Samsung Vice Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung Vice has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 16 reviews.


1 Star out of 5

DO NOT GET THIS PHONE

Reviewed on Thursday July 15, 2010 by , oakville
I've owned this phone for about a year now, and since week 3 i did not like it, it has too many glitches. my speaker doesn't even work anymore so when ever i have to answser my phone i have to put it on speaker phone. the texting when u press a side button while texting it shuts off! the lock is horrible i unlocked it and was on the internet for 3 hours before i realized i was on it and it costs so much even for just simply pressing the button!

In conclusion i would like to say that this phone is horrible and unless you want a 3 year contract of raging at it, save yourself, be smart, unlike me when I bought it.
1 Star out of 5

the vice

Reviewed on Friday June 25, 2010 by , port hood
i hate this phone, never EVER purchase it
3 Stars out of 5

What happend!

Reviewed on Sunday April 11, 2010 by , oromocto
I bought my samsung vice on december 27th 2009. the phone worked great. froze often though but not a huge problem. And when i would travel onn the bus, on my way to school, and i would surf the web i would slide the phone up, for the full screen. however, i noticed that the top of the phone (with the screen) shook alot.
Now 5 months into owning the phone and the big problem happens. my screen begins to give out on me. the colour display is horrible. anything that was white is now purple, anything yellow is red, and any backgroung is full of green lines, spread out. this just started yesturday, April 10th 2010, randomly... it worked fine the whole time i owned it and the same morning as well, until afternoon, then it started acting up. and i am sure it did not get wet, or damp, and i did not drop it in that time period from the day before to this date. but something snapped somewhere. and its not just the discolouration, all picture is very blury, and hard to makeout.

this is a huge annoyence. now i have to go buy a new phone. and i will NOT be getting anouther vice. although i loved it, i am unsure if i can trust it. but i am getting a much better phone, the LG bliss 700. its seems to be a awesome phone, and has been well recomanded!

I hope this doent happen to any of u lovers out there of the vice. 'cause besides this, i think the vice is amazing! big step up from my previous lg rumour 1. for sure. :)

i also wanna say, that the phone, although it has the display problem, it is a tough phone, and it is still holding in there. :)
5 Stars out of 5

USB cable

Reviewed on Saturday March 6, 2010 by , Mont Carmel, PE
I really like this phne but and all its features (still discovering lots). My first time with this type of phone. Texting is easier. Don't care for the small fonts though on menus etc. Also, USB cable us useless unless I purchase Memory Card. Internet connection is real fast.
4 Stars out of 5

Found a glitch.

Reviewed on Tuesday February 23, 2010 by , Montague PE
I bought a new case for my Samsung
Vice, it has magnetic closures on it. The phone will not stay in keyguard in the case. I tried passing the magnets over the phone a few times and they will take the phone out of keyguard every time. I guess a new case is in order. The phone will also go into an emergency download mode for no apparent reason. I have to remove the battery to reset it. The functions well otherwise.
5 Stars out of 5

best phone

Reviewed on Monday February 8, 2010 by , canada
this is the best phone i have ever had. i had it for almot a week and has not broke on be once the music player is great works and it takes me 1 min to place music on it. The texting is grait love the feeling the only bad think about the texting is the space bar it to close to the leters so i always hit other leters and not the space bar but i have to get used to it. the screen is fantastic. After all i give this a 10/10 because its the best phone ever.
5 Stars out of 5

Great phone, who needs a blackberry!

Reviewed on Friday November 27, 2009 by , Toronto
I have had the phone for over 3 months now, and it is a great phone. I surf the net with it, and texting is a breeze. The speed is very good, I got bell mobility and I have no complaints. Even the mobile gmail app works on it. Battery life is not bad, even though I read some reviews complaining about it. It lasts several days on standby, but if you surf the net, and talk a lot, need to charge it daily.

One thing that I still have not figured out, and is driving my crazy. When I am replying back to email on my browser, I don't know how to press "enter"/"return" to move the next line. Its just 1 key that is bugging the heck out of me.

Once I figure it out, I would not see why anyone would need a blackberry or any other phone with all the bells and whistles.
4 Stars out of 5

Semi colon ????

Reviewed on Sunday November 8, 2009 by , Ontario
Personally, I absolutley love this phone.. It is my first but out of everyone who's phone I've ever used I like mine best :) but the one thing I hate is that I can't make the winky face :( I can't find a semi colon and it is driving me crazy :( can anyone help? Is there another set of symbols that make a winky face ?? Help??
3 Stars out of 5

Help Please

Reviewed on Tuesday August 25, 2009 by , Canada
Any body know how to set custom ringtones, plz plz plz help. bye
5 Stars out of 5

Speaker phone

Reviewed on Wednesday August 5, 2009 by , Fortmcmurray
Great phone but how do you put speaker phone on
4 Stars out of 5

Read the manual guys

Reviewed on Friday July 10, 2009 by , Canada
Wow, seems like half of these guys don't know how to use this phone. When using the full keyboard, to get the special characters you press FN ONCE to enter a special character then go back to the standard keys.

OR you press FN twice, which locks it in FN mode until you press FN again

Pretty simple.

In some interfaces you only need to press "Sym" for it to lock into the special characters.

Great phone, not fantastic, you gotta buy almost everything, but the browser works fairly well on most sites, facebook app is flawless, if not limited.

The only REAL complaint is the USB is ONLY used for charging, you can NOT add or access files to/on the phone over usb you HAVE to purchase a microSD card, and the phone only supports up to 8 gig cards.

Standby battery life, regardless of what the manual says, is about 24 hours, give or take, you'll want to plug your phone in every second evening unless you text all day long, but it charges in about 15 minutes, so all in all it's worth the 20$ it cost me.
3 Stars out of 5

Samsung Vice

Reviewed on Saturday July 4, 2009 by , St. Catharines
Really liked my Samsung flip phone that got caught in the rain 3 times and still working but I lost it and wanted a Samsung product so I got the VICE. Liked the full keyboard but you can't access the Emoticons or expanded symbols from the full keyboard part of the phone so you have to use the number keys. Also, the display screen looks large but the fonts and icons are VERY SMALL and even when you set it to large they're small. Luckily I can still exchange it and although I prefer SAMSUNG I'm leaning towards the LG Rumour2...if I decide.
3 Stars out of 5

Samsung Vice

Reviewed on Saturday July 4, 2009 by , St. Catharines
Really liked my Samsung flip phone that got caught in the rain 3 times and still working but I lost it and wanted a Samsung product so I got the VICE. Liked the full keyboard but you can't access the Emoticons or expanded symbols from the full keyboard part of the phone so you have to use the number keys. Also, the display screen looks large but the fonts and icons are VERY SMALL and even when you set it to large they're small. Luckily I can still exchange it and although I prefer SAMSUNG I'm leaning towards the LG Rumour2...if I decide.
5 Stars out of 5

Loving it!

Reviewed on Friday June 26, 2009 by , London
I have been looking for a phone for a little while now and so far I'm happy with it. I read the reviews before hand though and had the manual already downloaded when I purtchased the Vice. Also I got a memory card and a case because the internal memory is pretty small, plus the case looks pretty good while protecting my phone.

Now onto the important bits. The interface is easy to navigate through. It's taken me a day or two to remember where everything is located, but I'm used to it now. I love the texting on it as the keyboard is large enough to type on with my large fingers. I bet it will be another few weeks before I am really fast, but this is my first phone with a QWERTY keyboard. The messages are interlaced as well which is nice to easily follow the whole conversation. In the past few days I haven't called too many people, but the clarity and volume of the calls have been stellar. The scroll wheel sometimes makes me go to the wrong option, but it is happening less as I get more comfortable with it. The screen is plenty bright (even though I only have it at half) and the clarity is very good too.

I have had no major concerns thus far. Perhaps over time from opening and closing the keyboard the joint may get a little loose, but it currently works great. One thing I still need to figure out is how to add custom ringtones, but that may require some trickery to avoid purchase charges.

I really like the phone!
3 Stars out of 5

okay phone

Reviewed on Thursday June 4, 2009 by , waterloo
the phone is alright, no flashlight for the camera.
while I am playing music, I am unable to access other things.
no built-in normal radio! darn even my nokia 6275i was better.
5 Stars out of 5

Samsung Vice

Reviewed on Thursday May 14, 2009 by , Canada
Nice unit. Tons of features. Decent camera especially in low light situations. Great contacts setup. USB is very handy. Expandable memory can be used for both digital photos and music tracks. No preloaded games (not even solitaire). No external antenna (good or bad?). Handy calendar and calculator. Downloaded google maps and runs great and is easy to see on this size screen. Slide out keyboard has a nice feel to it. Not crazy about Bell's pay for everything approach to ringtones/games/tv/radio/ent. Switched from Bell interface (annoying) to Samsung one (windows style icons). Entering text is easy on either keyboard but entering numbers during internet browsing is a pain (have to hit FN key before each number input otherwise have to use the manual dial pad interface which requires you to toggle 4 times to get to the number).