LG 5400 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG 5400 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 23 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5

LG 5400 = very, very reliable

Reviewed on Thursday January 3, 2008 by , Canada
Mine will be three-years-old this week.
Never broken. Speakers are perfect. Reception has always been stellar.
It's pretty ancient now, I guess. But I absolutely love it and will be buying LG phones for life.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday March 31, 2006 by , canada
I have had this phone for about a year now. I had to get the speaker for the ear peice replaced. It is now sent away to get fixed again, won't recience calls, won't pick up charger when charger is connected and shuts off on it's own. Don't buy this phone!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday October 8, 2005 by , Alberta
After 11 months the phone works perfectly except it can't find service. A friend who bought the same phone at the same time is having problems with the charging connection and has been waiting 3 months for a temp phone they had to pay 25 dollars for. I cancelled my service as a local dealer stated the provider may try to claim the phone got wet as there are 2 desicators on the phone. The only moisture it saw was possible condensation from being left in the vechile. Both my friend and myself purchased extended warranty what a waste of money that was.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday August 31, 2005 by , Canada
Just got this phone a few hours ago, I was torn between this one and a Sumsung. I like it so far, except for the cheesy football sequences that play when you turn it on and off, is there a way to get rid of that? Also I find the browser very slow, and I have problems even connecting. Maybe it's just a busy time of evening, thus slowing it down or something. I also agree about the stupid ringtunes, and if I could get online then I'd get some new ones. Those are my only compaints so far; I like the menu setup and the features are easy to use. Cute little phone.
4 Stars out of 5

Good, Solid Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday July 26, 2005 by , Winnipeg
I have had the LG 5400 for about 5 months now, and I really like it. I haven't had any problems with dropped calls, and although it does sometimes search for a signal, it's usually in places either out of town or enclosed (basements and tunnels). I like the outside screen that has both the time and the caller ID. (by the way, I found out that in order to have caller ID work properly, you have to have the phone programmed the exact way that the number shows up on the screen (area code too).)
I don't need a camera or bluetooth on my phone, and love that there is no antenna to break off - is hasn't caused me to have bad reception, so I'm happy with it.
I haven't had any of the problems that others have had (short battery life, dropped calls, random tone emission), and am glad that I chose this phone.
4 Stars out of 5

Durable, compact.

Reviewed on Thursday June 30, 2005 by , Hamilton, ON
I love how small it is when folded, it fits in my front pocket easily. If it had a giant bulky antennae like all the other phones I would have surely destroyed it by now. I've dropped it on the ground a few times, once on cement- and nothing happened to it, even the battery stayed in. It's very solid (as compared to how horribly flimsy the Audiovoxes felt).

It reconnects often when it's underground or in a mall, but it always finds a signal Right Away, only once has it been searching and found nothing (while I was under high tension hydro lines).

I think it's a good little phone. The timestamp thing was annoying at first, but was permanently fixed with like 4 keypresses. The ringers were somewhat annoying, but they're not horrible. I actually enjoy them more now because I use it as an alarm clock, and I don't wake up or answer calls if they don't sound like a 'real ring'. I like the little 'you have a new message' voice option for texts since I use that way more than calling. It's quieter than the ringers and less obtrusive in public.

My friend bought a Samsung a600 at the same time as me. His phone has a camera, and feels 'higher end' than the LG5400 (has a camera and flip screen, nice solid phone, menus are exactly the same as the LG, somewhat weak around the swivelling display), but I like the internal antennae and durability of this phone so much that I'm glad I chose it. The external display is nice too, I notice he's constantly opening and flipping the screen around on his Samsung a600 to see why its ringing, but I can just glance over at mine without opening it.
1 Star out of 5

Worse phone ever!

Reviewed on Saturday June 18, 2005 by , Scarborough, ON
I previously owned an Audiovox 8600 before this one.

Everyone already knows how bad the 8600 is.
My review is: I wish I still had that 8600.

I get no signal anywhere.
Phone is always in power saving mode because there's no signal detection.
Dropped calls all the time.
Horrible interface.
False battery meter.

Should've gone with the Samsung 660.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday June 12, 2005 by , nanaimo
Worst phone I have ever owned. Can't pick up signals. Useless for the week I have owned this. Built in antenna because there probably isn't one.
5 Stars out of 5

Great phone & Great forum

Reviewed on Friday June 10, 2005 by , Ottawa
I've had the phone for about a year now and it's the best one I've owned (and I've owned a few!!!)... I resolved the text message time stamp by changing the world clock... the exterior screen blanked out on me for about a month and I was going to warranty it, but it mysteriously came back.... I just recieved an 'Upgrade' letter from my service provider and for once, "I'm HAPPY"...cheers
3 Stars out of 5

ups n downs

Reviewed on Sunday May 8, 2005 by , victoria
i have had this phone for about 4 months now. i think its a pretty good phone if you dont want major features like a camera n stuff. but the volume is a pain sometimes..its quite loud even on the lowest setting. i also dont like how it always says im roaming or digitally roaming when im in my own house! but considering it doesnt have an antena it gets pretty good reception else where. id recommend this phone if you just want a plain and simple phone.
4 Stars out of 5

LG 5400

Reviewed on Monday April 11, 2005 by , North Bay, ON
The LG5400 is a great phone for those who are shopping for simple cell. No camera, no video, just a cell phone... a rarity these days.

The only complaint I have is the earpiece volume (on the lowest level) is *way* too loud in normal settings, but perfect in noiser environments.

As for this timestamp problem.. I stumbled on the answer:

Menu --> Tools (4) --> World Clock (3)
Then using the navigation key scroll (left or right) until you find the correct timezone for your region and press the left soft key (Set DST).

After which Text messages and the likes should be timestamped correctly.
4 Stars out of 5

preeeeetty good.

Reviewed on Saturday March 26, 2005 by , Burlington, ON
ive had this phone about two months now. im quite satisfied with it, i can always hear it ringing and hear the other person talking which has always been a problem with other cell phones. the web features (downloads, messaging, etc) are great, except, yes, ive had that problem with the timestamp. its kind of annoying. i really like this phone, but the caller ID doesnt work for me? does anybody else notice that? no matter who calls and if i have them in my phone book, it just.. doesnt show up. it says NO CALLER ID. ?hmmm. and apparently no voicemail? whats up with that? i dont know. i like this phone, its just things i dont understand. good buy though.
4 Stars out of 5

Good phone

Reviewed on Monday February 14, 2005 by , Toronto
I don't need a camera, games or any of that stuff. I was looking for a phone with basic features and I got it. If you're looking for a phone without fancy features, this is it. This is a very good phone. I always have great reception. Signal is fine. Out of about 30 calls, it only dropped one. Not bad if you ask me! The ringer I selected is loud and annoying, which is perfect because I always hear my phone, whether I'm outside or on the bus. I did notice the time stamp issue with text messaging. Not sure what the deal is with that but it doesn't affect me.

Overall, good basic phone.
3 Stars out of 5

Text messaging gone bad!?!

Reviewed on Tuesday February 1, 2005 by , Toronto
I bought this phone yesterday. Overall, I'm pleased but I use the text messaging feature A LOT. It seems that there is a problem with the timestamp when receving a message. It stamps the time 4 hours and 59 minutes ahead of time for some reason. Not happy about that.. trying to fix it. I went back to my cell provider and they couldn't even figure out the problem. Anyone else experiencing this!?
3 Stars out of 5

features ok very weak signal

Reviewed on Monday January 31, 2005 by , toronto
I just purchased the lg 5400, not a bad phone when you analyze the features. When it picks up signal you can recieve a call and hear the other person loud and clear. Which is no use if the phone does not pick up the network signal 80% of the time. all the other phones i have had works fine in my room this one just barely picks up anything. Not sure if the phone is to be blame or the carrier. Seems like this one is going back.
3 Stars out of 5

above average, but...

Reviewed on Sunday January 16, 2005 by , edmonton
a good phone in general...

a few things that bug me though...

1. can't edit voice mail number to program the # symbol to enter the voicemail box.

2. talk time should be longer than 3 hours, but it's okay.

3. LG should take a page out of Nokia's books on navigating through the phonebook to edit numbers... way WAY too many key presses.

1 Star out of 5

Is it just me who does not like this phone?

Reviewed on Wednesday January 12, 2005 by , Vancouver
I've had the LG 5400 for two days, and I've had horrible reception. It constantly cuts in and out, whether I'm in my house, in my car, outside, or at work. My Sanyo, that was four years old, had MUCH better reception. I'm taking the LG 5400 back for a refund.
4 Stars out of 5

More or less Basic.

Reviewed on Monday December 27, 2004 by , Toronto, Canada
This phone is perfect for people who do not need addtional option on their phone such as, camera, bluetooth triband and other.
4 Stars out of 5

Good Phone

Reviewed on Wednesday December 22, 2004 by , Ottawa
I have to say, this is a really good phone. I've had it for almost a month now and the reception is soo much better than the last samsung phone I had. The only thing I don't like is the volume button on the side of it, when handling the phone I sometimes hit it by accident. It has good ring tones and it's easy to download screensavers too.
4 Stars out of 5

Good Phone!

Reviewed on Sunday December 12, 2004 by , London
I just got the lg 5400 last week. It is a good looking phone and it works well too. If you are looking to buy a phone I would buy this one!
4 Stars out of 5

Wicked phone!

Reviewed on Friday December 3, 2004 by , Ontario
I just purchased this phone about 2 weeks ago, and its got a lot of use. I love the features on it and the style. Though I have one complaint the volume button is on the side that you hold it so when you pick it up you change the volume.
what I like about it thoguh is, that it has caller ID, and tells you the time from the outside display. I think that if you were to buy a cell phone this phone is a great choice. The one thing that this phone doesn't have that every teenager loves is a camrea. Other than that this phone is GREAT!
4 Stars out of 5

An excellent choice in a cell phone

Reviewed on Sunday November 21, 2004 by , Toronto
I bought this phone after losing the Samsung a-660 that I had before. Having compared the two I much prefer the LG. The reception is many times clearer than it ever was with the samsung. The display is clear and the screen on the front (visible when the phone is closed) provides me with all the information I need without having to flip open the phone. This phone comes with no games and the display is simple but organized. All the functions are easy to use and self-explainatory.

Overall I'm very happy that I went with this phone instead of re-purchasing the samsung phone which I had lost. If you're looking for games, this won't be the phone for you although it is equipped with a mobile browser for downloading applications and ringtones. The LG 5400 is a high quality product.
4 Stars out of 5

So far so good...

Reviewed on Tuesday November 16, 2004 by , toronto
Ok... so it's no Samsung, (which is the phone I originally intended on buying) but the clarity and reception is amazing. The one thing that I find truly annoying is it's shape. I'm not sure if it's because the phone is too wide or if my hand is too small for the phone, but it just feels a bit awkward. Another thing, this LG seems hella organized and so easy to use. It is the perfect phone for those who don't care about games, camera and all the other fancy things that come with phones now-a-days.