when outside on a really sunny day. Battery life could be longer. Sometimes I don't have to charge my phone for 3 days and then on other days, I need to charge it everyday. Charging time takes less than a couple of hours on an empty battery. The phone is made with a thin layer of silver so be careful if you drop it. I highly recommend buying the case specially designed for this phone.
4 Stars out of 5

Impressive phone!

Reviewed on Friday August 6, 2004 by , Laval, Quebec
When I first saw the Samsung X426 from a rep., I was sceptic. No external Call display? And at a much higher price than the Motorola T720G, our best-selling phone at that time? Fortunately, I gave this little phone a chance, and boy I'm not disapointed!

First thing first, the screen is amazing! The colors are rich and clean, the animations are nice, and the menus are very simple. Try to imagine the menus of a Nokia (easy and reliable), with the animation and colors of a Motorola (nice but cumbersome interface!). The ringstyles are really good, 40-channels polyphonic makes a big difference. The only drawback is that its impossible to find a ringtone that is basic! I cannot see myself in a business meeting and having the sound of birds or a cat coming out of my phone! Lastly, the casing itself feels solid and nice to the touch (it feels MUCH sturdier than a T720, but not as good as the V300).

The lack of an external Caller ID still bothers me, even if when you open the lid, it doesn't answer the phone straight away. But the pros far outweight that small annoyance, and since the price has dropped a lot on this phone (no only 54,99$ on a 3-years term), I highly recommend it! The T720's reign is (finally!) over, we have a new leader in the low-end segment!
5 Stars out of 5

Excellent for the money!

Reviewed on Monday August 2, 2004 by , Toronto
Just picked this phone up two weeks after my last junky moto c 333 died (thank god). So far I am very happy with the x426. It's light weight and size make it easy to carry in your pocket. The ring tones combined with vibe alert make it useful for all situations such meetings or out on the town. The colour screen is fantastic and easy to read in daylight or night time except sometimes the colour picures get a little washed out with direct light but, that's really not an issue. The only thing missing is better support for data access such as a built in IR port, this is actually a problem with all phone manufactures as they never include hardware\software to make it easy to transfer\update names and numbers. Thank god the SIM was transferable from my old phone. Love this phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Too many good things to say...

Reviewed on Monday July 19, 2004 by , Brantford, Ontario
As an employeed of Wireless Wave, I can honestly say this is the most amazing phone I have been privileged to own. I've owned 5 different phones in the last 5 years, through different companies in this area, and I can proudly say that this is the most awesome phone I have come across yet. Although it is not fancy, and it will not go and fetch the paper or make me coffee, it is a swell little piece of technology. Not only do I love the phone for myself, but I love the phone for my customers as well (and they don't seem to mind it as well!) I have yet to have one returned, or have any problems with mine. It's sleek, it's sexy, it's personalized, it's a flip, and it's a Samsung at an awesome price. What more could you possibly want?
4 Stars out of 5

very nice phone excellent reception

Reviewed on Monday July 5, 2004 by , montreal
This phone is excellent!
Very good ring tunes, with amazing speakers.
Excellent colour screen.
Excellent reception.
Very good internet capabilties.
Very good vibration mode.

But, not easy to do text messages,
not user friendly,
battery life is about 4 days.

Overall, the 99$ charges for this phone is worth it if you want something with a lot of options. Otherwise, any other flip phone would be good!
5 Stars out of 5

samsung x426

Reviewed on Sunday July 4, 2004 by , canada
I just recently got this phone, and i think it is excellent. The ringtones are very colourful-sounding, and the whole small package is very convenient. I would definitely recommend this phone to someone looking to buy into a plan or simply upgrade their phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Great quality phone

Reviewed on Saturday July 3, 2004 by , kitchener, ON
I just upgraded to this phone and I am very impressed with it so far. The sound is very good for calls and effects(ringtones, etc..)It is also the lightest phone i have ever used. Very stylish. Unless you can afford some of the higher grade phones I would go with this one. Great reception.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Voice

Reviewed on Wednesday June 30, 2004 by , Toronto
I got this phone for 2 weeks now, and it is great. it's a good value and uses the 850 MHz frequency, which is the best in the Canada. Rogers wireless, working very hard on that frequency and you will notice the differance from the moment you start talking using this phone, it's like talking from a LAND-LINE. I give it 5 star for it's price and it's value. Good luck. Hope you will like it as much as I did.
4 Stars out of 5

Great Phone (Samsung X426)

Reviewed on Wednesday June 30, 2004 by , Virginia
I upgraded to this phone for two main reasons. First, my previous phone was a Nokia 3560, a great phone, but I felt like it was too small for comfort. Secondly, I was headed to Italy for two weeks, and needed a phone that works on a global network. I was lied to by AT&T Wireless that the Samsung x426 would work in Italy. Regardless of that fact, the phone works great in the U.S. The signal strength is relatively unwaivering. The sound quality coming from the phone is literally loud and clear. The standard earpiece and mic that comes with the phone has worked suprisingly well. The display screen is very very clear and bright. The best feature it has is the user-friendliness; very interactive menus that are colorful and easy to untilize...definitely a great feature. The only complaint I have about the phone is the fact that there is no display on the outside of the flip folder (i.e. when the phone is closed, there is no screen visible to display clock, signal strength, caller I.D., etc.). I've also dropped the phone several times in the short amount of time that I've owned it, and it still works like a charm.