LG KEYBO 2 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG KEYBO 2 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 15 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday October 19, 2012 by , St. John's NL
I got this phone when it came on the market in 2009. At first it was the colour Pink that drew my attention and having a regular keyboard, and the large numbers on the front for dialing. As time when on, I came to love it, and its my prized possession. My dog spilled my coffee over it in the car, and I'm desperate to find another one, IPhone 5 just came out - Im not interested! Bring back the girly texting phones for us that want a phone and not a personal computer. I never encountered the phone shutting off as others were commenting. Hope the next model of it I manage to track down doesn't do the same thing, but has the reputation of my old model.
4 Stars out of 5

3 years later...

Reviewed on Tuesday February 7, 2012 by , Ontario
I bought the pink KEYBO 2 for $100 3 years ago. I absolutely LOVED this phone! Similar to other reviews, after the first year my phone starting shutting off randomly. However, it only happened a handful of times. It seemed to be doing it alot 2 years ago but it hasn't happened in the past year AT ALL.

The other issue I had did not affect me, rather the people I was texting. Apparantly the phone was sending out upside question marks in random places during my texts. People think I'm asking questions sometimes when really I am not. Like I said, it doens't bother me and people were complaining a year ago , but over the past 6 months nobody has told me so I assume it has stopped also!

My phone is not capable of sending/recieving pictures from blackberrys anymore, but used to be able to.
THIS PHONE IS THE MOST DURABLE PHONE I HAVE EVER HAD! I am quite careless but I bought a $20 case and literally drop my phone once a day and it has yet to have any HUGE problems. It has also been dropped in water and still works like a charm after drying the battery off.
The problems are truly minor and this phone is GREAT if you are not using your phone for games/being online.
1 Star out of 5

Not Great

Reviewed on Wednesday January 25, 2012 by , Burlington, Ontario
ive had this phone for just about 14months. It was good for about 6months. I wish i bought a different phone. I charge it for 10hours then the battery dies after 2 hours of texting. Also it will die almost immediatly if i use the camera, call someone local, or if i have it on anything other then vibrate. The phone also turns off randomly. I hate it.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday January 10, 2012 by , montréal
J'ai ce téléphone depuis maintenant 2 ans et je n'ai jamais eu de problème. Recevoir des appels, des textos, les envoyer, tout est good. La recharge dure 2-3 jours. L'appareil photo donne de beaux résultats. Bref, un petit téléphone qui coute pas cher et qui ne donne pas de trouble.
2 Stars out of 5

not a great phone

Reviewed on Tuesday November 29, 2011 by , Ottawa
I've had this phone for 18 months, have had it repaired once (just short of the warranty) and now, six months later it's still randomly shutting off. Also, every now and then, the battery will completely discharge after less than 8 hours.

Very unfortunate, since it has some great features.

1 Star out of 5

Shuts off on its own

Reviewed on Thursday October 13, 2011 by , Ontario
I was originally happy with this phone. However, it now shuts down randomly (I'll often pull my phone out of my purse to find it turned off), which causes me to miss calls, texts, etc. It's either a crappy phone, or it was intentionally made with a glitch to force people to have to buy a new phone sooner. I miss older versions of cell phones (10 years ago). They had better reception and were durable.
5 Stars out of 5

Excellent Phone

Reviewed on Monday October 10, 2011 by , Canada
I have had my LG Keybo 2 for two years now and it has been the greatest phone I have ever used. The buttons on the front are big and easy to press to dial phone numbers and the full keyboard (that is actually a real keyboard, not touch screen) is phenomenal for texting. This phone may not be the best if you like to use it for internet, and playing games, but if you just want to talk, text, listen to music, and take some pictures, this is the phone you need!
1 Star out of 5

Randomly shuts off, only had for 1 year.

Reviewed on Saturday August 6, 2011 by , Winnipeg
I would not recommend this phone to anyone. I had the original keybo and really enjoyed it so when it came to renew my contract and upgrade I figured, well why not go with the "newer" version of the phone I already have and love. My one year warranty of course ran out last month and two weeks ago my phone started to randomly shut off on it's own. brought it in to telus today and was informed that repairing it would cost more than purchasing a new phone all together, so I was stuck dishing out more cash for another phone. I've noticed a trend of other reviews of this phone highlighting the same problem...so, my advice would be to stay away from this phone.
2 Stars out of 5

lg keybo 2 reviwe

Reviewed on Tuesday August 2, 2011 by , ontario
I've had this phone since last October, and in my opinion, it's a piece of crap. I have had a few problems with this phone;

-Slowest thing ever.
-Picture's mess up, all the time & won't let me see them.
-Music Screws up.

There is only a few thing that I actually like about this phone would be, the colour(pink:)), the keyboard, the way the phone takes pictures, has self timer.
I don't like that the vibrate is so loud. And I also don't like the fact that you can not change the sound for pictures, like to make it silent.

I'd probably only rate it 2.. :)
5 Stars out of 5

Very Good!

Reviewed on Friday June 10, 2011 by , Ontario
I`ve had this phone (in pink :) for a year now. Very good for texting. Good quality camera! The auto lock on the phone is very handy. Sound = just mazing compared to many phones I`ve seen! Video quality sucks. Program fo music is slow but managable. Theres a spot to put your favorites. For talk and text its a good one. Display user friendly. I recommend this buy.
3 Stars out of 5

Shuts down for no reason

Reviewed on Thursday June 9, 2011 by , Calgary, Canada
I like all the features of this phone, but after a year mine has begun to simply shut itself off for no apparent reason. Usually it happens when the phone is sending or receiving a text, but often when I go to make a call/text I will find it shut down. This happens no matter how recently I charged the battery. Very annoying to have to retype a text because the phone shut off while you were typing!

I wish more people would write reviews after they've owned their phone for quite a while (not just after they bought it), so that we could learn how durable the phones really are! It's not useful to read reviews that say how thrilled you are with your brand new phone; everyone likes what they just bought or else they wouldn't have bought it.
5 Stars out of 5

barely 1 week old

Reviewed on Thursday June 10, 2010 by , Nova Scotia
I just got this phone 2 days ago, and it is the best phone I could ask for. althought it is my first cellphone, the setup was easy, and costumizing it is also very easy.
it is the first phone I have seen that you can change the colour of the banner, so that`s really neat in my opinion.
I find the vibrate is a little obnoxius, and I have to turn it off before I go to sleep.
I, also, was a little disappointed that it didn`t come with any pre-loaded games, but I`m coping with that.
4 Stars out of 5

Très bon téléphone

Reviewed on Tuesday January 26, 2010 by , Quebec City
Le keybo 2 est un très bon téléphone, très facile d'utilisation, niveau photo et vidéo fantastique. La prise photo et les modifications qu'on peut apporter à la photo une fois prise est digne d'une retouche fait par un ordinateur. Point de vue message texte, très facile utilisation vu que le clavier est type qwerty comme clavier ordinateur donc beaucoup plus rapide a transmettre un message. Le petit hic de ce Keybo2 et la qualité sonore. J'avais un motorola W385 et sa qualité sonore était exemplaire digne d'un téléphone de maison, le Keybo 2 la qualité sonore est moins bonne que le W385 mais il se reprend très nettement au niveau menu, texte, photo et vidéo.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday December 27, 2009 by , Calgary, Alberta
It was last Wednesday that I upgraded from the LG SHINE to the LG KEYBO 2 phone. I've had no issues what so ever with the LG SHINE and will definitely keep it as a backup just in case something should go wrong with the KEYBO 2.

Upon exploring the features that this phone has, I found that this phone is just about the same as the LG SHINE such as the contact phone book, downloading of games, ringtones and other applications. When I am talking to my friends, their voices come in really clear on the earpiece just like CD quality. You don't get any of the background noise.

The QWERTY keyboard is also another great feature. My fingers were becoming stiff and sore from pressing the number keys up to 3 times to get a single letter when composing a text message. Now I can send text messages to my friends a lot faster and easier.

There is only one issue I don't care for and that is when you access the browser screen the print is too small to read. You almost need a magnifying glass. I'm still reading the user guide and maybe I will find a solution in there to make the print larger.

To those clients who are disappointed about the downloading of games, I tried to download a game and did not encounter any problems. If you are having issues with the Games feature you can always call TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE at TELUS and they can help you solve any game problems.

Otherwise I made the right decision in upgrading. The LG KEYBO 2 phone is the "PERFECT CHOICE!!!" for text messaging and any other applications.

To those who have or just purchased this phone, AWESOME CHOICE!!! I am having fun with it already. Especially the camera feature.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday September 12, 2009 by , Grande Prairie
So I got the phone about 2 and a half weeks ago.. So far so good! I really enjoy the 'qwerty' keyboard makes texting a lot easier and faster although I find I am accidentally hitting the "enter" button when trying to hit the "L" as the keys are very small. Having the shift-symbol thing is unique and fairly useful as well.

Also I dunno what this 'no games' bull is.. If it turns out I have to go through hoops to get games on this phone I'm going to be very dissapointed..

I have also heard like.. A LOT of reviews saying the charger on most keybo models are defective and LG will claim you've damaged the phone by rough handling it so it's not covered under warranty, and that makes me a little uncomfortable that I bought a phone from a company that apparently screws it's clientele over.

Anyway for ME personally everything works great so far, The external screen has the contact button handy and I can still text the old fashion way if i only have one hand free. it takes decent pics at 3.0 megapixels and there's a flash too which works well most of the time.

I'm really bitter about the games thing though and from what I've read I'm going to have to sit on hold for an hour only to be told some run-around non-solution crap. So good luck me.

Also no cases are available yet in my area and this irritates me because I like to take exceptionally good care of things that are expensive :P

I'm going to have to give it 3 stars until they get the games thing cleared up. Then I'll bump it to 5.