Audiovox 8910 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Audiovox 8910 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 20 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday May 1, 2009 by , Saskatoon, Sask, Canada
This phone was given to me as a "hand-me down" from a friend. It was old when I got it. Yes, it's a bit dated and "large" (if you can call a cell phone large, I mean, it is really quite small), but this phone is durable. I have dropped numerous times, included from a balcony from 3 flights up. It is still working. I want it to die so I can buy another, but it works. Battery life is pretty decent. Camera is not bad. Reception is good. And the sound quality is great. It's not a pretty phone, but it lasts.
5 Stars out of 5

this phone

Reviewed on Thursday February 28, 2008 by , montgomery alabama
this phone is such a rip off i mean now i have to get a whole nother phone because i drop it it broke in two . when i want to charge up my phone i wont charge because then pin thingy inside is broken and if im on the phone for a min it gest very hot and the damn battery go low everytime u get on it u guys should have never made that phone but it a piece of junk and isnt worth anyones money
1 Star out of 5

Virgin sells shooty products cdma

Reviewed on Saturday October 6, 2007 by , toronto, ontario, Canada
Ok I wanted a pay as you go phone and the best company with the most $ plan so far is Virgin. I have a Audio vox 8910 and the shell of the phone sucks. the charger pin always breaks in the phone so Now I am forced to send the phone to be repaired. I go to the store of original purchase Future shop and the third rate company they send it to can't fix the phone and send it back to me. Now I have the phone and want to get the info transfered to another phone but because virgin is Cd ma and not gsm meaning sim card I have to send the phone to the original manufacturer Audivox. WARNING cdma means old and anitquted we want sim card technology or gsm for gods sake so you don't lose your info.
2 Stars out of 5

Receiving Photos

Reviewed on Thursday June 7, 2007 by , Vancouver
This phone is ok. Basic, but it's a phone. Gets hot if you talk too long. Everything else is ok. Only problem I seem to have (right now) is that I can not seem to receive picture messages. I have had numerous ones sent to me, yet not one has 'arrived' in my phone. Anyone else have the same problem or know what the solution is? Just a blocked feature perhaps?
5 Stars out of 5

wat an amzing phone

Reviewed on Tuesday August 30, 2005 by , St. Albert, AB
this phone is amazing! i did find that the battery did heat up but it was only the first time being charged.... not nearly enough to hurt anyone. Amazing reception, good features and options for the pictures. My only nock on it is that the calculator does not have a decimal point or at leat cant find it.

If u r considering getting a camera phone this is one of the best available
1 Star out of 5

an expensive lesson

Reviewed on Friday August 12, 2005 by , memphis, tn
I purchased the Audiovox 8910 last week. Ironically, upon entering the store a customer who had already purchased the phone weeks earlier told me I would be sorry, and that she had been to this particular cricket store several times because the phone gets extremely hot after ten minutes. Naturally, I did not listen and purchased it anyway. Not only does the battery gets hot on the phone I bought, but the speakerphone has poor audio and the camera features suck!! Every phone I have ever purchased from Cricket Communications have been of poor quality. You can go by any of their locations on a given day and see the number of angry people who have purchase substandard phones. Now I am stuck with a 199.00 iron. I was told by one of the workers at a Cricket store to buy an older model phone from one of their approved distributors.
1 Star out of 5

Don't waste your money!

Reviewed on Saturday August 6, 2005 by , Memphis, TN
I've had this phone a month today, and at first, it seemed to be a pretty cool phone. I got it because I talk on my phone at night and I coulnt charge my kyocera while I talked on it.. which this phone would allow me to do. If you talk on it for 5 minutes, the phone burns up... if you leave it on a charger for 10 minutes, it burns up. I've talked on phones for 10 hours at a time and never had a phone even half as hot as this phone gets when you've talked on it for just 5 minutes. This seemed to be the coolest cricket phone that was affordable, but do not waste your money. Mine stopped working today for no reason, I've never gotten it wet or dropped it.. It's always been in my carrying case when I'm not on it. This phone just sucks.. beleive me.
1 Star out of 5

I hate Audiovox 8910 Cellular Phone

Reviewed on Wednesday July 6, 2005 by , Memphis, TN
I purcharsed the 8910 Audiovox on the 14th of June 2005. I was referred by a cousin of mines. This was a bad idea. I have returned the 8910 Audiovox Three times and each time I was give the same phone, cricket refuse let me upgrade to a different cellular phone for better service. I also took the phone back on the 5th of July 2005 at 4:35 pm. A sale clerk went in the back room and apparently talked to the repair person. After she left, my phone was given to me, the repair clerk stated there is no problem with this cellular phone. Here are some of the problems:

1. Gets Hot in five or twenty minutes
2. Can not received text messages
3. Cricket Clicks do not work
4. The battery does not hold charges
5. It cuts off in the middle of a conversation
6. The smell of 8910 Audiovox - when its to hot
7. It gets hot enough to burn your face

The cellular do not keep charge, and it cuts off in the middle of a conversation. If you talk for five minutes to 20 minutes the 8910 Cellular phone gets very hot. It gets so hot that it must be removed from the face, in order not to substain burns in the facial area.

I have used Cellular phone since 1995 and has never experience nothing of this nature before. I purchared the phone from Cricket Communication in Memphis, Tennessee. There main office is in San Diego, CA. The company knows its a bad celluar phone and refuse to replace it with a difference phone, but they continue to give you the same Audiovox 8910 that do not work. The company will take your money on false advertisement without satisfing the customer.

Something needs to be did to stop this type of company from taking advantage of customers.
3 Stars out of 5

Good, but could be better

Reviewed on Monday July 4, 2005 by , Birmingham, Al
I have had this phone for about two months and the only reason I got the phone is because ALLTEL was giving them away for free with a two year contract. I like the fact that it had a camera that was easy to use and it took pretty good pictures except at night when you have to use that little flash that doesn't work for real. I can't stand the fact that the life of the battery isn't worth ****. It doesn't come with any games at all and all of the ringtones completely suck and they don't ring loud enough except at night when everything in the house is quiet and you are trying to sleep then it rings too damn loud. It gets terrible reception in buildings, houses, apartment complexes,etc. Sometimes I have had people trying to call me all day long and my phone never rang at all with or without reception. I have to go outside sometimes and wave the phone around in circles just to make a call. I have had to call customer service over 15 times about things that have stopped working on the phone and the problems with trying to get the mobile web to connect. I am used to the quality of Kyocera and Nokia phones but after all this is an Audiovox. All in all it really is a good phone but it could be a lot better.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday May 28, 2005 by , savannah ga
All it did was blinking on and off. I tried to do/undo the battery thing like my provider told me. And still blinks when turning it on. So if and when i get my next one will see how it goes.
2 Stars out of 5

hated it!!

Reviewed on Monday April 25, 2005 by , portland or
This was my first camera phone, I thought it had decent pictures until I seen pics on a samsung phone and then on a motorola. The quality was much better on the other phones. The ringer was really soft but got great reception everywhere i was. The PROBLEM with the phone is it got SLIGHTLY wet in seaworld while being in the case and in my purse and it completely fried my phone and wouldnt work even after drying out. I replaced it and again it got wet IN THE RAIN and again phone got fried. I finally had to buy a new phone (didnt buy another audiovox!!) I have had nokias, LG's and samsung and never had a problem with phones getting wet and frying out so easlily. I went through 2 of these in 3 months. My LG had been dropped in a pool and when it dried out it worked fined again, very disappointed it was so sensitive to water even when in my case!!
4 Stars out of 5

V7 Flasher

Reviewed on Sunday February 20, 2005 by , New Jersey
The phone's camera is definitely first rate and very user-friendly. Once you turn on the phone, press the button on the side of the phone to turn the camera on, and press it again to take the photo- it’s really that simple. The phone’s screen shows exactly the image you’re shooting, so you can’t screw it up! The picture quality is very good especially for a camera phone and the added flash is helpful in low-light situations . You can store up to 100 pictures in the phone's memory.
It has a Full Color Screen with an EASY to navigate menu system. It’s simple from here to program your phone numbers and voice dialing
Superphonic Ringtones which allow you to use ACTUAL songs and audio clips, not the digitized versions that most phones use.
The phone itself has a very limited battery time, the multimedia applications can drain the battery very fast, so be careful. Other than that, the phone is fantastic.
5 Stars out of 5

Great camera phone with loads of features!

Reviewed on Monday February 7, 2005 by , Georgia
This is a great choice for anyone looking for a camera phone and wanting to save money. Most other camera phones required me to get a 2-year contract in order to make them affordable, whereas this phone has NO contract with Virgin Mobile and is on a pay-as-you-go rate. The phone itself has great features including a very good quality camera phone with decent picture storage, easy to navigate buttons, cool interface, ability to download ringtones/games and more. It's also a very sleek phone! In the past few weeks since I switched from my old phone, I've had numerous people coveting my flasher!
3 Stars out of 5

Pretty good, but some disappointments

Reviewed on Saturday January 29, 2005 by , Indianapolis
This cell phone is about average. If you're looking for a cell phone as a communications device, this one will fill the bill as good as any. The sound quality is fine; the ring quality is ok. But the battery life sucks. And if you're looking for that extra pizzazz, this phone doesn't have it. There is a camera and it works about like any other camera in a phone. It has a flash, which is a joke. It's not a flash at all, but a miniature flashlight that has little or no illuminating ability. The color quality of the display is somewhat better than its predecessor model, but it's also a bit smaller. It's light weight, but frankly, a little bulky compared to some models I've seen. I bought it because it was only $5 a Radio Shack and it certainly is worth that much. But if you're going to pay full price, shop around, and don't be taken in by the "flash." It's a gimmick.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday January 27, 2005 by , Canada
I got this phone a few days ago. I like the camera option, thats pretty cool, the flash isnt that great, but big deal its still primarily a phone. I have a digital camera for my good pictures. My only complaint, and its weak at best, is that there is no good ringtones on the phone. Having one or two simple games would be nice as an added feature. I do enjoy the messaging, and the phonebook, also the schedule and memo pads are superfast and nice to look at.

viva audiovox.
viva recall for louder ringer
viva more ringtones

- out
5 Stars out of 5

Awesome phone.

Reviewed on Friday January 21, 2005 by , Los Angeles
When I found out Virgin Mobile was coming out with a camera phone all I could say was “hell yea!”. Finally a camera phone on a pre-paid services plan. The v7 Flasher is great, not only for the camera, but for all the extra features I wasn’t really expected. Superphonic ring tones, Wap brower, great battery life, great reception, and it’s even smaller then I‘d first though (the exact same size and weight as my v5 slider).

The camera again is my main reason for wanting this phone and after testing it out under many different conditions it doesn’t disappoint. The quality wonderful for a camera phone, and the process of sending pictures to your friends is a snap. You can send pictures either to another camera phone, to your virgin mobile online account, or directly to an e-mail address (doesn‘t work with gmail, I‘ve tried). One thing that pleasantly surprised me was that you can even take pictures while the phone is flipped closed and the small external screen acts as a viewfinder.

My only gripe with this phone would be the overall look. There are so many sweet looking camera/flip phones out right now that this one just doesn’t compare. I’m differently not complaining cause I love what this phone does and how well it does it, but if there were something I could change the look would be it.

All n’ all this phone is a must have for anyone looking to upgrade to the camera phone generation and not have to sign a contract.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday January 16, 2005 by , Florenceville NB
I love the phone, easy to talk and hold. Hard to hear the ringer.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday December 25, 2004 by , The Pas, Manitoba
This is my first cell phone. I like all the features. I have uploaded pictures and downloaded on my computer.(cool) Sure runs the battery down quick. I have yet to find the GPS feature. I really don't think it's there. Why is my Email address a required field ? Pisses me off.
5 Stars out of 5

Audiovox 8910

Reviewed on Monday December 20, 2004 by , Toronto
I've had this phone for a week now, i've been very very pleased with it. It has everything that i've always needed/wanted. Very nice interface, good features, intuitive, has everything, and it's a good camera phone. Very small and nice and sleek. The phone looks amazing, and performs excellent. I highly recommend it.
4 Stars out of 5

ringers should be louder

Reviewed on Thursday December 2, 2004 by , saskatchewan , canada
this is a great little phone. the phone is a quick easy to use and great display. one thing they should do is make the ringers louder as it is hard to hear in a car but with the viberator mode its not bad but you have to have it on you. speaker phone is good for driving so if they do a recall to make the ringer louder that would be great.