LG TU720 Shine Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG TU720 Shine has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 93 reviews.


4 Stars out of 5

Good Phone

Reviewed on Friday November 19, 2010 by , brampton, on
Hi, have this phone for more than 1 year and I have not problems at all. Is a good phone, slim, beauty and works perfect. I love the mirror. Works perfect everywhere
4 Stars out of 5

mp3 ringtones

Reviewed on Monday January 25, 2010 by , Trinidad and Tobago
i cant seem to set an mp3 ringtone on the phone and i really stressed out trying to get it done. can you please help me???
4 Stars out of 5

TU720

Reviewed on Saturday August 29, 2009 by , Saint Lucia
I got my phone at the end of July. Great phone, Rogers does not allow me to download ring tones so I am using BITPIM. The browser seems set to Rogers so I cannot get on the internet (no loss there) music player is good, camera excellent. Battery life somewhat low especially if I am listening to music for about 2 hours. People not liking the phone need to read the manual before complaining.
2 Stars out of 5

THIS PHONE IS A PIECE OF CRAP!

Reviewed on Tuesday August 18, 2009 by , canada
dont get this phone, it suckss.
when i close it sometimes just randomly shuts off, it gets a fuzzy screen sometimes and now it dont even work at all, it says 'insert SIM', when my SIM card is already in there, its not reading that its already in the phone, ive been a week now trying to fix it, and it wont go off this screen.

seriously, if you are thinking about getting this phone, donttt. its a waste of money!!
1 Star out of 5

Mp3 ring tones

Reviewed on Wednesday August 5, 2009 by , Barbados
I cant seem to get mp3 ring tones to set on my phone andit is ver fustrating please help me
1 Star out of 5

Discouraged

Reviewed on Wednesday July 22, 2009 by , Waterford
I bought this phone for my daughter and have had nothing but issues with charging the phone. She hasn't even owned it for a year and I've had to take it in for repair twice. It still is not working properly so I will be taking it in again. How many times am I to be inconvenienced? Until the warranty runs out???
1 Star out of 5

LG TU720

Reviewed on Tuesday July 21, 2009 by , Australia
This phone is c**p. Just found out the reason why I can't upload my photos to my pc is because the phone is not compatable with Windows Vista - WTF???? Don't bother trying to download ANY software from the internet for it either - CAUSE THEY DON'T HAVE ANY. They only have the c**p mini disc the phone came with which only works on SOME PC's. The ONLY way to get around this extremely frustrating problem is to either buy a Memory Card, change the settings on the phone to use 'mass storage'and then get stuff off via My Computer..... OR get a dongle and upload via BlueTooth. Oh and by the way, if you want to use the BlueTooth in the car (handsfree kits), don't bother trying to get your phone book to appear, because it's only PARTIALLY compatible to Hands Free Kits. WTF???? (again). HATE this phone.
2 Stars out of 5

LG Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday June 9, 2009 by , Arnprior
I have had this phone for about a year. Within the first month that I had it my sound went on it. I could hear you but could barely hear me. When I sent text messages it would send my friends duplicants of them. And sometimes it would freeze up.
5 Stars out of 5

Shut off problem

Reviewed on Tuesday June 9, 2009 by , ottawa
Rly the problem with the phone turning off is that the batery gets loosened momentaraly. If u just put like a piece of tissue between the back and the batery the problem is solved :)
1 Star out of 5

MAKES ME MISS MY RAZR PHONE!

Reviewed on Saturday May 9, 2009 by , Canada
When I first got this phone I was super excited, but after abotu a week I realized what a piece of **** it really is. The battery life is TERRIBLE... I sometimes have to charge it twice in one day... and I am not the kind of person who is on the phone a lot. The music player is a pain in the **** to use... the songs stop as soon as the phone's keypad "locks" itself. The joystick is retarded... it is way too sensitive, and I am constantly closing apps by mistake. I also found it very disappointing that I could not use mp3 files as ringtones, as I could on my razr. When I got this phone I thought I was UPGRADING from my moto razr. Turns out I was downgrading to a phone of inferior quality.
1 Star out of 5

LCD fails

Reviewed on Saturday April 25, 2009 by , Toronto
Do not waste your money on this phone, the LCD gets damaged very easy and it goes dark on one half of the screen. Even without any sign of external damage like a cracked screen, the manufacturer insists that the repair is not covered by the warranty because of misuse.
To repair it you will have to pay more than what you paid Rogers when you got the plan.
If is sent to LG they will charge you $25 to send you back the unrepaired phone.
2 Stars out of 5

OMG!!! ... Its pretty ... but a poop

Reviewed on Friday April 24, 2009 by , Canada
like any phone people are going to love/hate it... this one I love the way it looks, its sleek disign, shiny surface, entertaining slide motion :P But I can't stand it!.... No where can you download the PC suit... and if anyone knows where... send link!! Speaker is terrible.. I mean speaker phone is as loud as my old phone was normaly ... and music just kills the cell right away, plus the fact that there is no head phone jack, you need an adapter.. thats just a pain. Battery life is supposed to be three day, It hasnt even lasted me one! ... I could go on but I have a call coming in on this peice of poop :( .... anyways if you want a good cell... DONT GET THE SHINE!!!.
3 Stars out of 5

Okay... not the best

Reviewed on Tuesday April 7, 2009 by , Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
The cell phone TU720, like all phones, has its pros and cons, sadly there are more cons then pros... i wouldnt highly recoment this cell phone for, Texters, and, Music lovers, as the cell has "VERY" cramped keys and low sound qualty from speekers and jack (for my TU720 at least) ive had this cell phone for about a year, its probably not my most intellegent choices. altho i will say, this cell phone does have its upside as it had a great camera and its great for talking (except on speeker phone, then its barbaric to say the least) but the last down side that i found is, it gets damaged "VERY" easly. my friend had the TU720 before for about one day and droped it in soil and destroyed it, and by soil i mea n like soft mushy soil...
1 Star out of 5

waste of money

Reviewed on Sunday April 5, 2009 by , Jamaica
I have regretted purchasing the lg shine tu720. I now feel like a bumb blond, (pretty phone, no brains). Take this no- brainer off the market!! or decrese the price to a doller $1.00 per. I truly regret switching form my Noika 5200 (now thats a smart phone) BIG UP NOIKA!!!!!
2 Stars out of 5

L- Gee Whiz this phone is terrible!

Reviewed on Wednesday February 25, 2009 by , Toronto
My evaluation of the LG shine TU720 is this:

Poor speaker quality for phone calls

Running the music player resets the phone (happened since day one after a few minutes of music, but now happens immediately after 1 year)

Cramped keypad

Short battery life

Noticeably heavy in weight.

Video phone just a way to inflate your bill, other useless software.

Need I say more? I have grown to hate this phone. Don't be enticed by it's shiny exterior (like I was..)
4 Stars out of 5

Ummmmmmmmm

Reviewed on Friday February 20, 2009 by , St.Marys Ontario
Iv had this fone for around 2 months.the service is great, so im not sure why everyone is saying the lg shine service suks.also it looks bright and cool looking, so totaly cool for a girl....the only downfall is that the keys are really smal so u hafta be really careful wen texting..its really easy to hit the wrong buttons.the sound quality and memory are great!!i luv the lil scroll ball, and mirrored front. this fone roks!!!
1 Star out of 5

Save yourself some undeserved grief!

Reviewed on Friday January 30, 2009 by , Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
If the word cr** had any other way of being spelled, it would be LG Shine TU 720. I made the mistake of buying 3 of these for my wife & 2 sons. Within 4 months the problems with them were too numerous to mention. I've already sent 2 of them back. The 3rd one, at the rate it's going won't be too far behind. I don't even want these phones returned to us no matter what an LG service depot finds. A complete waste of money. Caveat emptor! Need I say more?
1 Star out of 5

WARNING DONT BUY THIS PHONE

Reviewed on Thursday January 22, 2009 by , London Ontario Canada
The phone does everything it says it will do. It actually looks kind of cool. What they dont tell you is that drops calls like CRAZY!!! Returned twice.. went back to my old motorola - it has never dropped a call. Dont buy this phone if you actually want to TALK ON IT!!!!
4 Stars out of 5

Next Word Predicter

Reviewed on Tuesday January 13, 2009 by , Mound, Minnesota, USA
Sorry if this question has been answered already, but is there any way to permenently turn off the next word predicter?
5 Stars out of 5

a good phone to have

Reviewed on Sunday January 11, 2009 by , brampton
i have no problem with my LG SHINE.infact i have two of them.but i will not be returning to rogers next year .bell is the way to go
1 Star out of 5

PHONE SUCKS

Reviewed on Thursday January 8, 2009 by , Alberta
I have paid for numerous replacements of this phone... It does whatever it wants to, ex.. shuts off by itself, switches networks, goes on the internet, can't make or recieve calls or text messages, 6-8 weeks to get the phone repaired, didn't fix the problem, sent it to LG itself they sent it back with a letter stating "malfunction unknown". If I was any of you I WOULD NOT GET THIS PHONE.. IT MAY LOOK NICE AND HAVE GOOD FEATURES BUT SERIOUSLY IF YOU WANT TO SAVE MONEY IN THE LONG RUN... STAY AWAY FROM THIS PHONE.. GET A SAMSUNG OR A NOKIA. I GOT A SAMSUNG A516 AND THIS PHONE IS WAY BETTER THAN THE SHINE.
2 Stars out of 5

This is REDICULOUS!!

Reviewed on Friday January 2, 2009 by , K-hole
I have that Java problem as well but I can turn on my camera now and everything seems fine but since I got the shine I haven't been able to send a SINGLE text msg! grrrrrr soooo irritating!
other problems:
it seriously doesnt remember my security code. Apparently its something I cant figure out so I cant reset the phone.
Cant access music store or any other websites other than Rogers
Cant make any video calls
Cant log on any programs like facebook or msn
Cant get rid of demo games
the list goes on and i think LG needs to think about what problems NEED that little extra attention!
The ONLY good thing about this phone is it looks good... thats about it.
5 Stars out of 5

LG

Reviewed on Friday January 2, 2009 by , Welland
I've had mine for about 6 months now, and I have never had any problems with it! It's really great, and I love it! I would definately reccommend it to anyone else who is looking for a new phone.
2 Stars out of 5

Should've stick to Nokia

Reviewed on Thursday December 11, 2008 by , Melbourne, Australia
I Have had my phone for approx 9mths. I turns off whenever it feels like it. I can't even use the music player because the software disc i got is missing files. My bluetooth worked a couple of times in my car and now it can't connect to my car. I hate that i can't slide it shut when i have the loud speaker on. I can however download and make my own ringtones,it looks awesome and I haven't had any Java problems as yet.
Right now I'm wishing I got the Nokia.
2 Stars out of 5

Why blame [service provider]?

Reviewed on Tuesday December 9, 2008 by , canada
To Julie. Why have you decided to change your mind about being a [service provider] customer? The company that made the phone is LG, which means no matter where you go the same policy will apply([service provider] still would charge you and so would [service provider], etc) You signed a 3 year contract, the service is being provided to you...your broke your phone and thats [service provider]s fault and you expect them to give you a phone at 30-150$ when the phone is worth 450 but replace it for free if you are clumsy? your screen is just like a television screen, would you sit on your tv, or lean on it? and if you did that and broke it would you expect the company to fix your television for free when clearly it was your fault...Also, would you blame your television service provider for not replacing the television?
3 Stars out of 5

Skewed Logic

Reviewed on Friday December 5, 2008 by , Red Deer
Hello Julie, I am trying to wrap my mind around the reason why [service provider] is at fault here ?

Your logic is like saying, 'I kept my car really carefully but one day there was a crack on my windshield and Honda did not replace the car for free'

1 Star out of 5

fun

Reviewed on Tuesday November 25, 2008 by , Canada
its amazing, except it wont let me upload pictures to my computer :(
4 Stars out of 5

LG TU720

Reviewed on Saturday November 15, 2008 by , Windsor, ON
Got my first tu720 last dec.It shuts itself off once awhile, sent back to LG. They couldn't fix it. Got a new one. The second one couldn't search for bluetooth device. Work at the beginning for couple times, then won't connect or search device again. Sent back today throught Rogers dealer. Will wait and see. I think the LG has a software problem, not just the jave.
4 Stars out of 5

No Problems

Reviewed on Monday September 29, 2008 by , North Bay
I have had my new phone now for 2 weeks and have not had any problems with it so far. The only thing that bothers me is the next word prediction for texting, and you have to turn it off each time you send a text. My phone is amazing and i love it! I have had no problems whatsoever with it. Is there a way to permanently keep off the next word prediction??
2 Stars out of 5

LG TU720 - LCD Screen

Reviewed on Monday September 15, 2008 by , Toronto
I loved this phone when I bought it...however sadly with LG I have found that the LCD screen is obviously one of those weak points..even though I have it protected it still cracked and [service provider] wanted $450.00 for a new phone even though I am on a 3 year plan - which I thought disgraceful. LG wanted over $250.00 to repair. I eventually found an independent cell phone repair shop who fixed for $80. I will be coming out of my contract with [service provider] along with my internet and home phone as soon as I can (12months and will never use them again!!)
4 Stars out of 5

GREAT PHONE :)

Reviewed on Saturday September 13, 2008 by , Canada
The lg shine is an amazing phone. it has an mp3 player, camera with more features than you will know how to use, andd video player, task list, internet, and practically every other feature you can think of. one thing that i really like is that the screen is a mirror. this phone comes in silver or pink. i have the pink, but they are both good looking. this phone would be good for people who like simple yet advanced phones. i have had it for less than a day, and i already love it. i hope this helps you make your decision!!
5 Stars out of 5

LG Shine: Stylish Phone!!

Reviewed on Saturday September 13, 2008 by , Ontario
I was a bit specical when buying the LG shine, hearing many downsides of it. I must say, I am VERY impressed with the phone. Here are some of my ratings:

Look of phone: 10/10
It looks AMAZING. The best looking phone I've seen in a while.

Battery Life: 7.5/10
Not the best, not the worst.

Camera: 9.5/10
Amazing. Just amazing. Just one little bad thing, when you move when taking a photo, it's blurry. But it has 2 mega pixel, AND flash, AND many other features.

Analog stick: 8/10
Very smooth and much easy to use than the basic 4 arrow keys. Just a bit sensitive at times, but you get used to it.

Key Pad: 7/10
Little crammed, especially for large fingers, but after 1-2 weeks, you'll get used to it.

Sound: 8/10
It's pretty loud.

Browsing area: 9/10
Nice graphics, and easy to use.

Mirror on front of phone: 10/10
A perfect mirror.

That's basically it.
It's a great phone, and I recommend it for people who:

- love stylish phones
- do not drop or leave phones on rough surfaces frequently.
- Does not mind its extra weight

Hope this helped!!
3 Stars out of 5

Music player problem

Reviewed on Thursday August 28, 2008 by , Toronto
I had the same problem with the music player initially, and actually took it back to exchange my phone. The problem turns out to be because I use a Mac to upload the songs, the Mac OS creates the invisible Trash and Spotlight folders on the MicroSD card which somehow crashes the phone. The solution for me was to either sync only using Windows, or ensure that the Trash was empty and to disable Spotlight cataloging for the MicroSD card. The music player has been working ever since.
2 Stars out of 5

music player doesn't work

Reviewed on Thursday August 21, 2008 by , x
does anyone know why my music player doesn't work? everytime i try to start it, it resets my phone?
1 Star out of 5

Screen cracks easily

Reviewed on Friday August 15, 2008 by , Edmonton
I found that the screen on LG TU720 Shine is very easy to crack and once it is cracked the warranty is void, they will say it is the owner's fault so they will not repair it for free.
4 Stars out of 5

need opinions!!

Reviewed on Thursday August 14, 2008 by , vernon
hey i really want to buyt this phone but everyone says that LG phones break down really easily and have a lot of problems, but im absolutly in love with this phone and i need an opinion from anyone who has or had this phone!
please help!
3 Stars out of 5

I'm considering this phone..

Reviewed on Tuesday August 12, 2008 by , Ontario
Hey people
Should i get this phone or not?
its really cute and has good features
but can anyone give an owners point of view?

please
4 Stars out of 5

Software Issues

Reviewed on Wednesday August 6, 2008 by , London
My daughter has a TU720. She has enjoyed it for 3 months. When she slides the phone open, the display is sometimes backwards, split into 4 quadrants or fuzzy. Other times it will be fine. I have been looking for a firmware upgrade on the web. Anyone had this problem or know a resolution?
Any help would be appreciated. I am sure her life would be over if she had to contend with this inconvenience for long.
3 Stars out of 5

TEXTING

Reviewed on Thursday July 31, 2008 by , winnipeg,manitoba
i love the phone and all, but lately when i text itll show up as sending message fail and everybdoy tells me they text me ,but i dont recieve them. and when i text some of my friends,they never recieve the text i send them ... and when i do recieve a text, say for example its 1030 pm the text will say that i got it at 5:30 pm

i was wondering if theres something i could do to fix this or do i have to bring it in
2 Stars out of 5

right soft key issue

Reviewed on Thursday July 31, 2008 by , ottawa
with the slider open i have major issues using the right soft key. i get a random 1-23 dialing pattern and then it asks me if i want to save the number. anybody else have the same problem?
3 Stars out of 5

pls help

Reviewed on Thursday July 24, 2008 by , New West BC
Hey I just got the LG TU720 yesterday and I'm trying to put ringtones on it and it always sends it to a different file on my phone!!! From reading the other users comments alot of people are having the same problem but if anyone has finally found a solution to this problem pls let me know!!!! HEEEELLLPP!!!!!
2 Stars out of 5

helpp

Reviewed on Sunday July 13, 2008 by , stoneycreek
hii.. i wanna buy this phone

but im just wondering when u transfer music on to it through yur computer using the usb cable..can you use the songs as a ringtone?
2 Stars out of 5

Don't bother

Reviewed on Monday June 16, 2008 by , canada
I have had this phone for 7 or 8 months now, and while I can't deny it looks really good, I wish I would have got something else. That whole java thing, which really isn't that big of a deal, should have been an indication that they just whipped this thing together. I have 2 big problems with this phone 1 is the fact that it only kept it's "shine" for about a week, and I take care of my phones. It looks like I played a game of road hockey with it. The other is the fact that it randomly shuts itself off whenever it wants. This really suck when you use it as a alarm clock, 3 times so far I was late for work because of this stupid phone. Anyway, in my opinion if you are thinking of getting one of these I would wait for the iphone.
3 Stars out of 5

I can't use

Reviewed on Thursday May 22, 2008 by , Ontario Markham
Hi I can't use my ring tones from internet i download mp3 ring tones i can't use as a ring how it is doing please if you can help me Thanks.
2 Stars out of 5

Help

Reviewed on Monday May 12, 2008 by , Canada
How do i tranfer videos and picture from my phone to my pc?
5 Stars out of 5

wow

Reviewed on Saturday May 10, 2008 by , thunder bay
i clearly love this phone with all my heart, the first time i saw it i feeeell in lovee, im super excited to buy itt :)
4 Stars out of 5

Ringtones and LG Prog

Reviewed on Tuesday April 22, 2008 by , montreal
I just upgraded to the TU shine from Rogers. The phone is amazing but it is a bug to have to slide the phone open to get to the end key because not all of the menus has BACK button. I got the software CD along with it which I can't get through...just doesn't see the phone. I tried changing USB connection MODE, all I can do is transfer files to the storage card that came with it. I wish I knew how to create smaller files or cut out a part of an MP3 to make a ringtones...Anyone ?
4 Stars out of 5

Review....

Reviewed on Friday April 18, 2008 by , Toronto
Hi.

I got my LG SHINE (tu720) for my birthday in December (07'). I have found out how to make my own ringtones from sites on the net. I even found a site that allows you to download wallpapers for the LG SHINE. :) It's a good phone to have. The only complaints I have about it is...you can't delete the demo games off the game menu (which totally bitez).. and if you are with Rogers Wireless (which *I* am) - you can't go to youtube or blogtv or any sites that have flash or are too big to load. :( That sorta bites. The camera on this phone is AWESOME and takes fantastic pictures. :)
3 Stars out of 5

Ringtones

Reviewed on Sunday April 6, 2008 by , Ottawa
Hey folks, from what I have been reading, if you are to use an MP3 for a ring tone, it will need to be less that 300k. That may be why you are able to listen to the track but not assign it as a ring tone.
2 Stars out of 5

Well Java CAN be a problem

Reviewed on Tuesday March 4, 2008 by , Okanagan
I do understand what you mean, but Java CAN be a problem if it doesn't work right or if it doesn't shut off properly. I haven't used the Shine myself, but there are many programs that use Java. Games and game demos for one, but for another more important one, ALL of the carrier's loaded programs run on Java, so if that doesn't work right, or you can't shut it off right, or you need to turn off the phone everytime you want to switch to a different java program it's a ROYAL pain to use mobitv, mobilemail, (carrier)s on demand, (carrier)s music store, and just about any third party application you add to the phone yourself. So, if all you're doing is talking, texting, and video calling, (which if you have a Shine and DON'T use video calling, what was the point in getting that phone in the first place! ;) lol!) you'll be fine. but it you want to do much of anything else with the phone, then yeah, Java can be a HUGE problem.
3 Stars out of 5

What I Think so Far

Reviewed on Sunday March 2, 2008 by , Mississauga
I wanted to buy an LG Shine for my birthday because it has so meany nice features. I read these reviews and everyone seems to have a problem with trying to turn off the Java thing? Is it really important? I just want to use the phone to make calls and I like it because it has a mirror but if all i want to use it for is making calls will the java problem or any other problem be a great obstacle?
5 Stars out of 5

java error

Reviewed on Monday February 25, 2008 by , montreal qc
thank you for the information my friend!
you save me a lot of time!
3 Stars out of 5

ringtones

Reviewed on Sunday February 24, 2008 by , canada
pretty goood phones except for no back button on some of the menus, and I cant get any files to play back as ring tones, IF anyone can make a suggestion please do so!
1 Star out of 5

how to fix java problem

Reviewed on Sunday February 10, 2008 by , vancouver
after many hours of research trying to fix " turn the java off" problem. I found out that it is a software problem which can easily be fixed. when you press the exit key on the menu display to exit the music player the software exits but can not unload the program from memory. all you have to do to fix this problem is to open the slide and press the end key. it will ask you if you sure to quit the program and you say yes and that is it my friend.program is exited and unloaded from memory and your problem solved.
enjoy.
5 Stars out of 5

Lg Shine

Reviewed on Thursday February 7, 2008 by , Canada
to play videos u have to change the view settings on the converter 2 320-240 for the video 2 play
1 Star out of 5

ring tones?

Reviewed on Wednesday February 6, 2008 by , Surrey, BC
Anyone know where i can get the program for putting ring tones on my phone?
3 Stars out of 5

Video format?

Reviewed on Monday January 28, 2008 by , toronto
Am I a fool, or can this phone *not* play videos copied over to the SD card? I don't want to use the data service to download videos, so I tried converting videos on my computer to mp4 formats (h.264, for example) and I get the audio, but no video...

What format should I be converting to? Can this phone actually play videos? Am I forced to use the Vision service? I am feeling mis-lead.

If you have gotten this to work, please recommend a converter program, or just the settings. Much appreciated.
5 Stars out of 5

plz help lg tu720

Reviewed on Thursday January 24, 2008 by , canada
i bought lg shine tu720 from ebay just 2 wekks ago but i didn't get the sofware cd for pc...m trying to look for the software on the internet for tu720 from last 2 weeks but i didn't find anything i even try calling lg canada but they never answere so guy if u can plzzzzzzzz help me to find the sofware for lg tu720 i will be veryyy thankfull to you ..
4 Stars out of 5

LG

Reviewed on Friday January 11, 2008 by , Canada
In response to:

---------------------------------------------------------
I'm a tech engineer, and since the first time I used the phone, I know that the user interface (menu, etc) was not carefully tested before the product went out the door. They probably sacrificed the testing/fixing bugs process to meet deadline.

Apart from the now famous Java problem (I think I don't need to explain it), I noticed some other abnormalities. For example, with the slider closed, go to contact list, select a name, and press on "Options". You are given a few choices, including "Make a video call", but there is NO "Make a voice call" option. That means if you want to make a voice call, you have to slide-open the phone. Where is the logic?

Also, with the slider closed, if you just navigate through the menu without doing any settings or using applications, you are not given the button "Back" (you'll have this button if you do some setting or use an app). Therefore if you want to go back or quit the menu, you have to slide-open the phone and press on "End Call" key. Again, where is the logic?

-----------------------------------------------------------

1.Go to the contact, then click view, and click the phone number in which you wish to reach them by, then click call, voice call.

2.If one of the soft key options isn't "Back", go to "Options", then "cancel" and you will go back to the place you were before.
3 Stars out of 5

lg phone

Reviewed on Monday January 7, 2008 by , Canada
Okay so i had this phone for about 2 hours and I wanted to put a lock on it i tell you now please do not try becuase if you do some PUK thing will come up and you reset your password well unfortanully, I ended up blocking my SIM card and had to go back to [service provider] and buy the last one and then call costumer service and they had to reactivate it, and what only 2 hours in.... also i had that Java problem i wanted to listen to music and it said turning "Java" Off or something like that it was really ridicilous and i decided to look it up and i found all these people who have the same problem. Also my last complaint is that the setting your ringtone as one of your mp3 songs clearly this is alot more difficult then i thought, if anyone knows how to do it please tell me i would be EXTREAMLY HAPPY, eirther then that the phone is AMAZING:)
3 Stars out of 5

just to clarify

Reviewed on Wednesday January 2, 2008 by , Okanagan
Sorry, but I just wanted to correct some information from a previous poster, namely the one saying the new Razr2's are plastic. They are not. they are in fact Metal and Glass. (well the outside screen is glass, don't know about the internal screen) but everything else on the phone (except the tab that covers the Micro USB port, and the entire backing where the battery compartment is is coated in Rubber, but has metal underneath the rubber) is in fact metal. It just has that shiny black coating on it to make it look sleek, but underneath that is in fact metal. You're either thinking of the coating on the razr2's, or are going by the dummy demos that are in all the cel phone stores. THOSE are plastic because they are not the real phones, just something to show what the real phone looks and feels like, but those are made of plastic, not the real razr2's.
5 Stars out of 5

LALALA

Reviewed on Saturday December 29, 2007 by , Brampton
Got this phone for Christmas and I love it :) It's user-friendly, nice interface, pretty good features. Like everyone else, I too- am having trouble with the Java thing but I've learned to deal & fix it.

Um. So I've tried adding wallpapers from the net and from other people (through Bluetooth) and it has been working well. However, when I try to put in new ringtunes, it shows up in my Audio + Tunes list and I can listen to it and everything but I cannot set it as my actual ringtune. Help?
2 Stars out of 5

PC Suite Ruins the Phone.

Reviewed on Friday December 28, 2007 by , Edmonton, AB, Canada
I switched from a Moto Razr V3T using Motorola's PhoneTools to this phone because the new RAZR2's are plastic. I didn't think the RAZR software was awesome, but it worked with everything and did what it promised.

What I cannot do with my new LG Shine's software that I could do with even my 1st-gen RAZR:

- have the phone automatically change to Service Mode, correctly "Plug and Play"'ing so I am not guessing as to how to fix Java errors and COM ports.
- - HINT for COM port error: Your phone screen must be at the default clock screen
- - HINT for faulty sync connection: You must go to Settings\Connection\USB Connection Mode\Data Service

- synchronize my painstakingly entered Outlook contacts. As others said, it grabs info from the address field and only labels from either "Firstname" or "Lastname";

- shorten/edit MP3's to use as ringtones and then transfer them to my phone w/out using Audacity, BitPIM and other 3rd party software that may/may not support the phone;

- get any kind of meaningful FAQ that answers any question that a computer literate person couldn't figure out on their own. Good luck looking up COM port errors and Java problem fixes;

What do you say about a phone that makes the RAZR look good? GOOD JOB LG PROGRAMMERS?!

I guess they spent all the money on the design engineer's salaries, and contracted the coders out or something.

BTW, BitPIM only officially supports CDMA and selecting the VX8300 model workaround option not only didn't work for my phone but BitPIM warned it may actually screw with the firmware and mess up the phone.
1 Star out of 5

Defaut Sur Le Produit

Reviewed on Friday December 28, 2007 by , St-Jerome
J'ai achete ,sous un contract, le lg shine tu720 a une boutique de [fournisseur de services] a st- jerome au centre d'achats et je suis tres insatisfaite car il a un defaut. Quand j'ecoute des mp3 sur ma boite a musique il s'eteind toujours apres une ou deux ou trois tounes , c'est donc intermitent et ils ne veulent pas me le changer et ce apres 5 jours seulement. Pourtant je me suis abonner avec eux pour 3 ans!!! J'ai appeler chez [fournisseur de services] et leurs politique c'est l'echange mais ou je l'ai acheter leur politique n'est pas la meme. Ils ne font pas une tres belle representation je suis tres decu j'aurais du ecouter mon entourage et ne pas m'abbonner avec [fournisseur de services].

Une cliente insatisfaite
3 Stars out of 5

Turns off randomlyy

Reviewed on Thursday December 27, 2007 by , Toronto
I just got my LG Sine 2 days ago, and it just randomly turns off, for example, when i was listening to music, after the song was done, it shut off, and i had to take the battery out for it to work again. What should i do?
3 Stars out of 5

how can i use my mp3's as ringtones...help please

Reviewed on Monday December 24, 2007 by , edmonton, ab
can anyone tell me about how use my mp3s as ringtones on my phone
3 Stars out of 5

Problem with Java

Reviewed on Saturday December 22, 2007 by , Mississauga
I just got my "LG Shine" today and i encountered this problem with Java when i'm trying to use my camera and mp3/music. Same thing with my wife's "LG Shine". A little help will be greatly appreciated.
3 Stars out of 5

Synchronizing with Outlook

Reviewed on Friday December 21, 2007 by , Ottawa
I just got the LG Shine-TU720 cell phone and it does not synchronize properly with outlook.
1. It picks up partial text from the address field and puts it in the name field.
2. It does not display any of the addresses as shown in outlook. LG tells me it is because my outlook contacts are not formatted properly. Are they just full of it? My outlook folder format has not changed in the last 5 years and i had no problems with my other cheap cell phones.
3. If you have "firstname, Lastname" in your contacts folder and then synchronize, it just puts "lastname" in the name field. Just imagine if your family name is "Smith" and you want to store 10 of the family/relatives, then your directory would just read Smith 10 times without appending the firstnames. You might as well remember the numbers to avoid frustrations.

If anyone knows about this problem and how to fix it please contact me. Thanks
4 Stars out of 5

LG

Reviewed on Thursday December 13, 2007 by , miss
question: withing the text message application, in the sent box and inbox, most of the icons beside the text messages is an open evelope (once i have viewed them). however, every so often i get a icon with an open evelope and infront of it (to the right) there is a smalller yellow square with black lines. what does this mean>
3 Stars out of 5

MP3 Fix

Reviewed on Monday December 10, 2007 by , Ontario
Well for every1 having troubles with adding MP3's to there LG Shine TU720 check this out

i found it while searching around -
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEJYdMaI4ik
4 Stars out of 5

MP3

Reviewed on Sunday December 9, 2007 by , st.catharines
get the program bitpim and go to setting and set ur phone to LG-VX8700 than add music to the ringtone file... and make sure ur music is under 300kb so to make it small get audacity. a program that makes music smaller files
1 Star out of 5

still having troubles!!

Reviewed on Saturday December 8, 2007 by , toronto
I followed the directions of how to fix the Java problem when accessing my camera, and i got very excited when it worked. However, now it wont work again. i keep getting the " try again after turning off Java. and i switched the connection settings and everyting. What can i do ?
2 Stars out of 5

Phones ok,,,,but

Reviewed on Friday December 7, 2007 by , Toronto,Ontario
The phone is nice and stylish the only problem i have with it is importing music into my computer i hate having to download from [service provider] its just a waste of my money when i want to import my own music and some of the songs on the [service provider] doesn't have any of the songs i want. does anybody else have the problem of importing music?
1 Star out of 5

Returned My Phone

Reviewed on Friday December 7, 2007 by , Ontario Canada
I returned my Lg Shine for the last time. I was using the phone through USB and it keep shutting itself off. Then I would have to remove the battery and put it back in to regain power. It was showing the phone was still charging while not plugged into anything and getting pretty hot to touch. I have had enough with this phone.
4 Stars out of 5

Be fair

Reviewed on Friday December 7, 2007 by , British Columbia
Really, I don't think you can blame the service provider for preventing you from using your own .mp3 files as ringtunes, after all, don't all the other phones offered by that service provider allow you to use .mp3 files as ringtunes? (I know for a fact the Motorola phones do on that service provider) Obviously the service provider isn't going to make only one single phone unable to do something all the other phones can do, so I would say it's the phone manufacturer, or at the very least simply that particular phone. After all, doesn't the lg shine come with a bunch of ads for some LG site advertising you buy ringtones from them (lg)? (not necessarily your service provider) so why would the service provider single ONLY that phone out to not allow you to use .mp3 files? No, I am sure it's either that particular phone or possibly LG in general. Don't blame the service provider unless they prevent ALL their phones from using your own .mp3 files as ringtunes.
5 Stars out of 5

Awesome phone!!!

Reviewed on Wednesday December 5, 2007 by , mississauga
I have had this phone for only a day now but so far its great. The menu is easily navigated and the buttons are real, not touch buttons like the Chocolate! That is not a good feature, they faill in no time.

I havent encountered the Java issue, however, I have had a problem connecting to my cpu. You do have to set the phone up for data connection, not mass storage. I did this and the phone is now connected to my cpu.

Once connected, I cannot check the contents in PC Suite because it is telling me that the COM PORT is wrong. The phone is in com port 3 but how can I check within my cpu the com port #'s and possibly change them to work for this connection.

Other than this lil hiccup, which is probably my cpu's issue and not my phone, it is awesome. I love the video calling. Its not choppy like the old web cam stuff. Its actually really smooth and clear. The camera is great too, and it has a flash which doubles as a light for night video recordings. Another cool feature is while on a video call, you can take a photo, or capture the image, of the other person or their surroundings. So you dont have to be where they are to take a photo. I thought that this was pretty cool.

As for normal calling, reception is great also and works in my underground parking and even my elevators, and my building is 12 stories soooo.....

You will not be dissapointed with this phone.
3 Stars out of 5

ring tunes issue

Reviewed on Sunday December 2, 2007 by , toronto
ok so here it is im with [service provider] and when they bought this phone the added there own softwear into the phone making it impossible for us to use our own mp3's as ring tones reason .....they want you to buy from them so they can make money, doing this then you can use it as a ring tune smart eh...for [service provider] sake you wanna work around this get the phone unlocked doing this will let you use your own mp3's as ring tunes but will also make the phone not work to the service provider's specs meaning no browser and all the other stuff that came with the phone but who cares all that other stuff you have to subscribe to it anyway.
4 Stars out of 5

Replaced for Shut Downs

Reviewed on Tuesday November 27, 2007 by , Ontario
After 5 days and 4 shut downs, in which I had to remove and reinsert the battery, I had the phone replaced with no hassles. The new one seems fine but still has java problems.
3 Stars out of 5

Beautiful Looking Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday November 27, 2007 by , Ontario Canada
I found this on a site I belong to

RE: Anyone's just shut down by itself?, November 24, 2007
Reviewer: Chris, Vancouver

it happened to me on the first 2 days..
well not exactly this, its the ke970 glitch where u close it too fast it turns off
however ever since then i never had the problem again, so i didnt bother wit it
--------
Same for me. Today I was using the [service provider] mp3 player for the first time. I was not able to listen more than 4 mp3 and the phone was shutting down. The power button didn't work. After 3 or 4 shut down, i used the mp3 player of the phone (not the one [service provider] put in it) an i listed music 3 hours with no problems.
sorry for my english...
4 Stars out of 5

Lg Shine TU720

Reviewed on Monday November 26, 2007 by , Ontario Canada
I sent my phone back to LG for repairs. They just called me and they said they put a software update on my phone. Can't wait to see if this is the real answer to the java, cause using the end key is just a quick fix not a solution.
I have not had my phone shut off my its self, mind you I never had the phone for long either.
1 Star out of 5

about that bitpim thing...

Reviewed on Saturday November 24, 2007 by , Vancouver
Yeah, I just looked and bitpim is for CDMA phones only. Oh well. Anything out there that'll handle GSM?
And I'd still like to hear from any shutdown sufferers out there if there are any.
Thanks.
3 Stars out of 5

Anyone's just shut down by itself?

Reviewed on Saturday November 24, 2007 by , Vancouver
Very happy with my Shine so far- thanks guys for the Java answer- pretty easy after all. However, has anyone had their phone just shut down spontaneously? Haven't had mine a week and I've taken it out twice and it's off. Power button doesn't work and I have to take the battery out and then put it back in to turn it on again. Would like to see if it's a problem with anyone else's that'll be resolved in a future update from LG or if I should exchange it within my 30 days. Any comments would be appreciated.
BTW- I haven't looked into it but I think bitpim is a way to put mp3's as ringtones- I'll do some research.
4 Stars out of 5

Look looking phone, but the user interface was not tested before shipped out

Reviewed on Wednesday November 21, 2007 by , Canada
Goods:
- appearance
- directional button
- camera
- sound quality in general

Bads:

I'm a tech engineer, and since the first time I used the phone, I know that the user interface (menu, etc) was not carefully tested before the product went out the door. They probably sacrificed the testing/fixing bugs process to meet deadline.

Apart from the now famous Java problem (I think I don't need to explain it), I noticed some other abnormalities. For example, with the slider closed, go to contact list, select a name, and press on "Options". You are given a few choices, including "Make a video call", but there is NO "Make a voice call" option. That means if you want to make a voice call, you have to slide-open the phone. Where is the logic?

Also, with the slider closed, if you just navigate through the menu without doing any settings or using applications, you are not given the button "Back" (you'll have this button if you do some setting or use an app). Therefore if you want to go back or quit the menu, you have to slide-open the phone and press on "End Call" key. Again, where is the logic?
4 Stars out of 5

Not bad phone

Reviewed on Wednesday November 21, 2007 by , Ottawa
Like everyone here got a little frustrated with the initial problems (Java, LG PC Suite, contact list (import, export)
- The java fix is described in the previous email
- LG PC suite...you will only be able to connect once you've disconnected your phone as "mass storage device"
- The import and export contact list was not tested much how-ever I worked around some problems. Exported my palm contact list as cvs and imported it into th shine...had to modify the cvs files a bit to match up what is expected.
- I'm finding the contact list a little weak.

stef
5 Stars out of 5

I FOUND A WAY OF SOLVING BOTH JAVA AND CONNECTION

Reviewed on Tuesday November 20, 2007 by , Toronto
okay so for java, do not use the soft keys to quit.
Use the end button (the red button used to hang up calls)
it will ask you if you want to end the aplication. if you say yes, it will turn the java off.

Secondly, the connection problem people are having (the lg pc suit connection problem) the solution to this problem is really easy. First of all, you need to set your phone up right. Before you connect, you have to set your connection settings to Data Service Mode. In order to do that, follow the following steps

1: Go to Menu and go into the Settings Menu
2: Go into the Connection Part of the settings
3: In the Connection Setting, look for USB Connection Mode
4: It should be set to Mass Storage Device, Instead change it to Data Service mode and You're DONE!

i was playing around with the phone and i found this
sadly, we can't use mp3 for our ringtones... YET (assuming that lg comes out with a firmware that'll allow us)
i hope this helped you guys out =D
3 Stars out of 5

LG Shine TU720

Reviewed on Sunday November 18, 2007 by , Victoria
There are two ways around the Java error issue that some people come across when tyring to use the camera.

First, use the end call button to exit a Java program. This will fully close it, and you will have no issue using the camera.

Second, and much smoother, rather than exiting the Java application, use the multi-tasking button, leave it running in the background, go to the Home option, then open up the camera from there. You can even leave the camera turned on and use the multi-taksing button to switch back and forth. Amazingly enough, you can have up to 6 things running, including the home screen. That's pretty amazing in my opinion.
3 Stars out of 5

TU720 Java Work Around

Reviewed on Sunday November 18, 2007 by , Victoria
The issue with Java seems to be how it turns off when using an application. For example, when using a Java application (Robgers Music, games, etc), if you exit using the options within the program, you cannot use the camera as Java has not completely shut off. However, if you shut off the software by pressing the end call button and answering yes, then the Java is correctly shut down and you can use the camera with no issue.

Obvisouly this is not a solution to the issue, but only a work around. Hopefully LG will get this resolved and a firware update released at some point.
2 Stars out of 5

LG Shine Sexy but can't Perform

Reviewed on Saturday November 17, 2007 by , Calgary
Same two issues as everyone else.
Phone isn't connecting to pc using the usb port / software.
As well as the Shut of Java appears and then only way to shut it off as is to turn off the phone.? Why isn't this told to us when we buy the phone. How does a phone like this get put on the market with issues like this. I mean, do they not do any testing? Drives me nuts when I spend this kind of money and the performance is sad. :(
3 Stars out of 5

Java Issue

Reviewed on Friday November 16, 2007 by , Toronto
I've been all over the web looking for some ideas on the Java issue and the custom ring tone issues.

The Java issue is not so bad, if you use the Power Button and confirm that you want to exit it will kill the Java applet. Don't use the Soft button on the slider, LG confirmed that they will be working on it

Now if someone can figure out how to get custom mp3's as ringtones I'd be very VERY happy with this phone
4 Stars out of 5

Update!

Reviewed on Friday November 16, 2007 by , Ontario Canada
Ok I ended up figuring out the issues with the phone. I had to use data and not massive storage then it connected ok problem solved on that issue. Now I have returned my phone to LG to see if they can resolve the java issue.
4 Stars out of 5

so far so good

Reviewed on Thursday November 15, 2007 by , Toronto
just received this phone today, playing around with the menu. The phone looks good, menu is easy to navigate. I did experience the same glitch with Java running after exiting the game, as noted in the previous post. Plus it screwed up my phone book entries transfered from SIM card: not in alphabetical order; the numbers that were labeled as cell, home, and work for individual contact names are now labeled with one generic tag - it's gonna take forever to figure out which number is what, but i guess thats what happens when you transfer SIM card from one phone to another...
4 Stars out of 5

phones are great.. but this one..

Reviewed on Tuesday November 13, 2007 by , abby, BC
phones are great.. but this one is justt the uter best.. it looks great.. works great and most of all its LG, with this phone.. i can gurantee u
LIFE WILL BE GOOD
3 Stars out of 5

Beautiful Looking Phone

Reviewed on Saturday November 10, 2007 by , Ontario Canada
I bought this phone 3 days ago and it is so nice looking. I have just a few issues with it. If you are say going to play a game or something that requires the java to be on, well good luck getting it off. If I play a game then exit out and go to use the camera, well I keeps saying turn java off. How do I do that, The only way I can figure it out is to turn the phone off. But this isssue is inconsistant. Second issue is the software that came with it is LG pc suite 2.0.16 but when trying to connect through the usb it cannot connect. I made sure the modem driver was installed.
I have reported to LG about the java issue and the software they will get back to me.