HTC S720 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The HTC S720 has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 20 reviews.

2 Stars out of 5

Hate this phone

Reviewed on Saturday March 28, 2009 by , Newfoundland
I purchased this phone about 9 months ago. From the beginning it would shut off everytime I sent or received a text message and it would require me to remove the battery and start it again.

As many of the " helpful people" on here said, I was told that it would freeze if you are running too many programs. The only thing I do is make and receive calls and send and receive text messages. I wish I could use media player... but if I even click on it, it freezes. I've done 4 master resets and am removing and replacing the battery up to a dozen times a day. They finally agreed to send me a replacement phone today... and who knows what I'll be getting when it arrives.

FYI, I was told by a rep today that after 6 months, it is common for this phone to shut off at random and freeze every few days. I don't regret anything in my life nor would I go back and change anything, but that was before I bought this phone. I wish I could go back in time and pick any other phone, this one isn't worth the hassle.
2 Stars out of 5

Don't buy it !

Reviewed on Thursday March 26, 2009 by , Montreal
It freezes so many times...after 2 battery changed , now it's been totally dead after 1 year only !
1 Star out of 5

Piece of C***

Reviewed on Wednesday February 11, 2009 by , Ottawa
I saw this phone and thought I have to have it. Well as it turns out the phone is garbage. The phone freezes, turns off even with a full battery. Doesn't hold a battery charge, phone service is worse than ever. The media player rarely plays an entire song or video clip. I should have stayed with my outdated phone at least it worked properly and didn't end up costing me more a month in service.
1 Star out of 5

Junk, don't buy...

Reviewed on Monday January 19, 2009 by , Canada
Batteries die quickly. I'm on my second, now it won't even function when plugged into power. Can't find a replacement battery. It's clunky and sucks... Well the qwerty keyboard is cool... Freezes, opening back to change battery. now the back is broken and held on by scotch tape 'cos I can't find a replacement....

stay away from this!
3 Stars out of 5

HTC S720

Reviewed on Saturday November 29, 2008 by , Newfoundland
Im 16 and i got this phone in april and i have had no problems with it freezing or anything else. Ive droped mine so many times and nothing has went wrong with it and i dont keep it in the case that comes with it either. I think its a great phone. Im still on my first one so hopefully nothing that happened to your guys will happen to mine. I thnik you guys are just having bad luck.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday October 16, 2008 by , Toronto
Ok so when i first saw this phone, i thought it would be perfect for my lifestyle since i'm always texting. THIS PHONE IS GARBAGE. Its been replaced twice..and i still do not have a phone that works. I find it amazing how [service provider] wants to charge for a data plan which i can not use on this garbage phone. First it started freezing...then even after charging my phone for a whole soon as i remove the charger the phone tells me the battery is low. So please people do not get any HTC phones, The wing also does the same thing. HTC YOU SUCK...Im getting myself a blackberry
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday October 15, 2008 by , Abbotsford, BC
I have gone through 5 of these phones in 5 months.
I mean there are some very good features, and it is fairly easy to use, if you can manage not to get a defective one.
Everything that can go wrong has.
From my music player, to dropping calls, to muting all my calls.
I would not recommend it at all, because even if you take it in to get fixed the phones they then give you are still broken.
I would never recommend it to anyone.
2 Stars out of 5

Yea it's crap

Reviewed on Wednesday September 10, 2008 by , ontario
I believe it's crap too! I'm on my third phone today. First one lasted me 5 months, second one just ONE month, now lets see how long the third one will last!

I don't suggest purchasing it!! Get the iPhone! haha
1 Star out of 5

HTC S720

Reviewed on Wednesday August 6, 2008 by , my house
comeon for a smart phone it really is crap. they take a beating,, mine still works perfectly fine after flying off my car roof on the highway lol. i cant take the videos from my phone and view them on my computer,, the program for the phone doesnt recocgnize them, neither does all my other thousands of media players,,, andd pocket express shouldnt be so delayed on working,, they need to update these things and auctually fix these issues,, a mini pc should freeze because of sending a text message,, allthough the best way to unfreeze the phone is to hold the power buttons for just a lil over a second and it unfreezes but u gotta press other buttons while doing it,, gl ,, if u know how to view your cell phone vids on the comp pleaseeeeee email me!!!! id appreciate it
1 Star out of 5

definitely junk

Reviewed on Tuesday August 5, 2008 by , Toronto
have to agree - 3 refurbished phones later - it is a piece of junk. freezing is constant - stay away from the phone.
unfortunately it is the best design for texting, but not much help if text messages won't send! arghhh|!
5 Stars out of 5

iece of junk

Reviewed on Friday August 1, 2008 by , Timmins ,ontario
i agree this phone is a peice of junk. i had mine now for 7 months and its been replaced 4 times.3 of the 4 times because the keypad buttons wouldnt work or theyd jam and the last time because it was constantly freezing up even though i was closing the applications with the task bar. not too mention low battery life.the last i had it replaced the only other device they would offer me for free was the samsung m210 which i reluctantly took. i had problems with that too so i swpped back to the htc. about 5 days ago i called in to cancel my account as i had enough but the only thing that saved me was they offered me a retention plan for $17 which includes 250 daytime minutes, myFaves nationwide, free incoming, text 250, and unlimited long distance. they also offered offered me the old unlimited data plan which includes browsing ,email,and IM for $15. not a bad deal so that saved me from cancelling so what im gonna do with the money im saving is buy another phone off someone else so that way i wont get another long i said . it is a piece of junk.if your thinking about getting it dont.its not worth it
1 Star out of 5

same problems

Reviewed on Monday June 2, 2008 by , toronto
I have been having the same freezing problems as other users and when given a replacement phone a week later the front panel other that the keyboard does not work and it will randomly call the most recent number on my call list so basically i have to either keep an eye on the phone at all times or have it off until i use it have written customer support and am waiting for a reply. Seems to me there are alot of problems with this phone as my old one also after a time would not charge anymore
5 Stars out of 5

I dont think people realize

Reviewed on Tuesday May 27, 2008 by , place
that with this device when you open something (say msn or the internet browser) and then go on to do something else, it leaves msn on which sucks up memory. So I think its freezing because people don't bother (or don't know how) to shut down programs. clicking the hangup button DOES NOT SHUT DOWN THE PROGRAM.

1 Star out of 5

Stay Away!!

Reviewed on Tuesday April 29, 2008 by , Ontario
I've had nothing but problems with this phone, and I've only had it for 4 months.
I've had 2 models, and have both also been reset.
They constantly freeze, and reset themselves whenever they please. I can be in the middle of a conversation, and it will just restart.
Even asked an associate, and she even admitted to me that the phone constantly has problems. Called customer service, was assured that I would get a new phone (same model) the next time I went into the store, and to no surprise, I was told I would only be getting a refurbished model. Not happy at all.
1 Star out of 5

Worst phone ever

Reviewed on Friday April 18, 2008 by , Alberta
My phone alwasy freezes up at least 2 or more times a day i have took it in for warreny and 2 week later did the same the. Stay away from this phone
5 Stars out of 5

No Problems...

Reviewed on Thursday April 3, 2008 by , Vaughan, ON
I've been hearing that this phone has had a lot of problems but (knock on wood) I've had none. Well, it has frozen on me but only when i was trying to do too much at once. It's also frozen when i was trying to access the internet while a call was coming in (this has only happened once as i realized the problem). But besides that, I absolutely love this phone! I use it constantly and the battery will typically last me a full day. This is probably the best phone i've ever had. I've had it for about 3 months now and can't really complain. My fiancee also has this phone which he bought before Christmas and he hasn't had any problems either.

but i would just like to say in regards to the freezing...remember that this phone is just like a little computer...if you're trying to run too many apps on your computer it will start slowing down and possibly freeze. So when you're trying to do too much with this phone it will do the same.
1 Star out of 5

Not Worth It

Reviewed on Tuesday February 5, 2008 by , Ottawa
I bought this phone just before Christmas and it has been a nightmare. It freezes all the time, I can't change my profile so it's on permanent silence, it shuts itself down constantly, and the camera freezes constantly. This phone is more trouble than it's worth.
5 Stars out of 5

HTC S720

Reviewed on Tuesday December 25, 2007 by , canada
I disagree. I have had nothing but good things to say to everyone about this phone. I've had none of the issues that you have both had. Perhaps just bad luck?

I still stand by my opinion that this is quite possibly the best phone I have had.
1 Star out of 5

RE: Piece of Junk

Reviewed on Wednesday December 19, 2007 by , Winnipeg, MB
I second this review that this phone is a piece of junk!

Do not buy this phone for it's looks. Trust me it's not worth it.
I had to take my phone back on 10 different occassions because my phone was freezing, the keys would not work, not able to answer calls and the camera turning on and off. The only way to resolve the issue for a short period of time is removing the battery.
Should I add, the battery does not hold a charge that well.

I have brought this up many times with my cell phone provider * [service provider] * if you do not have a product with them good! DONT! Whenever I called the representatives knew nothing about the phone and was rude. The phone had to be replaced many times, once getting fed up for having to constantly take the phone back, I requested either an upgrade which is fair, or to cancel my contract. Neither of these options were granted.

Consider this fair warning, if you choose not to listen to what has been described. Well then you are a sucker for punishment.
1 Star out of 5

Piece of Junk

Reviewed on Sunday September 30, 2007 by , Kingston, ON
Im just writing this to inform everyone NOT to buy this phone unless you want to take it back THREE times because of different problems. First, my earphone was broke when I first got the phone so I had to take it back and all they would do is replace it with the same phone. Now Im taking it back because it will freeze on me, I have missed serval very important calls because of this problem not to mention the hassel of having to take the battery out every time. I am taking it back today so they better give me a whole new phone.