Motorola KRZR K1m Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola KRZR K1m has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 29 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

do not buy

Reviewed on Thursday July 23, 2009 by , here
At first I thought it was great. It ws a nice looking, compact phone. I had it for less then a year when the back just completely disintegrated. I tried to get it fixed but was told te warrenty did not cover that type of damage and they had never had those types of problems and that I would have to buy the same replacemnet phone. Why would I buy the same phone that just disintegrated on me?

Also the charge is held for less then a day before the battery gets drained. I can't wait to have my contract up so I can get a phone worth using
1 Star out of 5

Motorola KRZR

Reviewed on Friday July 3, 2009 by , Regina, Saskatchewan
I would not recommend this phone to anyone! I have had it for almost two years and I think it has been in for repairs more then I have physically had the phone. I was constently having problems with the screen and it not working properly, after about a year the battary hardly held its charge for half a day, it would randomly delete text messages (read or not). I have had nothing but trouble with this phone. I take care of it, never dropped, never in contact with any liquids.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday April 11, 2009 by , Winnipeg
I loved the Krzr until my screen stopped working. MTS fixed it but took out my vibrate. It is great to have MP3's as ring tones. The center button fell off, the outside voice activation button comes off, the cover for the plug to wall or computer no longer fits and therefore doesn't protect it anymore, just really annoying. Battery is going down hill. Great phone but not for 3 years. I take good care of it and it still breaks. Mini SD card very difficult to get too as you need to take the entire back cover off to get to it. Great looking phone though.
3 Stars out of 5

3 out of 5, Problems Everywhere

Reviewed on Thursday April 2, 2009 by , Ontario
The Krzr k1m has a great outer look! If you put a case on it there is no chance of cracks,scratches, or dents.

Inside the k1m it is terrible! Here's the list;
-Unable to access free ringtones
-Camera is TERRIBLE! It couldn't get any worse!
-Somehow, my calculater is broken!
-Horrible battery life, about 7-9hours
-It will only take regular memory cards, no HC ones, under 2gb or the phone wont turn on!
-Everything is quiet! Even at full volume there is NO sound!

It is not worth the $225 I paid for it. Don't be suckered in by its good looks, it SUCKS!
2 Stars out of 5

tres bon cellulaire mais batterie nul

Reviewed on Wednesday April 1, 2009 by , lac-megantic
comme le titre le dit ce telephone est super ,mais la batterie est nul ne tien meme pas un journée,je pensais que c étais juste la batterie donc telus me la échangé,ensuite j ai acheté une batterie mais rien n y change ,j ai donc appellé motorola qui mon dit que cé pas la betterie mais le modele de cellulaire qui est comme cela beaucoups on ce probleme,donc peux importe la batterie ne tiendra pas ,pour aidé j ai oté tout ce qui peux prendre la charge comme les éclairages ,mais ca change rien.j ai fini au bout de 2 cellulaire de ce modele de changé pour un lg keybo ,et la j en est pour mon argent .
1 Star out of 5

Bad Phone - Sit - Stay- play dead

Reviewed on Friday March 20, 2009 by , Smithers, British Columbia
Within two weeks of getting this phone the face cracked - It's spidered up and I don't remember hitting it on anything and then try to get that repaired - everything said about the lousy MP3 player is accurate - don't ever drop it - it'll start vibrating and it won't stop until you throw it at something (it's no use to me if its going to
vibrate non-stop so you might as well)
I've downloaded music and have no problem using them for ringtones but that's the worst sound quality even for a ringer. Camera sucks - downloaded pictures work for screen background. New battery and it dies after two or three short calls. Try to use the red function button and it takes you to voice commands or direct dial-
Soon as this contract is over its going into the garbage, that's if it makes it- the list goes on. Give me my old Audiovox anytime.
1 Star out of 5

Not Worth It

Reviewed on Sunday March 1, 2009 by , Canada
I do not recommend this phone to anyone who would be using it a lot because the battery life is no good lasting about a day even without calling. This phone has been replaced many of times for me within the first 2 months of having it because of screen problems as listed above in a previous review. Many times when i open it, the screen will be reverted including backwards texts and colours. It is very delayed and turns off for no reason at all. The phone freezes VERY often and requires you to restart it and remove the battery. The charger connection becomes wiggly and does not charge after a few months in need of replacement. It won't last if you're planning on using it mainly for calling. Do not drop it at all, it is very fragile and once set on a counter top the risk of a screen shatter is possible (have fun getting that replaced or under warranty).
I recommend this phone for people who enjoy hitting their heads off walls everytime they use their phone, because that is how you will feel. I would like to throw mine at a wall, so I'm in the proccess of getting a new WAY better phone.
2 Stars out of 5

Hate it

Reviewed on Thursday February 26, 2009 by , Rosetown Saskatchewan
I hate this phone the battery does not hold a charge and the front of the phone was fixed b\c it cracked and now it is cracked again. The number buttons are worn off and I am not a big txter.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday January 19, 2009 by , Winnipeg
I always liked the look of the Krzer and traded in a LG Chocolate for one. I like the compact size, easy to text keys and screen.
Im 100% amazed this phone was in A-1 shape after my MVA in which it was tossed in a triple roll over and when found in the wreckage it worked perfectly fine.
I had this phone 2 yrs now and just recently the battery isnt holding power. It is worth spending the extra on.
THe MP3 player is awesome and I added in a 2GB card.The camera is very clear and Im satisfied.
I rate this phone 5/5.
4 Stars out of 5

Sturdy reliable phone

Reviewed on Friday November 21, 2008 by , Canada
Had to give up my 3yrs old and loved Samsung (no camera, no mp3 - A+++!) because of sloppy connection in the countryside I work (Fort McMurray region). KRZR has irritating usability and few small glitches and inconveniences, but design is tough and connection is perfect. Battery life is very good.
All I need - to find a huck soft (or pliers & ductape) to disable video, mp3, voice command mode.
After that I can live with the tiny useless icons, poor ringtones choise and stupid alarm setup.
4 Stars out of 5

Camera Volume

Reviewed on Friday November 7, 2008 by , PA
Great phone once you get it all personalized. Any clue how to turn down or off the shutter sound, it is insainly loud!!!
1 Star out of 5

Worset Thing ever

Reviewed on Thursday November 6, 2008 by , canda
This is the most retarted thing i've ever owend the battery only last 5 minutes turns on and of u cant get to close to a fire with it or it cracks down the middle the screen goes white all the time so if your thinking about buying this phone i suggest you dont.
2 Stars out of 5

The Motorola KRZR

Reviewed on Wednesday September 24, 2008 by , Ontario, Canada
My first opinion of this phone was really good. I was impressed with the sleek look as well as its functionality and battery life.
Another thing I liked was the Mp3 Player.

After a couple weeks. The functions didnt amaze me that much as i saw other peoples phones, and the screen was easily scratched which annoys me alot.
The mp3 player was alright for one song, but was a battery killer for the rest.

and right now 3 months later. my screen stopped working good
i had to open and close it twice in order to get a normal view.
another 3 days and the only way my screen would work if i had it open at 80/70 degrees.

And now today my inside screen is totally black and the only thing its good for is to show me time.

I'm not impressed with this phone eventhough i treat it really good, i ussually keep it in the pouch inside my pocket and when i dont have the pouch i make sure theres nothing else in my pocket that might damage it. I've never got any water on it and i've dropped it on carpet maybe twice.

Well that's my review

I don't recommend this phone if you need a phone that will last.

Thanks for reading.
1 Star out of 5

Dont waste your money

Reviewed on Wednesday September 24, 2008 by , Saskatoon, SK
Both me and my girlfriend have these things ( i call them things because they cant be called phones) they have been nothing but trounle from the first week. we have both sent our phones away numerous times when the phone freezes, wont turn on, battery dies every ten minutes, and the ever famous motorola razer seizure. the phones simply jumble the display sometimes upside down, sometimes in bars, sometimes simply white, or sometimes in unexplainable ways. Worst phone ever made. i hope motorola fired the technicians and designers of this god forsaken phone from hell
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday September 7, 2008 by , Manitoba
How do i download free ringtones? the web blocks all the free sites. its ridiculous to have to pay 3.50 a ringtone from the mts website. What else ?
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday August 27, 2008 by , ontario
this phone is junk havn't even had it for a year and it hardly works my battory goes dead within 5 hours some times
1 Star out of 5

Worst MP3 Player EVER

Reviewed on Friday August 22, 2008 by , Alberta
If you're looking to get an mp3 + phone combo, DO NOT get the KRZR K1M.

No seeking. No equalization.

It is permanently stuck in "tin can on a string"-mode. It sounds like the on-board speaker. This speaker, which is used mainly for voice, is what the music sounds like. It is very tinny, lacks any kind of bass, etc. This is fine for voice, as no one would seriously listen to music on the speaker, but COMPLETELY unacceptable when listening through headphones.

With the lack of an equalizer, you cannot do anything about the tinny, treble-laden sound. Certain frequencies are completely inaudible. It sounds like you're listening through a seashell. Bass notes are not quiet, THEY'RE NOT THERE!

Not only is the sound quality poor, but the volume is super quiet!! You can turn it all the way up, and still be drowned out by the people having a conversation next to you. Forget trying to listen to music on the bus, or near any kind of traffic, as all you will hear is some hi-hats and other treble noises.

Equalization is AWFUL.
Volume level is unacceptably quiet.

The mp3 player I bought for $50, FIVE YEARS AGO, totally outperforms the KRZR K1m. The KRZR K1m is being sold for $300 here in Alberta, and the fact that it cannot even start to compete with even the cheapest of the low-end Mp3 players is absolutely ridiculous.

5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday June 11, 2008 by , montreal
I don't know why you guys are all trippin', I NEVER had ONE problem with that phone, you're talkin' about problems with pictures, and camera, and ringtones and etc....I never experienced that, and I have the phone for quite a while now...battery cover slippin' off very easily? you have to push a clip to open it! you're all crazy.......
1 Star out of 5

worst phone i have ever had

Reviewed on Monday April 7, 2008 by , canada
From day one this phone has been horrible. My camera never works, it always says "system error' or "busy. try again later'. Also I didn't even have to drop the phone for a crack to show up on the front face plate, which then turned into a spider crack across the whole face; phone still functioned somewhat fine. Now I open it and the screen changes colors and splits into quadrants and is impossible to use. I would never recommend this phone to anyone, I have had SOOOOO many problems with it. Just to show, I had a little blue LG for 3 years without any scratches and it worked perfect so it wasn't from abuse. (as for the star rating below, it doesn't even deserve one)
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday March 27, 2008 by , wabush,NL
this phone is awesome
5 Stars out of 5

Best Phone

Reviewed on Monday February 11, 2008 by , Nova Scotia
I got this phone about 3 months ago and im loving every second i have it! There is no promblems with this phone. Once the battery life went up to a week!
4 Stars out of 5

MP3 Ringtones

Reviewed on Friday January 11, 2008 by , Saskatchewan, Canada
Overall, I have to say this is a pretty good phone. I much preferred my old Nokia, but Nokia seems to have fallen out of style now-a-days and the keypad on it was starting to wear out :(

Anyways, you _can_ put MP3 ringtones on it... about as easily as you can get rid of the shutter sound... which is to say it's a fair bit of work.

Anyways, wrote a quick guide at

5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday December 29, 2007 by , Nova Scotia
This phone is amazing. If your going to buy a phone, buy this on.
4 Stars out of 5

Great phone but a few glitches ...

Reviewed on Thursday November 22, 2007 by , Toronto
I love my new KrzrK1M phone, sweetest looking phone on the market and nice functionality. But there are a few problems. First of all the battery cover slips off very easily. Secondly, I installed and used the Motorola Tools software CD that came with the phone to upload music and pictures from my computer to the phone. But I tried using the feature that converts songs into ringtones, but when I transfered these custom ringtones to my phone, they only went into my music library and it would not give me the option to apply them as ringtones. If anyone knows a way around this, I would love to know.
2 Stars out of 5

after the honeymoon was over...

Reviewed on Monday October 1, 2007 by , canada
Found my krzr to be quite glitchy in a couple of the most important features I use. Alarm does not always work and will not go off if the phone is charging. Also camera and video cam don't always function correctly, switching directly to use instead of ready mode then claiming it couldn't capture image/video. Really preffered former mobiles from other manufacturers for ease of use and reliability. As well headphones hurt my ears and won't stay in and other brands aren't compatible.
1 Star out of 5

No such thing as a free ringtone

Reviewed on Friday January 19, 2007 by , Peterborough
If you want to easily add free ringtones to this phone, you need complicated phone editing software, such as BitPim and Motorola Phone Tools, bitpim is available for download, and Tools can be purchased from your local telus store. However, you will probably need to consult at least one online phone editing forum for the procedure. BTW, this phone is very unwieldy.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday December 28, 2006 by , oshawa
I just returned the lg chocolate phone and decided to get the krzr k1m, the phone looks great and has good service, the clairty is great. Mp3 is alright you cant hook up bluetooth headphone to the phone and listen to your mp3s like the lg chocolate, the camera is better than the chocolate though.
One problem like most newer phones is the battery, i have to charge everyday and I dont talk that much, i am getting the extended battery for sure. Overall the phone is great and I would recommend it.
4 out 5 because not able to use bluetooth mp3 headset, and poor battery performance
4 Stars out of 5

how do i put free mp3 ringtones on my telus KRZR K1M?

Reviewed on Sunday December 24, 2006 by , vancouver bc
other than the fact i cant put mp3 ringtones on to my phone, the design is great!... but IMO in these days.. a phone just isn't a phone without an mp3 ringtone... anyone able to touch up on this issue?
4 Stars out of 5

What a phone!!

Reviewed on Tuesday December 19, 2006 by , montreal
This is an amazing phone. I have had it for two weeks and i am so happy with it. The design is nice, its sleek, slim, and very elegant.The features are all great except for the 1.3 megapixel camera. The MP3 player is really great and the touch sensor buttons on the front are really cool. Freezes occasionally but overall great phone.