LG 5450 - Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG 5450 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 13 reviews.


4 Stars out of 5

Good Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday February 12, 2008 by Gaetan, Trois-Rivieres
I've had this phone for almost 2 years now. It is a refurbished model and it's my second one of the same model. The first one froze a couple of times but nothing major. I had to change it because it wouldn't open once but it was guaranteed. The reception is good and the sound is ok. Of course it is not a newer model but it a good reliable phone with a battery that lasted very long. It is a very good investment.
4 Stars out of 5

Amazing

Reviewed on Monday August 1, 2005 by Jake, Edmonton
In Life, perspectives are judged by lies, the LG 5450 has amazing features that are made well, this phone is overrated by other customers to make it seem like a bad phone, ive had this phone for 2 and a half years. Not a single problem, i admit, the reception is bad at times like in basements.. BUT OF COURSE, MOST PHONES ARE, phones have difficulty finding the reception underground cause there is none. but honestly, this phone, is a phone that can make life easier, better

cause its LG
Lifes Good
1 Star out of 5

BAD reception

Reviewed on Thursday June 16, 2005 by Paul, Kitchener, ON
The reception on this phone is awful. If I got 1km out of the major city limits, I lose reception. I can't get reception on the golf course, and if I'm in a cement building, it's useless. I would not recommend this phone.
3 Stars out of 5

Very bad reception

Reviewed on Sunday April 24, 2005 by saul, Vancouver B.C.
This phone has the worst reception out there.... almost any other phone will give u better reception.
2 Stars out of 5

not a great phone

Reviewed on Monday March 14, 2005 by Mike, langley, bc
i'm not a very picky person but i've had lots of problems with this phone. i bought the phone at future shop and luckily there, when a phone is defective they just replace it with a brand new one (i think this is just future shop... whereas if you buy it from a telus store they send it in for fixing if it becomes defective...i BELIEVE this is how it works dont quote me). the first time i had problems with the calculator - everytime i used it the phone turned off. my second and third had to be returned because the outside screen just stopped working and went blank. my third one also had problems with the calculator. also, some general faults of the phone:

text messaging is terrible as incoming messages only show the phone number, even if the person is on your phone book.

camera only stores 30 pictures...i dont know if this is standard for all picture phones but for me i had to keep deleting pictures i wanted to keep as there is limited room.

and lastly text messaging is slow...i can type faster than the letters show up on the screen.

other than that the phone is fine, but after my fourth phone (by the way each time i switch it for a new one i lose all my downloaded games, ringtones, and pictures) i'm going to get a different one because i'm sick of this phone becoming defective.

NOTE: the phone didnt COME defective... they began to bug up usally after about 3 months.
1 Star out of 5

things you should know about LG 5450

Reviewed on Saturday March 5, 2005 by kousa, vancouver
things that you should know about LG 5450 before you buy this phone:
1-Incoming text messages show number only, even if the originating party is in the address book
2-user manual sucks
3-alarm clock does not work when the phone is off
4-battery wont last more than 4 days
5- MOST IMPORTANTLY: i have had this phone for abt 6 months. Sent it for repair twice, still have the same problem which is:
phone does not respond (does not make calls, recieve or send txt msgs) even though it shows full signal strength. Telus says "we know that we have a problem with this phone, you just have to send it for repair" DUH!! shouldn't I get my money back? or exchange the phone??
other than that, great menu, good signal, excellent sound quality. It's perfect except for the 5 things I mentioned above.
4 Stars out of 5

One of the best phones out there

Reviewed on Sunday February 20, 2005 by John Ganton, Victoria B.C.
The LG 5450 is one of the best phone out there because of the colour display. The colour display is very large and very clear with great wallpaper's. One thing that i think this phone needs is to have a better camera. If you r going to bye this phone only for the camera I would look for an other phone if you want the phone and just like to take some pictures here and there and dont realy cair about having the best then this phone is great. One thing that I think this phone sould to have is an auto lock on the power up not just a one time lock. I have had my LG 5450 phone for 1 and a 1/2 years (almost) and i sill really like it (telus is an other story lol). Well all and all this phone is great and i think that every one would be happy to have it!
4 Stars out of 5

AWSOME

Reviewed on Monday January 24, 2005 by Honey, toronto canada
This phone is great i was a newbie at phone buying i went on some sites to try and get dead on reviews... i had to search but i ended up getting a LG 5450 at the end.... ITS GREAT! better than i imagined and i bought mine already used a year old but it working fine. Good battery, good sound, good menu however if i were to say a neg. it would only be to say that the camera on this phone is a camera phone quality not much light on it ...but if you want pics buy a camera ..hehehe ...
5 Stars out of 5

Feature Filled Phone

Reviewed on Friday January 7, 2005 by Eric Svedlund, Calgary, AB.
I read the reviews on this phone before I got it, and it had a 90% good, to 10% bad reviews. Then I waited for a christmas special...and picked it up for FREE. Now I am ever so impressed with phone...to be specific...the camera, the ringtones, the tri-mode, the tip calculator, the world clock, the airplane mode, the voice memo, the text messaging, the 2MB of memory, the internet surfing, the games and so much more.
I am very happy that I don't have to stand by the front window in my house to get the best reception any more.
I can talk on the phone anywhere in the house.
Here is my GOOD review.
E/S.
5 Stars out of 5

LG 5450 is top notch

Reviewed on Saturday December 25, 2004 by Mark Dayman, Barrie/Orillia Ontario
Don't let the first review spoil you on this phone. Other than looking slightly ghetto (reminds me of the classic bell 'brick' phone), LG has made a winner. Battery life is impecible, signal strength is excellent, and - a problem I've had with many many other phones, the ringer can be EXTRA loud for when its in your jacket. Lots of options for downloads like ringtones, images etc. The camera, despite not having a flash, is actually very sharp when the images are transfered to the PC. Volume can be adjusted with side buttons for easy access during calls. The voice recognition is excellent as well. This phone spent over 12hours in my drive way in deep snow and still works like the first day I bought it. The screens weren't even damaged (not that I recommend you leave your phone in the snowbank). Only problem I've run into is that most aftermarket headsets are not loud enough and the call sounds drowned out. I have yet to use an LG one however. The LG/Telus plasic holster is comfy and holds the phone well, but they forgot to drill holes for the charger and com port.

Overall, worth every penny. They offer them in refurb models as well for those on a budget.
2 Stars out of 5

Terrible Features

Reviewed on Thursday November 4, 2004 by David, Victoria, BC
It may be a good phone if you only want basic features, but here's what I find wrong with it:
1) no way to adjust "speaker phone" volume... always super loud
2) super loud = distorted sound
3) text messaging always defaults to Abc rather than T9
4) Poor battery life
5) Incoming text messages show number only, even if the originating party is in the address book
6) no call timer while you are on the phone, only available after the face
7) cannot add your own "canned messages" for txt msg
8) poorly written instruction manual. It may show you how to activate a feature, but doesnt tell you what its for
9) no option for auto-lock. Lock is for one time use only
10) did I mention poor battery life?
Things that are good: 1) the "EZ Tip Calculator" is good for those who go to restaurants and need to split the bill.
5 Stars out of 5

I like it dude

Reviewed on Saturday May 15, 2004 by Mohammad Khan, Toronto
I bought the LG 4600, but the sound quality was poor, it droped signals quite a lot. Then I changed the phone to LG5450. Its awesome. It has very good sound quality (crystal clear). Comparing to LG4600 its way better. In addition I have a pretty good built in camera. Its really worth the money I spent
1 Star out of 5

Good phone, bad design

Reviewed on Friday December 5, 2003 by Seth, Ottawa
Great phone, nice color display, but lacks flash, and it's not that attractive looking either. It's a lot thicker than my Samsung A520. Performance wise is ok, but if you're more into design and style, go with the Audiovox 8900.

Featured Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter: