Samsung Rugby A836 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung Rugby A836 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 8 reviews.


1 Star out of 5

Ability to use phone

Reviewed on Saturday February 5, 2011 by , Vernon
I bought this phone for my husband who is phone/computer dumnb. I am astute at these things, and even have trouble trying to figure things out on it without a manual. Just to delete a picture takes too many different buttons. The texting is like trying to read another language backwards. This may be able to be thrown against a brick wall without breaking but it is useless for people that have no clue about cell phones
2 Stars out of 5

Media player sucks, ring tones limited

Reviewed on Thursday August 26, 2010 by , Vancouver, bc
Media player from original phone as well as Rogers both horrible, no volume control while music is on, distorted audio.Equalizer-bad, no base boost . . . Quality is also bad. Compare to other phones this one is not the best. Over all just a regular phone with LIMITED ring tones functions.
1 Star out of 5

bad batteries

Reviewed on Wednesday August 25, 2010 by , Cambridge ONT
I just wondering if any one else has had this phone. I'm on my second one and both of them only hold a charge for two or three hours. Rogers is a pain to deal with matter on hold for over an hour twice
5 Stars out of 5

Great Cell Phone ..........

Reviewed on Tuesday March 9, 2010 by , Ottawa,Ontario,Canada
The samsung SGH-A836 is a great phone. I work at the airport and I'm in all weather conditions and the SGH-A836 has not let me down. I had a RAZOR K1 before not a good outdoors phone. I'm not real good at navigating the phone features yet but I'm getting there. I would strongly recommend samsung SGH-A836 for someone who needs a resilient talking piece.
5 Stars out of 5

Nov 12

Reviewed on Thursday November 12, 2009 by , Toronto, On
Bottom line, the phone should last me the three years of my contract. I can still access my email (gmail), use google maps, google calendar, etc. Its a G3 phone with good internet services. Call quality is good, alarms work, it rings when someone calls. Low SAR rating too. If you are looking for bells in whistles, buy another phone. If you are looking for practicality and durability, then buy this.
1 Star out of 5

Not impressed

Reviewed on Tuesday November 3, 2009 by , Canada
This is my third Samsung phone, thought it would be good like the others were, but was I wrong. Yes its rugged but thats about it, it's not user friendly, in fact its almost impossible sometimes. As far as amenities it doesn't have any, only 2 ring tones, no calendar, no calculator, no memo record, speaker turns on but not off, all the functions a contractor, or military person would want not there. my 4 year old phone had more functions and apps. thought this would have at least that and more.Could go on but you get the idea. Met 2 other people with same phone and they hate it too. Sorry Samsung no more for me.
4 Stars out of 5

Overall It's A Good Phone

Reviewed on Sunday September 6, 2009 by , Canada
After all is said and done, this is a really good phone (and that is saying a lot considering it's a Samsung).
It lacks the flexability that I'm used to... I'll explain.
The ringtone option is limited and adding new ones it not just as simple as dumping some MP3's onto the phone.
You must download them from your providers website and the soft buttons are not programmable.
Aside from those two setbacks, it is rugged and the water resistance is a plus for being a work phone no fear of using it in the rain.
If you're picky about your 'ring' I wouldn't suggest it though.
4 Stars out of 5

I like it

Reviewed on Wednesday July 8, 2009 by , New Brunswick
The phone's better than the last several I've had, with a few exceptions...
The gps that's embedded in it can only be accessed by Telenav, and that's gonna cost an extra monthly fee
The keys aren't as configurable as I'm used to (minor)
There is an alarm clock feature, but it's not quick to access or use (move the song to the phone, select song, set as: alarm, then set it.
On the plus side, it's easy to hear, I'm in love with the water resistance and it's large enough to use with work gloves on.

Featured Content