Motorola 120c Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola 120c has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 12 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Piece of Junk

Reviewed on Thursday June 17, 2004 by , Chicago
This phone is a total piece of junk. I can't believe that Motorola Engineers let this piece of junk out the door. They should be ashamed of themselves. I am stumped why nobody has filed a class action lawsuit against Motorola. I have seen lots of people with this phone, walking around the mall, and not one of them has an antenna on it.

My wife and I each got one of these phones on a family plan. My antenna broke off within weeks of buying the phone. The antenna on my wife's identical phone broke shortly after that. Her microphone stopped working and a few weeks later her speaker died. Her phone's 0 button then fell out and was lost.

At this point I will never consider another Motorola phone, at least not one with an extendable antenna like this one.

If you have one of them be careful about getting replacement parts. I had a person in the mall put in a replacement antenna and she cracked the case. At this point I am tempted to solder a short wire in the place of the antenna. Trouble is the special keyed screwdriver it takes to get this phone apart.

Do yourself a favor and don't get this phone. Even if it is free, it is not worth it. If this rating system allowed me, i would rate this phone as a 0.
3 Stars out of 5

Not a Bad Phone

Reviewed on Saturday April 3, 2004 by , Nova Scotia
I work construction and i am on my phone alot. The phone works great for me. The only thing i dislike is the antenna breaking on it. I wouldn't reccomend this phone becuase of this. Put out the extra money and get a nicer phone. If all your lookin for is a cheap phone to use in emergencies this is the phone for you. But if you're always on the go you could have problems with the antenna!
1 Star out of 5

Do not get this phone!

Reviewed on Wednesday March 3, 2004 by , Halifax, NS
This phone is just plain no good. The reception is terrible, the antenna breaks all the time, and if you are still under your 30 days...get rid of it now! The battery has to be charged all the time now and it is only 9 months old!
1 Star out of 5

hate this phone

Reviewed on Friday February 27, 2004 by , Victoria
I hate this phone. The ringer is not loud enough, you frequently miss calls. Phone itself is not good either...always trouble with the phone book - suddenly all numbers mysteriously disappear and you have to re-enter your entire phone book. Often it will say memory is full - even if you have on a couple phone numbers stored.
Not worth the aggrevation of buying this phone!
3 Stars out of 5

So So

Reviewed on Thursday February 12, 2004 by , Montreal
I got this phone about 2 years ago along with a contract with Bell Mobility. I find the reception is very good wherever I go. My antenna broke a few months back and I never bothered to replace it. Despite this, the reception is still pretty good. I find the menus are fairly easy to navigate, but you really have to know what you're looking for. I found myself having to go back to the user manual a few times to figure out how to locate and change a setting. I find that the buttons are a little too 'stiff', meaning you really have to press quite hard to dial; not great when you're holding and dialing the phone with one hand with a bag of groceries in the other hand. In some instances, I found the ringer volume not that loud. I carry the phone in an inside jacket pocket and have missed some calls. This can be solved using the vibe ring though.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday February 2, 2004 by , Belleville
I guess I'm not the only one with a antenna problem, this is the second one for me! The phone has many features that I find useful but I do find it hard to see the screen in sunny conditions especially. The battery and reception I would rate good. (with and without the antenna)
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Monday January 5, 2004 by , Brampton
The reception was poor and the antenna broke twice. I cancelled my service with Bell and opted for another carrier because I refused to support a company that would sell such a terrible product.
1 Star out of 5

Don't Buy

Reviewed on Tuesday December 23, 2003 by , St Catharines
Not sure who I was more disappointed with - Bell or the Phone itself. Within 30 days of purchase, the phone would not even turn on - took it back - Bell replaced the Battery. Within a month, the same problem again. Took it back again, wanting a new phone - "No could do!" Bell told me - I was over my 30 days! They had to send it back. The phone was gone 4 weeks and when I got it back, it still would not come on. Took it back again - replaced the battery again. By this time the phone was 4 months old, 1 month of which I did not have the use of. Really disappointed. Also, don't use all the features as the screen is so difficult to read.

Also, Bell's prepaid really sucks compared to other companies as far as top up service. It seems you still have to call in and activate every month with a special code they give you. Look at another phone and provider if going with a phone card.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday December 10, 2003 by , Bolton
Very rugged (other than the antenna, which broke off in my jacket pocket). Never replaced it because it will just break again. Even without the antenna reception is still great in or out of the city. The battery used to last about a week for the 1st 6 months. Now it lasts about 2 days. Loud ringer. Difficult to read display. I have dropped it many many times & it still works fine. Good cheap phone, but if you can afford to, buy something better. 8-(
1 Star out of 5

I HATE IT!!!!!

Reviewed on Saturday November 15, 2003 by , Toronto
When i first got this phone, the battery was good, but the reception was terriable!!!!! It wouldn't work where i need it to. Then the antaina broke. I want everyone avoid this product. you will end up regreating it!!!
3 Stars out of 5

Excellent battery life

Reviewed on Friday September 19, 2003 by , Toronto
I charge my phone every night and keep it on all day. Battery life is excellent as long as this is the pattern I follow. I had not had problems with my Nokia 6185 but this Motorola had to have it's antenna replaced twice and finally I didn't bother anymore. Also I tried to use the plug in microphone and it worked wonderfully for a little while and then the part internal to the phone broke. Twice. Twice I sent it away to be fixed. The third time it broke I said I'd get a new phone. Sound quality was OK when the antenna was on the phone. I actually got better reception in out-of-city locations than my sister's Nokia 6185. Great address storage.
1 Star out of 5

Good Phone - Bad Antennae

Reviewed on Wednesday August 20, 2003 by , London Ontario
I was generallly happy with this phone. I use it strictly as a phone and have never tried browsing the net with it. However, I have recently cancelled my home phone and am using this phone everyday now. As soon as I started doing that the antennae started to break quite frequently. I am going through an antennae every two months at $22.95 each. I don't even extend it - it just falls off in my pocket. For this reason alone I would suggest avoiding this phone. The frustration is not worth it.