Samsung Propel a766 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung Propel a766 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 10 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Awful experience !!!

Reviewed on Sunday February 14, 2010 by , Montreal
I haven't owned that many cell phones but this is the worst of all. As has been said, can't download your own ringtones arrrghhh!!!!! can't keep the
!$%@?#@!$ keybord from locking, you have to keep the phone "open". I won't even start talking about the New pc studio software !!!!! Or the hands free device that causes excruciating pain to your ears!!! No thanks to Samsung for this one! I had more options on my old cell phone from 10 years ago!!!
5 Stars out of 5

great phone

Reviewed on Sunday January 24, 2010 by , alberta
I don't really understand what everyone else who wrote reviews for this phone is complaining about. I find it to be a great phone that is easy to navigate with. Not only does the large screen make it easy to view videos it makes it incredibly easy to read text messages as well. I have killed several hours watching youtube videos online with this phone and the picture quality was incredible to say the least. For a phone that came free with a plan i would definately say it has all the features the average person could need including facebook, twitter, hotmail etc. I belive the only problem with this phone is the lack of ability to plug normal headphones into it
1 Star out of 5

Rogers SAMSUNG a766 sucks !!!

Reviewed on Friday December 4, 2009 by , Rogers Canada
regret of buying !!!
can't use your own mp3 ringtone which bothers me a LOT !!!
agree with Jane that the side buttong is useless because the preset shortcut is totally useless to me and cannot be changed, and you can't access a lots of things while you're using it. camera isn't great.
the ONLY thing i like is the color of the phone and that's it !!!
I paid for the new phone and now I'm using my old phone because of the stupid ringtone, what a waste of money!!! I wouldn't have bought if I knew !
I would not recommend and I would even ask people NOT to get this !!!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday November 10, 2009 by , manitoba
i own this phone and i think is awesome looks good and works great!
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday October 21, 2009 by , CANADA
Unlike my nokia xpress music phone, you cannot have an mp3 downloaded on your phone as a ring tone. I can play the sound, use it as an alarm tone but not a ring tone. Quite odd and annoying. Secondly, while I'm on the phone I cannot access a lot of things on the menu list. I did like the side shortcut buttons but the options were set and could not be changed; not that I know of. If I am using the phone, I can check my messages, internet, and games. However, I cannot look at my pictures or check my call history. If these things were changed, it would be a great buy. But, if you had a phone that had these available and are thinking of getting this phone, it is quite a hassle. I rate it a 2 because there are certain features that were not available plus its camera is only 1.3 megapixels.
3 Stars out of 5

Ring tones!!!

Reviewed on Monday July 27, 2009 by , Canada
Does anybody know how to save new ringtones on this bl***y phone?? You can save ringtones to the "ringtone" folder, but they don't show up when you go to ringtones on the phone!! Help!!
4 Stars out of 5

Reception & Clarity. (A766 Propel)

Reviewed on Thursday May 21, 2009 by , Langley BC
My phone already has a distorted speaker. The receptions seems to be horrible at times & it drops a lot of calls. I really enjoy the keyboard and text messages. The internet is a great feature aswell. The clarity of phone calls also kind of bugs me. Depending on the phone call.. It's sometimes really hard to hear/understand other people talking. Which may have something to do with the cr*ppy reception. It`s a really good phone, other than the fact that it p*sses me off while trying to make calls. The camera isnt half bad either. It`s trendy too.
3 Stars out of 5

Headphones with phone

Reviewed on Tuesday March 31, 2009 by , Barrie, Ontario
I read that the headphones are cr*p and yes there are. Samsung always make proprietary jacks so you dont have much choice.

My suggestion is to get a wireless bluetooth stereo headset and you dont have to worry about that anymore!

Try the Plantronics 590 headset which is around the head but it sure beats ripping the buds our of your ears in error!

5 Stars out of 5

Very cool QWERTY phone

Reviewed on Friday March 20, 2009 by , Scarborough, Ont.
PROS: I just wanted to say that this is one very awesome little phone, I did a lot of research first before deciding on getting it. The full QWERTY keyboard is good even if you have large fingers, like myself. It's large screen is very cool, and i like the black, gray & white theme, it's easy to see even in daylight. The reception (signal) on it is out of this world, way better than my ol'Sony Ericsson w300i. I put a 4 GB MicroSD card in it right away and save music, ring tones, photo's on the card.

Cons: Ring tones are set for a younger crowd unless your into hip-hop/scratch music, then great. I downloaded "Smoke on the Water" for mine, now it's an adult phone. Wall paper is not too great either, but these are cosmetics and can be changed.
The real downer is the head-phones, crap. I like the in the ear style, like my Sony had... why can't they just put a regular mini phone jack, I hope I can upgrade these.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday March 15, 2009 by , toronto
this phone is awesome totally cool!!!!