Audiovox CDM 8600 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Audiovox CDM 8600 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 19 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

I like the clown!

Reviewed on Monday May 30, 2005 by , Michigan
This is my first cellphone so I don't know about the other ones but I still say it's very reliable. Although I have trouble with the voice command feature. The phone charges very quickly. As you can tell by the title, I love the clown when it turns on!:) So overall I give it a thumps up!
4 Stars out of 5

Its good, but it has its bad sides

Reviewed on Saturday January 29, 2005 by , Nevada
Well, like someone said, you cant go into your phone book while your on the phone to get a phone number, or anything like that. Sometimes, even though it says I have GREAT reception, some people can't hear me.. Other then that, I love the phone. Its awesome..
1 Star out of 5

phone sucks

Reviewed on Saturday January 15, 2005 by , winnipeg
I think this phone sucks! The battery life on it is junk and overall it just isn't worth getting. I would not ever recommend it to anyone. Don't buy it you will be very unhappy.
2 Stars out of 5

Audiovox CDM 8600

Reviewed on Wednesday December 29, 2004 by , Toronto
Missed calls, poor reception and, worst of all, the display screen has decided, without warning, not to work anymore. As one guy at a BellMobility store said - "If I've seen one of these things puke - I've seen 20 of them for the same reason." Now I can't see who's calling and (of course) can't retrieve my stored numbers to transfer them to a new phone. This phone lasted all of 13 months - 1 month beyond warranty. Just perfect.
3 Stars out of 5

Not that great

Reviewed on Sunday December 19, 2004 by , Montreal
It was funny to read the first review at the bottom of the page (Anton, Toronto). The overkill on the spelling mistakes reveals a Bell employee much too easily. Bell is normally a lot better at inserting self-serving comments into review boards... Anyways, the phone is half-decent - signal strength around Ottawa & Montreal (even in some metro stations) is much better than a year ago. It would be nice if it was a bit easier to flip it open with one hand. The major problem is the dust collecting beneath the screen. This happens with many Audiovox phones, and says something very bad about the Audiovox QA team... If it only took 3 weeks for dust to collect in my phone's screen, Audiovox must not be QA'ing their phones for more than 3 weeks.
1 Star out of 5

Pure garbage

Reviewed on Sunday November 21, 2004 by , Scarborough
Worse phone I have ever owned.

First off, screen is not properly sealed, so dust collects on the interior part of the screen. After a few weeks, there is so much dust, you can barely see the screen at all in the sun.

Secondly, the screen goes blank from time to time. Can't even see who's calling or who you're dialing.

Third, missed calls galore. Missed calls even when you have a full signal strength bar.

Forth and the worse of all, ... you can't even review your phonebook or input phone numbers when you're using it. So if someone calls, and asks for a number you have, you have to hang-up and call them back with the number later.

2 Stars out of 5

Phone sucks

Reviewed on Monday November 1, 2004 by , Montréal
I purchased several of these phones for my company's corporate plan. I wanted a flip phone with an external caller id and there were no other models. After using it for 1 month, I've found 2 big problems. The signal strength is very weak which results in alot of missed calls and the battery life is nothing close to what the specs say that it should be. I would not recommend this phone to anybody.
2 Stars out of 5

What a very bad phone

Reviewed on Thursday October 7, 2004 by , Montgomery,Alabama
I went out and purchased the phone in June of 2004 and i thought it was a very cool phone. Later on within the first month it started freezing up on me so i would just remove the battery and it would work fine. On today October the 7, exactly three months and one day later the phone comes on but you can not see anything on the screen. You can dial numbers but you dont know who you are dialing, the screen is steady black. When i get my new phone, i do not want to get another peice of junk like this.
1 Star out of 5

Same Old, same old

Reviewed on Thursday October 7, 2004 by , Ottawa Canada
I was sold the unit by a breathless twenty something who said it was great. Five months later after missing MANY calls, another twenty something tells me "Oh it's not very good, we're [Bell] going to stop carrying it next month".

Battery life: unused 48 hours

Battery life: Used, 24 hours.

Pretty much every claim made in the owners manual has failed to materialize. A friend in the industry said, 'the colour screens kill battery life. Go mono.

It was cute, pretty, and I took the advice of a kid. I got burned.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday September 29, 2004 by , st-eustache
je manque beaucoup d'appel parce que si le flip est fermer on n'entend pas les sonnerie la 3/4 du temp. il faudrais laisser le flip ouvert pour ne pas manquer d'appel. ca un mois que j'ai acheter ce telephone et je le regrette au plus haut point.
1 Star out of 5

What a piece of junk

Reviewed on Monday July 26, 2004 by , Edmonton
This is the worst phone i have ever owned. It occasionally locks up and won't accept incoming calls. You only realize this when you go to make a call and see that the signal strength bar is empty and you can't make an outgoing call. You can't power the phone down, it locks up so you have to pull the battery to restart it. Ringers suck, you can't download any normal ring tones (ie ring ring, isn't that how a phone is suposed to sound, I'm not 14 years old, I don't need an Nsync ringing, I'm 30 years old). Motorola V60 was the best phone ever, when you compare this to Moto its a disappointment. I think I'm going to throw it out my sunroof the next time someone tailgates me on the freeway!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday June 20, 2004 by , ottawa
everything is good, some people said that the ringer volume is bad, but it is PERFECT if you got normal hearing.

AND BY THE WAY...bell is the cheapest! my 50 cents!
1 Star out of 5

Hated it !!

Reviewed on Monday May 31, 2004 by , Hamilton
I switched from Telus to Bell and got 2 of these phones.
I liked the small size and color screen, BUT the reception was AWFUL on both phones. In a wide open area in the middle of town keep getting "call failed". Constantly misses calls and text messages.
I'm not all that impressed with Bell's customer service so far either. Hopefully it's a bad release of this phone and Audiovox has a fix for it cause one of the phones is over the 300 minute warranty.
4 Stars out of 5

Very Good Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday May 25, 2004 by , Vaughan
Its a verry good phone, thoe the ringer can be a bit louder and the software is a bit buggy (im sure audiovox and bell will fix that), the software bugs include, occasionaly crashing when i turn off the phone and not wait for the clown to go off and put the charger in (have to take out battery to reset it), during a call i cant pull up the phonebook, and the speakerphone volume is pretty low in normal situtations..

other then those lil bugs the phone is super!
bell can get its act straight and fix the issue with reception in certain areas :P
4 Stars out of 5

Text ringer can change

Reviewed on Friday April 23, 2004 by , Calgary, AB
I bought this phone a week or so ago, and then read these reviews, I was disappointed to see the text ringer couldn't be changed, but it can!

go to "SMS main" (the down arrow key that looks like an envelope)
then "Settings"
then "Alert"
I hope this helps everyone.
The phone has been fantastic so far, but It looks like the owners manual might need some work!

3 Stars out of 5

Disapointed but Sufficient

Reviewed on Tuesday April 6, 2004 by , St. John's
I was disappointed with the ringer quality. It isn't very loud and when put on the highest volume has poor sound quality. As well the text notification is merely a beeping noise that cannot be changed. Other then these few minor problems everything else seems to be sufficient. I had no problems with signal or battery. Overall I feel that the model is ok but I will be purchasing a new model as soon as I can.
3 Stars out of 5

very good phone but one stupid feature

Reviewed on Monday February 16, 2004 by , Port Moody, BC
I have had the phone for 2 months now and I love it but I am only disappointed in one's the supposed "quick find" feature when searching in your address book. I have many numbers and names in the address book and the phone should find the person's number with one or two clicks. However, if you hit the "S" to look for names that start with "S" you won't believe finds the first letter "S" in your address book weather at the beginning of the name, in the middle, or at the end. So while searching for "Steve" for example, it first goes to "Allison" then "Cassy." Stupid eh? So I entered "St" and it goes to "Mac Station" I practically have to spell the whole name. How quick is that? Very stupid logic. If you don't have many people in your address book you won't be bothered. Other than that...I love the phone.
3 Stars out of 5

Signal Strength Disappointing

Reviewed on Wednesday January 21, 2004 by , St. Catharines, Ontario
My wife and I bought 2 of the 8600 models because of its ergonomics and features and we are both very pleased in these categories. I find it's ability to pull in the signal is weak unless it is outdoors or close to outdoors. I sometimes work in the basement of buildings and in many cases I can't receive a signal. My old Nokia cell phone was far superior in that regard. I suppose for 2 years we will have to live with this limitation.
5 Stars out of 5

Amazing Phone!

Reviewed on Saturday November 29, 2003 by , Toronto
Bell always had good phones, but this one is amazand and cheap too! It has no games but u can download them, has lots of cool features, bateery life is good, if u use it normally, great buy, and trust me, bell did not hire me to say this product is good, although if they would i will accept all of their mony, wink wink!