UMX Max - Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The UMX Max has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 21 reviews.


UMX MAX - power on button and charging

Reviewed on Sunday December 15, 2013 by , Montreal
I had problems with this phone for a while now.
Everytime I was powering it off, I was afraid to not be able to power it back on.
I had to remove the battery and the memory card multiple times to be able to start it.
Finally, the connector inside the phone failed and I can no longer charge this phone.
A friend of mine has similar batteries and a battery charger.
Hopefully it will work but at this point, I would not recommend this phone. Seems I am not the only one with problem to restart the phone. See other comments.
1 Star out of 5

Don't Waste Your Money

Reviewed on Wednesday August 14, 2013 by , Dewey, OK
Where to begin with what all is wrong with this phone... The on/off button does not work half of the time. Screen won't read your finger half of the time. Application just quit and start up on their own. Comes with tons of already added apps and crap on there that you can't uninstall so if you add just a few wallpapers/apps or update any apps memory becomes full. The user guide is a joke. Numerous times the screen has froze or just black and can't do anything with it constantly taking the battery out to fix it. If you have to use the dial pad while in a call good luck doesn't read finger over half of the time or when it does decide to it's already to late. While browsing the internet it quits or goes back to several pages earlier. This phone is so frustrating and has done nothing but made me mad. Worst buy EVER!
4 Stars out of 5

The umx max is messed really!!

Reviewed on Tuesday February 12, 2013 by , Burlington st e
Ok so on Boxing Day I got my phone at public mobile I was happy until Tuesday February ..... My phone wouldn't turn on so I thought that it need to charge cause I wasn't on it for 3 hours so I plugged it in but not light came up like it always does in my phone I know it's not my charger cause my charger has a light as well meaning that it is in use. My phone was working perfectly before I stopped using it for the day I wanted to listen to music so I went to go get my hog one and it wouldn't turn it on I'm like WHAT so I held the lock button and said please work but no I wouldn't turn on and if I tell my mom and dad they will shoot me so I left my phone on the counter because they usually check it so I hope they will find out and tell me that it won't turn on instead of me telling them. UGH
4 Stars out of 5

Don't waste your money!

Reviewed on Wednesday October 10, 2012 by , Montreal
This phone is terrible! I switched to publicover a year ago and when they introduced android phones i got this one because i wanted it now and it was the only one they had... suffered with it as it sent duplicate texts and random texts... it has terrible reception and its very slow. Public also has another android they offer for the same price, The ZTE N762. this phone is better in every way... the processor is faster (800mhz vs 600mhz), the screen is bigger, the phone itself is thinner, the battery last longer... the only thing is that the camera is a 2mp vs a "3.2" mp. You'll notice that i used bunny ears there, it's because the N762 still manages to take better pictures.
Don't waste your money on the UMX MAX.
4 Stars out of 5

A good smartphone

Reviewed on Monday October 1, 2012 by , Ajax, ON
A good smartphone, previously used a blackberry but switch to Public mobile's android plan because my plan with Rogers was too expensive. The reception in Ajax is quite good, 3G data speed is decent, and calls have not dropped on me so far. The occasional failed text message.
About the phone now. Good smooth performance, but the battery doesn't last that long. Also, I can't seem to switch the camera from front-facing to the back camera. There's no way I've found.
4 Stars out of 5

About my UMX Max Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday September 4, 2012 by , Toronto
i have had this mobile phone since the MAX came out on Public Mobile,I founded its a very good phone, compare I was using a iPhone 4S with 16GHz from Rogers Wireless,The iphone have bad reception in the basement, but this UMX Max, I have no problem talk in the basement at all, very good recetion in the basement,4 lines to 5 lines strenth. mbut the iphone 4 cannot even makes any phone call at all in the basement.The 3G Data network on this Max is very fast, I mean avarage, fast enough to manage to take where I want to surf the web in the browser, But i founded the Wifi is not working at all, is not wotking in the public wifi edther, dont know Why? but I will use the 3G Newtork instead, cox is quick and go! I never get any signal failtur or call drops on my UMX Max at all.
For talking on the mobile is good, 3G is good,for gerenal use purposes is fine, It enough for me and I stick with it with this price range and the service and plans is unlimited talk,text and data, I am satisfied, put it this way, if you wants to use the 3G data plan with unlimited, its good, compare other provided is not free. So far my mobile phone is working great.
2 Stars out of 5

Not worth the money

Reviewed on Wednesday August 29, 2012 by , toronto
Not a great phone. This was my first foray into the android market and I'm not impressed. The 3G is kind of slow in the middle of Toronto, and you can forget about reception outside of downtown, takes FOREVER to load or doesn't work then turns off the 3g capability. Texting is near impossible, speakerphone is useless, NO ONE can hear you, ZERO support for the phone if your having trouble. Save the extra money and get something else from someone else.
2 Stars out of 5

Garbage

Reviewed on Wednesday August 8, 2012 by , Montreal
Worst phone company ever!!!
I cant use my phone in my own house. No signal. When i use it outdoors it drops calls, or wont connect at all. It takes up to 2 days to receive a text.
I called them one year ago to complain, they said it was because they did not have enough towers up yet, and the service should get better soon. In fact the service has gotten worse. I just called them again and the rep. told me to switch carriers.
I am going outside right now to melt this phone with my blowtorch, and pray for all those that have been suckered by this Mickey Mouse operation.
4 Stars out of 5

Good introductory smart phone

Reviewed on Saturday July 21, 2012 by , montreal
Having read the other reviews I have learned that this phone may not be the best one out there, but from my perspective as a first-time smart phone user (yes I am an old guy), it is a great phone. Actually I use the "phone" component very little, although it/network seem to work fine (haven't had a dropped call yet). Applications I can use while mobile (gmail, calendar, organizer, weather, public transit info, translation), and browsing are primarily why I have this thing (otherwise I would have stuck with my reliable clamshell) - and they work great! Of course this is as much a vote of appreciation for the OS and apps as the hardware. Everything is relatively fast (based on my limited experience with other smart phones). Oh yeah I text too. I have had no real problem with using the keyboard (and I have fat fingers), although to be honest I primarily use the audio-to-text feature of this great app called TouchPal, so who needs fingers? If you are thinking of a first-time smart phone, don't want a 3-year commitment, and don't want to spend much money on the hardware (I bought 2 phones for $180 - one for my son), or the plan ($40/month unlimited phone and data for first 6 months - $10 more thereafter), you cannot go wrong. Take note of course the plan is limited to the Public Mobile area, but for me that's where I am 95% of the year. Like one reviewer mentioned the EasyWiFi thing needs to be "fixed", but I have not yet noticed the lag that results from deactivation (I haven't used bluetooth yet). So for me, a qualified 4 stars; the qualification being that I am new to smart phones and personally owned an iPhone or other android-based phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Normal but Great

Reviewed on Thursday June 7, 2012 by , Canada
I was wondering what the difference is between android smartphones. When I bought this UMX Max phone at the beginning of this year, I realized that there is almost NO difference!I really love my phone and regard it as my best friend in life. I spent more than 4 hours with it every day. Honestly, it is cheaper than other famous brands and the same useful with them!
4 Stars out of 5

4 the price, Great phone

Reviewed on Monday May 14, 2012 by , whitby on ca
it`s not a Iphone or even a Samsung. but for 119 plus tax(CDN) how can you go wrong i drank that in a hour many nights at bars. there`s tons of working apps you can get for it just like most androids, including microsoft office (free) there`s hundreds of free ones easy to find. it has voice to text, work pretty good. with the voice to text you can do just about anything; search the web, make a call or text, use the gps navigator and more that i`m to technically challenged to figure out.
The battery life could be better.
the key pad is a pain but the voice to text makes up 4 it.

all and all i love it way better than my last phone.
2 Stars out of 5

Phone is ok - low end crap

Reviewed on Monday May 7, 2012 by , Canada
This phone is better than the UMX - copy of Iphone, as I have one for biz, but cannot do personal. All the phones are crap. It is much faster than the other smart phone that they sell. .. . wish they just would get better phones. Hate contracts, so will switch to Wind Mobile soon to get a Samsung Galaxy. This phone is shit, but the other smart phone cannot even load...
2 Stars out of 5

UMX MAX back to drawing board

Reviewed on Sunday May 6, 2012 by , Canada
Public Android phone has great plan when in the unlimited zone, this phone has a better screen resolution than the other N762 public mobile android phone. The screen is smaller and the keyboard response really well sucks. I have normal finger and the sceen is small and the keybord response suck. So I keep the N762.

One thing that also suck... when buying a phone at public mobile you choose base on mock plastic fake model way to go public mobile....

In any case this phone does not make the job. It's also slower than the N762 but the camera is way better than the n762.
3 Stars out of 5

3/5

Reviewed on Sunday April 15, 2012 by , Montreal
great phone,but lack of speed, rooting nd keyboard accuracy is low....
im typing with it and ill give a little example of the keyboard texting....
the said"3G network" isnt.that fast, look like dial up aol service...
-ill rewrite everything that i wrote in fast text:
great phone, but lack od speed ropting
ind.keyboard accueacy is low,im dtyping with ot.aand ill give.a.little.example.pf.the keyboard.textimg...
3 Stars out of 5

Real Crappy Phone

Reviewed on Sunday April 8, 2012 by , Toronto
I bought this phone a month ago. The phone comes with a ton of apps already built in and using up most of the limited internal memory. The phone has apps you will either not need or desire and you cannot remove them at all. There is no flash on the phone and a lot of the apps from the Android App store is not compatible with it. The only upside to this is the fact that you are paying very little for unlimited everything. 35 for 6 months and then 45 after. Apart from that the phone sucks big time. I'm ready to get rid of it and get an Iphone. I rather pay more to get what I want than less to not get what I want and be given what I don't need. I give this phone a big fat zero. Get this for your 10 year old if he wants a smart phone but as an adult its a waste of time and money
5 Stars out of 5

My review for the UMX Max

Reviewed on Thursday February 16, 2012 by , Longueuil
I bought my new Max phone today off of Public Mobile and I have to say that I am impressed with the phone. I don't regret buying the phone (but it's been under 24 hours since I have had it).. The phone seemed real confusing for me to set it all up and get it to how I like it when I first got the phone.. but by the end of the day with out much effort at all I learned the ins and outs of the phone and I know how to use it now :) . I think the phone is perfect and I have not seen one fault with it yet. and I'm a picky person. The 3G network is pretty fast and enjoyable.. The only thing in my opinion that needs work done is the camera because the quality isn't very good and it gets fuzzy / blurry.. but all in all I will give it a 5/5 rating because I am more than happy with my new phone! Especially I am paying $35/ month for 6 months and I get unlimited everything and all calling features!

Thanks PM
5 Stars out of 5

HELP

Reviewed on Wednesday January 18, 2012 by , Pickering, Ontario
hey, so i had the pattern screen lock for this phone and someone decided they were going to try and mess with it a few times. at first it said try again in 5 minutes, then it said try again in 20 minutes, they messed with it so many times that it said " To many pattern attemps" please sign into your google account. i dont remember creating a google account for this phone, or the password if i did. so is there any ways of factor reseting the phone ?
4 Stars out of 5

Great...but....

Reviewed on Tuesday January 17, 2012 by , Montreal
So I have a bad credit and cant get a super phone with any of the "super" cellphone companies. well I went to see public and got their new UMX max phone touch screen and its almost perfect for what i need. Never lags, great 3g network, Downloads apps very fast, never drop a call, perfect for texting and checking emails, And battery life last 2 times what it used to thanks to the android battery safe app.
But of course it lacks in some fields. For example the built in camera has very poor quality(no flash, very blurry, and low resolution) sometime you can lose your 3g coverage but it doesn't happen very often and doesn't last long. A little bit slow if you try streaming videos or watch videos on youtube.
But beside all ITS UNLIMITED!! every single feature!!
for the low price of 40$ a month. I have friends who pay up to 70$ with a so called iPhone and their tied to the companies for 3 to 4 years.
A must get if your looking for an alternative to thos so called super phones.
1 Star out of 5

So so phone, packed with spyware

Reviewed on Friday January 6, 2012 by , Montréal
This phone is not bad overall if it wasnt of the following point, seriously ... :

- The Internal USB Debugging mode doesnt work as expected. So there no way to 'develop' applications as Google intented us to does.

- Secondly, they disabled the WIFI HOTSPOT (or choosed a provider of cellphone which wouldnt support it through FCC) which suck big time, THANK TO PDANET to go around that so you can share your phone net to your android tablet easy.

- Thirdly, when you try to contact UMX, the manufacturer of the phone, you soon realize that youve hit a front-facing company, which absolutly no answer, even if you email several time, call multiple state number and write a normal courrier letter to get the propers drivers for Windows 7 x64 for usb debugging. Basicly, no support at all.

- It is freaking slow, packed with spyware such as EasyWIFI which, if you deactive it within the application, still run at the back, and cause lag on your phone, every X amount of second due to the service always restarting out of no where. If you look if the current running application/service, and that you have deactivated your EasyWIFI, try to listen to a song with some bluetooth headset, that the easiest way I've found to recreate the issue. As soon as I reactivated EasyWIFI (WHICH I DONT WANT), the lag was gone. To me, a application that is unwanted, cant be removed, with my phone by lagging it when I deactivated the thing, and that send unwanted information through internet IS indeed a spyware.

That for this reason that, I will definitly put a 0/5

Do you hear Public Mobile ? Fix your stuff
3 Stars out of 5

great phone but.....

Reviewed on Thursday December 29, 2011 by , ajax Ontario
the phone is great its fun to use but my problem is that when the screen times out (screen turns off) it wont come back on sometimes forcing me to remove the battery and restart it. When i play games it lags a bit but not a problem to me. Im going to get a new UMX MAX and hope there be no problems with my with new UMX MAX
5 Stars out of 5

UMX Max

Reviewed on Friday December 16, 2011 by , Toronto
I tell you I have put this phone to the max. Awsome phone _iphone lookalike but performs very well. 3G advanced network is very quick. Gingerbread OS is just right for this unit. Competes well against all other phones on this platform, but ata more reasonable price. Thanks Public Mobile. Excellent Christmas present.

Regards,
King Khan

Featured Content