Samsung C417 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung C417 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 10 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

not bad

Reviewed on Monday July 9, 2007 by , Vancouver
Sure the phone isn't overly flashy, doesn't have an incredible organizer, or a spectacular camera...but if you want that you've gotta pay a little more. It blows me away how many people expect the world from a "budget" phone. (I say this because of it's low low cost with a contract)

For what I've used mine for...a's been great. I have been able to take some decent pictures, and I have dropped it on numerous occasions and it's only sign of wear is a little scratch that runs a little deep, from where it contacted a concrete sidewalk after falling out of my butterfingers hand at hip height.

If you want the music, multimedia, organizer, etcetera, spend more money on something else, but for a basic phone to get the job done, it works great.
1 Star out of 5

Poor reception

Reviewed on Tuesday June 12, 2007 by , Moncton
I found this phone to have terrible reception. Even in a full service area, it always sounded like the person on the other line was talking on a speaker phone, the phone would cut out, or it sounded like it was about to cut out. In full service areas, I always find myself having to say "what??". Very unsatisfied with this phone. Samsung is normally good. I guess they are slipping!
1 Star out of 5

Do Not Buy

Reviewed on Wednesday June 6, 2007 by , calgary
I bought this phone as my first phone, the sleek styling and the reasurance of the sales rep. had me convinced.after 3 months of use i have come to hate it. i mostly do txting and when i enter the new words into T9 a few weeks later it has foregotten them due to lack of memory. not only that, the pictures i take arent worth looking at because most you cant see anything but fuzzy squares. However if you are looking for a phone and nothing BUT a phone then this it its small and shiny(however in a few days it is easily scratched) but for teens who want a litle more from a phone this is deffiantly not it.IF YOU WANT A PHONE WITH GOOD FEATURES BUY SOMETHING ELSE!!!!!
2 Stars out of 5

Oh so delicate!

Reviewed on Thursday April 26, 2007 by , ventura
I loved the set up of this phone. I loved the options, and seeing as i don't use bluetooth, I had no problem with the limited abilities. It's slim, and very user friendly.

However, within 2 weeks, and only being dropped twice, the inside LCD screen broke on the second fall, of about 3 feet. That is hardly worth the money, cheap piece of junk.
5 Stars out of 5

neat little phone

Reviewed on Saturday January 13, 2007 by , regina
I really enjoy the samsung c-417. I've had it for a few months now, and I've had absolutely no complaints.
1 Star out of 5

Avoid this phone like the PLAUGE

Reviewed on Sunday December 17, 2006 by , Kalamazoo, MI
There are very few positive things about this phone. And what pros exist are very VERY quickly outweighed by the "INSERT SIM" messages I got constantly (at least once a day on each phone) on Both phones I had. Yes, the messages kept recurring on mine AND my daughter's original phones so we replaced BOTH of them (through cingular) and now BOTH of the replacements are coming up with the message as well. Just to clarify, when these messages happen you cannot make or receive calls, the alarms don't work, and there is only a very quiet notification that the message has popped up, meaning that you can be out of communication for hours at a time. Features aside, I need a phone that Works, and this one certainly does Not. There should be a recall - FOUR phones with the exact same manufacturer's defect isn't just a fluke. Please, Please save yourself the hassle that I've been through with this phone and choose something different!
1 Star out of 5

Don't buy this if you want Bluetooth

Reviewed on Saturday December 2, 2006 by , Ontario
I originally bought this phone because of its organizer. I was able to use the Hardware upgrade option so I tried a Motorola, which had great features but poor reception. I then tried the C417, which did not have as efficient an organizer features but better reception where I worked.
I took a few pictures but when it came time to download them, I was in the situation of not being able to transfer them. An option was to pay for each photo and send them on the network. What a rip off!! The "not included $39.99 cable" was a almost as much as the phone, so I tried a Bluetooth dongle that listed the C417 on it. Neither device saw each other. The only option on the C417 is for a headset. Other phones have file transfer options for Bluetooth but this one does not. I am over the time limit for my phone so I am stuck with it. This is a warning to others BEFORE they buy.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday November 27, 2006 by , NY
Nice looking phone phone but be careful of the front screen- mine cracked and I didn't even do anything to it!
5 Stars out of 5

Samsung C417, Tight Phone.

Reviewed on Tuesday November 21, 2006 by , Vancouver, BC
This phone has every feature I want in a phone and none of the stuff I don't. Simple, easy to control, and slim for style. Solid product Samsung.
4 Stars out of 5

Samsung C 417 cell phone

Reviewed on Thursday October 5, 2006 by , bolton , ontario
Great little phone. loaded with very usable features, and quite user friendly. I like the size, nice and slim without
being delicate. Good to operate even with large fingers.
It seems like an all round good value product.