Samsung m500 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung m500 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 12 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Batterie mediocre

Reviewed on Friday February 12, 2010 by , St-Bruno
Ceux qui parle beaucoup au cellulaire,je vous deconseille ce telephone. Durée de vie de la batterie sans parler au telephone 4 jours gros max alors imaginez si vous vous en servez un peu....
1 Star out of 5

it freezes

Reviewed on Sunday October 19, 2008 by , brockville ontario
my phone freezes. the screen will go completly white and i cant do any thing on it! THIS PHONE IS A PIECE OF S***!!!!
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday September 23, 2008 by , Kamloops
ive had my phone for about a year now and havent had a major problem. I have to say im very rough on my phones and this one has kept up very nicely. It does sometimes freeze but you just do the old battery trick and its like new. I dont have much music on there becuase the card that came with it isnt very big, but what i have heard it play is fairly good quality. the camera is meh, nothing special.
all and all and has been a good phone. i would recommend it to those who just need a phone and a little bit of texting done.
4 Stars out of 5

Good basic phone

Reviewed on Thursday September 11, 2008 by , Canada
I like this little phone i've had mine for 18 months and never had a problem with it. It's froze on me a few times but that happens with alot of phones now and you just have to pop the battery and restart and you're fine. Im terribly hard on phones and I drop mine all the time and it's still working :). It's strong for a flip phone and it's got enough to get you by if you just want a PHONE and to do some texting too. You can get the web on this phone but it's not pretty and can be hard to navigate sometimes. I find I have alot of problems with accessing the web on this phone but luckily I dont use it much... Just to check emails when I'm on the go. The other thing I don't like about it is you can only send a text up to 140 characters. I text ALOT (1000+ a month) and so that can be annoying when you're trying to send a longer message and it cuts out half way through a sentence.
You can customize the phone pretty well and program hotkeys to take you right into your inbox or contact list or anywhere you choose. The camera isn't anything special but it does the trick when your friend has a lampshade on his head.
The music player is good too :) You can shut the phone and it continues to play and you can adjust volume from the sides. The only downside to it is that you have to close it when you get a text message :(.

All around, a good little phone if you don't need all the extras like gps, youtube, facebook, a big camera or anything like that. Overall, 4 stars. I would suggest this phone for anyone :)
2 Stars out of 5

Ease of Use

Reviewed on Tuesday August 26, 2008 by , Windsor, NS
1: With the buttons on the side you are almost guaranteed to be in volume control or picture mode the moment you open the phone to use it. These buttons are located exactly where the average person would grip or hold the phone in the hand to hold it against your ear. There is no option to lock out these buttons except when the phone lid is closed.
2: The Samsung online help is totally useless. The links will have you going to the same useless page over and over again.
3: Installing your own personal ringtones is impossible and the user manual only says you can do it, but fails to say how or give the proper steps. Therefore you cannot install and assign your own ringtones for using audio caller ID.
4: The camera takes very poor quality photos and self-pictures have to be via a mirror.
1: It's a good phone for voice calls use only.

Over All: If you want to talk, the m500 is great. If you want to personalize your phone, your kind of "out of luck".

My Rating: less than 1/4 of a star.
3 Stars out of 5

Samsung M500, not too sturdy

Reviewed on Wednesday August 20, 2008 by , Montreal
I have had the phone for a year now and love the size, appearance, feel and features. It works well also and has good reception. However, it hasn't proved to be too sturdy. I'm not hard on a phone at all, but I dropped it once and the frame around the keypad cracked so one of the keys didn't work properly. Sent it in to be fixed through Bell and after it was returned the pixels on the display began to die. Now about 20-25% of the display is blacked out. Bell says they will be happy to fix it for $150, so I'm now looking for a new phone and waiting for my contract to expire so I can go with a different wireless company ( after 17 years with Bell Mobility)
1 Star out of 5

This Phone SUCKS!

Reviewed on Wednesday July 9, 2008 by , Sask
It has decent amt of features, However battery life sucks, Battery won't last longer than a day sent away for Warranty worked better for a month then back to only lasting for a day.......Also Samsung Customer Service very Poor. This phone started acting up only 3wks after buying it, it's been down hill ever since!

Also because of Samsungs POOR customer service I will never buy a Samsung Product Again! Lovn our new Sharp LCD TV!!
5 Stars out of 5

Most durable phone ever.

Reviewed on Thursday May 15, 2008 by , Victoria
I love this phone.
I have put it through the wash, dropped it in the tub, lost it on the beach (under the SAND) dropped it about 5 million times, thrown it at the wall...

and it still works.
Also, it's sleek, nice looking, has some neat tools, the ringtones are LOUD enough to hear through the crap in my purse... It's fantastic.
2 Stars out of 5

Samsung phone

Reviewed on Monday March 24, 2008 by , Peterborough, Ontario
I have had this phone for about 6 months not impressed at all. Had the phone freeze up on me several times and had to send for repair. The day I got it back from repair I had to send it in again as the 0 key would not work. It still does not function properly and only works part of the time. As for service I use phone for travel across Canada and have alot more dead spots with this model than my last phone. Texting will not work in most of Northern Ontario, the phone will receive text with full bar service but will not send texts out. The blue toothe also does not function on the phone since repairs, and also the phone was returned to me with a scratch on the face plate.(not a malfunction of the phone though, just poor customer service) I personally would not reccommend this phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Samsung M500 Big Bang for Buck

Reviewed on Wednesday July 25, 2007 by , Canada
I have to give this phone 5 stars. Why? The price and the features are jam packed. Compare this to the latest M620 and you'll find little difference in terms of features except for form factor. Both phones have Camera with video capability, expandable micro SD, MP3 Music Playback, Blue Tooth Connectivity, SMS text and Web Browser, Dial Up Networking - you can connect to the internet by using the phone as a modem while plugged into the USB port, The phone can play 3GP video, there are 2 LCD displays, one on the face and one inside, the phone is slim and the plastic feels SOLID. I have an iPOD shuffle but after upgrading to 1GB SD why would I carry 2 devices, PLUS the iPOD shuffle does not have a speaker to listen to music WITHOUT headphones - the M500 does~!! Absolutely awesome man - that's all I can say. If you buy it - you will not regret it. I love this phone - YOU WILL TOO! Happy talking, listening, watching and surfing - the only think this phone cannot do is make you breakfast.
4 Stars out of 5

good little phone

Reviewed on Thursday July 12, 2007 by , Ontario Canada
I have had this phone for a few days now, and I like it.

The antenna could be a bit more powerful but it works, the phone's reception at 2 bars and up is consistent and sounds clear. Mp3's sound good (especially so with the supplied headset), one of Samsung's strengths to be sure, video playback is OK, but its no iPod video, which i already own.

Text messages are easy to read, writing text messages though could use some work, its kind of awkward to type one out and lay it out properly the first time through, sometimes the phone doesn't always register a key press, usually space, so it helps to proof read and edit the message before sending. the media player is OK, but it could use some revision and improvements, especially for the volume meter (why is it always up at max, it should remember its last position, which is usually halfway) and its user interface.

The camera takes pics at its full resolution, and is quite nice for a mobile phone camera, it does not have a zoom function, that i have found anyways but that may be limited to the Sprint version of the m500 as I read a page talking about that version of the phone and it mentioned it.

The memory is expandable up to 1GB with this model, though Sprint issued a firmware upgrade for their version of this phone that aside from other things, gives the m500 the ability to handle 2GB Micro-SD cards. It is unclear yet if Bell will offer a similar firmware upgrade.

On a last note, it isn't mentioned in the specifications on this page but the m500 does use the EVDO network as well as the 1x network.
5 Stars out of 5

Nice, sleek, sweet.

Reviewed on Wednesday January 17, 2007 by , Wpg
Love this phone, originally was thinking about getting the razor... but this one panned out to be way cheaper in the end. I was looking for a slim, sleek designed phone. This one is perfect. I've only got one beef with it though, the head phones. It can be used as an mp3 player, but the jack is smaller than regular headphone jacks, so you have to use the headphones that came with it. I've yet to see if they make different styles of headphones, because the ones that I got with the phone were buds, and they were too big for my ears. So that aspect of the phone is useless for me. But other then that, awesome phone so far! :) Really happy with it.