LG Vantage Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG Vantage has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 26 reviews.

2 Stars out of 5

NEVER LG or BELL ever again

Reviewed on Monday August 10, 2009 by , Niagara Falls
I HATE this phone! I to am a victim of the $250 upgrade offer that Bell was pushing in summer of '08. First I'll give you the cons of this phone; 1-The ringer volume is useless! Even at "max" it gradually ramps up from super quiet to so-so in 4 rings and then goes to voice message. I miss at least 80% of calls! With Bell there is no fix. 2-The alarm clock is unreliable at best, to the point of being useless. 3-Scrolling with the touch screen is a pain. 4-The messaging menus are not user friendly. 5-The USB cable only good for charging the battery, nothing else??? NOT a music or video phone! In the U.S.A. this phone is called "LG Glimmer" and they have solved many of the issues over there... OK, now the pros; 1-good camera (2meg). 2- Nice big screen. 3-Good battery life. 4-Good call quality if you can get a Bell signal outside of GTA. 5-Supports 4GB micro card for pics. Overall it looks good on paper, but in real world use it's not all that... Look elsewhere.
4 Stars out of 5

Not A Bad Phone.

Reviewed on Friday July 31, 2009 by , Saskatoon, SK
I had this phone for 9 months, from november to july and it worked like a charm and i am very hard on my cell phones so i am suprised. I used it everyday, ALOT! The only problems i would have with it is when it started getting older since i used it every second the vibrate wouldnt work sometimes. The keys are very slow though, so if you wanna text its best to just use the screen. I bought the instinct recently so i gave the old phone to a friend. LOVE the instinct. Miss the vantage.
1 Star out of 5

Never. Buy this phone.

Reviewed on Saturday July 4, 2009 by , Winnipeg
This phone was created and marketed because LG wanted to have a touch screen out while the iPhone was so hot. Unfortunately in their haste they neglected to trouble shoot the hardware. All of it.
To begin with, the processing hardware is deathly slow and you start to think you've returned to the 80s. Nothing works the way you want it to and the touch screen is less than perfect and makes you want to use your phone less. I know I have. Later, the touch screen deteriorates. Significantly. You need this screen to navigate the phone and there are many times when you simply can't. Or you are in the middle of something and the screen decides you've pressed 'end' in the bottom right corner of the screen when in fact you have pressed something at the very top left and the phone erases everything you've just been working on.
Plus when you do slide it up, there are buttons, not solely a touch screen. But they are identical to the Razr's buttons, just smaller. So there is no difference between them to the touch and manouvering around them is a chore. The speakers in my phone now make a hollow reverb sound when I'm listening to music yet they sound perfect when I'm listening to the conversation going on on the other end.
Its got some neat gadgets on the phone but nothing worth while getting. Save yourself the toupee and heart trauma. Get ANYTHING else.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday May 6, 2009 by , Thompson
I purchased this phone in December of 2008 and by January 2009, one month later, I was having problems with cutting out regardless of where you are, whether it be inside a mall or standing outside up on a hill. I sent it in for repairs, which took almost 3 months. I got it back two weeks ago and guess what, it's doing the exact same thing. My husband also has one, and he no longer even uses his because he is having the same problems. Don't buy one of these, because for the amount of time it takes to supposedly fix them, your contract will be done. I won't make this mistake again.
4 Stars out of 5

love this phone

Reviewed on Monday March 16, 2009 by , canada
i got this phone last july, 2008. i love the touch screen, it works perfectly with the right calibration. over all these months the phone still has the touch screen working perfectly and the slider has not slipped off the end of the phone like some people told me it would.
texting is the best with the vibrate feedback, and even with the keyboard that slides out. the great feature of the keyboard is that you dont always have to use the touch screen if you dont want to. sometimes i miss having a normal menu but when i pick up my old phone i love seeing how sweet the vantage looks and responds.
AMAZING phone. no dropped calls, texting works perfectly, and sometime i think the camera in it is just as good as my digital camera.
very handy to listen to music and the fact that you can make voice records your ringtone is handy so i dont have to pay 4 dollars just for a catchy song. and the volume is perfect, not too low at all.
i recommend getting this phone to anybody who wants to have a great looking, great feeling, well run phone !
2 Stars out of 5

i miss good LGs

Reviewed on Friday March 13, 2009 by , Saskatchewan
I was really looking at getting the Vantage because I like the idea of the touch screen along with the T9 keyboard. I actually tried out the LG Voyager and had alot of the same problems as people are reporting with the Vantage. Scrolling problems, phone shutting off, quiet, no notifications if you miss a call/text. I still have an LG Fusic...which I love, was just looking at upgrading to a different LG...unfortunately looks like I'll have to wait until they get their act together...the Chocolate seems to have been the start of these problematic phones. Does anyone have a suggestion for a phone they use now instead of these ones?
4 Stars out of 5

LG Vantage 830

Reviewed on Thursday March 12, 2009 by , Toronto, Ontario
Being a long time Bell Mobility customer I was enticed by Bell Mobility with a $250.00 credit to upgrade my phone from my current great Samsung A920 phone. I was advised at Bell World that LG Vantage 830 would be the phone for me. Well I have being using the LG Vantage for a month now and really like the phone with one major exception "too low ringer volume". I did my research and found out after talking to technical support at LG that this phone is a "Bell Exclusive". Only Bell Mobility offers this phone, no other cellular provider has access. LG told me that Bell Mobility installs their own cellular software on all phones sold that has a crippling effect on the ringer volume. Needless to say after numerous calls and one phone replacement I have absolutely got no where in rectifying this problem. My own personal solution will be to purchase "Blue Ant" or "Jawbone" ear piece. This way, in the future, I will not miss any more important calls because I can not hear the phone ringing on my belt. The problem is a real issue when I'm in a noisy public place.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday March 10, 2009 by , kingston on.
This phone is junk-awkward to use;ringtones R too!low .8oo #s hard to use.Tried to return for other phone 2 days later & all the Cataraqui phone center did was fool with the Dxxx thing &then said it couldn't be returned because over 30 min. was used BELL is telling me the same thing so I'm now complaining to CCTS, so we'll see how that goes?
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday March 3, 2009 by , Stony lain Alberta
i got my phone just yesterday and i love it but when i try to text people its dosent work the majority of the time it will sometimes work bout others it doesent it says CANT PICKUP NETWORK CONNECTION i dont know what the f**** is wrong with it
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday February 3, 2009 by , winnipeg
i got a new phone a month ago, since then i've had four. two Motorola ROKR's, and two vantages. and the Vantage is AMAZING. the first one was a default, hey, not poor quality, it happens to everyone. but the second one i have now. I LOVE IT. the touchscreen is amazing. it's not a very touchy touchy screen, you do have to put a little force, but it's understandable bcause when it's in your pocket, you don't wanna hit anything that easily. LG created a very nice touch screen/ slider phone. i'm not really sure where all the complaints are coming from. yes the ringer isn't as loud as everyone would enjoy but but the damn thing on vibrate as well and you won't miss the damn call! overall, i love the phone, it's a great buy. i'd definately recomend it to whoever cares to purchase this device. Thumbs up LG. Great job !
1 Star out of 5

LG Vantage defects

Reviewed on Saturday January 31, 2009 by , Toronto
I purchased an LG Vantage 3 months ago. It has a problem with ringer volume. Despite being programmed to the highest setting, when receiving a call, the ringer volume is considerably lower, resulting in frequent missed calls.

Other shortcomings are the scroll function on the contacts list (very erratic and difficult to use), and the GPS, which rarely works (constantly reports lack of signal strength even in urban areas)

I could not recommend the LG Vantage, and would caution anyone from purchasing this "smart phone"
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday January 22, 2009 by , London, Ont
I love this phone...EXCEPT for the dust that so easily gets under the screen!! How could LG have missed this insane flaw in production?! It's maddening that everything on the phone that is amazing (and there are plenty of things) is completely ruined by such a small oversight.
2 Stars out of 5

its sucks

Reviewed on Tuesday December 30, 2008 by , toronto,ontario
I have only had the phone for a month and the touch screen already doesn't work , dropped calls, ringtones are very very low, the textmsgs do talk long to send , at first i loved the phone but now i regret buying it
3 Stars out of 5

It's alright

Reviewed on Tuesday December 30, 2008 by , Alberta
The phone is great, the touch screen looks really good, and works well too... The only complaints i have is that the sound on the camera rarely works, and i've gotten it fixed 3 times now, and it's still getting dust inside the screen... If you are looking for a trendy, but tedious phone, this is the one. Looks great, turns heads, but the dust inside the screen p***es me off.
1 Star out of 5

i hate my phone.

Reviewed on Friday December 26, 2008 by , ontario, canada
i think it was the hype of slider phones that made want to buy the lg vantage. i've only had it for a few months and i can't stand it. the touch screen worked for a good couple of months and after it all went down hill ... especially the icons that are located on the bottom part of the screen! ugh. i'm almost at the breaking point. as in ready-to-throw-it-out-the-window-out-into-the-lake.

also, what is up with the hush hush ringtones! i can barely hear it even when i'm in a quiet place! and i'm talking about the standard ringtones that came with it. geez. i miss calls left and right.

and dont' get me started on the lack of scroll bars! and the no zoom option on the camera.

AND ... i caught my phone a few times turning off on me ... BY ITSELF. with me nowehre near it! and i find it turns off right before it rings when someone is trying to call me! i know this because when it turns itself back on, i all of a sudden have voicemail! ahhh help!

i knew i would somehow regret renewing my contract!
4 Stars out of 5

LG Vantage 830

Reviewed on Friday December 19, 2008 by , Toronto, ON
Just picked up this phone a few days ago and so far am loving it.
Traditionally I have always been a flip phone user. But after breaking one too many hinges and from having to open it with one hand too often I decided to make the switch to a slider phone after a suitable solid state could not be found with my carrier ([service provider] doesnt have a MOTOROKR E8 model - curse you [service provider]!) I decided to pick up my first non-motorola slider model.
I'm very impressed with how solid this phone feels and operates. I'm not sure where the dropped calls complaints are coming from because traditionally that is a service carrier issue and I have not had one service issue so far. The touch screen I think works perfectly although over time this may prove to be incorrect as I've never worked with touch screens before and from a CPU standpoint the sensitivity might wear down - but no problems reported so far. I like the easy to use navigation and the appearance of the interface too - I've been a log time fan of Apple & their iPod interfaces and this is a very comparible non-cluttered attractive display - hats off to LG for a stellar product.
3 Stars out of 5

Stuck in the middle

Reviewed on Wednesday December 17, 2008 by , edmonton
My first complaint is that the ringtone is VERY quiet once you download or purchase a song. Very disapointing, the features are pretty good.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday December 16, 2008 by , omemee,ont
i love this phone im gettin use to the touch scren but i hate how the texting is i just smashed my lg rumour n i loved that phon but this one is iight
touch screen is good battery is allright
only think i have wrong my music player is glitchin mad crazy its so messed up
if any one knows post
5 Stars out of 5

Lg Vantage

Reviewed on Friday December 5, 2008 by , Winnipeg
I like the Vantage a lot. The touch screen works great. Once the plastic cover is off the gorgeus screen picks put scratches like magic. Movies play verg good and the music players works good. I just wanted to know if there is an application where you can actually use the phone as a modem
2 Stars out of 5

this phone is great until you use it!!

Reviewed on Sunday October 5, 2008 by , grande prairie alberta canada
So I have a few nice things to say about the phone before I get to things I hate about it. I figured I would start with the shorter list first. The phone is very attractive and the touch screen is great and easy to use. Now for the things I don't like about the LG vantage. Dropped Calls!! This phone is terrible for dropping calls I can't even use it in my house...sorry I can use it in my house but text messages take forever to send if they go through at all. The people that you are talking to either can't make out what you are saying or think you are yelling at them. Don't bother downloading ringtones because you spend 4 dollars on something you can't hear anyway. Even when at the highest volume it is very faint. I replaced a motorola razor with this phone and am completely regreting it more and more everyday. If you miss a call besides a message on the screen you receive no other notifications so if you don't hear your phone ring (which you can't hear unless using one of the phones preprogrammed rings) you don't even know that you missed a call or text. The menus on this phone are pretty complicated and the manual is brutally unhelpful. The manual explains the basic function of the phone like how to answer the phone or take a picture which are the easiest functions on the phone. Besides the fact that this phone is nice to look at I think it is a waste of hours of time and money and wouldn't recommend it for anyone.
4 Stars out of 5

Re: LG 830 Vantage

Reviewed on Thursday September 4, 2008 by , Winnipeg
I switched from telus to mts two days ago(which offer me 100$ credit for the switch), actually use it for one day. quite easy to use since i lost the original lg 5450, but probably should get samsung instinct (offer by telus) or iphone (with roger).
my laptop was able to access the memory (500MB only) briefly, but a few minute later, no accessible. probably due to my power problem on usb port as it happen also with a regular hard drive.
I also can use usb cable allow me to charge the cell. not a comprehensive test as the webrowser was not config properly by dealer staff...
just hope the touchscreen will last for two years til my contract expired.
3 Stars out of 5

LG Vantage

Reviewed on Friday August 22, 2008 by , Saskatchewan
Phone works good but the battery doesn't last long at all. If you use it a bit it may last 2 days and if you don't touch it maybe 3 days. In low or no cell service areas on a full charge in the morning it won't even last a day. Otherwise the touchscreen works good and i'm happy with it. Stupid battery!!! lol
1 Star out of 5

Wish I could return it

Reviewed on Tuesday July 29, 2008 by , Vancouver
I've had this phone for 2 days and the biggest complaints I have are:

1. No SCROLL bars! You have no idea how much you use them until they're gone!

2. When using mobile browser, if I push the back button too many times, the phone freezes and turns off completely.

3. Battery life is short.

4. The manual that comes with it is pathetic, and the link that they give for the full manual doesn't work. The only way to get the full manual is on Bell's website.

So far, no really redeeming qualities except that it looks pretty.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday May 26, 2008 by , brampton
I just purchased this phone, been using it for 2 days now, and its awsome, love the touch screen!!
3 Stars out of 5

phone review

Reviewed on Saturday May 24, 2008 by , Toronto, ontario
I picked up this phone earlier this week. I also find that this phone tends to drop a lot of calls! and to me, thats very disappointing. It seems to have better reception in the slider open position or on speakerphone once you find the sweet spot though. In my room, i'm forced to use speaker b/c i cannot move around with the phone...(i had 4 dropped calls in 20 minutes)
the touch screen can be calibrated, which is great for me..but hard for others to use...but it can get slightly annoying when you're trying to scroll down your contact list..(it's not very smooth scrolling) sometimes i wish there was a scroll button or if the keypad could scroll the contact list for you!
also, the 2.0 megapixel camera does NOT offer a zoom option. You can only zoom for 1.3 MP or VGA mode.
battery life seems to be a bit weak..or maybe b/c they gave me a used/open version of the phone, for which i am VERY angry at..I charged it on thursday and it was out of batteries by friday!
Finally, the loudspeaker on this phone isn't very loud compared to my old phone and the sony ericson phones. It has 5 volume levels, whereas my old one had 10.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday May 20, 2008 by , British Columbia
Picked up this phone yesterday.
So far it has been better than expected. Touch screen can be calibrated and after that works like a charm.
Easy to text from touch keypad onscreen.
I live in a slight fringe area. This phone seems to drop calls much more easily than others. Slightly disappointed there. Sound quality is good, although positioning the earpiece takes some getting used to. Hard to find the "sweet spot".
User manual that comes with phone is totally inadequate. Tells you how to answer a call, end a call and not much else. I'm wondering if they forgot to put the manual back in the box before they gave it to me...