Samsung C414 - Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung C414 has an average user review score of 1 Star out of 5 based on 23 reviews.


1 Star out of 5

Caller ID permanently blocked

Reviewed on Tuesday February 11, 2014 by , Saskatoon
Can't agree more. Worst phone ever and service matches the same. Caller ID blocked even though phone says it is not. Can't do anything about it according to company. Will never buy Samsung again!
1 Star out of 5

Worst phone ever created

Reviewed on Monday November 18, 2013 by , Vancouver
Words cannot adequately describe how bad this phone is. This phone shuts off without warning, losing text messages and requires constant rebooting. The horrible thing takes about 5 - 10 minutes to find a signal. I cannot believe that cell phone companies actually peddle this rubbish to customers. I can't wait to get my new phone, crush this one and throw it into the trash. Steer well clear!
1 Star out of 5

Wife wants rid of this phone

Reviewed on Saturday October 5, 2013 by , Montreal
Phone shuts off by itself. Has to be recharged at least every 2 days. Useless battery indicator goes from fully charged to flat virtually instantaneously. Tiny, difficult to read, text and icons on the screen. Far worse phone than our previous Nokia. My non-technical wife who just wants to make basic telephone calls hates this phone.
1 Star out of 5

Bad Phone

Reviewed on Thursday September 5, 2013 by , Canada
Yup my shuts off too. And a friendly salesman actually took my first one back (which I had sent in for repair) and gave me another. They both have the same problem with shutting down unexpectedly. I like the phoe when it works but not knowing it has shut off on you is pretty annoying.
1 Star out of 5

Samsung C414 shuts off ALL THE TIME

Reviewed on Wednesday May 22, 2013 by , vancouver
After two re-sets from the the factory, and told it's just a software glitch that's fixed, the phone keeps shutting off, or restarts while sending a text, and doesn't sent the text.... sitting in your outbox while you wonder why you don't get a response from the person you sent the text to. I too won't look at a samsung phone again... what a bad product, and even worst bad support and service!
1 Star out of 5

SamsungC414sucks

Reviewed on Saturday March 9, 2013 by , Canada
A piece of garbage! Auto power-off three times in two days. Missed lots of calls. Contacted service and was told they won't replace until I send it back for repair for three times or more! If there's an option of "negative star", I will give this piece of junk a "double negative".
1 Star out of 5

samsung 414 ,so bad

Reviewed on Friday December 14, 2012 by , canada
my 3rd.. still not working properly.turns off and reboot looking for signal,, dont understand that a big company like samsung not make a recall..and still sell this!
1 Star out of 5

Junk C414-R (Fido)

Reviewed on Wednesday November 28, 2012 by , Toronto
Battery is awful. Can't hold a charge for a day use.

Don't buy. Manual is very poor too.
1 Star out of 5

don't buy

Reviewed on Monday November 26, 2012 by , vancouver
I wish I'd read these reviews before buying this thing. Someone said they get two days out of it, well I'm lucky to get 5 hours and that, after four weeks, is on its second battery! It is simply not fit for purpose and the people selling the piece of junk must know that. I bought it cash from Fido to replace a lost unit and naturally they don't want to replace it, however they have yet to discover just what an annoying pain in the a$$ I can be!
1 Star out of 5

Samsung 414c piece of garbage

Reviewed on Wednesday November 21, 2012 by , montreal
Hi I bought a Samsung C414 from Fido,and the salesman warned me not to take this phone,but I did anyways. Boy,do I regret it. This phone has a terrible battery life,and needs charging every 2 days.When it is first turned it reads "searching" I guess for a signal,and this lasts at least 10 minutes.Also, every now and then it shuts off. So if anyone is looking for a good flip phone,I highly suggest sticking with the Nokia brand, and stay far far, far, away from this one Thanks Russell.
1 Star out of 5

Phone - What Phone

Reviewed on Monday November 12, 2012 by , Canada
I'm on my second phone and both have the same problem. Keep shutting off. Very frustrating. You expect it to be on only to find it has shut itself off. Then you learn that you've missed calls. I don't have voicemail so missed calls are gone. Hope I can get my provider to replace with another model or brand.
1 Star out of 5

A little black piece of excrement

Reviewed on Sunday November 4, 2012 by , BC
Not much to say except that this piece of junk is the absolute worst excuse for a cell phone I've ever had. The others have mentioned all the problems so there's no need for me to be redundant here, there are simply no good points to this phone that I'm aware of. One thing I should point out: its tendancy to shut itself off for no good reason almost cost me a $168,000 contract when the customer couldn't get hold of me the day the tender was due. If I hadn't of tried to do a late afternoon time check on the phone only to find out it was turned off...!

This was the second Samsung phone I've had and, unbelievably, it's even worse than the first joke. The C414R is definitely my last Samsung. I'm going to pick up a Nokia (maybe like my old one) and leave the Samsung BS behind me forever.

To anyone reading these reviews - you've been forewarned!
...

Ron
2 Stars out of 5

Broken

Reviewed on Sunday August 5, 2012 by , Winnipeg, Canada
Read many reviews here and i agree that although its user friendly for my intentions, my phone shutting off randomly is happening too often for my liking. Twice now almost missed making it to work on time. Phone shuts off through the night forcing me to now set back up with my clock radio. Do to my younger children and their medical conditions I need a phone that WORKS. Heading out for my new phone now but 1st I will read reviews on my next choice b4 doing so.
2 Stars out of 5

A total hassle you will regret

Reviewed on Tuesday May 8, 2012 by , Montreal
The phone gets warm and runs out of battery within 12 hours on standby, so it is good for a paperweight and not much else. This is my second one and I returned the first one for the same reason and was told my phone was definitely defective. So now I probably used up my one shot to return the phone, and am stuck with it.

No other complaints, I find it user friendly, but I ask you WHAT IS THE POINT if you can't use it, and why do they put that on the market?
1 Star out of 5

C414 piece of junk

Reviewed on Sunday April 1, 2012 by , Victoria BC
I too made the mistake of selecting the Samsung C414 from Tom Harris Telus at Tillicum Mall in Victoria. It shut off a couple of times,very difficult to use, not very user friendly. Battery cover fell off some time ago and no one seems to know how to replace it. I pay $7 a month for insurance and they want over $100 to replace it so will cancel insurance. Neither Telus or Samsung will help me. Am dealing with the manufaturer now. Worse phone I have ever had.
1 Star out of 5

Piece of crap!

Reviewed on Monday March 12, 2012 by , canada
Well i bought this phone on a prepaid contract and i wish i had spent more money. the screen on the front of the phone is slow to react and tell you the time. very often i will open it and it will have no reception at all and then i have to take out the sim card and reset the hole phone and even then it doesn't always get the reception back so then you don't get your texts. going on the internet when you have to or want to is pointless because it doesn't load worth a crap! and getting and making phone calls sucks! it's always crackling in the back round and you can't hear anything. so please don't buy this phone spend the money and get a good phone because this is NOT a good phone.
1 Star out of 5

Don't Buy It

Reviewed on Friday March 2, 2012 by , glholwell@nl.rogers.com
I hate to be so negative but this phone in my opinion is pure crap. Compared to others in our household. The time display is very slow once you press the button, its difficult for big hands to open, the manual that came with it tells you very little, the ringer and sound choices are poor, the cover on the charger connector is very flimsy, etc etc. I would estimate that in a short period of time this phone will be reduced to junk. I regret buying it.
1 Star out of 5

Crappy Junk - Good For Garbage

Reviewed on Monday December 26, 2011 by , Toronto
what a co*ck-up,, shuts off on its own for no reason. what a waste of money and time. Dont think about using this sh*t as an ALARM CLock, it just dies on its own
1 Star out of 5

Hate this phone

Reviewed on Sunday September 4, 2011 by , Sudbury, ON
Purchased this phone for its simplicity. It was brought back to the store 3 times within short period of time as it would shut off on its own. Each time, they sent it in for repair and came back "fixed". The 4th time, they gave us a new phone (last week). Got up this morning and it has shut off again. The Rogers outlet says, "not ready for an upgrade"!
5 Stars out of 5

Good little flip phone!

Reviewed on Tuesday August 16, 2011 by , Vancouver, BC
Just the phone I needed. I'm not in to web surfing on a phone and don't like carrying large phones, so for talk and text this compact little phone is just right. It is data capable for the rare occasion I want to look up something. The display is bright, volume is loud, and the size is just right for comfortable use. The camera is adequate at 2MP, but it would be nice to have a higher resolution camera.
1 Star out of 5

Deception

Reviewed on Wednesday June 15, 2011 by , Montreal
Bought the phone to replace my 2G sony ericson when Videotron closed the service.
There was nothing in the box: no USB cable and the charger is called a travel accessory.
I found a USB and when I connected the phone to my PC I have to choose from 3 options, one of them is called PC Studio that do not exist for that phone according to support.
I am trying to find a headset since the phone can play MP3 and support redirect me to an external supplier.
To make a call from my contact list I have to select my contact and then from an option menu choose to call which is 2nd in the list the first one beeing update.

I regret my 4 years old sony ericson
1 Star out of 5

tecnoligy..PFFT1

Reviewed on Saturday March 5, 2011 by , calgary,alberta
i am more than peeved about this model,ever since buying this cell two weeks ago it constantly freezes and locked me out once. The load time is slow and texting features are brutal. why should i have to request a location twice,constantly going down my contact list to enter a number twice. haven't been able to send or recive picture messages either. went on samsung's site for a user guide as my newly purchased cell didn't come with one only to find out that the site for this model is in-operative,nice. wish i could return but i bought the phone out right from telus and the fine print on my receipt says otherwise. it'll make a fine door stop or paper weight(expensive mistake). my old phone of two years(LG)had i not sat on the screen blows this new model out of the water.Tecnoligy PFFT!
1 Star out of 5

Unfriendly and poorly designed phone

Reviewed on Friday February 11, 2011 by , Burnaby
I purchased this phone a couple of days ago. As I don't text or use data in my phone, I thought that this little mobile would meet my needs. However there are issues with this phone that have frustrated me to the point where I'm about to return it. I don't ask much....but I do want to have a phone that is capable of being personalized to meet my needs.

The Samsung C414 has extremely limited personal options. The shortcut keys cannot be re-assigned, and the big C in the centre which is to clear entries) can only be used to call up a calendar at other times. The left button is only used to call up a browser, whether you have a data plan or not. Other 'personalizing' keys offer very limited options.

I was disappointed with Samsung's technical assistance on this. When I phoned, the technitian could only tell me that he 'couldn't help'. (That was useful information - thank you).

So back to the store with this little gem. Sam has Sung his last song for me.



Featured Content