Samsung SCH-R500 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung SCH-R500 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 19 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone!

Reviewed on Saturday April 4, 2009 by , Canada
I'm a little bit on the younger side. I bought my phone at Christmas time with all my Christmas money. Even though all my friends got their keypad phones, I am happy with mine. It has great reception, and in my bedroom I have at least two or more bars. (considering my room is hard to seek from a satalite) Some phones Now 'a' days have NO CAMCORDER! But this one does and I was so glad when I got it that it did. I have a blue case on mine, and I can switch the case to red, white, or pink, whenever I want. The buttons are easy to press, and I like that i only need to touch one button and my inbox is right there. (I am a big fan of texting) "SPARK" is so great. It was one of my favourites when i got my phone. Easy to acsess the internet for Facebook, and any other things that I really need. I really don't like complicated phones, and If your like me, this one is great! It's really skinny so it can fit anywhere: Bra, Jeans, Purse.. just about anywhere. I am also a bit fan of the battery. I can leave my phone on for about 5 days, and It stays on, even if I make a few calls and bout 200 texts a day! I reccomend it to anybody! It's an awesome phone.
1 Star out of 5

samsung r500 is defective

Reviewed on Thursday January 22, 2009 by , british columbia
within days started to freeze up. now msg memory is full even with ALL msg deleted and cannot send or receive txt. worst phone ive ever had
4 Stars out of 5

Good phone, but could be improved

Reviewed on Monday December 29, 2008 by , British Columbia Canada
Ive had my phone for awhile now and i must say im quite happy with it. I personally love the mobile radio feature and use it all the time. transferring mp3s does take a little while when you have to drag and drop, and i was a little unimpressed that it cant read mp3s in subfolders of the MY_MUSIC folder, but overall thats minor compared to previous phones I've used. the battery life is a little short. i find the keys are a decent size and not too slippery (keys probably are a little harder to use for people with bigger finger). overall good phone, dont try to use the mp3 player in loud areas without the headset.
3 Stars out of 5

Yes, you /can/, but it involves turning the volume off!

Reviewed on Friday December 19, 2008 by , Canada
I put my mp3 on the microsd card and it will not show up! pictures and video save fine. other than that, the phone is ok.

This is in reply to the post below:
menu>settings>sounds>keytone>keytone level> OFF

Now your phone is silent under normal operation and the ringer is still normal. The camera still has it's annoying sounds.

Cannot Disable Keyboard Tone
Reviewer : Yuri, Israel
Date : December 12, 2008

I didn't find a way of disabling keyboard tones, and none is covered in the user guide.

In the keyboard tone settings there are several options for keyboard tones, but neither of them is "off".

There is no way I found to disable the keyboard tones without disabling also the ringer, which (if I am correct) makes it useless for me, as I work in such an environment where I cannot keep keyboard tones on.
1 Star out of 5

Cannot Disable Keyboard Tone

Reviewed on Friday December 12, 2008 by , Israel
I didn't find a way of disabling keyboard tones, and none is covered in the user guide.

In the keyboard tone settings there are several options for keyboard tones, but neither of them is "off".

There is no way I found to disable the keyboard tones without disabling also the ringer, which (if I am correct) makes it useless for me, as I work in such an environment where I cannot keep keyboard tones on.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday November 15, 2008 by , stratford
First step is buying the micro sd card... Put the micro sd card into the regular sized sd card that comes in the packaging.... Connect it to your computer... Go into my computer and locate your SD card... Right click and click on format... dispays a warning saying you will lose all data blah blah blah... click ok.... most people will use windows media player to "sync" their music... if this is the case go ahead and add your songs to the sync list... Start sync when you are happy with your list. When complete you will have to go back into my computer and back into your SD card on there... this should display all the songs you just "syncronized" to your sd card. If there is a folder called my_music then simply select all the songs and right click then select cut if there is no folder then simple make a new folder.. open My_music and paste the songs there... remove sd card from computer and take micro sd card out of regular sized SD card and simple put the micro sd into ur phone. Hit the music key on your phone and select my music list and all your music should be displayed.
3 Stars out of 5

Battery Issues

Reviewed on Thursday October 30, 2008 by , Wisconsin, USA
Just an FYI -- a cell phone is a lot like a computer. You should power cycle it once a day to help it not to get locked into any one particular tower, and to help it operate better. Also, you may occasionally have to take the battery out for 20 seconds & put it back in to reset or resolve 'strange' issues with the phone. It's like rebooting your computer. This is completely normal. If however basic troubleshooting doesn't resolve your issue, then contact your carrier for more help. Good Luck!
3 Stars out of 5

MP3 player vs Ringtones

Reviewed on Thursday October 30, 2008 by , Wisconsin, USA
As a cellular retailer, I can tell you that the biggest complaint is that you can't set MP3 songs as your ringtones (from your playlist). You can not add MP3 ringtones to the phone via your memory card. However, you can usually download ringtones through your carriers 3rd party application service. I also learned you can't BT (bluetooth) MP3s -- but the phone is BT capable (for headsets - even stereo!).

Some manufacturers limit or do not support certain functions, and even make agreements with carriers saying what they can & can not have with the phone so carriers can only work with what they're given. Every phone out there has it's own special features and limitations. It's always best to do some research to educate yourself before buying.

As a seller, I think it's a nice mid-level phone with some neat features (in particular the MP3 player) but it's not as great as some of the others we carry that have more functionality. What's important is that sellers educate themselves FIRST before selling a phone to a customer. I usually study up on a phone before I even feel comfortable recommending it to a potential customer. I feel badly for those of you who had the phone pushed on you or were given incorrect information.

Overall I rate this a 3/5 compared to similar phones.
2 Stars out of 5

Not totally Impressed

Reviewed on Monday October 13, 2008 by , London ON
I purchased this phone 12 days ago. I woke up this moring and the phone was working fine and fully charged but by the end of the day I couldn't even turn it on. I tried plugging it into the charger and the charger wouldn even register. I talked to my brother in-law who has had the same phone but his is 6 months old and he is having the same issues. It has also completely frozen on me before and the only way to resolve the issue was to remove the battery. For the price you pay I don't think you should have to do that. The battery also doesn't lst as long as I would like. Great phone I just wish it was more reliable.
1 Star out of 5

Samsung R500

Reviewed on Sunday August 17, 2008 by , Montreal - Quebec
I have had this phone for a few months now, and it's been 1 month my phone doesnt let me keep any of my text messages, i used to keep 120 texts, and i would be still able to text, and now, i got 0 texts, and i deleted everything from my phone, and i cant text anymore and my phone is 100% FULL !
I dont understand this phone anymore.
tomorow i will go to the store of Telus,
and make a really big scene, and the TECH.Support, should be open late, come on, a problem can happen anytime, and then without Cust.Support, what are we
supose to do? This is horrible. I am starting to hate the Telus services.
I cant even put my mp3 songs as ring tones on this phone. This is horrible. I like the lights, and the colors changes, and all. But right now i hate this phone !!
3 Stars out of 5

SD Card for R500

Reviewed on Thursday August 14, 2008 by , Canada
The phone itself, so far so good but the user manual is a waste of paper. Does anyone know how to access the micro SD card????? I cannot figure out how to access the contents from the phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Durable Phone

Reviewed on Friday July 25, 2008 by , Ontario
I got this phone a month ago and ever since its been the best very durable, if you drop it not much will happen, if anything it will get a little chip and if it gets a little wet nothing will happen. Overall it is a great phone!
4 Stars out of 5

Rough start to good finish

Reviewed on Monday July 7, 2008 by , US
When i first received my phone it was impossible to activate and then the internal screen stopped working. i sent it back for a new one and it took over a week and a half to get my new phone. Since my new phone arrived i have had almost no problems, alltel reimbursed me for the shipping of sending my phone back, and gave me credit for the time i had activated my phone but did not have it.
I drop it on cement, gravel, into puddles...i cant seem to break it if i wanted to. the camera takes great pics, but doesnt have zoom...dissapointment. My SD card is coming today and these other reviews make me nervous. But i have faith in my phone.
1 Star out of 5

Samsung R500 Review

Reviewed on Saturday May 10, 2008 by , Edmonton, Alberta
I purchased this cell phone and did not check the camera and video at that time. 5 weeks later, I tried it and it did not work. The cell was not replaced - it is being sent back for repairs - even though there is so much wrong with it, including trying to download music, ringtones, etc. I would think in 5 weeks, the least that they could have done was replace the cell.

I wish I would have went with the Motorola Krzr that I was going to buy before the sales clerk said they have less problems with this brand.
2 Stars out of 5

adding music

Reviewed on Saturday April 19, 2008 by , canada
Ok to add music you need to format the Micro sd card .then explore the card and creat a new folder in it called my_music . then drag and drop your mp3's in the folder and insert the micro sd card back in the phone and that's it you now have music
1 Star out of 5

Guide d'utilisation

Reviewed on Tuesday April 8, 2008 by , Gatineau
Le guide d'utilisation est très difficile à lire. La compagnie devrait tenir en tête que si des ados aiment acheter les cellulaires il y a aussi toute une population de baby boomer qui seraient de plus en plus intéressés à utiliser ces appareils, mais il faudrait pouvoir lire les instructions... De plus, on nous dit que pour de plus amples renseignements, il faut consulter le guide d'utilisateur disponible en ligne... Je le cherche toujours ce guide....!

Pas trop d'étoile pour le guide... je vais voir pour le reste car je n'ai pas encore utilisé les autres fonctions... Trouvez l'erreur...
2 Stars out of 5

Samsung R500

Reviewed on Monday February 4, 2008 by , London
I agree with the other assessments of the user guide - it's not very helpful.

Moreover, I am having trouble downloading music from my collection onto the card that I bought along with the phone (or should I say was duped into buying). It seems that Telus is happy to sell songs to you, even if you already have bought them, however a call to the "Client Care Centre" revealed that they only "support" music that you have paid them to download from their service. Not exactly what I was told at the store when I bought the phone...
1 Star out of 5

userguide is terrible

Reviewed on Sunday December 23, 2007 by , Ontario
The userguide is terrible.
Transferring songs does not work very well tried several times
no luck

You have to guess at most of the instructions.
Print is tiny and hard to read

Very hard to set the phone up without good instructions.

The phone seems OK.
Not sure what it does though with out good information.
4 Stars out of 5

User guide????

Reviewed on Wednesday December 12, 2007 by , Toronto Ontario
Love the phone, but the user guide cannot be read. Even with a magnifying glass.