LG 240 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG 240 has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 17 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

My first cellphone

Reviewed on Monday January 19, 2009 by , Montreal,QC
This one was my first cellphone (I lost it :( ). I don't have many things about this phone to complaining about (MP3 Player... AWESOME !) Except that the camera was CHEAP but could do the job.

NO ! BLUETOOTH DOESN'T WORK and after 1 month i had to change it cause the speaker blew out (SOOOOOOO POWERFUL !). Except those incidents, that was a good first phone.
2 Stars out of 5

A phone with problems

Reviewed on Friday September 5, 2008 by , Mississauga, Ontario
I got this phone in Apr.2008 and used for five months now. The battery level indicator doesn’t work properly. The battery dies completely when there are two bars remain. The battery life is also short compare with my previous cell phone (Nokia 3220). Another problem is that the battery continues to drain even after the power is turned off. I turn off power of this phone during the weekend. It happened a couple of times that the battery is completely died on Monday. It is a surprise that the phone continue to drain battery power after the phone is turned off or another possibility is that the battery has a very high leaking rate, i.e., even it is not in use, it discharges quickly by itself. The phone can display photo taken by other camera. But need to down size the photo to 640 X 480 or smaller. I have used several LG products before. Generally, LG products work fine. This phone is the bottom performer among them. This phone has several problems. However, for the price, you can not expect a great phone. That is my opinion.
2 Stars out of 5

Waste of money!

Reviewed on Thursday August 28, 2008 by , Napierville QC
I bought this phone and unable to get to connect to PC. Cannot use my mp3 player. Speaker phone, if you find it tell me 'cause still looking for it. And try to get on the phone for tech support....GOOD LUCK! Really disapointing!
2 Stars out of 5

Not the best

Reviewed on Thursday March 13, 2008 by , Toronto
I mostly only use it for texting, so I can't say much about the reception.

What I REALLY don't like is the antenna..and how there is no place for my to hang my charms! So it's kinda dull looking. Also the picture quality isn't great and you can't set MP3s as ringtones. And you can't have a custom message tone (which was worst for me!). You also can't delete the pictures and ringtones that the phone comes with, so it wastes space.

This phone pretty much frustrates me..a LOT.
1 Star out of 5

LG 240 lack of quality & service

Reviewed on Thursday December 27, 2007 by , Montreal
Bought this phone and unable to get to connect to PC: each time asks for reloading of drivers. Bluetooth does not work. LG offers no tech support but recomends I send the phone back. i certainly will but likely to be my last LG phone
2 Stars out of 5

3 Problems

Reviewed on Tuesday November 20, 2007 by , Canada
In my user guide it says I have a Zoom feature on the phone...but not that I can find. It also says it's a speakerphone...ahhh, I can't find that feature either. Also where is the flash for the camera on this phone. Anyone have any answers for me on any of the above..I'd much appreciate your assistance. Thanks
3 Stars out of 5

Mediocre phone

Reviewed on Thursday November 15, 2007 by , USA
I bought this one after I dropped my razor in water.
This phone has some serious issues:
BLUETOOTH: It can't connect to any bluetooth headset. THis is so frustrating.
SD card: I bought 2GB microSD card to replace the 512MB and it can't read it!!!
Reception: OK types but drops it once in a while.
MP3: Can't set MP3 as ringtones.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday November 12, 2007 by , coldwater
I need help i dont knwo whats wrong with my phone!!
I installed everyhting properly but now its says my hard ware or driver was not in stalled properly and it wont connect to my pc what do i do??
4 Stars out of 5

ring tunes

Reviewed on Sunday October 7, 2007 by , malton
i hate the ring tunes but other then that farley good phone i would like to know how to get my songs as ring tunesss
5 Stars out of 5

i happen to love this phone!!

Reviewed on Thursday May 17, 2007 by , canada
so far this phone has been great!!! i've had it for over a month now and well thiers nothing that i didnt like..... ok maybe the contact picture thing is bad but i can live with it and sure the ring tones are bad i put it on vibrit welll becaues im in class most of the time. i've only had 2 problem with this phone and they are, the bluetooth dosnt work i cant send to anybody and no one can sent to me and to tell u the truth i dont need the bluetooth and every once in a while a buzzing sound comes but it goes away fast................ this is my first cell phone and its my baby i love it!
1 Star out of 5

may 8, 2007

Reviewed on Tuesday May 8, 2007 by , surrey, bc
this LG240 has been a VERY BIG PROBLEM and nothing but problem for the past few months.
it wasn't working since the day one, was sent for repair twice, then i had it replaced with the same phone, had SIM card replaced and it still doesn't work.
******* was less than helpfull in solving this problem, they now offer to replace it with basic phone without camera which of course is not an option.
1 Star out of 5

Second to worst phone ever owned

Reviewed on Monday March 19, 2007 by , Montreal
Without a doubt this phone is a complete waste of money. The best thing about it is that it comes with a 512 mb transflash card. After having this phone for a month I can honestly say I am kicking myself for buying it. It's not just that it has a noticeable lack of features but also what features it does have it implements poorly.
1 - The screen is glitchey. I have noticed that it will at times have a discernable line running through it making the text appear almost like it's in italics. This is also apparent when you click the camera button on the side when the phone is closed in order to see the time.
2 - Faulty/poor implmented ring tones. The included ring tones are complete garbage (forget about using mp3's), and it took me a million years to get the phone to accept a different ring tone than the default when I chose the vibrate then ring option (the trick it to choose the "ring" option only and choose the desired tone and receive a few calls)
3 - Inconvenient placement for memory. The included transflash goes next to the SIM, but it doesn't slide into any pop up slot or groove, you just have to kind of push the securing cover down and slide it up into the lock position and hope the card is placed correctly.
4 - Poor reception. I have started getting dropped calls in different locations where no other phone I have had over the past few years have had dropped calls, like downtown Montreal or in my bedroom (seriously 4 dropped calls in a row).
5 - Lack of any good synchro software. To say that this phones management software is useless is an understatement. Its buggy, ugly, and doesn't really do much (almost easier to enter stuff with the keypad).

Battery life and souond quality are acceptable but nothing to write home about, while the camera is a joke. Forget using previously snapped picture for a contact photo, you have to navigate to the contact, choose to edit and then snap the photo for it to work.

All in all this is a phone to avoid..... seriously.
4 Stars out of 5

Decent Phone

Reviewed on Friday March 9, 2007 by , Canada
I find the phone to be very good, however the owners guide is confusing.

The section on how to transfer songs to the phone should explicitly state the following:

Within the menu on the phone select "9 - Settings, 7 - Connection, 4 - Mass Storage. The phone will display that it is in "Mass Storage" mode. Using the USB cable plug the phone into your PC/Laptop.

The phone will be recognized as a separate drive on your PC (ie E:). Now Drag and Drop (Copy & Paste) your MP3's from the PC's harddrive into the the Phone's MP3 folder.

Once the transfer is complete safely disconnet the USB cable using Window's "Safely Remove Hardware" function.
1 Star out of 5

Horrible phone

Reviewed on Monday February 26, 2007 by , Here
The phone is the most terrible one i've ever had.

After getting the phone, i fully charged the battery and then proceeded to install the software. The software has serious usability issues (including the fact that none of the instructions mention the drivers were on the cd it came with and that it was necessary to install them separately, for the software to work). Yes, it's a no brainer for alot of people...but it was not something I realized.

Then the next day (with a fully charged phone), the battery died within 6 hours of non-use.

I plugged in the memory card to my laptop and uploaded mp3s and jpgs. Apparently photos taken with the phone are saved as jpgs...but when jpgs are uploaded to the phone, they are not recognized formats. So i couldn't even set the backgrounds to what I wanted.

Then i tested bluetooth functionality. It had no bluetooth services installed and you can't install any.

One week later (barely touched the phone at that point since nothing really worked), I was still determined to keep the phone (partly because it looked nice and mostly because everyone was laughing at my buying an LG phone).

The last straw came when it just stopped working out of the blue. The phone allowed me to dial, but would not connect (the screen would go blank... almost like a screen saver mode). Using another phone to test, i called my own cell number - the phone did not even ring, but went to voice mail.

That was when I finally used my land line to call and ask about how I could be reimbursed for such a terrible product.
1 Star out of 5

Not great... features do not work

Reviewed on Friday February 16, 2007 by , Vancouver
As a Phone, It's fine.

The software that comes with it does not work.

To Upload a song to the memory card.... you must hit :
1. OK
2. Hit 9
3. Hit 7
4. Hit 4

This connects you to your computer but i only learned this on another site.... the instructions say something totally different.

Camera works ok. Very sensitive to movement though.

I have no idea how to work the speakerphone.
I have no idea how to get an MP3 as the Ringtone.

Overall.... the phone is ok. The features are laughable and very misleading or outright wrong.
5 Stars out of 5

I disagree with the bottom guy

Reviewed on Saturday January 20, 2007 by , vancouver bc canada
this phone would not be 'the' best but it's quite ok. The bluetooth works. I connected it to a bluetooth transmitter for my keyboard and its fine. I connected it to a motorola bluetooth headset and it seems to work fine. As for the MP3 it works but the software doesnt. So basically if you can find a way to get into your phone with the USB then thats great. For me, i took apart the phone (just the case and battery) to get the memory card, i inserted the SD mini into the SD mini to SD changer that came with the phone. I inserted it into my printer and then i could access the card. Apparently, the software makes 3 files onto the card. I accesed the one named MP3/Music and went inside it. Then I put all my favorite songs into it and when i put everything back it seemed to work. The speakers were good, u liked the overall of this phone. Though if there was a few things to improve, i would say chaning the bluetooth to bluetooth 2.0 as i think its not compatible enough. And the earplugs, its not that they are bad or anything but it would be good to have a cuter style like iPod headphones with the talking thing. The games were crap. though i liked the fact that you could set a picture for the display and it didn't stretch like a few samsung phones. I like this phone because its kinda slim but not too slim like the razr. I think a good alternitive to this phone would be the motorola pebl, i like the round design. Overal, this phone is quite good. My friend uses this phone in noisy areas with lots of frequency and things but the bluetooth headset is fine so i would highly reccomend this phone to people.
1 Star out of 5

dont buy this phone, il tell you why

Reviewed on Wednesday January 10, 2007 by , ottawa
I had seen the LG240 at many cell phone stores. From the looks of it, the phone is sleek, cute and well made. A good buy you'd think? The price is reasonable, and the features seem to be great, "seem" is the keyword. After having this phone for one week, I already began having problems. LG SUCKS by the way. I used to think it was just a rumor , but yes they are not known for their phones. The first problem I had was uploading mp3 to the phone, as one of the features is that it is an mp3 phone. They give you a program to install and everything however the program doesn't work. After calling LG i was told that I had to do it another way, which meant going to my computer. The poing on includiong program software no idea! After figuring that out, I realised you are unable to set mp3s as ringtones. And the ringtones that come included truly do suck very badly. Camera wise, takes decent photos but they always look different once you view them in ur folder. Also after a couple of photos it switches to your memory card, internal memory is very small apparently. Once that occurs it says you have to reformat your card - another problem. You basicaly have to turn off the phone and take out the memory card and put it back in to get your phone working. THE BIGGEST PROBLEM OF ALL. It really bugs me when a phone says it included a feature, and then the feature does not work. BLUETOOTH - if you want it , don't get this phone! It does not connect to any phone whatsoever, and I even went back to the store to see if maybe I got a deffected one, and that one didnt work either. Even the store employee LG is not a good brand and will gladly return my phone for me. SOME other phones may locate you using bluetooth however DONT GET YOUR HOPES UP, once tryign to connect it says FAILED ! What a great feature to have on your phone - especially when it doesn't work. Sadly, this was my very first phone and a very big dissapointment I must say. I am now in search of a better phone. My best advice. Don't buy for looks, buy for quality. Make sure it works before you think its "cute".