Samsung Advance A885 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung Advance A885 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 17 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

1 Drop It's all Done

Reviewed on Wednesday August 28, 2013 by , Toronto
I got the Phone and it started off fine texting was easy and nothing had problems but i was surprised i left my phone beside my sibling and he accidentally hit it off the table and I took a look the thing was messed and I'm pretty sure I had a warranty covered but the never accepted to repair my phone. So its up to you to find a phone that can at least withstand a 1 drop and still manage to work.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday May 29, 2011 by , edmonton
ive had the phone 6 months no problems other then the fact i cant buy ringtones have this site to get them tho, once every so often i have no signal and have to take my chip and battery out but then it works fine. i really like the phone,my cousin and brother has the same phone no problems, my bros 11 and doesnt take care of his phone and it works fine for him.
3 Stars out of 5

Not a bad phone

Reviewed on Saturday May 14, 2011 by , toronto
The Advance is not a smart phone. No Wifi. Alright phone. Good battery. Would not choose from other free phones available. 3.5 stars
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday March 22, 2011 by , Canada
This phone I would throw in the garbage ! Beware don't buy this phone...You'll be VERY sorry! I got it and was locked into a three year contract....I hate the phone....Sooooo cheaply made...Good Luck...
1 Star out of 5

Not very well made

Reviewed on Saturday March 19, 2011 by , Kelowna, BC
I bought my phone in may of last year after reading several great reviews on it and after about a month I noticed the battery started wear out very quickly when the phone was on the lowest screen brightness I also had problems with reception in that my sister got service on hers and my phone didn't

I had to send it in for repairs and they basically sent me a new phone inside but am still having issues however if you don't mind charging it a lot and don't travel often it shouldn't really bother you

shame that such a nice touchscreen is on such a badly made phone
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday March 9, 2011 by , Canada
Amazing phone Have had for 7 Weeks havn't had a single problem other than you are unable to switch the lock screen but honestly that is the worst thing about the phone. 7 Friends of mine have it and have no problems either. The other BAD comments are full of it. I recconmend this phone to anyone who doesnot want a smartphone thank you and have a great day
4 Stars out of 5

Not Bad Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday February 8, 2011 by , Canada
This is my first touch phone and have to say once ya get on to it it seems alright I had other phones and this one is definatly alot better as for those having issues with ring tones simple... Make you own using a ring tone maker and download for free "New PC Studio,Studio sync" you can get this direct from Samsung main web site under Support I did made about 15-20 of my own uploaded all to phone all ranging from 11-35 seconds also pics etc..
1 Star out of 5

Worst phone I ever Bought

Reviewed on Tuesday December 7, 2010 by , Edmonton Alberta Canada
I have had numerous problems with my sorry that I got tied into a 2 yr button freezes, would not make calls when out of province,then when back home..same thing...had to go in for servicing when less than a month old. Problems trying to get calls to forward... I am not at all happy with this phone.
1 Star out of 5

Very Disappointing

Reviewed on Monday October 11, 2010 by , alberta
So i bought this phone not knowing a lot about it but took a chance which was a terrible idea i will for sure learn from. I first realized that all of the ringtones are terrible and there are no simple single tones on this phone. then there was the phone lock images which are also terrible and can not be changed so when you the lock the screen the images you get are candles or flowers. then you can't get games or apps which sucks. the phone has a app icon and game icon in the menu and when you go to either one you can shop for more apps and games but once you do this nothing pops up to actually get them. i did get a gps app by downloading google maps which was a waste of time, it can't find your location and it my say it does but its not correct. so this phone isn't bad if your just looking for a nice touchscreen texting phone which is easy to use but beyond that i would never buy this phone
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday September 24, 2010 by , Surrey, BC
This is my first touchscreen phone. It was one of two recommended by the Telus rep while I was signing with them. I bought a data plan and was excited about buying some apps and being able to browse on a phone for the first time. Very disappointed to then discover that none of the Telus apps are compatible with this phone. Also had trouble downloading a ringtone. Tech support removed some blocks (no idea why there would be blocks to begin with) and I was finally able to download a couple of ringtones. All their ringtones are 30 seconds long and too long to set as your tone on this phone. (The tones that came with the phone are 18 seconds.) Called Tech support again and the guy admitted he has no idea how to fix that problem. They reimbursed the cost of the tones without question so at least I'm not out money.I went to the Samsung site only to find that the Wave is the only phone they sell apps for.
So.....this "smart" phone doesn't allow downloads of ringtones, games or GPS programs. Crushing disappointment in that area
Good points: easy texting, easy menu navigation.
I'm stuck with this thing for 3 years now....if I could go back I would stay far far away from this phone.
1 Star out of 5

Samsung Advance

Reviewed on Tuesday August 17, 2010 by , Alberta
Well i got this phone, and i thought it was very need but 2 weeks later i started to experience some problems it started to freeze all the time, and constantly shut down and somethimes wouldn't turn on. sent it away. and its doing it again and this is a month later. it is also over heating. I dont suggest this phone to anyone unless they are ready to have some problems!
5 Stars out of 5

Samsung Advance

Reviewed on Friday July 2, 2010 by , Canada
This is my third phone ever, so I don't claim to know a lot, but here are some thoughts that I had/have this phone:

My biggest qualm with this phone is that when you click a button while it is in "lock mode" the screen with very briefly come on to show you the time, so you don't have to unlock it. Now, while the time comes up, a wallpaper will appear and it changes almost everytime you check the time. Now this isn't my problem. My problem is that you can never set these wallpapers, so you're stuck looking at a few flower wallpapers every so often.

So if you can judge by that being the worst thing about this phone, you must know that I think it's a pretty darn good phone.

The qwerty touchscreen keyboard is precise and fast. Custom ring tones, compatibility with just about any java based game, and the sexiness of this phone and great features in my book.

I use this phone for everything except internet, and it is flawless. I would recommend this phone to anyone looking for a new phone that will make you stare at it and place with it for weeks after you purchase it.
5 Stars out of 5

Samsung Advance

Reviewed on Monday May 10, 2010 by , BC, Canada
I've had my Advance touch screen for three days now and I'm blown away by the quickness and simplicity of it. My intention was to have a phone for text and talk and what a great choice. This phone is amazing. Once you get use to the virtual keypad, it becomes fluid and precise.
5 Stars out of 5

Good Phone

Reviewed on Monday May 3, 2010 by , Surrey, B.C.
Receieved this phone from Telus 3 days ago. So far great phone, with no problems. Touch screen is fast & responsive, call quality is great.
Emailed Samsung got next day response with advise to Sync with PC for Outlook contacts, etc again worked great. I use the phone for calls & text, not into internet on a phone. For me best touch screen phone I've had (third)
You get what is advertised.
5 Stars out of 5

Good Choice

Reviewed on Thursday April 29, 2010 by , Lethbridge, Alberta
I have had this phone for one month,it is very user friendly,it did not take long at all to get use to the phone. This is my first experience with a touch screen phone and I love it. For myself I really like the lanscape Keyboard,very easy to use.
4 Stars out of 5

its not bad phone

Reviewed on Monday April 12, 2010 by , alberta
I've had this phone for less than 2 weeks, it takes some time getting use to. But so far I like it, the touch screen takes some getting use to but u can actually use ur thumb nails for typing on the qwerty once u get the hang of it you'll never wanna go without it. Its my first touch, and i love it.
3 Stars out of 5

Samsung A885

Reviewed on Monday March 8, 2010 by , Regina, SK
I recently got the new Samsung Advance A885 Phone from Telus, and while I think that the phone itself is appealing in looks, I have some problems with it as well. For one, setting up voicemail is a problem, because I can't seem to find a way to type in my password to access my voicemail. Because the phone is a touch screen, there is no number pad included on the phone, but rather just a touch screen number pad that comes up when dialing or messaging. This number pad however does not come up when trying to put in my password for voicemail. Another issue I have with the phone, is that it does not include the internet when I wanted to buy a game. I can access the internet any other time, but cannot purchase a game on my phone. The messaging on it has proven difficult often as well. I will recieve a message that has three parts, but will only recieve the first two parts, and the third part will ALWAYS say "New picture or video! View at Nouveau message photo ou video! Disponible a" On the other hand, I really enjoy the touch screen, and I find the numbers large enough to text on (although when using the QWERTY texting, the buttons are much harder to use -you can use QWERTY texting when you turn the phone sideways) I like the image slideshow that occurs every time a text message goes off, or you lock your phone again. I really like the phone, but I may have to opt for another one, if I can't get all my problems sorted out.