Motorola Rival A455 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola Rival A455 has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

2 Stars out of 5

Rival Issues

Reviewed on Tuesday April 3, 2012 by , Boston
Used a pair of these phones for 2 years now. Biggest issue is that you cannot download text messages, and the inbox fills up and stops messaging (not the outbox). You can e-mail them one at a time using minutes, but you cannot download them off the phone or put them on the memory card. Motorola phone tools won't even do it. I hand type them in to a text file to save them, very painful.
Other problem is touch screen is overly sensitive, ends up self-touching which puts you in disastrous modes like deleting everything, sending unfinished texts, hanging up on people. Really bad. Battery life is average. Keyboard layout is just weird for punctuation, all 2nd functions. Menus are a disaster, calendar reminder is 5 levels deep. Nice small phone for someone into texting.
1 Star out of 5

Laisser faire

Reviewed on Friday December 24, 2010 by , ontario
Moi j'ai acheter ce cellulaire dans le mois de septembre et dans le mois de novembre mon cellulaire a arreter de fonction fini bam.La screen etais blanche et il allumais pu. On est aller au magasin le faire reparer et la vendeuse nous a dit que toute les cellualaires montorola rival A455 etais dans un tiroire qui les vendait pu parceque il marchait pas et il voulais le faire reparer pour 25$! Telus on appeller chez nous on dit que il avait mis 25$ dans mon compte pour le faire reparer...le lendemain mon compte a expirer fac ..pu de 25$. Si vous voulez un vrai conseil, acheter pas ce cellulaire.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday May 2, 2010 by , langley
THIS PHONE SUCKS, it freezes, shuts itself down, never charges properly, yesterday it said warning handheld overheating shuting down and wouldnt turn back on
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday March 18, 2010 by , hamilton, ontario
k, so i love the layout of this phone and that alone realllllly makes me want to like it, but this phone is pure garbage. it freezes,doesnt send texts and isnt exactly reliable with recieving them either,the battery it terrible, barely vibrates when u recieve texts, drops calls, and my slider is pretty muching hanging on by a thread after only 5 months of use and good care. dont let others fool you saying the software upgrade did anything because it didn't , i got the upgrade and it doesnt stop it from freezing and it certainly didnt change the fact that this phone is a cheaply made piece of crap. SHAME ON U MOTOROLA!this phone isnt worth 200 dollars, if i knew what i know now motorola couldnt pay me to use this phone.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday March 17, 2010 by , Edmonton
This phone, terrible. Touch screen glitches, screen flickers, text fails, Internet fails, all around bad phone. Disappointed in motorola. Telus and koodo don't have the buying power to get quality.
3 Stars out of 5

ph freezes

Reviewed on Monday February 8, 2010 by , brampton
i love this ph but after six months i notice the ph freezes, and if i dont have my charger to put on it and plug into the wall , it just stays feeezed. i notice the touch screen button on the right doesn't light up and stop working.i took great care of my ph and i think the company should look into this. i still like the phone though
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday December 17, 2009 by , Canada
I dont really this phone its too slow for example when you pop up the menu it takes like a second to open usually you press then rigthj after it pop up. Its the same thing on every app on the phone. And the phone freeze a couple of time. Im not kind of happy with that phone would expect more
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday December 12, 2009 by , Rainbow lake
I bought my rival on pay and talk on october 17th/09, it's now december 11/09, I got a incoming text message and it told me the "message inbox full" I took out the battery and did everything telus trys to get you to do i even tryed the manual program number given to me by telus, Nothing worked, I now have to send it in to get repairs. It also freezes quite a bit, even from the the frist day i got it. I highly recomend NOT getting this phone. If you was a reliable Phone try the motorola W385, kinda plain jane but a great phone.
2 Stars out of 5

It's given me nothing but headaches!

Reviewed on Thursday November 5, 2009 by , canada
It was a beautiful new purple phone that I just HAD to have. It drew a lot of attention, and a lot of grief. When I try to save my text messages into drafts it seems to only accept as many characters as it likes at the moment, and when I look back to what I saved, a good part of my message wasn't there. When using the "delete multiple" option instead of the "delete all" it still deletes all the messages, instead of just the messages that I specified. My FIRST Rival broke within the first couple of weeks of use, this "break" was a technical error in which I could not send outgoing txt because of a "memory full" notification. Deleting every saved thing on my phone did nothing. The SAME problem has occurred on my second Rival and I do not plan on just exchanging this one.
5 Stars out of 5

Great phone

Reviewed on Thursday October 29, 2009 by , Ontario Canada
I bought this phone two weeks ago and love it. Motorola phones are reliable and this one is no exception.
5 Stars out of 5

Good Quality Phone

Reviewed on Sunday August 16, 2009 by , Kelowna
I got this phone a few days ago, moving from the LG Shine that I had for a while, and so far the phone gets quite good, reliable reception and has good call quality, which are the most important things to me. Texting is great on it, the keypad is easy to use and the way texting is organized (it allows you to cycle through all messages sent from each person without going through all the texts) is great. The reception, the main reason I switched from my LG, is great, I even get a little reception in underground parking which never happened on the Shine. The battery life is quite good as well, only had to charge it twice in the five days I've had it, although I can't say I'm a power user.

The extra features I can't say much about as I don't use them, such as the music player, IM or web browsing (that's what computers are for).

Overall for the main purposes that a cell phone should be used, it's is a great phone, best I've had/used so far.