Samsung A680 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung A680 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 10 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday May 30, 2008 by , lac-megantic
mon mari en avais un et il avais la manette de jeu tres amusant ,grand écran le sons super ,pour les photos c est passables ,mais pour le prix qu il valais c étais bien mais encore une foi les ondes n étais pas assé forte
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday June 11, 2007 by , kemptville
This phone is awesome, i've had it for 2 years and its completely reliable. Ive never hada problem with texting or freezing? so maybe who ever wrote that just dropped it alot or something. It fits in ur purse and pocket, the camera has great quality and ive never missed a call unless it was cuz i hadnt had it. so whoever wrote those reviews obviously had it for about a week or just dropped it to much. Im getting a new phone but if i could id love to get this one again lol.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday April 20, 2007 by , Winnipeg
I loved this phone for the first few months. However I then realized people would be texting me early in the day.. and I wouldn't get it until the evening. It is very hard to hear when people are calling me, I miss a lot of calls. The pictures aren't that clear. It is hard to hear others on the phone, and I get so many dropped calls.. which is why I have to text all day. It freezes up sometimes which is very annoying due to the fact I cannot see what people are trying to tell me threw a text message.
1 Star out of 5

At first great but then problems

Reviewed on Wednesday November 9, 2005 by , Ottawa
I think that it is important to pay attention to how long people have used a phone before they rate them. When I first got this phone I thought that it was the best. 11 months later and I can't wait to get rid of it. The other reviews describe your experience for the first 8 months or so. The problems I have are the following: the battery somtimes last the normal amount and other times does not even last one day; lots of dropped calls and missed calls (the other person hears ringing but the phone does not even register a missed call); signal strength overall is terrible in areas where other phones (same carrier) are much better. I got a Nokia 6225 for my wife at the same time and night and day. It is still as great as the day we got it. Much better reception. What good is a cell phone if you can't make or receive calls. The problem is intermitant so when you take it to Bell they say that it seems fine.

Just beware this phone. I must say that I need to learn my lesson. I have had a few samsung phones that develop problems when they age a bit.

Overall: Avoid this phone like the plague !
3 Stars out of 5

It's alright

Reviewed on Friday October 21, 2005 by , Canada
At first, when I got the phone I was excited to see that it was a camera phone, with a built in camcorder. Soon after though, I realised with the resolution and quality of the pictures, that this phone was not worth it.
Also, I find that the phone would be alot better with a speakerphone option.
The layout of text messaging is difficult to get used to (switching from a Nokia 3586i).
But in the end, I'm happy I have this phone, but if you're a regular teenager, I would actually recomend getting a simple cell phone. I got bored of this phone quickly, and on the plus side, a simple cell phone is cheaper.
2 Stars out of 5

Tres decevant....

Reviewed on Monday August 22, 2005 by , gatineau que
J'ai achete ce telephone sans contrat a plein prix et je crois que je n'en ai pas pour mon argent. Le telephone comme tel est super, belle camera photo et video, la presentation est superbe, les images/wallpapers vraiment bien, etc. Le defaut qui me decoit le plus et qui veut tout dire: la qualite sonore du samsung est decevante. C'est comme acheter un voiture avec tous les gadgets possible, mais sans un bon moteur. Ca va pas loin.
On entend assez bien sa voix, sauf qu'on entend un echo de ce que l'on dit. Cèest desagreable. Meme les gens entendes les echos de leur voix et tous les sons bizarre comme les hiss, les coupures de phrases. J'ai jamais eu ce probleme et j'avais un petit nokia cheap avec aucun apparat.
5 Stars out of 5

Cool phone

Reviewed on Sunday December 26, 2004 by , Toronto
From what I've heard Samsung and Nokia make the best phones and after buying the A680, I can say this is definitely a very good phone. The outer screen is a great feature for call display - and the voice dial (number or name) are pretty cool too. The camera/camcorder is a lot of fun and you can use it in the closed position to take pictures of yourself. Very well constructed and good reception. The only downside I can think of is that using the camera for more than 5 minutes can really seem to use up a lot of the battery.
5 Stars out of 5

Just bought the Samsung a680 and I feel like a kid!

Reviewed on Tuesday October 19, 2004 by , saguenay
Just bought my new Sumsung a680, I feel really silly wanting to film everything that moves but it's so cool. I love all the features and it's very intuitive. One thing i would have liked, maybe it's there but haven't found it yet, is the way to create a list of email addresses instead of having to enter them continually when text messaging or sending videos or pics. Is there a way of doing this besides using the RECENT LIST?
5 Stars out of 5

samsung a680

Reviewed on Sunday October 17, 2004 by , toronto, ont
I have had this phone for a week now, and it's just amazing the size perfect rf performance great; audio quality amazing compared to the a600; bottom line a fantastic cell phone even though it has a built in camera, and a camcorder it actually works like a cell phone should. thank you
5 Stars out of 5

The 'It' phone

Reviewed on Saturday October 16, 2004 by , Edmonton, AB
WOW! This thing is unbelieveable.

How they fit all those features into such a small phone is incredible. The video is better than I expected (but don't expect to compare it to a video camera). The video light/flash works if you're within a couple of feet of the subject, but after that it's not much use.

Other features to get jazzed about are the 20 number missed call/incoming call/outgoing call lists, and the voice commmand/digit dial capabilities. They work really slick.

If this thing had Bluetooth and speakerphone on it, it would be the perfect phone.

The outside colour screen is really good too. Better than any I've seen before.

Love it!