Motorola V710 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola V710 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 14 reviews.

1 Star out of 5 my opinion.

Reviewed on Sunday August 26, 2007 by , Canada
I bought this phone about 6 months ago and i have already had to send it away twice to get repaired. Both times for the same thing. Freezing, battery not holding a charge, the internet not loading/freezing. I talked to the sales associate at [service provider] and he told me that this phone has been returned so many times because of all the problems people are having with it. I am however stuck with it for another 2 years and 6 months. I would love to get a phone that i can rely on and not have to send it back.

I got my phone back, after two days i already had to send it back, now thats saying something about the phone. I advise you don't to buy this phone, get a LG or a Samsung, best phones out there, wish i never traded mine in.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday May 30, 2007 by , v710
En l'espace d'un mois j'ai fait changer mon cellulaire 1 fois et changer une pile sur le 2ieme cellulaire. Dans l'espace d'un an j'ai envoyé faire réparer mon cellulaire chez motorola 2 fois. Donc, 4 réparations en un an pour ce téléphone.... Je regrette énormément cet achat. Avoir su j'aurais garder le Mike que j'avais avant!!!

2 Stars out of 5

Good & Bad

Reviewed on Thursday November 16, 2006 by , Calgary
I bought this phone February 2006. First five months it worked great, no problem. Then only problem I noticed, about battery. It can not hold charge for 24 hours even if I do not use it. I took it to service centre, they replace battery after 10 days. With new battery it worked well first one month and then it's the same problem. 6 hours talking time or 6 days standby is not true. I was asked to send it repair which will take 6-10 weeks to get it back. So I didn't. Service centre offered me loaner phone which does not have a blue tooth capability and which I require for my business. So I am stuck. No good solution!!
5 Stars out of 5

Motorola V710

Reviewed on Thursday June 1, 2006 by , Montreal, Canada
I got this phone 3 days ago & WOW. This phone rocks. I like everything about it. Reception is great, screen is spectacular. Great camera.

Highl recommed.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday March 21, 2006 by , Québec
Très bon appareil avec très forte déception avec le MP3 qui est à mon avis de la merde. Le livre des spécifications de Motorola ne parle que très peu de cette façette du téléphone. L'appareil fige complétement à certains moments et je dois enlever la pile.
Je regrette mon choix à cause de ces embêtements que personne ne semble pouvoir régler.
Coté esthétique, la façade finie laque s'égratigne rapidement et c'est domage pour un si bel appareil.
Merci de me lire.
5 Stars out of 5

Great phone!

Reviewed on Sunday December 18, 2005 by , Canada
I understand some people that didn't like this phone because there was an update missing when the first batch came out about 8 months ago, but be patient, let all the problems with a cell phone get fixed and buy it when it's on sale so you'll feel more comfortable if something goes wrong.

For 50$, this phone is awesome! The screen is very bright, reception is perfect, camera is alright but don't expect much out of 1.2 mpxl. Anyway, it's a phone, not a camera.

For its use, i love it. Still i'm afraid to drop it or scratch it already... I haven't used the bluetooth yet, but it's not an urgent necessity right now.

All around, I strongly recommend this phone unless you're a dropper.
1 Star out of 5

This phone sucks!

Reviewed on Sunday November 6, 2005 by , toronto
Well I just bought this phone yesterday and I hate it already! There's really not anything good I can say about this phone except that the speakerphone part works very good. I hat the way set it up. when you get to where you want to go it's hard to get out of it not to mention it's hard to get there to begin with. The alarm is the worst I've seen on a cell phone. For some reason the camera tends to be on when I don't want it to be. You can not listen to your ring tones (which I really hate), and you have to go to where your putting the numbers in to even put a ring to a number. Oh and the camera sucks too. Plus the snooze don't work properly either. I had the LG-5450 before i got this one and I really liked it alot. It was a great phone and I would still have it if I didn't drop it into the toilet. What a mistake that was! Anyways, save your money don't buy this stupid phone it will only discourage you.
3 Stars out of 5

Hack It

Reviewed on Thursday October 6, 2005 by , Edmonton
Only buy this phone if you intend to hack it to enable all the features telus has crippled
But be warned if you hack it telus will void your warranty
5 Stars out of 5

Awesome phone but make sure u have all the patches.

Reviewed on Saturday August 20, 2005 by , Vancouver B.C.
I've had the Motorola V710 for a few months now.
Just recently i had 2 take my old V710 back to the store, because it needed some patches, the screen didnt work properly sometimes the screen would turn off sometimes the screen wouldnt turn on, i always had a hard time getting it to recharge, it couldnt run applications like games for example, the mp3 player would stop playing after like 3 songs, if i took a picture that i didnt like and i wanted to get rid of it i wold hit discard but the phone would save it anyways, the phone would loose reception every now and then and it would have to seach for network again, and most annoying of all it would turn itself off all the time.

But finally about a moth ago i took my old V710 back to the store and got a new one they said i shouldnt have any of the problems i had with my old V710 because this one came with all the patches.

THE PHONE IS AWESOME!! it doesnt act up like my old V710 and the phone is packed with features that now i feel like i can enjoy, i cant be happier with the phone, it has incredibly good reception in fact i always have better reception than all my friends.

I strongly recomend this phone but make sure u are getting it with all the patches.
5 Stars out of 5

Good and Bad at the same time...

Reviewed on Thursday March 10, 2005 by , St Albert, Alberta
First off I would like to say I have been using this phone for 3 months now, and overall I am impressed by it, despite the flaws it has.

Reception wise, this phone is very good in the area I am in, definately one of the top performers in the Telus lineup, second to only the Nokia 3205i. Call audio quality is very clear and crisp, and most people who I talk to wonder if I am on a landline with the clarity.

Camera quality is definately not the strong point of this handset, as the pictures turn out blurry on the 1.3mp setting, and the only way to get around that is to turn the quality down to .3mp, and even then it is still kind of lacking. Videos are the same way, very small, and not all too clear, but the videos are of better quality than the Nokia 3205i, which is one of the other video phones out now.

Bluetooth, although limited in what it can do is a strong point for this phone, sure it comes "crippled" as most would put it, but that can be fixed very easily allowing for the transfer of images/ringers/PIM information.

The other features on the phone, such as the TF card slot is where this phone shines. The ability to save your pics and videos to the card instead of sending then over the network is a godsend for those who don't like paying a per picture sent fee. Voice dial on this handset is primo, with no training required for it to recognise even the most complex commands or name dials.

All in all.. I am very impressed with this handset despite what others will say about it. My suggestion if you do get it, be prepared for some software bugs, but those will be fixed when the update for the software is released soon enough.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday March 4, 2005 by , Laguna Beach CA
i just got this phone for my birthday and it does everything! the camara is a bit dark but im shore that i could fix that in a program. the bluetooth is great to watch movies and play MP3s on. The screen has such a sharp view which makes it better to watch movies and surf the web.I find this to be one of the best phones of the year! Going from my old phone (motorola t730) to the motorola v710 is a guge upgrade and its alot better.
5 Stars out of 5

Love it!

Reviewed on Friday January 21, 2005 by , Toronto
One of the best new phones I have seen all year. The picture quality is unbelieveable and the video capture is formidable. This phone is 10x better than the Samsung X426.
I would recomend this phone to anybody. It's the best bang for the buck out there!
1 Star out of 5

this phone blows

Reviewed on Thursday January 13, 2005 by , Connect
The camera quality is soo bad, ive seen better pictures from a .3 mp camera. The bluetooth is useless you can only talk to headsets. Watching movies is alomost impossible, they keep skipping. To use the MP3 player you must buy telus' headset 50+, you must buy a mini-sd card 80+. lol ya great deal... O and if you text to anyone but a telus phone it take up to 5 hours to get there. Way to go WORST PHONE OF THE YEAR AWARD, theres a reason a bunch of dealers wont sell it!
I expect better for 450 bucks

*stay away from the lg3200 50% are defective
5 Stars out of 5

Moto V710 is a keeper!

Reviewed on Friday December 17, 2004 by , Las Vegas, NV
I've never seen a cell phone as good as this! This phone has it all: You can listen to Mp3's, you can watch movies, you can listen to the radio, take pics, record video's, etc! I've also heard complaints saying that you cannot take good pics in the dark, but you can just turn up the brightness!

This is the greatest phone ever!The bluetooth is a bit crippled but thas cool wit me. Do yo self a favor and check this baby out!

DON'T EVER GO FOR THE Samsung SGH-X426/Samsung SGH-X427 though!!!