LG Shine Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG Shine has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 49 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday February 5, 2011 by , saskatchewan
this is the best phone i've owned. never let me down, i now have a samsung instinct and wish that the provider i am with would bring the shine back! one of my friends actually changed providers so that they could get the Shine again. i wish i would have done the same.
3 Stars out of 5

bad battery but overall good phone

Reviewed on Saturday October 2, 2010 by , auckland
the battery sucks only lasts for 2 days. 2 months after i got it started taking up to to 2 hrs to receive a txt. u cannot put games on it without a real hassle. But music is nice nd easy although speakers r a little soft. Call quality is awesome as well as a great camera. iv had no complaints with messaging but da bluetooth screws up sometimes. LOOKS AWESOME I LUV IT
1 Star out of 5

It worked, and then ....

Reviewed on Tuesday March 2, 2010 by , Ontario
I bought an LG Shine about three weeks ago when I switched from Bell. On the surface it seemed like a great phone. Reception is good, it takes great pictures and video. The problem came when I tried to retrieve said video from the phone, and change the uber annoying ring tone that came standard. After spending half an hour with three different tech support people I've been told I need to buy ANOTHER accessory (the data cable didn't come standard) and then it MIGHT work. We can put a man on the moon, but we can't make a phone that can transfer files without two add ons and three tech support people. Fail.
1 Star out of 5

Worst phone ever!

Reviewed on Sunday January 17, 2010 by , Canada
Ive had this phone for just over a year and theree has been nothing but problems with it... i've had to get it sent away to be fixed three times (last time was about a month ago) and now its broken agein, the screen wont even work anymore. they also won't fix it anymore.....soooo i suggest NEVER buying this phone!!
1 Star out of 5

this phone is junk

Reviewed on Thursday December 3, 2009 by , canada
This is the worst phone that I ever owned, it has poor battery life, gets too hot to hold after about 20 minutes of use, the voice command feature is hopeless it won't recognize simple commands like "call" and the reception is poor. Only good thing is the looks, last LG I'll ever invest in
1 Star out of 5

Adolescent n'acheter pas cela.

Reviewed on Wednesday October 28, 2009 by , québec
Je n'aime vraiment pas mon LG shine. Oui il est très beau mais je l'est depuis 5 mois et j'ai déjà hâte de m'en débarrasser. Je suis prit avec pour encore 2 ans et demi. Le clavier pour les message texte est un enfer. Lorsque j'écoute ma musique Mp3, je doit a chaque foie ouvrir le téléphone pour changer de musique. Les piles ne durent pas longtemps non plus. Bref je ne le conseille pas pour un jeune.
1 Star out of 5

Shine isn't shiney to me anymore.

Reviewed on Monday October 19, 2009 by , Halifax, Nova Scotia
I loved this phone when I got it; however....

Very poor battery life; and I followed the instructions to a T.

Very poor reception..and I am still in the same places I've always been so I can pretty much assume it's the phone and not the places I go.

Camera start error is very frustrating. The close it quick trick doesn't work for me.

Colour quickly wore off the buttons on the outside.

One month over the year mark and the speaker has blown or shorted out. Can't get a sound out of it. Very inconvenient.

1 Star out of 5

LG Shine Stay Away

Reviewed on Wednesday September 16, 2009 by , Canada
Shortly after the warranty expired problems started.The reception of this phone is terrible. The bluetooth aspect shutsdown and recounects randomly or does not connect at all. Voice command is an experience in frustration, total joke. Do not buy this phone.
4 Stars out of 5

Not bad

Reviewed on Saturday September 12, 2009 by , Grande Prairie
I just replaced the LG shine with a Keybo 2nd edition. I had the Shine for roughly a year and a half maybe 2 and the only reason I got a new one is because it was stolen..

I liked the shine, MINE had great battery life and you have to remember to set the phone in airplane mode when you go into an area with low service if you're not going to use it to make calls or YES it will drain quickly, but the phone is using more battery life trying to get a stronger signal so you can't really blame the battery... Also I think a lot of ppl that buy a brand new phone and have battery issues aren't following directions and plugging it in for as long as they should be the first charge. This can really influence your phones battery issues for the rest of it's life.

I dropped that phone in a hot-tub, in the snow off a 2nd story deck, in a puddle.. and it worked like a CHAMP almost right until it was stolen,, right around then it liked to turn itself off for some reason and my '0' button was also begenning to go.

Not a bad phone for what I put it through though!
4 Stars out of 5

Koodo's Shine

Reviewed on Saturday August 29, 2009 by , Mississauga
I've had this phone for six months now and its been just fine.

What a lot of reviewers here failed to take into account when they were slamming the battery life and reception of the phone was that it matters a lot what the signal strength IS in your area. All cellphones and blackberries use up more battery power in areas where the signal strength is low or medium, in order to try and maintain a higher level of connectivity. If you live in a heavily populated area like I do - Mississauga / Toronto - then you're pretty much blanketed with five-bar reception wherever you go. So because of that, I haven't had my LG 8700 Shine from Koodo [owned by Telus] having any battery problems, and of course no reception problems.

The phone has never stopped working for me although I do get annoyed when I'm on the TTC subway and I forget to turn the phone off, because the battery drains quickly when you're traveling through the underground tunnels [see above notes] so on a couple of occasions I've been caught off-guard when being on the TTC subway from one end to the other (a 45 minute ride) and I find the battery life chopped in half.

I use the MP3 player, camera, and txt player all the time and I've had no problems. I have a 4GB mini-SD card onboard and the only annoying thing I've found is that you can't get the phone to recognize additional directories that you've created via the PC on the SD card; I like to categorize my music by different artists so because of the lack of recognition of new folders, I have to dump all my music files into one big folder and that sucks when you have 100 or more MP3 files to run through.

Also, I wish that the video player had a higher resolution than just 320x240, given that it can take photo resolution sizes of upto 1600x1200, but oh well, you cant have everything.

I'd give this phone an 8/10.

Disclaimer - I do not work for Telus or Koodo. I have worked at Bell Canada for five years so I'm very familiar with the telecommunication industry from retail, SMB, and Enterprise perspectives.
2 Stars out of 5

Telus Shine Is Simply Rediculous And Telus Should Be Ashamed

Reviewed on Wednesday August 5, 2009 by , canada
Love the look of the phone, like the easy features and the ease of use.
*phone automatically shuts off
*poor signal
*screen keeps going black
*buttons dont work
*camera works every now and then but keep getting start up error and you must be extremly still when you take the pictures as they are a hit or miss.
*the voice commands are fustrating to say the least its such a joke not even up to kindergarten standards
*battery life is diplorable and another insult to have a mp3 player as a feature which can hardly be used before the battery is drained so really whats the point.
I didnt learn my lesson the first time as i thought maybe i got the dud in the batch the first time but no have had 2 telus shines and both were almost identical in problems, overall just stay away. This phone is an insult to telus and funny thing is they know these things are common they know they should be recalled yet no one will help you and make an honest repair that they know should not exist. Is that 100% customer satisfaction??????
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday July 26, 2009 by , canada
this phone is the worst phone EVER. i have had my phone for about a year now and its a piece. ive taken it in to get fixed 4 times and it still doesnt work right. i have had so many problems with it that now the only thing i use it for is to keep phone numbers and to text. the many problems that i have had with my phone are
1. very bad service
2. texts not sending
3. sends up to 6 duplicate text mesages when i only want to send one
4. says that texts failed to send but they really are sent
5. camera doesnt work
6. internet doesnt work (took my phone in to get the text message problems fixed and they sent it back with a non working camera and it wont let me go onto the internt)
7. randomly turns off when i close it or when i send text
8. screen will go black when i open in and will have to wait 1 min for the screen to show up
9. battery sucks
10. wont let me put pics from the computer onto the phone (pics taken from a, SONY, digital camera)
*sony is a very good brand and i would recommend it to any one. just about every electronic in my house is sony and they work absoultely great!
so overall do not buy this phone or any other LG phones!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday July 12, 2009 by , Canada
This phone works like it should, no better or worse.
To the poster below me, if you break your screen, of course the manufacturer won't replace it. I challenge you to find any manufacturer of anything that will replace your stupidity.
2 Stars out of 5

yé beau, mais trop limité...

Reviewed on Friday July 10, 2009 by , montreal
coté look c vrai, il est vraiment super.
mais les fonctions le sont pas vraiment..
j'ai du faire réparer le bleutooht a deux reprise et il ne fonctionne toujours pas a ce jours. la caméra a cesser de fonctionner moin de six mois apres l'achat, je ne peux pas me servire des mp3 que j'ai sur ma carte microSD comme sonneries, les transfere de donner sont loing d'etre comme annoncer. les échec sont trop souvent un résultat.
je l'ai acheter avec la protection de plastique et l'étui qui viens avec pour un prix exorbitant chez telus. je suis tres decus de mon achat finalement. si je compare avec ceux que je de mes amis, le mien est le plus beaux mais je ne peux pas fair la moitier de ce que les autre font avec leures cellulaire... en plus que la pille ne dure pas tres longtemps, moin de deux heures d'appel et moin de deux heures de musique. j'en ai pourtant pris soin, je connais le systeme des pilles... je le charge seullement quand il est completement mort, et je le débranche seulement quand la charge est complete. c vrai que les onde sont bonnes, mais ca c telus pas le téléphonne... c certainnement mon dernier LG..!
1 Star out of 5

LG Shine is a piece of c**p

Reviewed on Saturday June 6, 2009 by , Winnipeg
I have had my phone for almost exactly one year, and I have hated it ever since I bought it... The backlight flickers, the phone turns off all the time (like at least 5 times a day) and I can't turn it back on without plugging it in or blowing on the battery, and music is impossible to put on, especially when it comes with a user guide. This phone is just c**p!
4 Stars out of 5

awsome phone but found 2 bugs

Reviewed on Wednesday May 13, 2009 by , canadA
hey just wanted to let people know 2 bugs and their fixes with the phone. to start off i loe this phoene im quite possilbly one of the hardest people on a phone i know. i work in a machine shop an its covered in scratches and metal dust.
-first bug. the camera doesnt like to start... open the phone and shut it quick. problem fixed...
-second bug. phone kept shutting off over and over. and battery was fully charged. opend the back and saw that the metal dust had worn away at the battery wrapping and was shorting out on the stainless steel back. wrap theh batery with electrical tape.
other than that great phone about the size of a razr love it!
1 Star out of 5

LG 8700 piece of junk

Reviewed on Thursday April 30, 2009 by , victoria bc
Haven't had the phone for more than 6 months. Already the backlight doesn't come on. Thanx LG
2 Stars out of 5

Don't do it!

Reviewed on Wednesday April 22, 2009 by , Saskatoon
Don't buy the Shine. I wish I had read consumer reviews before I did, because now I'm quite displeased.

Compared to my previous phone, a Sony Ericsson w300, the Shine sucks in many ways. The battery life is poor, and the ease of texting leaves something to be desired. Overall, I don't think it's a well-designed phone.

I also have the problem of it freezing when sending texts. It continually shows the 'sending message' screen, although the text has been successfully sent (people reply, and you can see the 'new message' icon appear, but you can't access it). Nothing to do but take the battery out.

My experience hasn't been outright terrible, but I've definitely had plenty of frustration. I would get a different phone if I had the chance.
5 Stars out of 5

ca c est de la qualité

Reviewed on Sunday April 12, 2009 by , lac-megantic
mon mari en a un depui 3 mois et il l aime beaucoup
la batterie est de bonne qualité,le son aussi et il capte assé bien les onde ,nous sommes en région éloigné ,et il travail dans une usine fait de béton malgré cela il peux recevoir les appel ,sa caméra prend de belles photos .
mon mari le trouve parfait pour ses besoins
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday April 1, 2009 by , Middle Earth
After less than 6 months the battery has quit. I wouldn't recommend it.
3 Stars out of 5

The shine is OK, but could be better

Reviewed on Tuesday March 31, 2009 by , Calgary
This phone is a sleek, nice looking and very dependable phone. Being made of metal it is rugged and can take a few bumps and falls.

However, battery life is horrible. You'll have to charge it every night and the voice commands are a joke.
3 Stars out of 5

Message wont delete

Reviewed on Tuesday March 24, 2009 by , North Carolina
I have had my Shine for maybe a little over half a year or so and i got a pic message and when i try to view it i get wierd symbols where a message would be and i try to delete and it cuts off my phone.
1 Star out of 5

No service

Reviewed on Saturday March 21, 2009 by , Limerick, Sk.
i have had this phone a little over a year, and one night all the sudden it stops getting service. It barely gets service in the cities. All i get now is the tower sign in places with full service. Its very random, and i am very upset about it. a bad phone
1 Star out of 5

Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

Reviewed on Thursday March 19, 2009 by , winnipeg
I agree with the reviews below. A truly terrible phone. I'm suprised LG, a company with a somewhat good reputation, would market this dud. In my case, the battery life is far too short, rudely brief. A pain in the rear end. I'm bringing it in for repair a second time. Here's another woe to add to the littany of problem: the T9 leaves to be desired. Correction. It's gawdawful. The LG shine 8700 is fit for the pit.
1 Star out of 5

Lg Shine

Reviewed on Monday March 9, 2009 by , Moose Jaw, Sk
I bought my Lg about a year ago. At first I was very happy with it. It looks very nice, feels great to hold and did everything I wanted a phone to. About a week in it started screwing up. It wouldn't save pictures I took, texts would freeze and anyone calling me could not hear me at all. I sent the phone away to be fixed four different times each time I had the phone for about a day or two before it started screwing up. They finally replaced my phone thinking I just got a defective one. No. The new one I got was even worse. The batter lasts maybe a full day if I am lucky and thats on silent with no backlight on and I am not a heavy texter. The phone turns off randomly, often when I'm just holding it. I counted and in one day it turned off 45 times for no apparent reason. Texing is sometimes the most painful thing I have ever done. I have to send a message over 10 times before it actually sends and many many times I send duplicates drving my friends crazy. I would not recommend buying this phone. Sure its pretty but I've owned two of them and had one sent away four times and its given me nothing but trouble. Save yourself the trouble, do not get this phone.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday March 8, 2009 by , -
Is this phone good or bad
1 Star out of 5

Stuck with a crappy phone

Reviewed on Friday February 27, 2009 by , Ontario
To be honest...I've never seen a phone with a battery that lasted anyways. You follow the rules, charge it correctly...a couple months in it sucks no matter what you do. I can live with the bad battery. I expected it would suck. What I don't like is that 6 months into it's life, it's definitely dropping calls all the time. Sometimes I reach into my pocket to check the phone and it's just turned off. I also have the text message problem that just started 2 weeks ago. When I send a text longer than a few words it freezes on the send screen and I have to remove the battery. It also saves unknown random messages in my draft folder called "???????????" and won't let me look at them OR delete them.

I also think it's stupid that the phone doesn't have a "dismiss" button on the side that lets you send calls to voicemail when you hit it. You can silence the ring, or stop it from vibrating, but the screen stays lit and the phone rings as usual until voicemail kicks in. I just think that's stupid, especially when you're trying to save the battery power.
2 Stars out of 5

Looks good but............

Reviewed on Saturday February 14, 2009 by , winnipeg
I was soooo excited to get the "shine" it looks great and has good durability. As soon as I got to use it the excitement ended.
It's heavy, gets poor reception, the buttons require a lot of effort to operate, it's uncomfortable against my ear and the fact that it's made of steel(I thought was a plus) makes it very cold in the winter.
It does take great pictures and being able to interface with the computer is a bonus, but it's still getting returned as soon as Telus opens up. Thank god for a 14 day return policy I can't imagine being stuck with this phone for my full two year contract.
1 Star out of 5

Worst Phone Ever Award

Reviewed on Friday February 6, 2009 by , Canada
I was very excited to first get my LG Shine, the appearance is very deceiving. The Phone is horrible, the reception keeps losing most calls, constantly hangs up. The battery is not great. The volume on the Music is very low along with the speaker phone doesn't really work. When I was debating to purchase a phone I was also considering a blackberry. I should of bought the blackberry, apparently they replace it within a year no questions asked. I have had my phone for about 6 months now, sent it in for repairs 2 times, nothing has changed, it still hangs up on every call. I am not satisfied with the phone, the Mts Dealer advised me that the phone needs to be sent in 3 times before replacing the phone with another LG lemon. I will never by another LG again. Don't bother wasted your money on this piece of junk, you will not be happy. Safe yourself the trouble and aggravation of buying a phone that will be in the repair shop witin 6 months of using it.
Lg Satnds for
L for Lemon
G for Garbage
1 Star out of 5

LG shine not worth the buy

Reviewed on Thursday January 22, 2009 by , canada
If the LCD damages regardless if the screen protector is crackd or damaged they do NOT cover it. My plexiglass protecting te LCD did not crack or shatter but yet te interior LCD was cracked and LG treated this as an external damange, haad the phone for only 1 month and this already happed, it was a waste of money due to the poor workmanship, the repair guy accused me of nudging it too much even though the external plexiglass was not crack nor damaged. BE careful when buying this phone I personally will not purchase an LG again!!!! Customer service is TERRIBLE and the servicing company is TERRIBLE!!!!
2 Stars out of 5

LG 8700 Shine

Reviewed on Wednesday January 21, 2009 by , Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Great looking phone but that's where it ends for me. I went from a Kyocera KX440 to this LG 8700 only because I got a hands free Blue Tooth device for Christmas and needed the BT capability. All as I can say is I miss my KX440! I don't care for many features on a phone as I only need a phone and not a camera, or MP3 player, or internet browser etc. But if it's going to have extras I would appreciate if they work well. The voice command feature on this phone is terrible which makes using the hands free device extremely anoying! The battery life is not at all great so forget getting decent use out of the music player feature. When I first got the phone I was exploring it's menu's and features and found the battery was low in a very short time just from doing that. The camera takes a decent picture if you stop breathing and make sure everything is dead still. I also don't find that it can pull a very strong signal either. At least not compared to my old KX440. I miss my big lumpy rock solid KX440!
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday January 14, 2009 by , Canada
This phone was GREAT when I first got it. But I've had it for a year now and its starting to act up.

It has messages saved in the "Drafts" folder. But their title would be "?????????????" adnd I can not open them or delete them and I have to take out the battery. Then there are drafts from ages ago saved.

Also, just recently its been freezing everytime I send a long text. And same thing as above, I have to take out the battery and re-start it.

So as a starter phone- it was so nice. I love the look of it any everything. But its not looking like it will last much longer- which sucks when you are on a 3-year contract.
1 Star out of 5

LG Shine Slider

Reviewed on Tuesday December 30, 2008 by , ....
it looks nice sometimes

mirror gets thumbprints easily.
doesnt slide smoothly(I mean, come on its a slide phone).
low talk time, after talking for an hour or so it will say low battery.

2 Stars out of 5

worst phone EVER

Reviewed on Sunday December 28, 2008 by , canada
well ive had this phone for about 6 months and already its had to be fixed 3 times, first of all if you touchthe screen even a little to hard it breaks, second the battery is the worst ever, you could fully charge it not use it a full day and still need to charge it at nnight, as well as freezing randomly, turning off atleast 3 times a week, my screen completly fried as i was getting a phonecall recently, lg should recall this piece and not ever sell anything this *****y ever again. this is the worst phone ever. sorry so long, im just really frustrated with this damn phone and needed to vent my frustrations
2 Stars out of 5

Battery Power...lack of...

Reviewed on Sunday December 14, 2008 by , GTA
I"ve had my LG phone for just about 6 months and my battery is the same as the others I have read....about 1 days worth of power and then the dying beep comes on. Apparently, you can send it for a replacement battery and it will be replaced free of charge...but who knows how long a new one would last. *sigh* Not sure if I'd buy the phone again....
1 Star out of 5

Stay as far away from this phone as you can!

Reviewed on Wednesday December 10, 2008 by , Canada
So ive had my phone for not even a year now, and all these problems have occured:

-0 Button stopped working
-Reception sucks!
-Battery life gone wayyy down
-Speaker stopped working
-Camera stopped working, got sent away, still didnt get fixed.
-Turns off randomly, about every couple hours
-Screen doesnt always work, ill open it and it will remain black. Have to close and reopen it a few times.

I highly recommend you do not get this phone!
1 Star out of 5

Cr***y Phone

Reviewed on Monday December 8, 2008 by , Winnipeg, MB
Ive had my phone for about 9 months now and I have had to send it off twice for repairs and it still doesnt work. First the camera stopped working. Then it would freeze anytime I sent a text message. THEN it would turn itself off at random times, like in the middle of a conversation!! eventually it wouldnt turn back on. Sent it off to get fixed, they replaced the keypad, and after that the camera worked but the phone still kept turning itself off!!!

Ive had the LG chocolate in the past and was not a big fan of it either. I will never buy another LG phone again! They work like c**p, take way to long to "repair" (I waited 2 whole months for my phone) and when you get it back nothing is different!!!

negative 2 out of 5 stars.
1 Star out of 5

Cra**y phone

Reviewed on Sunday November 30, 2008 by , Halifax
My phone is not even a year old and it had to have the battery, keypad, camera charged replaced already. Now today the keypad is not working correctly (press one letter and you get another one)3 of the numbers on the key pad fell off and the only way it works is if you take the battery out and put it back in. Sucks Sucks
5 Stars out of 5

it rocks!!!

Reviewed on Saturday November 22, 2008 by , Saskatoon
this phone works great!! the battery on this works great, but all you got to do is make sure your charge it untill it says chargeing complete or it will die faster then usual.
IT kinda wierd cause this phone when i first got it, it had the best picture taking around.. now its not as clear but it still works great.. i tottally recomend this phone to anyone who loves to texts and there life revoles around a phone! lol.
1 Star out of 5

Majority of LG Shines are Defective!!

Reviewed on Saturday November 22, 2008 by , SaskTel Country
I bought one for my wife and one for myself last December. It is a very popular phone in SK and many people have it. About 99% of the people I talk to have the same problem as I do. The phone won't hold a bloody charge. Book says 300 min of standby time. Mine never had that and has now degraded to the point of maybe 12 hours of standby. My one friend has had three batteries replaced and he still has the same problem. Mine's been sent back for "repairs". Obviously LG knows they have a defective product and it isn't the battery but they won't deal with it properly. They should do a mass recall and throw all these in the compactor and give us our money back. Its a shame cuz the phone looks cool, has a good camera and good sound quality. Too bad it's dead all the time.
1 Star out of 5

Not So Cool

Reviewed on Friday November 21, 2008 by , St. Marys, ON
I do not recommend this phone. The reception is extremely poor and the battery life is horrible!!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday November 12, 2008 by , ONTARIO
i've had the phone for a few weeks so far, its my first phone, its AMAZING.
the pictures are very clear
the diplays awesome
you can hear people clearly
i am very satisfied with it, i RECOMMEND PEOPLE GET IT.
you WILL be satified.
5 Stars out of 5

Lg Shine

Reviewed on Sunday October 26, 2008 by , ste-agathe-des monts
J'ai acheté ce téléphone et je le trouve super... Moi je l'ai acheté avec koodo mobile, c'est bien moins cher
4 Stars out of 5

LG 8700 Shine, Ok but not great

Reviewed on Wednesday October 15, 2008 by , Calgary
I bought the phone on Oct 8/2008 from a Tom Harris dealer in Calgary. When I received the phone it was charged half way and the store programmed their number into it. I took the phone home and charged it as instructed. So far I have only been able to get 80 minutes maximum of talk time. I tried in vain both through LG and Tom Harris to get a new phone because obvioulsy 80minutes of talk time is not enough. NEITHER would help me at all. I was basically told Tom Harris has a 7 day, 30minute warranty! Yup, only 30 minutes. I had 2 hours and 40 minutes of total talk time on 3 full charges. It was Telus who stepped up and offered to send me a new battery at no charge because even they couldn't believe I was ripped off and treated as bad as I was by LG and Tom Harris Cellular.
So word of warning, although the phone is working good, the battery has an issue. I have read reviews where people speak of the phone getting hot while in use, mine does not. I also read that Verizon does not ship this phone in the States with a USB cable but mine came with the cable.
I have also read numerous times that the Blue tooth is bad, but not on my phone, it works better than any Motorola I bought. I read that the keypad is a bit hard to navigate, I too found that wrong and consider the keyboard nice to use.
The reviews all state the phone is flashy yet I find it very plain which is what I wanted. The gold phone is a bit "blingy" but the silver is just right.
The reviews state the LCD is hard to read in the sunlight, I don't find it to be any harder than any othe phone I have owned or checked into.
The bottom line with the Shine is definately buy the phone for how good it really is but make sure you but it from a reputable dealer with a better exchange policy and do NOT go to LG for customer support as you will be extremely dissapointed with how fast they are to shrug you off.
The battery sucks and I reccommend the extended life battery if you want a regular talk time.
I want to like this phone but the experiences I have had with the battery issue and the treatment from LG and Tom Harris cellular is unfortunately preventing me from loving the phone. My experience has taught me that for overall customer satisfaction, Samsung is the route to go because at least Samsung themselves will take care of you no matter what the issue. But overall it is a great phone with great reception.
1 Star out of 5

Horrible Battery Life

Reviewed on Sunday September 28, 2008 by , Waterloo ON
I agree with the other post that the battery life is horrible, I got this phone for about a month or a bit less, and the battery life is crap. If I have it just turned on (from fully charged), it'll last about a day and half, if I talk on it for about 20-30 mins, the phone will last less than 5 hours. I usually let the battery die and then completely charge as well, so either I got a bad battery or LG Shine is just horrible.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday August 12, 2008 by , toronto
This phone is great this is won of the most fantastic phones i've ever had. The're stylish battry is great sound is marvoulous. i mean u cant get a better phone. tottaly recomend it!!
5 Stars out of 5

LG Shine 8700

Reviewed on Thursday May 8, 2008 by , Toronto
For the past eight years I've used Samsung cell phones.

In March 2008, when upgrading my cell phone, I made the decision to try out a different brand - and chose the LG Shine.

In April 2008 - the phone went dead. Took it in to Bell, where it was sent directly to LG for repairs. Keep in mind, I'd had the cell for two months - not cool to already be back in the shop.

Turns out the Shine needed a software upgrade. I would understand this if I'd had the phone for a year maybe, but two months later, I should be taking my phone into the shop for repairs/upgrades.

The root of the matter is this: my LG cell phone, just two months after being purchased, went dead and needed a software upgrade causing me the inconvenience of not having my own cell phone and ultimately losing all my contacts.

I tend to agree with Bell, the LG Shine is not their product, it's LG's. LG had one chance to make a first impression.

My review of the LG Shine is it's a shoddy, unreliable product.

If you want a good phone, go with a Samsung offering, I sure will next time!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday January 19, 2008 by , Elrose Sk.
I have no idea what the other guy was talking about with the battery life. I just got one for christmas and the battery life is awesome. All i did was let er die fully before i charged er again. I can go three to 4 days with out any powersave turned on at all and sending anywhere from 150 texts to 300 per day. overall i give this phone a 9/10. I would reccomend this phone for anyone who needs a durable, but good looking phone. I have dropped mine twice onto concrete not a scratch on it. The only reason i give this phone a 9 out of 10 instead of 10 out of ten is beacasue I hate how it marks up. There is always finger prints on mine. I wish i came with a scleaning cloth.
3 Stars out of 5

Horrible battery life

Reviewed on Monday November 19, 2007 by , GTA
Just picked up this phone last week. I must've charged it at least 7 times already. After a FULL charge, that battery lasts about 24hrs before it completely dies.

Sound quality is terrible. It sounds like a blown speaker... high frequency sounds gives me lots of static.

Returning this as soon as I can.