Kyocera 5135 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Kyocera 5135 has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 9 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

software problems

Reviewed on Sunday September 19, 2004 by , quebec
It's the second time in 16 months that i have problems with this phone, as i can see i'm not the only one. They will replace my phone but i still lose all my contacts. I don't mind paying for a service but when will they finally make a phone that just simply "works" with no internet, gadgets, cameras... all that.
1 Star out of 5

bad getting worse

Reviewed on Tuesday September 14, 2004 by , winnipeg
I bought this particular phone about a year ago. It started off alright losing ocassional calls but has since started continously searching. The speaker fades out and people can hear me and I cannot hear them. It misses calls without ringing, it changes ring tones on its own. I have brought it in for repairs twice and have continous problems with it. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. I have several friend who have purchased the same phone and all are experiencing the same problems.
2 Stars out of 5

kyocera 5135

Reviewed on Sunday September 12, 2004 by , Ontario Canada
We have two of them. One for my daughter and one for me. Hers has been OK, but she complains that it loses signal in buildings. I too, have the same problem. This is the second One that I have owned. My first one died. Bell Norcom replaced the unit. I would lose calls, signals, and I also had a problem with the flip area as the phone would just cut out. The first one seemed to pick up moisture from somewhere and it coroded inside..who knew..:-)?...I guess it was the wire going from the phone to the flip, that had also caused another problem in the first phone. So far the second phone has been OK..but I am again losing antenna strength. Each week I notice my signal bars are becoming less and less, I used to have I have 2 that show up...which is what occured with my first phone. I find that the phone is not durable. The finish is coming off this phone, from keeping it in my pocket, so I do not lose it. I can see the white/yellow plastic of the case. I am in the market for another phone. pretty sure it will not be a flip phone this time. It has given me fairly good service, but at times seems to be unreliable when you need it most. Battery is very good, but since mine roams and looks for a signal at my place of work..the battery life is usually done after 9 hours or work. Need to have a better RF. Small keys...thank god for speed fingers are too large for the pad, but I make it work. I would give it an overall rating of 2 1/2 out of 5....not the worst, but not the best either..OK for the family or younger kids in Public school.
1 Star out of 5

Worst phone ever, stay away!

Reviewed on Wednesday September 8, 2004 by , Canada
This phone is horrible, There is a problem with the flex wire in the hinge and it always cuts out the speaker after a while. You won't be able to hear who your calling but they can hear you, it's really annoying. I'm on my 3rd phone of this model and it just started acting up again and now my warranty has expired. Oh yea and the reception problem, recall I got that on my second one along with the speaker problem. This cell is garbage.
4 Stars out of 5

4 Stars

Reviewed on Monday August 30, 2004 by , winnipeg, mb
For those who don't need all the fancy junk on your phone. This is a great phone. The reception's great, and the battery stays on for a long time. You can go really far with this phone, it was always 3 bars or all four would be on. Texting is fast, and web browser is actually pretty fast. It takes but a moment to connect. It has some great accessories too, like the calculator and tip calculator are a must. And the alarms works beautifully by the way. The only reason people would bad mouth this phone is because it's not a color screen or any fancy stuff. Everybody know's the more junk a phone has, the less reception you get and the more it eats up your battery.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday August 25, 2004 by , Vancouver, BC
This is my 4th time I've had a problem with my phone. It's been fixed and replaced. Problem is that you can't hear the person on the other end of the phone. They can hear you but you can't hear them. I'm on a two year contract and the warranty is over on my phone. Wish I had done my research on this phone before I got it. DO NOT get this phone!
1 Star out of 5

Beware!! Problem Phone!!

Reviewed on Monday January 26, 2004 by , Norfolk, VA

I am writing concerning the various problems I have been having with my Kyocera 5135 phone. For one, in the 9 months that I have had it, this is my fourth phone of this same type. It seems like every couple of months something new goes wrong with the phone, and I take it in to my service povider (Alltel) and they give me a new one, which also goes bad in a matter of months. Now this one has gone bad. I was on the phone on Saturday, January 24, 3004 when suddenly the phone completely turned off. When I tried to turn it back on, only the backlighting came on. So now, I can make and receive phone calls, but I cant see who is calling me, or what numbers I am calling. I know that if I go into Alltel all they are going to do is give me another Kyocera 5135, which will eventually malfunction again. With having four phones, I have also had three (home) chargers. They too seem to stop working after a few months. When it broke the first time, Alltel was gracious enough to provide me with a new one for free, but when it happened the second time I had to purchase a charger (and trust me they are not cheap). With me being away at school, I need to have a reliable phone that I can count on. What I am basically saying is, I purchased a Kyocera 5135 for $200.000, I would like to get my money's worth.


1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday December 30, 2003 by , toronto, on
I hated this phone. If I could give it 0 stars I would. Soon after I bought it, I had many problems with it. First, when I would talk to someone, the volume would suddenly get so low that I could not hear the person talking. So I took it in to get changed. Then the next phone I got wouldn't connect properly. It would show that it was dialing, but I would hear no ringing or the other person if they picked up...but they would hear me. And I found myself constantly adjusting the antenna to get a proper connection. So finally when I took it in for the second time I got a whole new different phone since bell discontinued selling this one because of all the problems it had. I hated it, and glad to be rid of it. My new phone works fine :)
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday November 17, 2003 by , Moncton, NB
I think this is a great phone however there has been a recall on some of the Kyocera 5135's....After about 10 months of owning my phone it began to continually say "Searching" on the screen. I couldn't receive or make any calls. I took my phone back to the dealer and they told me that there is a recall on some Kyocera 5135 cell phones. The way to tell if your's has a recall is ... remove the battery look at the sticker on the phone itself....Just below the barcode there is a a # ... D: ######### the right of that # there is a 3 digit # .... If that # is lower than 300...your phone has a recall.

Hope this helps ...

My replacement works excellent by the way !!